IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Feature request: audio output switcher in toolbar
mileon
post Jun 13 2011, 18:10
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 13-June 11
Member No.: 91487



Hello @all

Thx for foobar player! I love foobar and i need no other player. I miss only one: a audio output device switcher for the toolbar smile.gif

Bye!

P.S. Sorry for my english smile.gif

This post has been edited by mileon: Jun 13 2011, 18:13
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Krusnik
post Sep 27 2011, 05:24
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 27-September 11
Member No.: 93988



I have been searching for this exact thing.

I change my output 4-5 times a day and it would be awesome if there was a way to change that without going into preferences.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dhromed
post Sep 27 2011, 17:02
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1314
Joined: 16-February 08
From: NL
Member No.: 51347



QUOTE (Krusnik @ Sep 27 2011, 06:24) *
I change my output 4-5 times a day.


Your circumstances and needs are probably very different from mine, but I can't think of a situation where you'd have to switch outputs so often. Understanding the use case will probably help in getting what you want smile.gif. You're an audio engineer and have multiple sound cards attached to variety of output systems...?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Krusnik
post Sep 27 2011, 18:58
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 27-September 11
Member No.: 93988



I have two sound cards. One hooked to my speakers for my television/entertainment system and one thru my desktop speakers for my computer.

I'm just looking for a faster/easily way to switch output.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post Sep 27 2011, 19:28
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1741
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



Do you know that there is a hidden main menu entry "choose output device" which you can bind to a button or hotkey? If you activate this button/hotkey then the prefrence page for output will be shown with an already opened dropdown list of the output devices.


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dhromed
post Sep 28 2011, 12:15
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1314
Joined: 16-February 08
From: NL
Member No.: 51347



Passive input switches like these are completely analog, so if you hook 'em up in "reverse" you have an output switch. You may want to get one that isn't fashioned out of pudding, though. wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Krusnik
post Sep 28 2011, 17:09
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 27-September 11
Member No.: 93988



QUOTE (q-stankovic @ Sep 27 2011, 12:28) *
Do you know that there is a hidden main menu entry "choose output device" which you can bind to a button or hotkey? If you activate this button/hotkey then the prefrence page for output will be shown with an already opened dropdown list of the output devices.

Oh wow, I'll have to check this out. I was not aware! This helps a lot. I think this pretty much resolves my issue. However, I would still be in support of a toolbar/ui element that allows you to switch on the main gui.

As far as the input switchers, that could be a solution, but I'm more looking for a software component or hotkey or something.

This post has been edited by Krusnik: Sep 28 2011, 17:15
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shakey_snake
post Sep 28 2011, 17:35
Post #8





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 4322
Joined: 1-November 06
From: Cincinnati
Member No.: 37036



Due to how the Window's audio stack enumerates different output devices, there's not viable way to do more than what is already done.
Sorry.

If I had the chat logs from 2 years ago when we discussed this I could give a more detailed answer.


--------------------
elevatorladylevitateme
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th September 2014 - 19:29