IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Splitting FLAC with CUE file, less quality?
tinpanalley
post Jun 3 2011, 21:03
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 136
Joined: 7-May 07
Member No.: 43262



Hey all,

I have a bunch of FLACs and accompanying CUE to split up the audio.

I understand the following:
1. EAC can handle the splitting if I convert the FLAC to WAV first.
2. CueTools can do it right away without any other steps.

What I don't understand is why when I'm done with CueTools the split audio tracks are less bitrate than the original large FLAC? Isn't there any way to do it without losing bitrate? Maybe there's some new tool that's used for this and I'm out of date with my software. If so, let me know.

Thanks, guys.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
_mē_
post Jun 3 2011, 21:32
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 231
Joined: 6-April 09
Member No.: 68706



Probably CueTools decodes them to wav first, does the splitting and encodes them back using stronger settings.
Anyway, merge one of albums and compare flac fingerprint with the original and you'll know whether there was any change.

With lossless audio bitrate has nothing too do with quality.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tinpanalley
post Jun 3 2011, 21:40
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 136
Joined: 7-May 07
Member No.: 43262



QUOTE (_mē_ @ Jun 3 2011, 16:32) *
merge one of albums and compare flac fingerprint with the original

How do I do this? Is there a program? Can Sound Forge do this?

QUOTE (_mē_ @ Jun 3 2011, 16:32) *
With lossless audio bitrate has nothing too do with quality.

Right, I remember having read that.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zarggg
post Jun 4 2011, 07:11
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 560
Joined: 18-January 04
From: bethlehem.pa.us
Member No.: 11318



If I remember correctly, CUETools does re-encode individual tracks when splitting.

If you're converting FLAC->FLAC you will not lose quality. Period.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Lorem Ipsum
post Jun 4 2011, 10:00
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 8-April 10
Member No.: 79696



In short, the main thing to remember is that when dealing with FLAC (as well as any other lossless compression):
bitrate ≠ quality.


If you must, you could sort-of say that
bitrate ≅ efficiency
Where in "efficiency" you would say that "using less space to store the same (repeat, same) data is more efficient".
And then we would begin to argue the "efficiency" term also in regard to consuming CPU power, compatibility issues and others.

However, before you get confused as you are, go back and re-read the first two lines of this reply.

-- L. Ipsum
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tinpanalley
post Jun 8 2011, 22:57
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 136
Joined: 7-May 07
Member No.: 43262



Thanks so much, guys. Much appreciated.
And no, I understand you Lorem. I got it. Thanks! I'll just use CueTools then. It's much more automate than going about it the long way and I have a lot to split up. Just have to learn how to automate it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th October 2014 - 10:28