IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Create cue sheet from EAC log
JERECHO
post May 11 2011, 13:22
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 5-March 11
Member No.: 88710



Can I somehow create a cue sheet from a v1.0 EAC log extraction file?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
HotShotFR
post May 11 2011, 13:42
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 11-August 07
From: Germany
Member No.: 46130



EAC Helper's Log2Cue webpage:
http://eachelper.uphero.com/convloghtml.php

Never had to use it myself, but probably worth a try.

This post has been edited by HotShotFR: May 11 2011, 13:43
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mjb2006
post May 11 2011, 23:36
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 860
Joined: 12-May 06
From: Colorado, USA
Member No.: 30694



This thread belongs in General Audio, not Lossless.

You can derive a cue sheet from a rip log, but it will only be correct if the following conditions are met:
  • The original CD either has no gaps (index 00 sections), or it does have gaps which were manually detected before ripping (F4)
  • The original CD has no indexes greater than 01 (in my collection, this is 2 or 3 out of ~1000 CDs)
  • The original CD has no MCN, ISRCs, copyright flags, pre-emphasis flags, or CD-Text data (most CDs have the first two, at least)

Why not just stick the disc back in the drive and have EAC generate a cue sheet from it?

This post has been edited by mjb2006: May 11 2011, 23:36
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pdq
post May 12 2011, 13:42
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 3450
Joined: 1-September 05
From: SE Pennsylvania
Member No.: 24233



QUOTE (mjb2006 @ May 11 2011, 18:36) *
Why not just stick the disc back in the drive and have EAC generate a cue sheet from it?

Unless, of course, you never had the original CD. rolleyes.gif

Edit: This probably belongs in CD Hardware/Software.

This post has been edited by pdq: May 12 2011, 13:43
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Engelsstaub
post May 13 2011, 03:37
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 16-February 10
Member No.: 78200



QUOTE (JERECHO @ May 11 2011, 06:22) *
Can I somehow create a cue sheet from a v1.0 EAC log extraction file?


Edit a copy of the EAC v1.0 log to make it resemble a v.99 log. I'm guessing you probably have one on hand somewhere. From thence you would proceed to the aforementioned site linked by HotShot FR and do your thing. (It wouldn't be as difficult to do this as it sound...just open both in your text editor. Use the Log to Cue option with current gaps as the setting on the EAC Helper.)

BTW, people here are pretty judgmental about P2P and such as you can see. That should work out for you though. If you need any other help don't be afraid to ask (me, if no one else here.)


--------------------
The Loudness War is over. Now it's a hopeless occupation.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Steenbreek
post Jun 7 2011, 22:48
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 7-June 11
Member No.: 91316



QUOTE (HotShotFR @ May 11 2011, 13:42) *
EAC Helper's Log2Cue webpage:
http://eachelper.uphero.com/convloghtml.php

Never had to use it myself, but probably worth a try.


Sadly the site has moved again. Where? Unknown to me.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mjb2006
post Jun 9 2011, 00:04
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 860
Joined: 12-May 06
From: Colorado, USA
Member No.: 30694



It was down for a while, but is back, as of a few hours ago.

http://eachelper.uphero.com/

The admin told me it was just down due to technical difficulties; his ISP had botched some "maintenance".
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
derty2
post Jun 9 2011, 00:56
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 585
Joined: 5-June 11
Member No.: 91257



     > "Edit a copy of the EAC v1.0 log to make it resemble a v.99 log"

I am curious for knowledge...
Could you please explain to me, and anyone else reading this thread, what is the difference between 1.0 and 0.9 cue sheets?
One cue sheet is more "compliant" than the other with regards to what ...a particular program? ...a particular specification?
Are these facts documented anywhere?
Thankyou.

This post has been edited by derty2: Jun 9 2011, 01:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
HotShotFR
post Jun 9 2011, 04:21
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 11-August 07
From: Germany
Member No.: 46130



QUOTE (pdq @ May 12 2011, 14:42) *
Unless, of course, you never had the original CD. rolleyes.gif

Unless, of course, you have to live for a few months/years some 1000 miles from your original CDs. rolleyes.gif

That's quite off-topic, anyway - and on the wrong forum category, agreed biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jun 9 2011, 04:27
Post #10





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (derty2 @ Jun 9 2011, 00:56) *
     > "Edit a copy of the EAC v1.0 log to make it resemble a v.99 log"

I am curious for knowledge...
Could you please explain to me, and anyone else reading this thread, what is the difference between 1.0 and 0.9 cue sheets?
They said log, not cue sheet. Presumably the utility only works with the older version’s log files.

QUOTE
One cue sheet is more "compliant" than the other with regards to what ...a particular program? ...a particular specification?
Are these facts documented anywhere?
Googling cue specification is a fair start. Oft-cited is the CDRWIN version, since it pioneered the format. Specifically, declared tracks are not supposed to comprise audio from more than one file, as occurs in “noncompliant” cue sheets where the pregap (INDEX 00) of one track is taken from the file of the one prior.

This post has been edited by dv1989: Jun 9 2011, 04:31
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st December 2014 - 21:27