IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Development Forum Rules

This forum is for developer discussions only. If you have a problem / bug report / idea / feature request that isn't related to foobar2000 SDK, post it in an appropiate forum instead - tech support questions go to support forum, everything else goes to general forum.
All non-developer posts on this forum will be removed. Continued abuse of this forum will result in admin actions (warnings, account suspension).

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Adding Xfire Fb2k support
Atotalnoob
post May 2 2011, 05:22
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 2-May 11
Member No.: 90252



Hello foobar community!
I am an official Xfire Helper, and I am working (UNOFFICIALLY) on adding Foobar support. I am currently unable to install foobar. If someone can give me the location path of the foobar registry entry, It would help alot!

Please note, this in no way says Xfire will support fb2k.

Edit: If anyone wants to help, or test, add me on Xfire, my username is no1seriouslly, include that you are from foobar, otherwise I will reject your request.

This post has been edited by Atotalnoob: May 2 2011, 05:35
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post May 2 2011, 05:32
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2353
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



Depending on installation type, there may be no registry entries. You might want to state what os you are using. Foobar has a pretty much trouble free installer package. Where did you have trouble. Any error messages?

By the way, everyone is not a part of one homogeneous peer group. You might not want to assume all know what Xfire is. I had to Google it.

This post has been edited by tpijag: May 2 2011, 05:33
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Atotalnoob
post May 2 2011, 05:40
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 2-May 11
Member No.: 90252



Sorry on not explaining Xfire.

It is a gaming IM, allowing you to voice chat, IM in-game, add friends from other social networks, have the music you are listeningto be your status, live broadcasting, recording and screenshots, to name a few.

The reason I didn't install it is because I am on a business trip.

What are the possible entries? I can support those, but the ones without the entry I can't do anything about.

This post has been edited by Atotalnoob: May 2 2011, 06:03
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post May 2 2011, 05:45
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2353
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



Sorry, I did not see that this is in development. I took your message as a request for assistance because of a failed install attempt.

I am sure others will be by and offer actual help. ;-)

regards


Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Atotalnoob
post May 2 2011, 06:10
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 2-May 11
Member No.: 90252



No problems, it is probably my fault, writing isn't my greatest skill.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post May 2 2011, 06:58
Post #6





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 815
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



There is no install entry apart from the uninstaller entry in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\foobar2000

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\foobar2000 is for x64 machines. Querying the DisplayIcon entry will yieid the install path.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Atotalnoob
post May 2 2011, 07:48
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 2-May 11
Member No.: 90252



Forget it, this is ridiculous.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post May 2 2011, 07:49
Post #8





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 815
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Ridicilous?
How. Just because you can't enumerate a key to find the install location of a application?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post May 2 2011, 07:52
Post #9





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 815
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Furthermore, what needs to be added for said support.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Atotalnoob
post May 2 2011, 08:01
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 2-May 11
Member No.: 90252



Where does it say I need the install key? I want the plain key, for goodness sake, read my post?

I will just scrap this project, and move onto my next, Zune support!

This post has been edited by Atotalnoob: May 2 2011, 08:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post May 2 2011, 09:36
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1339
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



Haha funny guy. Why not just enter the filepath for the .exe?
Or if your users aren't that clever, make it search for foobar2000.exe

And if you're good programming you can write a component that connects foobar2000 with Xfire.

Using registry is inferior today, portable is where it's at.
Relying of the uninstaller path only works if you installed in normal mode, as said.

Now, I'm not a C++ programmer, but can't you take the process ID and query the path from there, like Task Manager can?


--------------------
Windows 8.1u1 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.5
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zao
post May 2 2011, 11:19
Post #12





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 912
Joined: 25-September 03
From: Umeň, Sweden
Member No.: 9001



There is no "plain key".
Foobar2000 has two ways of storing configuration: it's either stored in the application install directory or in Application Data.

If you want to detect the latter, SHGetSpecialFolderPath to Application Data (can't remember if it's Roaming or Local) and see if there's a foobar2000 directory there.

If you want to detect a portable install, it is impossible. Of course, you could write a small foobar2000 component that advertises the location of any currently running foobar2000 installation as suggested in the thread.

Please try to be civil and behave. Not all software behaves the way you think. I, for one, am even less interested in using XFire after your tantrums.


--------------------
Zao shang yong zao nong zao rang zao ren zao.
To, early in the morning, use a chisel to build a bathtub makes impatient people hot-tempered.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post May 2 2011, 12:12
Post #13





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 815
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



QUOTE
I will just scrap this project, and move onto my next, Zune support!

...You are very lucky I am not in a bad mood. I gave you a *explicit* method of how to detect the FB2K install directory, on a normal install.
And you ignored it. And yelled at others.

Sheesh.

This post has been edited by mudlord: May 2 2011, 12:13
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Atotalnoob
post May 2 2011, 20:59
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 2-May 11
Member No.: 90252



I am trying to be civil

But SERIOUSLY? I said I DO NOT WANT THE INSTALL KEY FOR GOODNESS SAKE!


just change the stuff from winamp, to Foobar, do I need to explain it more?

[50_1]
LongName=Winamp
ShortName=winamp
LauncherDirKey=HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Winamp.File\shell\open\command\
LauncherDirTruncAt=winamp.exe
LauncherExe=winamp.exe
Launch=%UA_LAUNCHER_EXE_PATH% %UA_LAUNCHER_EXTRA_ARGS%
SoftwareType=Music


[50_2]
LongName=Winamp
ShortName=winamp
LauncherDirDefault=C:\Program Files\Winamp
LauncherDirTruncAt=winamp.exe
LauncherExe=winamp.exe
Launch=%UA_LAUNCHER_EXE_PATH% %UA_LAUNCHER_EXTRA_ARGS%
SoftwareType=Music


[50_3]
LongName=Winamp
ShortName=winamp
LauncherDirKey=HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\App Paths\winamp.exe\Path
LauncherExe=winamp.exe
Launch=%UA_LAUNCHER_EXE_PATH% %UA_LAUNCHER_EXTRA_ARGS%
SoftwareType=Music
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post May 2 2011, 21:17
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 1339
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



Yea, that will work...

Seriously, read the advises you've got.

foobar2000 doesn't use the registry, at all, in portable mode.

However, the above could work as Windows uses shell commands, but it's not sure someone uses that, especially with a portable foobar2000.

Best way is to query it somehow, e.g. with a component.

The FAQ explains about the portable mode a bit, http://www.foobar2000.org/FAQ
Also, the release notes for 0.9.6 tells the differences between standard and portable, http://www.foobar2000.org/?page=ReleaseNotes&version=096

I wish you good luck with adding it to Xfire, some way or another.


--------------------
Windows 8.1u1 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.5
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post May 3 2011, 23:49
Post #16





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4459
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



QUOTE (Atotalnoob @ May 2 2011, 20:59) *
just change the stuff from winamp, to Foobar, do I need to explain it more?
Yes, a proper description of what you need would be extremely useful, so the people who want to help you can stop guessing what you want. Which so far has only resulted in frustration on both sides.

You originally said you wanted "the location path of the foobar registry entry". The Windows registry is a big place and it contains registry keys for a lot of different purposes. How should people around here know which kind of registry key you need? Please provide an explanation if you are still looking for help. And please do not throw a fragment of some file at us and expect people to figure out the file format for you.


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 09:06