IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

23 Pages V  « < 6 7 8 9 10 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Facets (foo_facets), Media library viewer
fohdeesha
post Jun 22 2011, 23:35
Post #176





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 20-June 11
Member No.: 91674



Is there anywhere I can download a previous version of facets? I haven't received a response in regards to this new last modified sorting bug and I really cannot use facets this way. Thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
klonuo
post Jun 24 2011, 15:11
Post #177





Group: Members
Posts: 258
Joined: 29-April 10
Member No.: 80274



Doesn't this component's Filter feature annihilate reason for autoplaylists in playlist manager?
Well IMHO it does. Now I have only 3 playlists - one as for COM server playground and other for radio stations. I imagine users with different needs, but still I would shamelessly ask for feature:

Please allow feature "reference to current playing track" based on foobar title formatting scheme, similar to what "Library Tree" component offers as "now playing", probably as a part of "library | playlist" dropdown menu. For example I'd reference Genre or Style or any tag field to be rendered in facet relative to current playing track

I tried at least wink.gif

This post has been edited by klonuo: Jun 24 2011, 15:12
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post Jun 24 2011, 19:22
Post #178





Group: Members
Posts: 1740
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



QUOTE (klonuo @ Jun 24 2011, 16:11) *
Please allow feature "reference to current playing track" based on foobar title formatting scheme, similar to what "Library Tree" component offers as "now playing", probably as a part of "library | playlist" dropdown menu. For example I'd reference Genre or Style or any tag field to be rendered in facet relative to current playing track

I intended to wait before i make/repeat the following request but now you gave the catchword. I think it would be even more amazing to have a third source "selection" beside "library" and "playlist" that would then let facets act not only like but fully as a selection info viewer. It would offer all what you like but would be placable in a tab stack with other viewers of that kind and following the global option for its preference: prefer playing track or prefer selection. The amazing aspect of the latter would be to browse the library in a unrivaled way. So far only Helium Music Manager offers a very limited and not configurable way of that kind of browsing. F.e. i am browsing in a normal facet layout the artists and in facet as selection info viewer i could display other artist of the same label/publisher and its albums.

Here the more extensive request and thoughts (not specifically related to facets component) how multiple selections (that naturally would be made in normal facets) could be handled: Klick!

This post has been edited by q-stankovic: Jun 24 2011, 19:43


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post Jun 24 2011, 22:57
Post #179





Group: Members
Posts: 1740
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



Hello Frank,

i am very aware of it that i already must have caught enough attention concerning my requests about library viewers. To my excuse i have to say that all my repetitions - which are cycling around the same basic idea and already earned me the legitimate reproach for cultivating his own pet ideas - leastwise was spread over a long period of several years and are varying creatively so that i hopefully don't stand out as a nag.

The new facets is so far a brilliant library viewer and comes very close to my wishes and needs. However, i would like to try my last attempt of phrasing some probably well known but also adapted thoughts from which i believe i can give good reasons for. This attempt includes the assurance that i will note that at least the whole world has noticed what i dream to have and hence shut up forever although my pet idea certainly never should become an ideal pet which i can caress.

After all i have 4 points and i should mention that the order of the points is not at random but #3 and #4 are each basing upon and requiring the former ones. That also means that each previous point stands for its own and isn't calling the next one.

1. Multiple views
Surely some users don't need more than a few views and probably there will be some that only need one simple genre-artist-album layout. Otherwise it is not a rarity that some of us including myself appreciate a high number of views. Especially facets with all its (statistic) columns gives the opportunity to create very detailed views. In the current implementation of facets each with loving work created view means its own tab whereas the album list offers a dropdown box for globally stored views. It is obvious that therefore the DUI explodes and some senseful actions are not possible like changing a view while having a filter enabled or a query filled in the search bar. That leads to the request to have the opportunity to define multiple views in layout editing mode and to save them with pretty names which are available in a dropdown box. Since in such a manner in contrast to album list the views would be defined/saved locally one criterion for creating multiple tabs with facets could be the organization of different groups of views. As already said: I am talking about a high number. (Another criterion is going to be explained in the next point). Nevertheless who doesn't need an organisation of views isn't forced anymore to create multiple tabs for multiple views but can realize them in just one tab.

2. Locally acting filters
Since i stopped using playlist tree many years ago i always was dreaming about saving queries with a meaningful name and calling them inside a library viewer. At least for me that is an essential feature to manage my library by having quick access to different subsets of it. So much thanks that you now have implemented the filter feature. I don't like autoplaylist realizing that purpose for three reasons: 1. the more you have the more resources are spended on foobar2000 start-up or library update, 2. you just have a simple list of tracks rather than a detailed view for browsing and 3. hundreds of autoplaylists displayed in playlist manager or even more in playlist tabs are not manageable anymore. Now the latter disadvantage continues to be in the new facets filter functionality because the filters are stored globally and a huge number of filters results in a menu which is just as well badly manageable. To cut a long story short: definition of filters locally for each facet layout rather than globally for all layouts. My dream deals with several tabs each with further subtabs that contain special filters.

3. A combination of #1&#2: binding of filters and views
IMO it seems obvious that each filter calls for a proper view: it is pointless to browse f.e. "Psytrance from the 90's" in a genre-artist-album layout - more senseful for me is a lable-year-artist-album layout. Assigning a filter in its preferences to a special view is just about convenience which nevertheless should have its religibility but also a necessity in regard to the upcoming fourth point.

4. Viewing the context of selection/playing track
As already phrased in my previous post it would be amazing to let facets act as a selection info viewer that shows the context of playing track/(even multiple) selection: that would be an unrivaled way of displaying information and browsing. A filter like "All albums of artist" needs a proper view which then has to be automatically choosen from the defined ones.

END
I think the taxonomy of my thoughts is recognizeable. Please don't confuse the points with concrete requests - it is more a systematic order of my thougts in adaption to current facets.

Thanks for reading such a long post!


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TomBarlow
post Jun 28 2011, 03:02
Post #180





Group: Members
Posts: 585
Joined: 30-July 07
Member No.: 45750



Beta 4 seems to crash foobar when I use the file ops component. It seems to do something to the filter. Earlier today I used file ops and it messed with the filter, some things that shouldn't have been visible were, and vice-versa. But just now it caused foobar to crash. There was a message saying "pure virtual function call". The foobar window was still visible and I could see that the filter wasn't working properly then either. It didn't leave a crash report though.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fohdeesha
post Jun 28 2011, 06:52
Post #181





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 20-June 11
Member No.: 91674



you fixed the last modified statistic bug in the very next version! thank you sooo much!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sigheart
post Jun 30 2011, 17:16
Post #182





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 30-June 11
Member No.: 91954



I'm new here so I'll just try my best to explain what my problem is.

I created my playlists and when I play one of them, it plays normally.

I didn't like how the Album List looked like so I downloaded foo facets to add more options and stuff. And we all know that facets works in a way that when you click an artist / genre / album or whatever, it sends it to a "Library selection" playlist so you can play it. My problem is this: when I play a playlist I created it stays there but after some time (sometimes instantly), the cursor moves to the "Library selection" which is kinda annoying.

Is there anyway around this or is it just me?

Thanks.

P.S. I'm new here so I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this.. but since this is the support forum, I thought it would be the most sensible place to post this. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post Jun 30 2011, 23:39
Post #183





Group: Members
Posts: 1740
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



Hello Frank,

the new facets has introduced some meta_branch-functions for special purpose. I would like to ask for a feature that goes a little bit further and could display mapped information inside multiple tags. Something userfriendly without complex title formatting.

Here for information what i mean:

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....c=53111&hl=


(I don't mean writing of real mapped tags like COMM or TXXX, just some displaying of musician or instrument column of a performer tag f.e. ; another scenario from a current thread: http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....st&p=761508)

edit: reordering of links

This post has been edited by q-stankovic: Jun 30 2011, 23:55


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Fandango
post Jul 3 2011, 21:22
Post #184





Group: Members
Posts: 1548
Joined: 13-August 03
Member No.: 8353



Since updating from 1.0 beta 4 to 1.0 beta 5, typing in the search field is very sluggish. It leads to high CPU usage of up to 100% on multi-core systems.

Too bad I can't revert back to beta 4. Search is hardly usable anymore.

This post has been edited by Fandango: Jul 3 2011, 21:23
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smkk
post Jul 4 2011, 22:42
Post #185





Group: Members
Posts: 603
Joined: 18-November 07
Member No.: 48839



Thanks for the update. I was hoping for some changes regarding single/double click though, along with quite a few other people in here.

Many people prefer no immediate action when selecting something in facets – but now with middle click gone the problem is the lack of double click options. Right now we are stuck with "send to current playlist" with which I have accidentally overwritten I don't know how many playlists.

If "send to selection playlist (keep playing playlist)" could be added to the double click options - or if any other solution could be implemented that lets one browse the library in facets (and use the facets playlist) without updating the playlist viewer all the time it'd much appreciated.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Gnx
post Jul 5 2011, 21:11
Post #186





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 24-July 10
Member No.: 82498



QUOTE (smkk @ Jul 4 2011, 22:42) *
Many people prefer no immediate action when selecting something in facets

it is disadvantage in this new version, IMO too
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CrabMan
post Jul 6 2011, 12:52
Post #187





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 7-March 11
Member No.: 88779



Can you add some screenshots pls?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post Jul 6 2011, 15:59
Post #188





Group: Members
Posts: 2345
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



How does one make a screen shot of no immediate action?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Frank Bicking
post Jul 8 2011, 16:20
Post #189





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1828
Joined: 24-July 02
Member No.: 2776



Beta 6 restores double-click and middle-click options from the old version:



Additionally, you can hold shift to start playback when selecting a context menu command.

Keyboard shortcut handling has changed like in SimPlaylist, with the exception that album art views reserve left and right keys for selection purposes.

QUOTE (retardedsheep @ Jun 14 2011, 05:21) *
When my play order is set to shuffle and I double click on a facet selection (for instance, artist) it always begins by playing the first song within that selection. The next song and thereafter is shuffled. If the first song played could be shuffled as well when that is the play order selected, that would be great.

Interesting idea, please test if it works as expected.

QUOTE (wdekler @ Jun 17 2011, 16:40) *
I have a request for an extra filter: one that only shows the highest bitrate of a song when multiple versions are available (as I wouldn't know how to do this in the current editor). Because I need to sync my library to an iphone I have created m4a versions of my flac files and when I select an album (or song) I get both versions when sending the facets selection to a playlist.

Sorry, but I don't have the motivation to implement this. This is somewhat off-topic, but I think keeping different encodes should be avoided. It is just too much work to keep the tags and so on synchronized. Are modern CPUs not fast enough to convert files as you transfer them? You might want to look into other solutions. For example, the iPod manager component can automatically convert unsupported audio formats.

QUOTE (EagleScout1998 @ Jun 22 2011, 08:31) *
Please forgive me if this question has already been answered. I am having some sorting issues with Facets. In the Artist list, I would like to have "Weird Al" Yankovic (with quotes) to be with the rest of the W's. Right now, it is at the very top of the list.

Album list uses the same order. However, it has been requested to add a user-defined list of prefixes to ignore when sorting, where you could add a double quote. This won't make it into 1.0 though.

QUOTE (Sigheart @ Jun 30 2011, 18:16) *
(...) when you click an artist / genre / album or whatever, it sends it to a "Library selection" playlist so you can play it. My problem is this: when I play a playlist I created it stays there but after some time (sometimes instantly), the cursor moves to the "Library selection" which is kinda annoying.

Thanks for the report, the selection playlist should no longer be activated without user interaction.

QUOTE (Fandango @ Jul 3 2011, 22:22) *
Since updating from 1.0 beta 4 to 1.0 beta 5, typing in the search field is very sluggish. It leads to high CPU usage of up to 100% on multi-core systems.

Too bad I can't revert back to beta 4. Search is hardly usable anymore.

Searching should be back to normal, thank you.

QUOTE (CrabMan @ Jul 6 2011, 13:52) *
Can you add some screenshots pls?

To the components site and documentation? Yes, that is planned. I just did not want to create them all in advance in case things change during beta. In the meantime, there is the Default UI gallery where users can show their own screenshots.

This post has been edited by Frank Bicking: Jul 8 2011, 18:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dan Popescu
post Jul 9 2011, 05:09
Post #190





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 13-April 08
Member No.: 52757



I managed to find a workaround for hidden toolbar in window mode:
- change to Default User Interface
- add Facets to layout, and make sure toolbar is visible
- export .fth from preferences
- change to Columns UI
- display Facets window
- right click on top (above columns header) and choose import...
- smile.gif you have the toolbar back (and you have to reconfigure facets)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
alter4
post Jul 9 2011, 10:05
Post #191





Group: Members
Posts: 109
Joined: 14-September 04
From: Belarus, Vitebsk
Member No.: 16992



Hi Guys and Frank!
I am newbie as user of foo facets but find it very useful and cool. Thx for the great add-on!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AliHaze
post Jul 9 2011, 12:13
Post #192





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 31-March 06
Member No.: 29033



Hi Frank,

first of all, thank you for excellent work on Facets. Never had a problem with it and it made managing my collection so much easier.
Yesterday I upgraded to Beta 6 and for some reasons, Facets causes reproducible crashes on my system. The error report points to Facets and I have sent you the crash dumps.

This is what I do:
I add some files (which are not in my library) to my default playlist from the Windows Explorer, highlight the files in the playlist, select 'File Operations' and move them to my library.
The files are successfully moved to the library and then foobar crashes. When I restart the program it crashes again.
When I remove the newly added folder manually from the library and then restart foobar, it does not crash.

Any ideas as to why this keeps happening? I haven't changed the file operations in ages and it worked perfectly until moving to Beta 6.

EDIT:
Seems you figured it out.
Problem is gone with Beta 7. Thanks a lot, kind sir! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AliHaze: Jul 9 2011, 12:21
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smkk
post Jul 9 2011, 22:03
Post #193





Group: Members
Posts: 603
Joined: 18-November 07
Member No.: 48839



Thank you for the update. Especially the single/middle/double click changes are most appreciated. Perfect component is perfect.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
StuPC
post Jul 10 2011, 16:03
Post #194





Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 19-May 05
Member No.: 22148



Hi there,
I've been messing around with Foobar trying to add a Facets tab to my Tab Stack but can't seem to figure out how - is it even possible? Is there a way to insert a Facet into my Columns UI layout?
All I actually want is a reverse order Date window, so that I can keep track of all my newest music - can I add a "Recently Added" tab or something?
Any help much appreciated.
-StuPC
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Jul 10 2011, 16:05
Post #195





Group: Members
Posts: 4440
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



facets is default UI only. wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
StuPC
post Jul 10 2011, 16:12
Post #196





Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 19-May 05
Member No.: 22148



QUOTE (marc2003 @ Jul 10 2011, 16:05) *
facets is default UI only. wink.gif

Ahh, that explains it - thanks! :-)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
xordae
post Jul 12 2011, 15:58
Post #197





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 27-August 08
Member No.: 57563



A few things I noticed since the stable pre-1.0 release:

At startup, Facets takes over a second to load the library and fill the columns. The older release would load pretty much instantly.

With smooth scrolling turned off in Windows 7, Facets will still smooth scroll when you use the mouse wheel.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fohdeesha
post Jul 13 2011, 01:55
Post #198





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 20-June 11
Member No.: 91674



QUOTE (xordae @ Jul 12 2011, 09:58) *
A few things I noticed since the stable pre-1.0 release:

With smooth scrolling turned off in Windows 7, Facets will still smooth scroll when you use the mouse wheel.



Yup, noticed this too. Pretty annoying for people like me whole like pinpoint accuracy scrollery cool.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sylla
post Jul 13 2011, 18:35
Post #199





Group: Members
Posts: 133
Joined: 7-March 07
Member No.: 41266



QUOTE (xordae @ Jul 12 2011, 16:58) *
A few things I noticed since the stable pre-1.0 release:

At startup, Facets takes over a second to load the library and fill the columns. The older release would load pretty much instantly.

With smooth scrolling turned off in Windows 7, Facets will still smooth scroll when you use the mouse wheel.


I want to report the opposite. Since foobar 1.0 the old facets took well over 10 (!) seconds to load for me, now it only takes one or two seconds.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kompot
post Jul 13 2011, 18:39
Post #200





Group: Members
Posts: 88
Joined: 20-July 07
Member No.: 45480



QUOTE (sylla @ Jul 13 2011, 20:35) *
I want to report the opposite. Since foobar 1.0 the old facets took well over 10 (!) seconds to load for me, now it only takes one or two seconds.


same here - new foo_facets is much faster on my 500+ GB library (nearly instant)
0.9.5 could hang for half a minute
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

23 Pages V  « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st August 2014 - 07:58