IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Converting .ape to FLAC files
Ghost.x74
post Apr 26 2011, 16:48
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 26-April 11
Member No.: 90111



Hi

I am fairly new to this so please bear with me if my question seems basic or obvious.


I have a CD saved as one big .ape file.

I verify the image with CUTools 2.11 and it shows up as 40 in CTDB
and 68 in Accurate Rip DB


Then I use Foobar2000 to convert the files to .FLAC and seperate tracks.

Now when I try to verify the new FLAC tracks in the new folder with CUTools
it says 40 in CTDB and not found in the Accurate Rip DB.


I may be overlooking something fairly simple here but I thought that loseless = loseless
So why does CUTools not fond the seperated FLAC tracks in the AR DB?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
Gregory S. Chudo...
post Apr 26 2011, 19:06
Post #2





Group: Developer
Posts: 689
Joined: 2-October 08
From: Ottawa
Member No.: 59035



AccurateRip DB identifies CDs based on CD structure (described in .cue file).
This sometimes includes pregap (HTOA) and sometimes data track length.
This information is lost when converting with fb2k, although no actual audio is lost normally.
So you can't find the CD in AccurateRip DB afterwards not knowing this (quite irrelevant) things about the CD.
But CTDB doesn't have this problem.


--------------------
CUETools 2.1.4
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ghost.x74
post Apr 26 2011, 19:43
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 26-April 11
Member No.: 90111



QUOTE (Gregory S. Chudov @ Apr 26 2011, 19:06) *
AccurateRip DB identifies CDs based on CD structure (described in .cue file).
This sometimes includes pregap (HTOA) and sometimes data track length.
This information is lost when converting with fb2k, although no actual audio is lost normally.
So you can't find the CD in AccurateRip DB afterwards not knowing this (quite irrelevant) things about the CD.
But CTDB doesn't have this problem.


Thank You Gregory

I have just worked out how to do the whole process with CUTools and it checked out perfectly.
I am only new to CUTools but its looking like an amazing little app

Thanks again for your help
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd July 2014 - 13:26