IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
FLAC to ALAC to iPhone
lawlorz
post Apr 21 2011, 11:30
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 22-July 07
Member No.: 45529



Hi,

ive done some searching and can find some topics similar, but none to answer my specific question.

Im using foobar2000 to sync my iphone. the ipod plugin has a setting in which you can tell it to convert any unsupported formats to one supported by the iphone/ipod.
the majority of my music library is in mp3, however im slowly replacing this with flac. im not audiophile, however i do spend enough money on headphones and such to want to ensure i have the best quality i can even on a portable.
what im trying to achieve is using the setting to automatically convert unsupported formats is to have it transcode my flac files to alac files and put them on my iphone without me having to manually do this. this would save me a lot of effort with having to essentially have 2 copies of my music library, one for listening and one for iphone.

i have a component that allows foobar to decode alac files, however to be able to encode them it needs and exe. if anyone knows how to do this it would be appreciated.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bubbleguuum
post Apr 21 2011, 12:42
Post #2





Group: Developer
Posts: 1112
Joined: 13-November 05
Member No.: 25748



QUOTE (lawlorz)
i have a component that allows foobar to decode alac files, however to be able to encode them it needs and exe. if anyone knows how to do this it would be appreciated.



See this topic, especially the messages about qaac which will encode to ALAC.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
odyssey
post Apr 21 2011, 13:05
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2296
Joined: 18-May 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 6695



There's a few options there:

ffmpeg: Use parameters "-i - -acodec alac %d"
CUEtools: Use parameters "-5 --quiet - -o %d" - Slow, but compresses better.
qaac: Use parameters "-A - -o %d" - Requires QuickTime
iTunesEncode: Use parameters "-e Lossless Encoder -i %s -o %d" - Requires iTunes. For some reason the output file seems to disappear here huh.gif

Note, some ALAC encoders has problems preserving all frames, thus will not be completely lossless. I'm still not fully aware of which encoders that has this problem, but I'm soon to test it using the above encoders.

Update: I just did a quick test and could not replicate the problem above, so it might not be an issue with any of these encoders.

This post has been edited by odyssey: Apr 21 2011, 13:31


--------------------
Can't wait for a HD-AAC encoder :P
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lawlorz
post Apr 22 2011, 22:45
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 22-July 07
Member No.: 45529



awesome, thanks guys. it appears to be working.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th September 2014 - 12:14