IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
EAC crashes on file open/save dialog box in Win7 x64
timcupery
post Mar 12 2011, 22:24
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 780
Joined: 19-December 01
From: Tar Heel country
Member No.: 683



EAC crashes anytime the program tries to pop up a dialog box to open a file, save a file, or select a directory location. I have only seen this behavior on Windows 7 64-bit machines. I recently re-imaged my laptop to Win7 x64 (it had previously been Win7 x86 home edition) and EAC worked fine with full functionality). And last week I bought a new desktop with Win7 x64 (my previous desktop was WinXP 32-bit). I have used EAC for years and have never seen this behavior before.

If I click on "process wav" or "compare wavs" the normal open-file dialog box pops up but immediately an error message also comes up saying that EAC.exe has stopped working. The program also crashes similarly if I go to EAC Options --> Directories and "browse" to set the default save directory for ripped files. (if I just type or paste the directory location, it's fine). If I ask EAC to "ask every time" where to save ripped files, a dialog box pops up and the program crashes.

I've tried this with 1.0b1, 0.99pb5, and 0.95b4.

I am able to rip files fine if I set the default directory by typing or pasting the directory location.
But the inability for EAC to pop up a dialog box means that I can't use the wav editor, which I use regularly.
For the record, both of my Win7 x64 computers are Windows 7 Enterprise edition.

I don't have Adobe Drive installed, but both computers are using Symantec Endpoint Protection.
Here are two threads that I found discussing similar issues, but I wasn't able to fix anything in my case. (although I haven't tried uninstalling Symantec Endpoint Protection)
http://www.digital-inn.de/exact-audio-copy...-vista-x64.html
http://www.sevenforums.com/software/20894-...cd-ripping.html


--------------------
God kills a kitten every time you encode with CBR 320
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Mar 13 2011, 06:55
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 4664
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Maybe it's some particular shell extension causing the problem?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Mar 13 2011, 08:23
Post #3





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10257
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



Did you try disabling visual themes?


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
timcupery
post Mar 13 2011, 17:43
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 780
Joined: 19-December 01
From: Tar Heel country
Member No.: 683



ugh. that did it. the first two times I'd seen "visual themes" mentioned when reading some threads, it wasn't clear that it was in an options other than EAC's own options, and so I couldn't find it and didn't follow up on it.
For the record: while EAC is running, start the Windows task manager. Find EAC in the processes tab, right-click on it and choose "properties." Go to the "compatibilities" tab on properties, and check the box next to "disable visual themes."

This allows me to use open/save/set directory file dialog boxes. Still not perfect - I can't fully use the dumbed (well, disabled) sidebar. The program will lock and crash if I click on the "computer" icon in the sidebar of the dialog box. But otherwise it works fine.
Sorry to have missed that before posting.

This post has been edited by timcupery: Mar 13 2011, 17:44


--------------------
God kills a kitten every time you encode with CBR 320
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
timcupery
post Mar 13 2011, 20:57
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 780
Joined: 19-December 01
From: Tar Heel country
Member No.: 683



another piece of "still not perfect" - if I click on the location drop-down at the top of the dialog box (the "look in" location), EAC also crashes. so can navigate with the dialog box, but just clicking on folders or going back via the "up one level" buton.


--------------------
God kills a kitten every time you encode with CBR 320
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jtripper
post Feb 3 2012, 06:10
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 3-February 12
Member No.: 96901



Disabling the Visual Themes worked like charm for me as well. Thank you so much! I am seeing some of the same issues when selecting "Computer" icon in the sidebar and when selecting the "Save in:" dropdown, but at least the program is usable now. Thanks again.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BrassDude
post Dec 27 2012, 14:54
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 1-February 11
Member No.: 87835



I have exactly this problem but under Windows 8 (64 bit). Unfortunately, there is no disable visual themes option any more under the compatibility tab in properties. I've tried to run it with several different compatibility modes but none of them seem to work. Anyone who successfully solved this problem under Windows 8?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
xlakra
post Jan 27 2013, 21:42
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 27-January 13
Member No.: 106233



Hi Timcupery,

Did you manage to solve the problem? I'm facing exactly the same issue. I've recently changed to Win7 64bit and EAC is not working since then (I mean, it's working but when you try to browse or save file it crashes).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
xlakra
post Jan 27 2013, 21:50
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 27-January 13
Member No.: 106233



Wow!! Disabling the Visual Themes worked!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BrassDude
post Mar 5 2013, 14:58
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 1-February 11
Member No.: 87835



I found a solution for my problem here: http://www.digital-inn.de/exact-audio-copy...html#post160085 My problem was that I had TortoiseSVN installed => 2. case:

"2. If you have TortoiseSVN and/or TortoiseGit client installed:
Check "Show overlays and context menu only in explorer" option in Tortoise's "Icon Overlays" settings pane."

So far it works fine for me and EAC does not crash when the file open dialogue appears.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th November 2014 - 06:28