IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Is there a Now Playing panel for foobar?
kielmaru
post Jan 26 2011, 10:39
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 5-January 11
Member No.: 87056



New to foobar and I'm kinda confused.
I can't find a panel for foobar that shows the currently playing songs. Like in WMP, where you just select songs, then play it. But here on foobar, I have to make a playlist for the songs I want to play.
Also, is there any plugin to show lyrics? I found one but it's not working anymore.

Heres what my foobar looks like: http://i.imgur.com/raAEf.png

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shakey_snake
post Jan 26 2011, 17:49
Post #2





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 4322
Joined: 1-November 06
From: Cincinnati
Member No.: 37036



The window's titlebar and statusbar show now playing information. You can double-click the statusbar to jump the selection to the currently playing item.

This post has been edited by shakey_snake: Jan 26 2011, 17:50


--------------------
elevatorladylevitateme
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
evil roy
post Jan 27 2011, 09:34
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 4-September 09
Member No.: 72891



I assume you mean something like THIS.

First download the foo_textdisplay component from HERE and install.

Then add it to your UI and config to your liking.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fuflo
post Jan 27 2011, 12:24
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 103
Joined: 18-May 06
Member No.: 30902



nah.. he's talking about 'currently playing tracks'. sort of, single playlist for tracks and then library for browsing...

at least i think he means that and i don't have a solution
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kielmaru
post Jan 28 2011, 09:16
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 5-January 11
Member No.: 87056



QUOTE (fuflo @ Jan 27 2011, 13:24) *
nah.. he's talking about 'currently playing tracks'. sort of, single playlist for tracks and then library for browsing...

at least i think he means that and i don't have a solution


THIS. Basically, the library shows ALL the songs, sorted by albums/artists. Then I would just choose from the library what songs I want to play, then show it on the currently playing songs, in which those chosen songs are not stored as playlists or whatsoever. Like in the late versions of WMP.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Jan 28 2011, 09:31
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 4874
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



you can set something like this up with a component called EsPlaylist. it can be configured as a library browser and in the options, you can set it when you double click an album (or any group you set yourself) it sends all the songs to a reserved playlist and starts playing from the first track. it does require a little tinkering in the preferences.

example screenshot grouped by artist

component download: http://foo2k.chottu.net/#esp
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kielmaru
post Jan 28 2011, 10:18
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 5-January 11
Member No.: 87056



QUOTE (marc2003 @ Jan 28 2011, 10:31) *
you can set something like this up with a component called EsPlaylist. it can be configured as a library browser and in the options, you can set it when you double click an album (or any group you set yourself) it sends all the songs to a reserved playlist and starts playing from the first track. it does require a little tinkering in the preferences.

example screenshot grouped by artist

component download: http://foo2k.chottu.net/#esp


THANKS! smile.gif

Also, on an unrelated note, I installed this lyrics grabber component, and it doesnt work and it makes a window pop up an error message when I start foobar. So I want to uninstall that component. But when I went to Preferences to uninstall that component, it's not highlighted and you can't uninstall it. So I tried deleting it on the components folder directory. And it won't, saying that it's protected or something.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shakey_snake
post Jan 28 2011, 16:07
Post #8





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 4322
Joined: 1-November 06
From: Cincinnati
Member No.: 37036



QUOTE (kielmaru @ Jan 28 2011, 03:16) *
THIS. Basically, the library shows ALL the songs, sorted by albums/artists. Then I would just choose from the library what songs I want to play, then show it on the currently playing songs, in which those chosen songs are not stored as playlists or whatsoever. Like in the late versions of WMP.

Well, instead of "playlists" in foobar only being some off-the-beaten-path storage format, they are an active part of the player.

So the workflows of the two programs go something like this:
WMP: Library-> single list of now playing songs
fb2k: Library-> Sent to a Playlist, possibly creating a new one.

So basically, the same thing.

The advantage in fb2k is that you are no longer limited to having only one playlist available to you at a time. The disadvantage is that you might not be able to easily identify what is playing, or where. In order to do this you simply double click the status bar.


--------------------
elevatorladylevitateme
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st December 2014 - 02:32