IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

29 Pages V  « < 20 21 22 23 24 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
QAAC: discussion, questions, feature requests, etc., [originally a thread for a feature request]
the_weirdo
post Dec 13 2013, 10:55
Post #526





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 8-September 10
From: Southeast Asia
Member No.: 83705



QUOTE (Aleron Ives @ Dec 13 2013, 15:23) *
Since it would appear that I am in the wrong, perhaps somebody could enlighten me as to what the purpose is of extracting the msvcr80.dll and msvcp80.dll files? It it just in case the user doesn't have VC++ 2008 runtimes installed already?

Actually, those are VC++ 2005 runtimes.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lock67ca
post Dec 13 2013, 16:57
Post #527





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 24-June 05
Member No.: 22928



QUOTE (eahm @ Dec 12 2013, 23:28) *
QUOTE (lock67ca @ Dec 12 2013, 19:26) *
I just used Winrar to extract the Apple Application Support .msi from the iTunes installer. It's a separate installer and you don't need to fully install iTunes at all.

You can't install it, the only way is if you use something like CopyTrans Drivers Installer. Or install iTunes then uninstall everything but that one. Did you even try before suggesting? The portable way (using makeportable) is actually easier anyway.



But that's exactly what I did do. It worked and I'm still using it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anakunda
post Dec 13 2013, 17:21
Post #528





Group: Members
Posts: 458
Joined: 24-November 08
Member No.: 63072



QUOTE
[qaac] release 2.29 (refalac 1.29)

* Fixed regression on 2.28: Tags were not properly copied when --concat was specified on cuesheet input.
* Fixed not to exit with failure requesting output filename when --concat was specified with --peak or --play (in which case "output filename" is nonsense).
* Some minor improvement and code refactoring.

Thanks nu774 cool.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sundance
post Dec 22 2013, 18:45
Post #529





Group: Members
Posts: 165
Joined: 17-April 02
Member No.: 1804



@nu774,
thanks for the latest version of QAAC:
QUOTE
[qaac] release 2.31 (refalac 1.31)
posted 2 hours ago by nu 774

Just 1note: qaac.exe (32bit) still claims to be v2.30... (couldn't test 64bit)

.sundance.

This post has been edited by sundance: Dec 22 2013, 18:49
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eahm
post Dec 22 2013, 19:22
Post #530





Group: Members
Posts: 1063
Joined: 11-February 12
Member No.: 97076



QUOTE (sundance @ Dec 22 2013, 10:45) *
Just 1note: qaac.exe (32bit) still claims to be v2.30... (couldn't test 64bit)

64-bit version of qaac doesn't exist and yes, confirm that 2.31 shows 2.30.

This post has been edited by eahm: Dec 22 2013, 19:49


--------------------
/lwAsIimz
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nu774
post Dec 23 2013, 01:55
Post #531





Group: Developer
Posts: 525
Joined: 22-November 10
From: Japan
Member No.: 85902



Sorry, uploaded now.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eahm
post Jan 10 2014, 09:32
Post #532





Group: Members
Posts: 1063
Joined: 11-February 12
Member No.: 97076



No one posted but:

CODE
[qaac] release 2.32 (refalac 1.32)
posted Dec 22, 2013, 5:28 PM by nu 774

- Fixed: --tag apID and --tag akID were written in the long tag format.


nu774, does refalac use ONLY msvcr120.dll and msvcp120.dll (used with foobar2000)? Does it need any of the other files (libgcc_s_sjlj-1.dll, libsoxconvolver.dll, libsoxr.dll)?

Thanks

This post has been edited by eahm: Jan 10 2014, 09:33


--------------------
/lwAsIimz
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
aztec_mystic
post Jan 10 2014, 09:37
Post #533





Group: Members
Posts: 93
Joined: 28-March 13
Member No.: 107425



QUOTE (eahm @ Jan 10 2014, 09:32) *
nu774, does refalac use ONLY msvcr120.dll and msvcp120.dll (used with foobar2000)?

You can use dependency walker to figure this out on your own.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eahm
post Jan 10 2014, 09:46
Post #534





Group: Members
Posts: 1063
Joined: 11-February 12
Member No.: 97076



Thanks for the software, tested and didn't see any of the last three DLLs. I didn't ask because of the dependency thing though, I asked for features that refalac may need from these DLLs. Don't know if I explained well enough.

In a simpler way:

Open refalac? Yes, it need the first two DLLs (dependencies)

Downsample, upsample? Maybe it needs these other three DLLs but they are not dependencies (or they are called dependencies even in this case?)

Really tired right now sorry.

edit:
I think I just answered myself, of course it does, that's how it downsamples and upsamples. Also that's why there are 64-bit versions of these files, qaac doesn't have a 64-bit version. Now that I figured out I am a genius I'm gonna go to sleep a little bit, goodnight.

This post has been edited by eahm: Jan 10 2014, 09:53


--------------------
/lwAsIimz
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nu774
post Jan 10 2014, 11:52
Post #535





Group: Developer
Posts: 525
Joined: 22-November 10
From: Japan
Member No.: 85902



QUOTE (eahm @ Jan 10 2014, 17:32) *
nu774, does refalac use ONLY msvcr120.dll and msvcp120.dll (used with foobar2000)? Does it need any of the other files (libgcc_s_sjlj-1.dll, libsoxconvolver.dll, libsoxr.dll)?

1. You need msvc*120.dll to run refalac.
2. You don't need others in order just to run refalac, but some options (--rate, --lowpass, --matrix-*) don't work without them.
3. You can see if these DLLs are loaded with refalac --check.

Technically, msvc*120.dll is implicitly linked to refalac. When you invoke refalac, OS's loader/linker will do the job of loading and linking of dependent DLLs. When implicit dependency is not satisfied (due to missing DLL or something), the attempt will fail and OS will show up an error dialog. In other words, the executable doesn't even start up. You can easily track down these implicit dependency by Dependency Walker.

On the other hand, libsox*.dll is explicitly linked. In this case, OS does nothing automatically for them. Instead, they are loaded by refalac on runtime. This kind of linkage is usually used by plugin system (for example, fb2k will load every plugin DLL this way, so it can run without them).
You cannot see this kind of dependency by Dependency Walker by default (you have to "profile" the process).
Finally, 32bit libsoxr.dll is implicitly dependent on libgcc_s_sjlj-1.dll. So attempt to load libsoxr.dll should fail without it.

This post has been edited by nu774: Jan 10 2014, 11:53
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nu774
post Jan 10 2014, 12:12
Post #536





Group: Developer
Posts: 525
Joined: 22-November 10
From: Japan
Member No.: 85902



BTW main reason for using SoX related things through DLL is due to license of SoX. SoX is LGPL, but qaac cannot be. Although it's not clear if a static linking to a LGPLed library forces the same license on the derivative work, module separation seemed simpler and safer to me.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eahm
post Jan 10 2014, 16:53
Post #537





Group: Members
Posts: 1063
Joined: 11-February 12
Member No.: 97076



Thanks nu774, your replies are always thorough.


--------------------
/lwAsIimz
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
drSeehas
post Jan 10 2014, 17:53
Post #538





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 16-May 11
From: Germany
Member No.: 90702



QUOTE (nu774 @ Jan 10 2014, 12:12) *
... SoX is LGPL, but qaac cannot be...

Why can QAAC not be LGPL?
Aren't you the author of QAAC?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nu774
post Jan 10 2014, 18:34
Post #539





Group: Developer
Posts: 525
Joined: 22-November 10
From: Japan
Member No.: 85902



QUOTE (drSeehas @ Jan 11 2014, 01:53) *
QUOTE (nu774 @ Jan 10 2014, 12:12) *
... SoX is LGPL, but qaac cannot be...

Why can QAAC not be LGPL?
Aren't you the author of QAAC?

Well, I'm not a lawyer so maybe I'm wrong, but qaac depends on Apple's proprietary software and libmp4v2(MPL 1.1). Both of them don't seem to be compatible with LGPL.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
drSeehas
post Jan 10 2014, 18:46
Post #540





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 16-May 11
From: Germany
Member No.: 90702



QUOTE (nu774 @ Jan 10 2014, 18:34) *
... Well, I'm not a lawyer ...

I am not a lawyer too.
I thought, you, being the author, can choose the license.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Aleron Ives
post Jan 10 2014, 23:09
Post #541





Group: Members
Posts: 187
Joined: 22-March 10
From: California
Member No.: 79208



QUOTE (drSeehas @ Jan 10 2014, 09:46) *
I thought, you, being the author, can choose the license.


You can, but you need to choose a license whose terms you can abide by. I think that qaac could be LGPL, because the main purpose of the LGPL is to allow free software and freeware to coexist by keeping the open and closed parts of the software separate, such as by using DLLs. Since qaac loads all of Apple's proprietary software through external DLLs, qaac should be compatible with the LGPL.

Using the GPL would be impossible, because all aspects of a program must be open source to use the GPL, and Apple's proprietary code isn't. The only way nu774 would get in trouble with the LGPL is if qaac incorporated Apple's code directly, but nu774 already avoids doing that in order to keep Apple from taking legal action against him.

The normal LGPL model allows developers of proprietary software to include LGPL software by keeping the open components as separate DLLs, so that users can clearly tell which elements of the program are open and which are closed. The qaac model is the reverse of this (the open components are the program, while the closed components are loaded from separate DLLs), but I don't see why that would make any difference, since the line between the open and closed components remains.

I could be wrong, though, as I'm not a lawyer, either. As such, nu774's cautious approach is the safest one to take, at least until someone with legal expertise can advise him.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nu774
post Jan 11 2014, 02:37
Post #542





Group: Developer
Posts: 525
Joined: 22-November 10
From: Japan
Member No.: 85902



Well, my choice was not based on well studied thought, and probably some of them have been actually unnecessary.
As for dependency on Apple library, seeing that ffmpeg (LGPL) requires "non-free" configuration to enable some of encoders such as libfaac, I just thought it's better to avoid LGPL. That's all.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eahm
post Jan 11 2014, 09:48
Post #543





Group: Members
Posts: 1063
Joined: 11-February 12
Member No.: 97076



nu774, I wanted to test these two libraries with refalac but I get an error.

The command I'm trying is "refalac (or refalac64) -r 32000 (or -r 96000) file.wav" and I get "ERROR: ALAC: Not supported format".

Why?


--------------------
/lwAsIimz
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nu774
post Jan 11 2014, 10:13
Post #544





Group: Developer
Posts: 525
Joined: 22-November 10
From: Japan
Member No.: 85902



QUOTE (eahm @ Jan 11 2014, 17:48) *
The command I'm trying is "refalac (or refalac64) -r 32000 (or -r 96000) file.wav" and I get "ERROR: ALAC: Not supported format".

The error message is indeed odd and is not quite helpful, but you can see what's going on if you turn on --verbose.
Due to sample rate conversion, sample format is converted to 32bit float which is not supported by ALAC. You have to add "-b16" or something.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anakunda
post Jan 14 2014, 20:07
Post #545





Group: Members
Posts: 458
Joined: 24-November 08
Member No.: 63072



Hi
I'm interested what's the factual difference of .m4b format from .m4a and if I can use QAAC to tonvert to this format (if there's need for special software, what software is that). I'm sure that m4b stands for audiobooks so probably there's need for something extra like internal chaptering (tho m4a does contain by default chapter for song too).

This post has been edited by Anakunda: Jan 14 2014, 20:11
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
o-l-a-v
post Jan 14 2014, 22:57
Post #546





Group: Members
Posts: 127
Joined: 18-July 12
From: Norway
Member No.: 101545



QUOTE (Anakunda @ Jan 14 2014, 21:07) *
Hi
I'm interested what's the factual difference of .m4b format from .m4a and if I can use QAAC to tonvert to this format (if there's need for special software, what software is that). I'm sure that m4b stands for audiobooks so probably there's need for something extra like internal chaptering (tho m4a does contain by default chapter for song too).


AAC is the actual audio format, mp4 is an container. Changing it to m4a, m4b or m4r does not change the fact that it is a mp4.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MPEG-4_Part_14#.MP4_versus_.M4A
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anakunda
post Jan 14 2014, 23:01
Post #547





Group: Members
Posts: 458
Joined: 24-November 08
Member No.: 63072



QUOTE (o-l-a-v @ Jan 14 2014, 22:57) *
AAC is the actual audio format, mp4 is an container. Changing it to m4a, m4b or m4r does not change the fact that it is a mp4.

Good, both AAC is what I know. But I'd rather like to know what's the difference between m4b and m4a formats and if QAAC is able to generate full-featured m4b format too (or whether I need different software for this). As for chaptering I think this is possible by merging more files into one multitrack with more internal chpters.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Aleron Ives
post Jan 14 2014, 23:06
Post #548





Group: Members
Posts: 187
Joined: 22-March 10
From: California
Member No.: 79208



The M4B format is just MP4 with chapters, such as for audio books. There is a --chapter switch in qaac to load chapters from a file, but I have never used it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anakunda
post Jan 14 2014, 23:09
Post #549





Group: Members
Posts: 458
Joined: 24-November 08
Member No.: 63072



QUOTE (Aleron Ives @ Jan 14 2014, 23:06) *
The M4B format is just MP4 with chapters, such as for audio books. There is a --chapter switch in qaac to load chapters from a file, but I have never used it.

So everything I need is to use external chapters file and change the output extension to .m4b?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zarggg
post Jan 15 2014, 03:32
Post #550





Group: Members
Posts: 555
Joined: 18-January 04
From: bethlehem.pa.us
Member No.: 11318



You need the .m4b extension for iTunes (and maybe other software) to recognize it as an MPEG-4 Part 14 container with chapters. The container format is the same regardless of the extension; they're just conventions.

I.e., you can have a .m4a file with chapters or a .m4b file without, but the software you're using might not recognize them as such.

This post has been edited by Zarggg: Jan 15 2014, 03:35
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

29 Pages V  « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd September 2014 - 11:20