IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

17 Pages V  « < 11 12 13 14 15 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_vst: VST 2.4 adapter, Multi-instance, multichannel, and seamless; Now back in development
auditorium
post Aug 31 2011, 12:58
Post #301





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 3-May 11
Member No.: 90296



QUOTE (Yegor @ Apr 24 2011, 05:57) *
QUOTE
only a slightly slower foobar startup
Yep, this is the way the adapter works. It keeps track of DSP stack from the very application startup as opposed to deferred loading, i.e. when the user starts playback. Either way, there is a delay before you can hear something smile.gif

Further development of the adapter seems somewhat problematic to me because I have no time at all, you know, two jobs and two educations at once (final year both with all the headaches). And when I graduate, I'll have to go to the god damn army (it's obligatory here in Russia). That is I'll return home in summer 2012. Most likely i'll make it open source so you (yes, You, the most experienced and patient developer! smile.gif will be able to finish the job.


"Most likely i'll make it open source". Is this possible?

This post has been edited by auditorium: Aug 31 2011, 12:59
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yegor
post Aug 31 2011, 13:35
Post #302





Group: Developer
Posts: 251
Joined: 8-April 09
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Member No.: 68779



Yep! It does everything I need and I'm bored with it anyway. Here you are: Attached File  foo_vst_src.zip ( 180.35K ) Number of downloads: 9750

The Simplified BSD License is in license.txt.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
compositore
post Sep 6 2011, 06:48
Post #303





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 6-September 11
Member No.: 93520



Thanks for the source.
There's a developer to improve the Foobar2000 VST 2.4 adapter, in particular chapter GUI to look better?

This post has been edited by compositore: Sep 6 2011, 07:03
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tribaljet
post Sep 6 2011, 14:35
Post #304





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 14-January 11
Member No.: 87321



QUOTE (compositore @ Sep 6 2011, 05:48) *
Thanks for the source.
There's a developer to improve the Foobar2000 VST 2.4 adapter, in particular chapter GUI to look better?


The UI is fine, what could be improved is VST compatibility and performance to a lesser extent.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zradu
post Sep 11 2011, 13:40
Post #305





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 5-February 11
Member No.: 87949



I noticed they were already 244 number of downloads. There are a developer who has brought or will bring several improvements to the adapter (now or in future)?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zerox Millienium
post Sep 22 2011, 13:41
Post #306





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 13-April 04
Member No.: 13453



Voxengo SPAN seemed to work but a little retarded when used for a few minutes. The RMS volume statistic doesn't get updated accurately.
Seemed to work fine on most renown DAWs.

Hope some new developer comes along to improve the foo_vst plugin performance.

Regards.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yegor
post Sep 22 2011, 14:15
Post #307





Group: Developer
Posts: 251
Joined: 8-April 09
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Member No.: 68779



QUOTE
Voxengo SPAN seemed to work but a little retarded when used for a few minutes. The RMS volume statistic doesn't get updated accurately.
Seemed to work fine on most renown DAWs.
This is a known issue:
QUOTE
Display goes ahead of audio by the size of the output buffer.
It can't be fixed due to different buffering approaches between media players and DAWs. The foobar's DSP line isn't supposed to be used for visualization at all.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rozzo
post Sep 22 2011, 17:42
Post #308





Group: Members
Posts: 127
Joined: 28-March 06
Member No.: 28928



It is there some way to integrate de vst adapter as a pannel on Defaul User Interface or Columns UI?

Ys
Rozzo
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Oery
post Sep 24 2011, 11:36
Post #309





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 24-September 11
Member No.: 93936



Thank you for making this VST Adapter
working very well smile.gif
Foobar2k sounds much better now.........
Thank you once again......

Foobar2k v.1.1.8 final
DSP Setting
- SoX Resampler 2x Best
- VST VB-FFX4 to load DX FX (RComp, BBE, L2)



Systems:
- Audiotrak Prodigy HD2 - Wasapi Output 24bit
- OpAmp 2xLT1364 + AD797-BR (browndog adapter)
- DIY LM3886 Amp + Philips 6922 Tube Buffer
- Wharfedale Diamond 9.1 (anniv) Speakers
- Yamaha YST-SW325 Sub

This post has been edited by Oery: Sep 24 2011, 11:53
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
m00k0w
post Sep 28 2011, 05:52
Post #310





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 23-September 10
Member No.: 84069



Hey there,

Thanks for developing this amazing component!

Here's a bug for you:

foobar 1.1.8 with current version 2.4 of foo_vst.dll crashes/freezes with Electri-Q 1.8.8 when doing many critical features like loading a preset or setting the ability to resize the window. I think this is related to the VST plugin giving a popup; in Electri-Q, loading a preset asks for a file and setting "allow resize" gives a warning popup that a restart is necessary.

Thing is, whatever version of foo_vst.dll with the "date modified" being 1/8/2011 9:35PM, 170KB in size, works fine with this electri-q plugin. Perhaps it is good if you would post an archive of old versions as problems with some VST plugins may be fixed with an older version of foo_vst.dll!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ElverGun
post Oct 6 2011, 11:41
Post #311





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 6-October 11
Member No.: 94177



Any notable differences between this plug in and the old vst_bridge? Form what i've seen, this plugin is multi vst, and also support waves. Is it worth the hassle of changing?

This is my current setup:
http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/369/myfoobaro.jpg
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/4/myfoobaro.jpg/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yegor
post Oct 6 2011, 14:06
Post #312





Group: Developer
Posts: 251
Joined: 8-April 09
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Member No.: 68779



It's also multichannel to some extent, it supports Foobar's DSP preset subsystem and is able to work within portable installations. OTOH, it lacks support for non-GUI VSTs and isn't very robust due to huge differences between VST and fb2k's APIs.

This post has been edited by Yegor: Oct 6 2011, 14:07
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jdubs
post Oct 14 2011, 21:05
Post #313





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 14-October 11
Member No.: 94384



All

I get this error, when I try to load the Allocator VST:

"Could not load VST DLL. You may have tried to use x64 DLL or there is an internal error in the plug-in.

C:\Program Files (x86)\foobar2000\components\VST Plugins\Allocator1.0.15\Allocator.dll"

Per this link, the combo should work:

http://www.exadevices.com/Blog/tabid/253/a...oobar-2000.aspx

Per the Allocator creator it should work, too:

http://www.thuneau.com/forum/viewtopic.php...b45ca1597bbf4db

Any idea what's up?

Thanks!
Jim

This post has been edited by jdubs: Oct 14 2011, 21:07
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jdubs
post Oct 14 2011, 21:15
Post #314





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 14-October 11
Member No.: 94384



Nevermind...did some more research. I got it working by copying msvcr71.dll to the Windows/SysWOW64 directory.

-Jim

This post has been edited by db1989: Nov 21 2011, 17:53
Reason for edit: (1) no need to quote the above post; (2) please quote above your reply when you do
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yegor
post Oct 30 2011, 05:50
Post #315





Group: Developer
Posts: 251
Joined: 8-April 09
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Member No.: 68779



Not surprizingly, the thing made its way to the troubleshooter. Well, any bridge like this would be doomed anyway.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Northtech
post Nov 4 2011, 20:11
Post #316





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 26-January 11
Member No.: 87675



foobar2000 1.1.9

--
Online Troubleshooter:
foo_vst.dll : VST 2.4 adapter 0.9.0.3
Reason: Repeated crash reports.

This post has been edited by Northtech: Nov 4 2011, 20:13
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
raster43
post Nov 15 2011, 22:29
Post #317





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 15-November 11
From: NY, USA
Member No.: 95195



Archive is corrupt in the op and the dll won't extract and can't be repaired.

Please repack/repost.

This post has been edited by raster43: Nov 15 2011, 22:40
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tribaljet
post Nov 15 2011, 22:38
Post #318





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 14-January 11
Member No.: 87321



Yegor, would it be possible if you posted the previous version of your VST bridge? It was asked previously, and it does make sense as the previous version is your official latest stable version, while 0.9.0.3 is an experimental version. Both versions display different behavior with certain VSTs, so it would increase the VST compatibility range quite a bit.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yegor
post Nov 16 2011, 04:31
Post #319





Group: Developer
Posts: 251
Joined: 8-April 09
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Member No.: 68779



It turns out the only previous version on my new PC is 0.9 and its only difference from 0.9.0.3 is correct update handling. Do you still want me to publish it?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tribaljet
post Nov 16 2011, 05:35
Post #320





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 14-January 11
Member No.: 87321



Oh, I see. The version I was looking for was the previous stable one, 0.8.x.x, which I unfortunately can't remember the exact numbering sad.gif But thanks anyway.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yegor
post Nov 16 2011, 07:00
Post #321





Group: Developer
Posts: 251
Joined: 8-April 09
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Member No.: 68779



Well, I looked up in my back-ups and found all binaries starting from v0.5. I just thought they weren't backed up.

This post has been edited by Yegor: Nov 16 2011, 07:01
Attached File(s)
Attached File  foo_vst_old.zip ( 712.16K ) Number of downloads: 294
 
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tribaljet
post Nov 16 2011, 07:02
Post #322





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 14-January 11
Member No.: 87321



Hats off to you sir, with my most sincere thanks *bows down* smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bob Brines
post Nov 16 2011, 16:13
Post #323





Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 11-May 07
Member No.: 43395



Quote the Foobar "Online Help":

foobar2000 troubleshooter
The following components found on your system are known to be problematic and should be either uninstalled or updated to their latest versions:

foo_dynamic_range.dll : Dynamic Range Meter 1.0.0
Reason: Repeated crash reports.

foo_vst.dll : VST 2.4 adapter 0.9.0.3
Reason: Repeated crash reports.

Do you have a fix for this?

Bob
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yegor
post Nov 16 2011, 17:09
Post #324





Group: Developer
Posts: 251
Joined: 8-April 09
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Member No.: 68779



The only way to fix it is to sandbox VST DLLs in a separate process. It is possible but it'd be a major rework, not just a fix.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bob Brines
post Nov 16 2011, 17:30
Post #325





Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 11-May 07
Member No.: 43395



QUOTE (Yegor @ Nov 16 2011, 11:09) *
The only way to fix it is to sandbox VST DLLs in a separate process. It is possible but it'd be a major rework, not just a fix.


OK. I haven't had any problems, just wanted to make sure you were aware. I would hate to see this plug-in black listed.

Bob
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

17 Pages V  « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 3rd September 2014 - 09:01