IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

9 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 7 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_dsp_effect, A effect array for FB2K
db1989
post Jun 27 2011, 13:27
Post #101





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (JooKBoX @ Jun 27 2011, 08:32) *
When i listen to music of any kind, the bass or bass kick will hit, but then the volume suddenly drops..... then turns back up...... i dont know why its doing this, but its bugging me so much... Could you please help? I just want my music to sound normal with no sudden volume drops.
Rather than a “major problem”, that simply suggests that its dynamics compressor is on; check whether this is the case and turn it off, if so.

This post has been edited by db1989: Jun 27 2011, 13:39
Reason for edit: Adding quote due to new page
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Aug 3 2011, 13:41
Post #102





Group: Members
Posts: 320
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



Hi mudlord,
for the sake of SACD conversion inside of foobar I'm looking for a cut-off filter that suppresses everything above 40khz. Do you think the existing hi-shelf filter could be expanded that way or would you be willing to add a dedicated hi-frequency noise filter for that purpose?

Thanks in advance!

This post has been edited by Sandrine: Aug 3 2011, 14:35
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dr_Colossus
post Aug 3 2011, 17:57
Post #103





Group: Members
Posts: 71
Joined: 8-July 08
Member No.: 55505



QUOTE (Sandrine @ Aug 3 2011, 06:41) *
Hi mudlord,
for the sake of SACD conversion inside of foobar I'm looking for a cut-off filter that suppresses everything above 40khz. Do you think the existing hi-shelf filter could be expanded that way or would you be willing to add a dedicated hi-frequency noise filter for that purpose?

Thanks in advance!


Shouldn't using a good re-sampler like SOX inherently apply what you a looking for?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Aug 3 2011, 19:07
Post #104





Group: Members
Posts: 320
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



QUOTE (Dr_Colossus @ Aug 3 2011, 18:57) *
Shouldn't using a good re-sampler like SOX inherently apply what you a looking for?

I'm no expert, but a look at the spectrum showed me that SoX had alleviated the problem somewhat, but not remedied it. There is still a high frequency "cloud" on top of the spectrum after conversion, beginning between 35-40khz all the way upwards. Eliminating that useless (and not audible) information would give a better compression ratio in FLAC.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GeSomeone
post Aug 3 2011, 19:19
Post #105





Group: Members
Posts: 922
Joined: 22-October 01
From: the Netherlands
Member No.: 335



QUOTE (Sandrine @ Aug 3 2011, 14:41) *
[..] suppresses everything above 40khz.

Resampling to 48 kHz (or 44.1 kHz) surely would.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Aug 3 2011, 20:23
Post #106





Group: Members
Posts: 320
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



QUOTE (GeSomeone @ Aug 3 2011, 20:19) *
Resampling to 48 kHz (or 44.1 kHz) surely would.

Why do people keep second guessing me? What I need I have stated above, what I don't need is "smart" suggestions.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Aug 3 2011, 20:40
Post #107





Group: Admin
Posts: 4628
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I suppose the low pass filter doesn't go high enough for that?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Aug 3 2011, 21:14
Post #108





Group: Members
Posts: 320
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



QUOTE (kode54 @ Aug 3 2011, 21:40) *
I suppose the low pass filter doesn't go high enough for that?

No, the upper limit is 20khz, as is the case with practically all VST filters I quickly checked at the usual free resources today.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Aug 4 2011, 00:30
Post #109





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 813
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



What do you want the upper limit to be (what would be most useful to you)?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Aug 4 2011, 08:21
Post #110





Group: Members
Posts: 320
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



QUOTE (mudlord @ Aug 4 2011, 01:30) *
What do you want the upper limit to be (what would be most useful to you)?


With 40khz I'd be on the safe side, thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jaro1
post Aug 4 2011, 21:49
Post #111





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 22-November 08
Member No.: 62952



Mudlord, i've a two questions or feature requests. I couldn't imagine implementation difficulty for this, but it'd be fine if possible. All is inspired by Room designer of TB Isone VST plugin.
Firstly, i mean a virtual speaker distance simulation, a "simple" distance from the sound source. The problem is, with the current config options in Reverb effect i couldn't get a sound i want, mainly because of quite prominent post-echo, that can't be eliminated with damping or anything else, therefore i stopped using Reverb. I meant using of this feature together with headphones listening. BS2B is IMHO superb component by design (btw. pity it hasn't its place in FB2K component page, it is worth it), but it doesn't solve this. I'm not sure, if in principle, this feature shouldn't be made within BS2B itself, but maybe it is ok if done "standalone". My idea was it would be implemented in Reverb as an option. With that "i couldn't imagine" i meant, i don't know how is such effect achieved if done correctly (combination of phase shift, change in frequency spectrum, etc. ...)
The second request is related to room simulation capabilities in Reverb. As i wrote, there is a problem with minimizing post-echo. Room designer in TB Isone doesn't have dry/wet mix and room width config option, instead it implements reverb time (T60) together with room size and early reflections with diffusion and level, All these five options together with distance simulate final room effect, which is very natural.
Take these requests please, only as a possible ideas for a future, i think it is worth the effort.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Aug 5 2011, 14:34
Post #112





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 813
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Adding stuff like diffusion levels with air/room HPFC/LPFC (like most commercial reverbs), etc will take a fair bit of work to do.
Not sure if I will put it on the todo list, as to me with echo + reverb DSPs I kinda like the effect.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jaro1
post Aug 5 2011, 17:44
Post #113





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 22-November 08
Member No.: 62952



Ok, i understand. Anyway, thanks for your comment.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Aug 11 2011, 14:29
Post #114





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 813
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Sandrine: try 0.9.2

was going to add the new resampler in this, but will do that in 0.10 when its more stable.

This post has been edited by mudlord: Aug 11 2011, 15:07
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Aug 11 2011, 17:59
Post #115





Group: Members
Posts: 320
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



QUOTE (mudlord @ Aug 11 2011, 15:29) *
Sandrine: try 0.9.2

was going to add the new resampler in this, but will do that in 0.10 when its more stable.


The low pass filter works reasonably well, thanks. Is there a hard cut-off filter in there as well? I don't recognize some of the filter names.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Aug 11 2011, 22:42
Post #116





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 813
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Thats actually a good idea for the next version: A dynamic label describing each filter.

edit: Case did some testing with the Speex resampler I implemented in for the new version:
CODE
Resampling 44100 Hz WAV (total length: 49:16.320) to 11025 Hz

PPHS (Normal): 942.989x realtime
PPHS (Ultra): 178.291x realtime
SoX (Normal): 920.140x realtime
SoX (Best): 710.291x realtime
Speex (Q0): 1037.345x realtime
Speex (Q3 - VoIP): 540.334x realtime
Speex (Q4 - Default): 444.844x realtime
Speex (Q5 - Desktop): 381.972x realtime
Speex (Q10): 74.390x realtime


Not sure if I should just keep the resampler as a seperate component or keep it in foo_dsp_effect for 0.10. Still, choice is good I suppose....

This post has been edited by mudlord: Aug 15 2011, 02:12
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ShoNuff
post Aug 17 2011, 15:26
Post #117





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 17-August 11
Member No.: 93092



What would be the possibility of seperating the various DSP's so I can pick and choose the ones I want to incorperate into foobar2000. I only really use the "dynamics compressor" and sometimes the "reverb" or "echo". It is probably from a "neat freak" disorder that hate to see DSP's I will never use crowding DSP Manager. wink.gif Anyway, I would appreciate it if you recompiled them seperately. I would even appreciate it if you just recompiled the "compressor" as a stand-alone DSP.

Thanks
ShoNuff

This post has been edited by db1989: Aug 17 2011, 16:02
Reason for edit: merged in; was separate topic (why?)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Aug 17 2011, 23:56
Post #118





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 813
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



...then there will be no point to this component at all.

You are suggesting, that I rewrite everything as standalone components?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GeSomeone
post Aug 18 2011, 14:08
Post #119





Group: Members
Posts: 922
Joined: 22-October 01
From: the Netherlands
Member No.: 335



QUOTE (mudlord @ Aug 11 2011, 23:42) *
Not sure if I should just keep the resampler as a seperate component or keep it in foo_dsp_effect for 0.10. Still, choice is good I suppose....

If you're looking for opinions ... to me resampling is not an effect (but a conversion) though I can see the relation to the filter section in foo_dsp_effect.
FWIW in my view: separate resampler plugin(s). Choice is good (for now I'm happy with the SOX based resampler). Anyway, feel free to implement anyway you like.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
xnor
post Aug 18 2011, 15:56
Post #120





Group: Developer
Posts: 807
Joined: 29-April 11
From: Austria
Member No.: 90198



QUOTE (ShoNuff @ Aug 17 2011, 16:26) *
What would be the possibility of seperating the various DSP's so I can pick and choose the ones I want to incorperate into foobar2000.


Everything's possible but it doesn't make much sense. They only questionable gain is that if you used a single effect only you'd probably save some 20 kB of memory ohmy.gif ... in every other case I only see disadvantages.

This post has been edited by xnor: Aug 18 2011, 15:57
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Aug 19 2011, 02:23
Post #121





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 813
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



QUOTE (GeSomeone @ Aug 18 2011, 07:08) *
QUOTE (mudlord @ Aug 11 2011, 23:42) *
Not sure if I should just keep the resampler as a seperate component or keep it in foo_dsp_effect for 0.10. Still, choice is good I suppose....

If you're looking for opinions ... to me resampling is not an effect (but a conversion) though I can see the relation to the filter section in foo_dsp_effect.
FWIW in my view: separate resampler plugin(s). Choice is good (for now I'm happy with the SOX based resampler). Anyway, feel free to implement anyway you like.


Agreed. the resampler can go in a seperate DSP. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Aug 19 2011, 06:22
Post #122





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 813
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



QUOTE (xnor @ Aug 18 2011, 09:56) *
QUOTE (ShoNuff @ Aug 17 2011, 16:26) *
What would be the possibility of seperating the various DSP's so I can pick and choose the ones I want to incorperate into foobar2000.


Everything's possible but it doesn't make much sense. They only questionable gain is that if you used a single effect only you'd probably save some 20 kB of memory ohmy.gif ... in every other case I only see disadvantages.


Yeh, you get about 90kb already allocated (MSVC runtimes and whatnot), plus a few KB for resources, and then the rest for your code. Doesn't make much sense to split all the sub DSPs, since they would take more space than the one DSP.

This post has been edited by mudlord: Aug 19 2011, 06:22
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
xnor
post Sep 22 2011, 20:28
Post #123





Group: Developer
Posts: 807
Joined: 29-April 11
From: Austria
Member No.: 90198



Could you add a DC blocking filter like this please:

CODE
private n = 0;

inline filter(x) {
m = x + 0.999 * n;
y = m - n;
n = m;
return y;
}


0.999 could me made an adjustable parameter.

This post has been edited by xnor: Sep 22 2011, 20:31
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mudlord
post Sep 23 2011, 01:30
Post #124





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 813
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 49165



Sure.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gamer966
post Oct 4 2011, 03:21
Post #125





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 4-October 11
Member No.: 94130



Hi, im new to the foobar2000 and i installed the foo_dsp_effect.dll, but i dont know how to use it! It appears on the component list but i dont see anywhere a place where i can turn on/off the effects. Can anybody help me with this?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

9 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2014 - 11:21