IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
dBpoweramp Release 14
kbern
post Sep 27 2010, 09:51
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 27-September 10
Member No.: 84163



QUOTE (spoon @ Sep 21 2010, 20:59) *
It is a little early to do that, as it is under active development.


I'm confused. I went to the ripper "comparison" sheet and it says that dbPoweramp can now do cue sheets and gap detection (I've been waiting a *long time* for dbPoweramp to add that). But it sounds like you're saying that it *doesn't* have that.
Is there an ETA on when it will?
Also, how would I go about using it? Currently I use ImgBurn to create a bin/cue and then I also rip discs into individual FLAC tracks.
My goal is to use dbPoweramp to rip the individual FLAC tracks and also a cue file, so that I can then just take those tracks and the CUE file and somehow "recreate" the original CD... will the latest dpPoweramp help me do that?

Thanks, Spoon.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Sep 27 2010, 09:57
Post #27





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10339
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



QUOTE (kbern @ Sep 27 2010, 01:51) *
I went to the ripper "comparison" sheet and it says that dbPoweramp can now do cue sheets and gap detection (I've been waiting a *long time* for dbPoweramp to add that).

Fixed.


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kbern
post Sep 27 2010, 11:22
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 27-September 10
Member No.: 84163



Thanks for replying so fast (and fixing the chart), though when following the link to the "beta" page it says:
Download:

<now release>
So that means there's not an actual beta for me to download and try out? It seems like this feature was always in "beta" the whole (long) life of R13, and now I'm worried that it's going to get caught in the same trap in R14 (waiting for R15 a year or two from now).
Is there any ETA on this feature? I know I sound pushy, but I have thousands of CDs I'm waiting to re-rip as FLAC and a 200-disc changer that I've had for a year now, waiting on dbPoweramp because I like it much better than the other tools that are out there.
Thanks a lot.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spoon
post Sep 27 2010, 16:20
Post #29


dBpowerAMP developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2758
Joined: 24-March 02
Member No.: 1615



R14 has been released, the cue sheet part (which relies on an extended 'virtual' codec) is in the beta section of forum.dbpoweramp.com it will be updated and released as time permits.


--------------------
Spoon http://www.dbpoweramp.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kbern
post Sep 27 2010, 19:09
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 27-September 10
Member No.: 84163



QUOTE (spoon @ Sep 27 2010, 16:20) *
R14 has been released, the cue sheet part (which relies on an extended 'virtual' codec) is in the beta section of forum.dbpoweramp.com it will be updated and released as time permits.

Thanks, Spoon... continuing this conversation in the beta section of forum.dbpoweramp.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Sep 27 2010, 19:19
Post #31





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10339
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



You can safely use EAC to create noncompliant CUE sheets that will work with rips done with dBpoweramp.

This post has been edited by greynol: Sep 27 2010, 19:20


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kbern
post Sep 27 2010, 20:17
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 27-September 10
Member No.: 84163



QUOTE (greynol @ Sep 27 2010, 19:19) *
You can safely use EAC to create noncompliant CUE sheets that will work with rips done with dBpoweramp.

Thanks. I am trying to have a single-tool solution for when I do my mass re-rip
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Engelsstaub
post Sep 28 2010, 07:46
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 16-February 10
Member No.: 78200



QUOTE (greynol @ Sep 27 2010, 13:19) *
You can safely use EAC to create noncompliant CUE sheets that will work with rips done with dBpoweramp.


Is there a way to make this work when ripping individual tracks with dBpoweramp?


--------------------
The Loudness War is over. Now it's a hopeless occupation.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Sep 28 2010, 07:51
Post #34





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10339
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



Yes, after you're done ripping with dBpoweramp, open EAC and tell it to make a CUE sheet for multiple wave files. If you're using EAC in advanced mode, choose the noncompliant type. It would behoove you to make sure the file naming convention is the same between the two programs and that the metadata is a good enough match so that the CUE correctly points to all the files.

FWIW, For me this is no big deal, but I can understand kbern's not wanting to go through the extra trouble of doing this.


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Engelsstaub
post Sep 28 2010, 08:00
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 16-February 10
Member No.: 78200



Thanks for that info.

I too understand why someone would want to simplify and not have to mess around with a lot of apps. (I'm always looking for new ways to keep EAC useful now that I've been using dBpa. I can never complain about EAC's writer.)


--------------------
The Loudness War is over. Now it's a hopeless occupation.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bilbo
post Sep 28 2010, 16:36
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 16-April 07
Member No.: 42593



dbpoweramp has been working on cue sheet support for some time! It doesn't appear that you are really serious about it. I don't think that I will pay for something on a long unfulfilled promise, especially with the new EAC release candidate just being released.


--------------------
Glass half full!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Engelsstaub
post Sep 30 2010, 11:02
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 16-February 10
Member No.: 78200



QUOTE (bilbo @ Sep 28 2010, 10:36) *
dbpoweramp has been working on cue sheet support for some time! It doesn't appear that you are really serious about it. I don't think that I will pay for something on a long unfulfilled promise, especially with the new EAC release candidate just being released.


I misunderstand: are you saying that I am not serious about this or that dBpoweramp is not serious about cue sheet implementation?


--------------------
The Loudness War is over. Now it's a hopeless occupation.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Sep 30 2010, 17:31
Post #38





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10339
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



I don't think bilbo thinks you're the developer of dBpoweramp. wink.gif


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bilbo
post Sep 30 2010, 19:00
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 16-April 07
Member No.: 42593



QUOTE (Engelsstaub @ Sep 30 2010, 05:02) *
I misunderstand: are you saying that I am not serious about this or that dBpoweramp is not serious about cue sheet implementation?

The one that is not serious, are those sold the product saying that cue sheet support is in the works, but it never happens. greynol's answer suggests that you are the developer. If you are sitting in the backroom writing code based on the input of others, than it is not you fault. On the other hand, if you are the one dragging your feet on the project, than you would seem to bear some of the blame.

I do not sit in on your meetings! I don't know where the problem lies, just that it exists. T his is what I was trying to convey.


--------------------
Glass half full!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Sep 30 2010, 19:13
Post #40





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10339
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



Misunderstandings all the way around. I never meant to suggest that Engelsstaub had anything to do with the development of dBpoweramp; I simply meant to tell Engelsstaub that you were talking to Spoon.

I wish I hadn't said anything.


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bilbo
post Sep 30 2010, 19:17
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 16-April 07
Member No.: 42593



QUOTE (greynol @ Sep 30 2010, 13:13) *
I wish I hadn't said anything.

Nonsense, have more to convey than most of the people on this forum combined!


--------------------
Glass half full!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Sep 30 2010, 19:21
Post #42





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10339
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



I appreciate that bilbo, thanks. Any annoyance conveyed in my previous post was actually directed at myself for being unclear and/or misleading.


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Engelsstaub
post Oct 1 2010, 00:42
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 16-February 10
Member No.: 78200



bilbo: dBpoweramp does now support cue sheet image. I don't suspect that will change your mind...just merely informational.

(I was initially confused when you said "you" following my comment. My fault. I wish I could develop programs comparable to dBpa or EAC. smile.gif )


--------------------
The Loudness War is over. Now it's a hopeless occupation.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Oct 1 2010, 08:26
Post #44





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10339
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



QUOTE (Engelsstaub @ Sep 30 2010, 16:42) *
dBpoweramp does now support cue sheet image.

For tracks ripped as individual files? AFAICT, this is was where the conversation stood when bilbo made his initial post.

If dBpoweramp can now create CUEs for multiple files then please provide a link so the rest of us following this thread know that issue is finally closed.


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Engelsstaub
post Oct 1 2010, 13:10
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 16-February 10
Member No.: 78200



Sorry if I wasn't following.

I guess I'm not telling anyone anything new. If they are reading this whole thread it's obvious that it only applies to images and not individual tracks.

My bad.


--------------------
The Loudness War is over. Now it's a hopeless occupation.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Oct 1 2010, 18:33
Post #46





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10339
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



Images don't have to be just a single file per disc; they can be comprised of multiple files as well.


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Seeking_Lossless
post Oct 11 2010, 18:01
Post #47





Group: Members
Posts: 100
Joined: 11-May 09
Member No.: 69698



Hi, thanks for the great release.. Now, i'm using the trial and i can't believe how easy to setup it and it is fast too, too bad i din't have credit card but i'll apply soon because i'm still young.
My question is, if i purchase the product R14, let say if there are newer released such as R15 do i eligible for update? Is it free to update or i need to pay for the new one? I ask this question because lots of new product out there in the market only give some discount for their existing customer.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spoon
post Oct 11 2010, 22:24
Post #48


dBpowerAMP developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2758
Joined: 24-March 02
Member No.: 1615



R14 to R15 would have an upgrade fee. At this time R15 is 2 years off (yes really) any enhancements in the next year or so will go into R14


--------------------
Spoon http://www.dbpoweramp.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AshenTech
post Oct 17 2010, 04:31
Post #49





Group: Members
Posts: 79
Joined: 11-November 08
Member No.: 62144



QUOTE (kbern @ Sep 27 2010, 03:51) *
QUOTE (spoon @ Sep 21 2010, 20:59) *
It is a little early to do that, as it is under active development.


I'm confused. I went to the ripper "comparison" sheet and it says that dbPoweramp can now do cue sheets and gap detection (I've been waiting a *long time* for dbPoweramp to add that). But it sounds like you're saying that it *doesn't* have that.
Is there an ETA on when it will?
Also, how would I go about using it? Currently I use ImgBurn to create a bin/cue and then I also rip discs into individual FLAC tracks.
My goal is to use dbPoweramp to rip the individual FLAC tracks and also a cue file, so that I can then just take those tracks and the CUE file and somehow "recreate" the original CD... will the latest dpPoweramp help me do that?

Thanks, Spoon.


if you need a cue splitter
http://www.medieval.it/cuesplitter-pc/menu-id-71.html
its free and works quite well.

and yes the site design sucks, but the product is legit and no it dosnt have any spyware/malware/exct, good little tool and its free wink.gif

This post has been edited by AshenTech: Oct 17 2010, 04:35
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Oct 17 2010, 09:18
Post #50





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10339
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



That it doesn't have spyware/malware/etc. does not keep Medieval CUE Splitter from being crapware:
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....=0&p=683198

This post has been edited by greynol: Oct 17 2010, 09:19


--------------------
Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th December 2014 - 04:47