IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Getting LAME VBR histogram from external process
che
post Apr 15 2003, 10:12
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 15-April 03
Member No.: 5977



Can anyone give an idea how an external application (frontend) can get vbr histogram values while lame encoding stdin?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
che
post Apr 21 2003, 05:25
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 15-April 03
Member No.: 5977



Well. LAME developers, don't you want to tell me? Sorry if my question is not clear... So, I'll try to ask more specifically. Is there in lame.exe code something like file mapping object or something else to access encoding statistics frome another process during _encoding_of_the_<STDIN>?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
windoze9x
post Apr 21 2003, 06:15
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 24-August 02
Member No.: 3190



if you don't get an answer here or from lame developers in general you could try asking the developer of razorlame. That program accesses the vbr histogram.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
k.m.krebs
post Apr 21 2003, 06:35
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 21-August 02
From: vancouver, b.c.
Member No.: 3145



...and since the source-code to razorlame is available, you can see the code he uses.


--------------------
k.m.krebs \ 833-45: http://833-45.net
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Gabriel
post Apr 21 2003, 10:37
Post #5


LAME developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 2950
Joined: 1-October 01
From: Nanterre, France
Member No.: 138



You have to grab stdout.
That is how RazorLame is doing it (this has already been discussed here)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
che
post Apr 21 2003, 10:51
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 15-April 03
Member No.: 5977



I know about razorlame, and I saw its source. And I know that they use pipe to read STDOUT of lame console during encoding (and then they seek for histogram bars in the buffer to "decode" it to the values). Very good! But when you'll try to encode STDIN (say some stream) with VBR option there will be NO VBR HISTOGRAM in the lame console - you may see yourself. Hence razorlame's method seems to be useless here. That is the question...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Thikasabrik
post Apr 21 2003, 14:09
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 21-January 03
Member No.: 4664



Is this at all related to the problem I'm having with mp3s not getting lame tags when encoding an stdin source? I'm using LAME 3.90.2 (dibrom) and Speek's Multi-frontend with Oggdec and Mppdec as sources. Oh, and guys - transcoding ist death, but that isn't the issue here wink.gif

edit: actually, i'd like to withdraw a lot of this - it seems to be something to do with mppdec.

This post has been edited by Thikasabrik: Apr 21 2003, 14:44
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th September 2014 - 02:11