IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

How can I take to pieces my Yamaha remote controller properly?, Yamaha RAV239 / WB37870 EU
lpmorpheus
post Sep 11 2010, 12:35
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 11-September 10
Member No.: 83781



Ahoy,

I am writing to you because my remote controller's volume buttons not so sensitive when I bought it. Of course, I always push them gently but I want to repair them manually. So, it would be very appreciated if you could inform me about 'How can I take to pieces my RC properly?'. I also attached some high resolution pictures about it. I really don't want to hurt or broke it. sad.gif



Yours faithfully,
Peter
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 9)
Slipstreem
post Sep 11 2010, 13:29
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 966
Joined: 7-July 06
Member No.: 32660



Most remote controls are of a clip-together design, so remove any screws that appear to hold it together then run your thumbnail along the join where both halves meet. Try starting where the molding is most flexible. That's usually along the side of the battery compartment.

Once you've manage to squeeze your thumbnail in and create a gap, run it slowly towards the top of the remote control and you should hear quiet clicks as the retention mechanism releases at a number of points. Run your thumbnail all the way around and you should be able to just lift the back off.

Washing the circuit board and keyboard membrane in soapy water followed by a thorough drying out may fix the problem. If not, try gently rubbing a soft graphite pencil over (but not between) the tracks immediately under the offending button.

Disclaimer: If you break it, you broke it. tongue.gif

Good luck. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lpmorpheus
post Sep 11 2010, 16:38
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 11-September 10
Member No.: 83781



It doesn't have any screw and that's why the first step is so hard ... you know, 'break or not to break'. biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Slipstreem
post Sep 11 2010, 17:03
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 966
Joined: 7-July 06
Member No.: 32660



I'm sure I can see one in the second photograph. unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ouroboros
post Sep 11 2010, 17:05
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 291
Joined: 30-May 08
From: UK
Member No.: 53927



QUOTE (lpmorpheus @ Sep 11 2010, 16:38) *
It doesn't have any screw and that's why the first step is so hard ... you know, 'break or not to break'. biggrin.gif

Rubbish. There's one in the battery compartment, clearly visible.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lpmorpheus
post Sep 11 2010, 18:59
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 11-September 10
Member No.: 83781



QUOTE (Slipstreem @ Sep 11 2010, 18:03) *
I'm sure I can see one in the second photograph. unsure.gif

You are right! How could I so blind ... blink.gif
Anyway, I screw out that and try to pull the halves but it hold tight yet. mad.gif
I don't use any screwdriver to avoid scratches and injuries. cool.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Speedskater
post Sep 11 2010, 19:10
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 139
Joined: 12-December 07
From: Cleveland, OH
Member No.: 49500



When disassembling units with many small parts, do it on a towel. It saves searching the floor for parts that got away.


--------------------
Kevin
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lpmorpheus
post Sep 11 2010, 19:37
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 11-September 10
Member No.: 83781



QUOTE (Speedskater @ Sep 11 2010, 20:10) *
When disassembling units with many small parts, do it on a towel. It saves searching the floor for parts that got away.

It's a good idea, I'll take your advice!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dreamliner77
post Sep 12 2010, 05:30
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 2150
Joined: 29-June 02
From: Boston
Member No.: 2427



Call Yamaha's support number. They are VERY good about replacing remotes. There is a form to fill out, send that with your remote and you'll have a new remote in about a week or so. Absolutely great customer service. Let me know if you need a copy of the return form... I have it saved somewhere.


--------------------
"You can fight without ever winning, but never win without a fight." Neil Peart 'Resist'
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lpmorpheus
post Sep 12 2010, 07:59
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 11-September 10
Member No.: 83781



QUOTE (dreamliner77 @ Sep 12 2010, 06:30) *
Call Yamaha's support number. They are VERY good about replacing remotes. There is a form to fill out, send that with your remote and you'll have a new remote in about a week or so. Absolutely great customer service. Let me know if you need a copy of the return form... I have it saved somewhere.

It sounds good! Is that problem if it doesn't have warranty and the bill yet?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 07:28