IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

8 Pages V  « < 5 6 7 8 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
TagBox Tag Editing Plugin, UI Element
jcclow
post Oct 8 2011, 06:23
Post #151





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 24-September 11
Member No.: 93926



Hey Arash! First of all...this component needs to be a standard one installed with foobar. It's exactly what foobar and I need!

I just wanted to add a vote for Tagbox to be able to edit tags from just a selection and not only a playlist.

Also, I read the whole thread here and didn't hear any mention of being able to save Tagbox's preferences in case I need to re-install. I saw the post about copying instead of cutting or replacing the component when customizing the UI, but what happens if I have to re-install foobar and Tagbox.

Thanks again for such an awesome component!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zarty
post Oct 26 2011, 16:50
Post #152





Group: Members
Posts: 86
Joined: 30-September 11
Member No.: 94061



Thanks for this component. I have been using it in combination with Facets and I have a problem. I'm not sure exactly where the problem source is. I have thousands of tracks and most of them had reasonable tags but something has happened since I setup Facets and TagBox because all the tag fields that are displayed in TagBox show that no tags are present - all empty tags. I don't know if the tag values are really lost or just not being shown.

The other issue and I'm not sure to what extent this is linked with the above problem is that I created a Custom tag with the multi-values property set so I could have my own custom tags as multiple tags in the same field and the use a pattern in a Facet panel to display and filter on those custom tags. It works and I was very happy about that but if I start Tagbox from the context menu of a track, it doesn't show the Custom field/tag. If, however, I start Tagbox from the View menu, it does show the Custom Tag. The other odd thing is that I used TagBox preferences to setup the custom tag but now I look in Tagbox preference, the Custom Tag can not be seen. However, in the Facet panel I created with the appropriate pattern still shows the custom tag and I can filter against these for the few tracks I experimented with.

Basically, I have serious problem of having apparently lost all tag info. Some guidence and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Zarty
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zarty
post Oct 26 2011, 20:33
Post #153





Group: Members
Posts: 86
Joined: 30-September 11
Member No.: 94061



I've re-created the Custom field in TagBox and checked in Preferences | Advanced to make sure the field can accept multiple values. That was already set. Now, when I bring up TagBox from a track's context menu, I do see the Custom field, which is good. However, I can't append values in there. Here's a screenshot. You can see the multipe tags in the Facet panel called Custom but the corresponding Custom field in Tagbox shows the wrong options. Any ideas?



Zarty
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post Oct 26 2011, 21:03
Post #154





Group: Members
Posts: 1740
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



Did you check in the prefrences "values currently in database" for the list values?

Edit
Your options should look like that:


This post has been edited by q-stankovic: Oct 26 2011, 21:08


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zarty
post Oct 26 2011, 21:16
Post #155





Group: Members
Posts: 86
Joined: 30-September 11
Member No.: 94061



[quote name='q-stankovic' date='Oct 26 2011, 21:03' post='773410']

Yes, that's the default and I didn't change it.

What I've done to try and figure out what the problem is, is to unload all the components and get back to plain vanila Foobar2000. When I did that, I could see all the tag info as usual. I then reloaded the components including Facets, Tagbox and so on. Same problem. When I bring up TagBox I can see the correct fields but they always show blank and the custom field can't be edit as per the screenshot. If I click on the dropdown of the other fields like 'Artist', I get a big long list of Artists that I could choose from so the tag info is definitely stored but just not being associated with a track by TagBox.

Zarty
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post Oct 26 2011, 21:57
Post #156





Group: Members
Posts: 1740
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



can you post a screenshot of facets prefrences and tagBox prefrences?


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zarty
post Oct 26 2011, 22:11
Post #157





Group: Members
Posts: 86
Joined: 30-September 11
Member No.: 94061



here they are...










Zarty
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post Oct 26 2011, 22:24
Post #158





Group: Members
Posts: 1740
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



Ok, i took a look and it seems to be a bug in TagBox when choosing "append" as tagging behaviour. It is just strange that in some cases (depending of field) it works and in some not.

This post has been edited by q-stankovic: Oct 26 2011, 22:25


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zarty
post Oct 26 2011, 23:08
Post #159





Group: Members
Posts: 86
Joined: 30-September 11
Member No.: 94061



QUOTE (q-stankovic @ Oct 26 2011, 22:24) *
Ok, i took a look and it seems to be a bug in TagBox when choosing "append" as tagging behaviour. It is just strange that in some cases (depending of field) it works and in some not.


Thanks for identifying that. I was depending on that feature to make use of foobar and I can't see what other options I have if Tagbox was the only way to enable multiple values for a tag? Maybe Aresh will fix it.

Cheers,
Zarty
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zarty
post Oct 27 2011, 13:21
Post #160





Group: Members
Posts: 86
Joined: 30-September 11
Member No.: 94061



I started from scratch again, this time reseting all preferences. I now have TabBox working with Facets. It displays existing tags and allows me to edit my custom tags. All fine but it's a bit of concern that I don't know what the original problem was.

I found a new glitch that isn't serious but is annoying.. if you just open Tagbox and after a while close it via the red X at the top right corner of the Tagbox window, it closes as you would expect. If, however, you edit a tag and then try to close Tagbox, it does close but also minimizes Foobar!

Cheers,
Zarty
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post Oct 27 2011, 18:15
Post #161





Group: Members
Posts: 1740
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



Doesn't happen for me!


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
orangefx
post Dec 13 2011, 11:37
Post #162





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 23-September 06
From: Berlin
Member No.: 35535



Great Plugin! Thanks a lot! it will help tagging 12000+ trax. 2 years ago i did not come to an end with it. of course i also have a couple wishes or suggestions to make. thanx for considering!

1. i want to tag about 100 genres. someone suggested earlier the auto fill option (if one loads an album x of the artist y he gets the suggestion to use the same genre tag as before with the same artist y)

2. an option to display all unspecified tags/metadata when they are present would help a lot with the cleanup process!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tigermess
post Jan 4 2012, 02:07
Post #163





Group: Members
Posts: 66
Joined: 28-October 11
Member No.: 94746



Hello,
may I know if TagBox works with selections? Some recent posts (q-stankovic on Jul 27 2011, jcclow from Oct 8 2011) imply that it doesn't work, on the other hand looks like Zarty dealt with TagBox not accepting selection from Facets, and he won biggrin.gif So I'm wondering if it's possible or not..
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post Jan 5 2012, 18:23
Post #164





Group: Members
Posts: 1740
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



It just works with selections from playlist viewers. All other selection are not possible - even in the stand-alone window


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tigermess
post Jan 27 2012, 18:42
Post #165





Group: Members
Posts: 66
Joined: 28-October 11
Member No.: 94746



Ok. Too bad for "now playing" (single playlist) configs smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spuuunit
post Mar 18 2012, 20:11
Post #166





Group: Members
Posts: 62
Joined: 19-January 11
Member No.: 87437



Hello all. I just noticed that I no longer can see anything in my Albumartist tag field. Almost no tracks have anything written there. However, if i write out Albumartist in for example EsPlaylist, then it shows there, so my tag info isn't lost...

Anyone may know why nothing shows in my Albumartist field in TagBox anymore? By the way, the correct tag syntax is: album artist, right? not: albumartist.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tigermess
post Apr 8 2012, 14:16
Post #167





Group: Members
Posts: 66
Joined: 28-October 11
Member No.: 94746



If the question still persists, switching the radio button in File > Preferences > Advanced > Tagging > Vorbis&Flac > Metadata writing mode or possibly even (un)checking File > Preferences > Advanced > Tagging > MP3 > ID3v2 rev. and quirks > Map TPE2 to Album Artist check box could help.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spuuunit
post May 15 2012, 20:48
Post #168





Group: Members
Posts: 62
Joined: 19-January 11
Member No.: 87437



QUOTE (Tigermess @ Apr 8 2012, 15:16) *
If the question still persists, switching the radio button in File > Preferences > Advanced > Tagging > Vorbis&Flac > Metadata writing mode or possibly even (un)checking File > Preferences > Advanced > Tagging > MP3 > ID3v2 rev. and quirks > Map TPE2 to Album Artist check box could help.


Forgot to answer, but yes, it did help. Thanks =).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ore4444
post Sep 17 2012, 12:40
Post #169





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 17-September 12
Member No.: 103211



Hi.

Thanks for the great plugin smile.gif
Only one thing I can't seem to figure out...

Where can I find a list of all supported tags (i.e. title, album, rating)?
More specifically, I want one of my tags to show the file format. Foobar2000 has a tag called "Codec" but it doesn't show when I insert it as a tag name in TagBox.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Sep 17 2012, 13:04
Post #170





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Regardless of the context, users can only edit actual metadata fields, not file-derived technical/format-specific information or other special fields. The latter are not open to alteration, for the simple reason that they’re supposed to be invariant due to being deduced from the stream (or path, or etc.) itself.

This post has been edited by db1989: Sep 17 2012, 13:06
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Emerelle
post Sep 22 2012, 08:45
Post #171





Group: Members
Posts: 142
Joined: 3-November 11
Member No.: 94918



Closing the Tagbox Panel minimizes my foobar (CUI) - anyone else having this problem? Is there a workaround for this quirk?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Daeron
post Sep 22 2012, 13:40
Post #172





Group: Members
Posts: 382
Joined: 9-October 08
Member No.: 59818



It's a pretty old bug but I doubt there's a workaround. I just got used to it, although I only use it rarely.

This post has been edited by Daeron: Sep 22 2012, 13:45
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Emerelle
post Sep 22 2012, 15:56
Post #173





Group: Members
Posts: 142
Joined: 3-November 11
Member No.: 94918



Thanks Daeron, thats a shame though - the tool is quite useful but the bug is pretty nerv-wrecking.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ore4444
post Sep 23 2012, 07:30
Post #174





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 17-September 12
Member No.: 103211



QUOTE (db1989 @ Sep 17 2012, 13:04) *
Regardless of the context, users can only edit actual metadata fields, not file-derived technical/format-specific information or other special fields. The latter are not open to alteration, for the simple reason that they’re supposed to be invariant due to being deduced from the stream (or path, or etc.) itself.


Yes, I know that. But my guess is that the maker of this plugin hardcoded quite a few keywords that can work as tags and that correlate to id3 tags.
I would love to know the list of all such keywords.

Also, I want to have the file format is the same place and the tag editing, just so I know the context of my editing.
J River Media Center, for example, does exactly that, and there non-editable fields are simply grayed out. But they are nonetheless present.

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Snivets
post Sep 28 2012, 07:28
Post #175





Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 22-May 09
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Member No.: 70034



Literally the best plugin ever.
I was just coming here to request simply the ability to autocomplete multiple people when picking composers.

I do have kind of an odd request, and it might be more complicated than it's worth, but that's the ability to add associations with composers.
For example, if I want to tag the composers from a group all at once, tagging them with their band's name and then being able to use that in tagging.

Can anyone think of a way that could be implemented? Would it be something I'd be better off developing just for me?

EDIT: Better, more practical request. A way to include values from other fields. For example, in my REMIXED BY meta, I want to list both values from other REMIXED BY properties, but also values from COMPOSER. Any chance for metadata formatting in the preset value field?

This post has been edited by Snivets: Sep 28 2012, 07:33
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

8 Pages V  « < 5 6 7 8 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st September 2014 - 08:48