IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

8 Pages V  « < 4 5 6 7 8 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
TagBox Tag Editing Plugin, UI Element
romor
post Jan 23 2011, 16:02
Post #126





Group: Members
Posts: 680
Joined: 16-January 09
Member No.: 65630



I don't understand what's this vertical spacing condensation? If you made this only for yourself than OK, but I think you should provide at least a tick box option and follow font and vertical spacing as globally set for lists, so that user won't notice inconsistency in layout, or put it politely - be more user-friendly

Also, can't all dialog group repeatings in configuration window be replaced with some combo box?

Noticed other issues, like user can't put it on the left edge of screen/layout, as drop-down menu will clip, but I think that not considering seamless integration with other player elements is more important to note

Thank you


--------------------
scripts: http://goo.gl/M1qVLQ
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post Jan 23 2011, 20:30
Post #127





Group: Members
Posts: 1741
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



QUOTE (Arash @ Jan 23 2011, 11:42) *
* Append, front-insert and checkbox operations now work on individual tracks instead of the text in the edit box.


Thanks, that makes the component perfect!


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bsw11
post Jan 28 2011, 18:02
Post #128





Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 19-April 09
From: Los Angeles CA
Member No.: 69081



Suggestion for you - integrate one of the online services that id a track by its content (like Shizamm) but it can work just by clicking a button in your interface which then sends a sample (sample should start from tracks current position if the active track is being tagged) to the service for IDing.

If you need to name of the service let me know.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ice Devil
post Feb 10 2011, 01:42
Post #129





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 15-February 06
Member No.: 27777



Just discovered this very nice plug in. Makes fixing and adding tags super easy, now that I can do it directly from the front of the player via UI Element.

One little feature suggestion. How about enabling multi-line fields (such as the Comment field and Lyrics). Being able to see more then one line of text would make it much easier to edit these type of fields.

Thanks and keep up the good work.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
extrememultiman
post Feb 22 2011, 23:50
Post #130





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 22-February 11
Member No.: 88399



I started to use foobar intensively and found your tagging plugin pretty useful, so great work!
Can I ask for a (supposely) easy feature like "clear underscores" under the capitalize autotrack etc menu?
Or even better I suggest for a replace char / string feature somewhere in the plugin.

Anyway great work again. Thank you for your hard work and regards, ExtremeMultiman
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Arash
post Feb 23 2011, 14:53
Post #131





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 11-May 09
Member No.: 69696



Regarding recent crash reports, so far I have not been able to reproduce the crash on my own machine and the crash report data is not enough for debugging, so if you experience a crash which involves TagBox, reporting exactly what you did that caused the crash here would be a lot of help. Thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DanielSmedegaard...
post Mar 10 2011, 21:12
Post #132





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 7-March 11
Member No.: 88774



Thank you so much for this awesome plugin! It's extremely useful smile.gif

A couple of things, though:

* I'm using fb2k under WINE in Linux (which I know probably voids my warranty wink.gif ), but my dropdowns often look like this (here it's an auto-complete dropdown after me writing 'E'):



The same field, when I click the [v] button looks like this:



Maybe it's related to some of the same issues as were initially mentioned about W7? (can't tell for sure, as a lot of image links are broken). You're probably sick and tired of hearing about UI issues, huh? biggrin.gif Haha. If there's any manual work-around for the likes of me, it'd be great to know smile.gif

* When selecting files with multi-line field values (such as lyrics), the UI becomes very unresponsive (long lags when clicking files in playlists). Not sure why? Try copy/pasting a regular text file into a tag for an album's tracks and try it yourself.

Thanks a lot! smile.gif

Daniel

EDIT: Just thought I'd add this one, as the other one is hardly a real problem, just a bit "off":


EDIT2: About the second issue, it seems to be related to the length of the field value of the multi-line content... E.g., this comment gives no noticeable lag:
Objectivism - The Philosophy of
Ayn Rand by Leonard Peikoff
Narrator: Johanna Ward
Codec: 24kbps MP3
Program Format: Unabridged
Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks, 2004
Duration: 19 hours : 33 min.
MP3 ISBN: 0-7861-8867-7
HC ISBN: 0525933808

Put paste it ten times, and you'll feel the pain smile.gif

This post has been edited by DanielSmedegaardBuus: Mar 10 2011, 21:51
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SpaceAgeHero
post Mar 12 2011, 10:32
Post #133





Group: Members
Posts: 119
Joined: 23-August 08
From: Berlin
Member No.: 57417



Hey Arash,

think that would be possible? ;-D

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
muzack
post Mar 24 2011, 11:38
Post #134





Group: Members
Posts: 113
Joined: 14-December 08
Member No.: 64497



howdy, I've got a feature request, but I am not sure if it's utopic.

I like to have a behaviour, which preselect at example genre tags for an artist in the database.

Let's say I've got the files by ARTISTX tagged with Genre PUNK, when I add a new ALBUM of ARTISTX and can't remember the genre I used before, then the autocomplete pops up with the Genre I previously used for ARTISTX on top and the others (from Database) are listed below.
Is it possible?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JoeSyr
post May 8 2011, 19:57
Post #135





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 8-May 11
Member No.: 90460



Hi, just found this plugin, love what it does. I'd like to suggest two changes to the auto capitalization algorithm, though:

-Ignore the A->a rule when the string is "*.A*". For example, it currently performs changes such as "M.I.A."->"M.I.a.", "D.A.N.C.E." ->"D.a.N.C.E.", etc. I can't find any examples in my library where the following period isn't part of the string, but my intuition is that ".A" will still be more robust than ".A." without affecting other patterns.

-Treat colons as the start of a new string, for considering what to do with articles and prepositions. For example keep/change to, "Symphony 3: The Story" over "Symphony 3: the Story".

I'm not sure if the second one is supported or refuted by normative English capitalization rules, but I know that it looks strange in my library to see "a" and "the" lowercase following colons. I personally parse colons in song titles as denoting something like "Song Title Prefix: Main Song Title", or "Song Title Part 1: Song Title Part 2", if that makes sense.

Other than that, the feature was really great to stumble across. Foobar's default tag editor's ability to auto-capitalize everything is better than nothing, but still usually leaves a lot of manual editing work.

Also, not sure if this would be easy to implement based on how the plugin currently seems to work, but one of the reasons I use foobar's tag editor is to clear out custom tags written by other software, just in the spirit of cleaning up my files. If there was an option to display all unspecified tags when they are present, then tagbox would be a fuller replacement for the default tag editor interface.

Edit: Another auto-capitalization issue, this seems to be a bug following a pattern I can't figure out, though. A few of my tracks are getting the change "*'s*"->"*'S*" applied, but it's only a handful. The full titles are:
Dream Catcher’S Mitt
Less Yes’S, More No’S
Pompous Posies! Your Party’S No Fun
*Happiness ('S Unit of Measurement)

*This one might be responding to the leading parenthesis. It's certainly an atypical format but perhaps it could use an exception? Not sure if there would be valid cases for "*('s*" out there.

Emilie Sagée’S Secret
A Quick One, While She’S Away
The Ghost of EPPEEPEE’S Ghost

I'm not sure if it's worth noting that this is isolated to two artists in my library, but there are tracks on the same albums that do not experience this effect. These are all mp3's, using id3v2.3 for tags, which is also standard for all my unaffected songs.

This post has been edited by JoeSyr: May 8 2011, 20:32
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Arash
post May 9 2011, 10:57
Post #136





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 11-May 09
Member No.: 69696



QUOTE (SpaceAgeHero @ Mar 12 2011, 10:32) *
...think that would be possible? ;-D

Actually I was going to add a feature to allow inserting of current date and time in a tag, but what you're suggesting is even better (it can always open to current date and time). On to-do list.

QUOTE (JoeSyr @ May 8 2011, 19:57) *
I'd like to suggest two changes to the auto capitalization algorithm...

I will improve TagBox's dealing with abbreviations and the thing you suggest about colons is valid too that should be corrected. The problem with the ’S is because those are not normal apostrophes if you look closely they have a little forward inclination, use normal apostrophe (') and you'll be OK.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
godrick
post May 10 2011, 16:49
Post #137





Group: Members
Posts: 312
Joined: 31-December 10
Member No.: 86948



+1 for multiline ability for comments and lyrics tags.

I also think it would be really valuable to show the actual ID3 frame associated with the tag field for Mp3 files. I can't think of any other tag editor that easily displays this information, and showing it will avoid the need for hex editors to see frame assignments.

thanks again for a useful component.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post May 22 2011, 01:15
Post #138





Group: Members
Posts: 1741
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



QUOTE (godrick @ May 10 2011, 17:49) *
I also think it would be really valuable to show the actual ID3 frame associated with the tag field for Mp3 files.
I think that would look ugly. You don't need a hex editor. try something like axone.jar


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
thorazine
post May 27 2011, 17:21
Post #139





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 18-July 04
Member No.: 15581



I hope some day this is adapted to work as a Columns UI Panel...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
robin75
post Jun 7 2011, 22:28
Post #140





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 9-October 09
Member No.: 73852



hi there, nice plugin, thank you very much.
i'm looking for a DUI alternative to foo_uie_tagger_mod or in other words, a panel (for each single tag) with checkboxes.

i have one tab for each tag.
now i have to open the drop down list, before the vaules appearing and i can click them.

would it be possible to show the values direct, without the dropdown list?
i know this would look chaotic with a list of tags, but with just one tag it would make sense.

or any other ideas how i can have a checkbox panel in DUI?

thank you very much!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
robin75
post Jun 7 2011, 22:31
Post #141





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 9-October 09
Member No.: 73852



QUOTE (thorazine @ May 27 2011, 18:21) *
I hope some day this is adapted to work as a Columns UI Panel...


i think you can use this for CUI: foo_uie_tagger_mod http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=66010
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post Jun 7 2011, 22:32
Post #142





Group: Members
Posts: 1741
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



The dropdownlist is just one click away and you don't have to switch between tabs ... unsure.gif wink.gif


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
robin75
post Jun 8 2011, 16:51
Post #143





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 9-October 09
Member No.: 73852



QUOTE (q-stankovic @ Jun 7 2011, 23:32) *
The dropdownlist is just one click away and you don't have to switch between tabs ... unsure.gif wink.gif


i know, the click is not the issue, it's the scrolling in the drop down...
i'm switching not that much between the tabs, it's more like having a list with tracks and then go through and clicking just a value.
mhh. any other idea for me mr. stankovic?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post Jun 8 2011, 17:14
Post #144





Group: Members
Posts: 1741
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



No! tongue.gif


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post Jul 27 2011, 21:20
Post #145





Group: Members
Posts: 1741
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



hello arash,

i have one request:

The ui-elemet shows only the playlists selection so that selections from library viewers or other sources cannot be tagged in ui-element. Can you change that?


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Sep 5 2011, 01:26
Post #146





Group: Members
Posts: 320
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



The component repeatedly crashed my foobar today. It happened on adding an SACD ISO (Bocelli - Sentimento) - only opening it was to enough to crash the program most of the time. Other times, it happened when I tried to select a range of tracks, and then clicked again. This is the first ISO among more than 200 where this happened. I have removed foo_tagbox for the moment and foobar is back to stable.

This post has been edited by Sandrine: Sep 5 2011, 01:27
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
camilohollanda
post Sep 23 2011, 22:52
Post #147





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 23-September 11
Member No.: 93920



I tried to add Year tag and it became duplicated with some \\ in the middle.

Did I do something wrong or is it a bug?

I would appreciate some answer.

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Apotatos
post Sep 29 2011, 08:47
Post #148





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 27-February 11
Member No.: 88560



My rate: TagBox +++++

I am using foobar with columns ui and when i close TagBox after applying my tags and a window is opend in the backround (or a program) it brings it to the front.
It's not that serious but it's a little bit annoying.

A great plugin for taging with 2 clicks.

I would suggest a title format support!!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spuuunit
post Oct 2 2011, 18:34
Post #149





Group: Members
Posts: 99
Joined: 19-January 11
Member No.: 87437



Is there any way to correctly copy lyrics and paste it in a tag? Because as it is from standard, you only get the first row of the whole lyrics text. Would this be possible? unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spuuunit
post Oct 4 2011, 20:30
Post #150





Group: Members
Posts: 99
Joined: 19-January 11
Member No.: 87437



I've now read all posts on page 2 and I'm glad to have some support at my side smile.gif. It seems some more people want to have multiline ability. Two commonly used multiline tags are Lyrics and Comments (as said before). So I guess many people would benefit from this functionality.

That would be really great in my opinion.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

8 Pages V  « < 4 5 6 7 8 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2014 - 14:14