IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

8 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
TagBox Tag Editing Plugin, UI Element
Arash
post May 26 2010, 08:48
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 11-May 09
Member No.: 69696



Hello Everybody,

I needed something like this but couldn't find any so I wrote it myself!
It is something like an editable "properties" window in a UI element with "quick tagger" like features and a little more.

Here is more info and download link.

Check it out and let me know what you think smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Neonphytismo
post May 26 2010, 09:42
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 20-April 10
From: YOKOHAMA
Member No.: 80012



QUOTE (autumn @ May 26 2010, 15:48) *
Hello Everybody,

I needed something like this but couldn't find any so I wrote it myself!
It is something like an editable "properties" window in a UI element with "quick tagger" like features and a little more.

Here is more info and download link.

Check it out and let me know what you think smile.gif

it seemed to me that i cannot find the TagBox in the Panels....but the TagBox exist in my View menu...why?


--------------------
mad messy misanthropist morbid mused
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2E7AH
post May 26 2010, 09:52
Post #3





Group: Validating
Posts: 2424
Joined: 21-May 08
Member No.: 53675



because I guess it's DUI element and not CUI panel

some issues to throw:

- input boxes are not correctly right aligned
- drop-down on windows 7 doesn't look good



after pressing Ctrl or Shift this dialog pops:



other than that works fine for multivalue fields like genre, style, etc
adding new fields if fine too, so looks good to me smile.gif
thanks

This post has been edited by 2E7AH: May 26 2010, 09:54
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Arash
post May 26 2010, 10:47
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 11-May 09
Member No.: 69696



QUOTE (2E7AH @ May 26 2010, 09:52) *
some issues to throw:

- input boxes are not correctly right aligned
- drop-down on windows 7 doesn't look good


I'm on XP, actually this is the first time I'm seeing a screenshot of TagBox in Windows 7. I don't know what I can do about the drop-downs if Windows 7 shows them like that but I should take care of the alignment thing. I need to install 7 in a virtual machine and see what I can do.

QUOTE (2E7AH @ May 26 2010, 09:52) *
after pressing Ctrl or Shift this dialog pops:


That a seems to be a debug message which interestingly doesn't show up in XP, that's why I missed it. Thanks for letting me know. I fixed it (hopefully).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2E7AH
post May 26 2010, 10:59
Post #5





Group: Validating
Posts: 2424
Joined: 21-May 08
Member No.: 53675



QUOTE (autumn @ May 26 2010, 11:47) *
I don't know what I can do about the drop-downs if Windows 7 shows them like that

Couldn't just increasing the height by 2px solve the problem?
And now when I'm replying again, I wanted to know if it's possible to incorporate auto-complete feature, like properties dialog does

This post has been edited by 2E7AH: May 26 2010, 11:00
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Arash
post May 26 2010, 11:53
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 11-May 09
Member No.: 69696



QUOTE (2E7AH @ May 26 2010, 10:59) *
Couldn't just increasing the height by 2px solve the problem?
And now when I'm replying again, I wanted to know if it's possible to incorporate auto-complete feature, like properties dialog does


So you have problem with the spacing of the drop-downs! I thought you don't like the Windows 7 style smile.gif The thing is I have tried to make the UI Element as compact as possible. My own TagBox has 28 fields, increasing the spacing by 2px makes the element 56 pixels taller and that's too much. But maybe I can make the field spacing optional through the preferences page later.

I like the idea of auto-complete feature but I don't know how's that usually implemented so I need to do some research. On to-do list.

BTW I fixed the right alignment problem too.

This post has been edited by autumn: May 26 2010, 11:54
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2E7AH
post May 26 2010, 12:12
Post #7





Group: Validating
Posts: 2424
Joined: 21-May 08
Member No.: 53675



yeah, I was thinking about spacing generaly because they overlap, and you were thinking about it style which I agree sometimes looks ugly smile.gif
so, how about combobox like below, with check boxes, which would be perfect for multivalue fields IMO (thou they'll overlap again on Windows 7 at current height):



This post has been edited by 2E7AH: May 26 2010, 12:13
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Falstaff
post May 26 2010, 13:06
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 2800
Joined: 12-November 06
Member No.: 37463



download link doesn't work for me sad.gif

"requested page not found"


--------------------
http://br3tt.online.fr/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
muzack
post May 26 2010, 13:26
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 113
Joined: 14-December 08
Member No.: 64497



Hey, thanks for this great plugin!
It's more than useful!

Here are some thoughts:

1. I got Hotkeys without Ctrl modifier like 1-5 for rating or "O" for open folders.
These Hotkeys interfere with the tag editing.

2. I try to access entries from the selectlist with the first letter. Unfortunatly it grabs just the first entry with the letter and the list is closed.
would be nice if the selection stays the list open, to choose the right value manually.

cheers m.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Arash
post May 26 2010, 13:28
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 11-May 09
Member No.: 69696



QUOTE (Falstaff @ May 26 2010, 13:06) *
download link doesn't work for me sad.gif

"requested page not found"


Oh sorry that's my fault! download link should be working now, check it again.

@2E7AH I like the drop-down with check boxes too. Thanks for the idea.

@muzack you're welcome smile.gif I'll look into those problems.

This post has been edited by autumn: May 26 2010, 13:31
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2E7AH
post May 26 2010, 13:50
Post #11





Group: Validating
Posts: 2424
Joined: 21-May 08
Member No.: 53675



QUOTE (autumn @ May 26 2010, 12:53) *
BTW I fixed the right alignment problem too.


thou not for 7 biggrin.gif



items with drop-down are 2px misaligned

This post has been edited by 2E7AH: May 26 2010, 13:53
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post May 26 2010, 17:50
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1741
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



QUOTE (2E7AH @ May 26 2010, 13:12) *
yeah, I was thinking about spacing generaly because they overlap, and you were thinking about it style which I agree sometimes looks ugly smile.gif
so, how about combobox like below, with check boxes, which would be perfect for multivalue fields IMO (thou they'll overlap again on Windows 7 at current height):



QUOTE (autumn @ May 26 2010, 14:28) *
@2E7AH I like the drop-down with check boxes too. Thanks for the idea.


Good idea! Wouldn't that be also the chance to let TagBox look like the Properties window with its nice and clean grid view and therefore like other parts of the program. I made a comparison in regard to the space: the properties needs the same space for 9 fields like tagbox for 8 fields. That maybe a good idea for a standalone window. Tagbox as a ui-element placed in the layout otherwise could look like the selection properties ui-element and matching the global colors. To be honest, in foobar2000's enviroment the TagBox looks excentric. wink.gif

Another point: I have no interest to use TagBox as a ui-element - i prefer a standalone window (like "Properties"). You can call this under main menu -> view. I would like to request the same way like properties window for that case: making a selection, going to context menu, calling TagBox, applying changes.


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LXtreme
post May 26 2010, 20:38
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 13-October 06
From: Munich, Germany
Member No.: 36320



Good idea and great work! Thanks a lot :-)

Just a few thoughts:

Plugin
- Adding vertical/horizontal scroll (with scroll indicators) would help or better said is essential (for those who do not wanna spend so much space for the panel)
- Ability to customize the headers colors (just a gimmick ;-) )

Website
- How about a ToDo-List (and maybe a declined-requests-list) on the bottom of the page
--> this would prevent us (re-)requesting stuff you already have on your To-Do list or definitely do not want to implement
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post May 26 2010, 21:54
Post #14





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4459
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



Have you hardcoded the line height in pixels? At least it looks that way, if you try high-DPI mode in Windows.


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kabuki
post May 26 2010, 22:35
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 22-June 06
Member No.: 32129



hello
do you plan to make it compatible to CUI aswell one day?
surely not in the near futur, but later?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Arash
post May 27 2010, 10:17
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 11-May 09
Member No.: 69696



Well! When developing this plugin I needed to get to something working as soon as possible so the last thing on my mind was cosmetic issues. Many of you have good points I'll try to address issues you mentioned as I further develop TagBox.

Some questions for developers:
1. If I want to use foobar's default colors am I stuck with four colors (text/background/selection/highlight)? what about that light gray that every other row in the playlist use? what's that called?

2. I'm still not sure if I'm going to use the properties window grid style but to make sure that's a list control with dynamically overlaied edit boxes, right?

@foosion
QUOTE
Have you hardcoded the line height in pixels? At least it looks that way, if you try high-DPI mode in Windows.

I'll take care of that.

@2E7AH The nonalignment problem was present in XP too so I literally asked the program to add 2px to edit boxes with drop-down that should solve the problem. I suspect your browser downloaded the old package from its cache or something (same name, same size). Hope someone else with Windows7 and a fresh download can let us know if the problem is still there.

@kabuki
QUOTE
do you plan to make it compatible to CUI aswell one day?
surely not in the near futur, but later?

What is the state of CUI? When I first used foobar2000 I thought perhaps CUI is a redundant thing that will be phased out in favor of DUI so I never used it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2E7AH
post May 27 2010, 11:03
Post #17





Group: Validating
Posts: 2424
Joined: 21-May 08
Member No.: 53675



it's fine now smile.gif

and CUI isn't redundant of course, it's actively developed pacing foobar changes, thou it has Item properties panel with in-line tag editing (similar to your component only it doesn't have drop-down box wink.gif ) + it has in-line playlist tag editing capabilities
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lyh
post May 27 2010, 11:16
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 3-August 07
Member No.: 45869



Many people are useing CUI,I never use DUI.But also like TagBox Tag.Regretful
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
watercolor
post May 27 2010, 13:24
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 5-February 09
Member No.: 66623



Great job.
Are there plan that adding foobar2000 contextmenu, autocomplete, and CUI Panel future?

Anyway, this component is awesome.

This post has been edited by watercolor: May 27 2010, 13:33
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Arash
post Jun 20 2010, 11:29
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 11-May 09
Member No.: 69696



Hello Everybody,

Thanks for all your suggestions and ideas.

TagBox 0.110 is released with some improvements. Check it out and let me know what you think about the changes:

* Many visual improvements to make TagBox better blend in visually with other parts of foobar2000.
* Edit boxes' height is now adjusted based on the font used.
* Labels' width is automatically set based on the length of the text.
* Some minor bug fixes.

TagBox's Official Page.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Arash
post Jun 20 2010, 11:42
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 11-May 09
Member No.: 69696



About the CUI panel, since I don't use CUI myself I rather not try to make TagBox compatible with it. In my experience when you don't use some feature in your software yourself it usually ends up being broken and buggy. I hope someone else make something similar to TagBox for CUI.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SoulMan
post Jul 18 2010, 15:21
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 103
Joined: 13-February 05
Member No.: 19824



Hello,

This plug-in is one of the ones I was waiting for until Foobar 0.8, cause this plug-in permits to manage easily personal tags (I have more than 20 tags perso).

In order to be perfect (for my own use smile.gif ), I have some suggestions :
1) Give the ability to display or not some values or some tags depending on specified conditions i.e. : $if($stricmp(%genre%,jazz),1,0)
This can permit to display tags or a panel of value depending on an other tag value (i.e. to display the styles corresponding to a given genre or to display the countries of a given continent)

2) Add the ability to access the tags in the contextual menu : in order to access them more quickly (in a form Textbox/Tagname/List of values). The top of the top option will be to be able to change the display order & level exactly as the old FB 0.8 QuickTag

3) Give the possibility to interpret FB script in the value field (same as the old fashioned QuickTag), in order to be able to put in place a rating increment, decrement, or to manage easily binary tags (i.e. : $if(%world%,,1) )

So, even if you are not interested by my ideas, thank you for this great job, it's an essential plug-in for personal tags management.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yirkha
post Jul 18 2010, 23:20
Post #23





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 2359
Joined: 30-November 07
Member No.: 49158



Regarding autocomplete, you can use fb2k's library_meta_autocomplete service and Windows shell's IAutocomplete.


--------------------
Full-quoting makes you scroll past the same junk over and over.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Arash
post Jul 20 2010, 09:37
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 11-May 09
Member No.: 69696



@SoulMan: I think I'll add the "launch through context-menu" option, there are many requests for this. About your other requests I should do some more thinking to see if it is possible to add those to tagbox with its current layout and concept.

@Yirkha: Thanks for the info, auto complete is on to-do list too.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SoulMan
post Jul 23 2010, 14:10
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 103
Joined: 13-February 05
Member No.: 19824



Hello,

Thank you a lot smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

8 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th October 2014 - 18:08