IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

9 Pages V  « < 7 8 9  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Windows Media Player Plus! - Various enhancements for WMP
Tim De Baets
post Jul 12 2013, 21:12
Post #201


Author of WMPCDText


Group: Developer
Posts: 402
Joined: 13-August 07
Member No.: 46161



What was the message for the first song?

Can you please check if the song isn't being held open by WMP itself? You can do this by opening WMP's Play tab - the currently opened song will be highlighted (it doesn't necessarily have to be playing).

Which version of WMP Plus were you using before updating? It would surprise me if this got introduced with version 2.6 since there weren't any changes to the tag editor.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sinecure
post Jul 12 2013, 21:58
Post #202





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 24-April 11
Member No.: 90063



QUOTE (Tim De Baets @ Jul 12 2013, 20:12) *
What was the message for the first song?

Can you please check if the song isn't being held open by WMP itself? You can do this by opening WMP's Play tab - the currently opened song will be highlighted (it doesn't necessarily have to be playing).

Which version of WMP Plus were you using before updating? It would surprise me if this got introduced with version 2.6 since there weren't any changes to the tag editor.


The first song lyrics page is editable in the normal way - there is no message. This would be the first song edited in WMP after a restart of Windows7. The play list is empty when the second song shows the error message. I now notice that all songs in the library with lyrics display the same error message after the first opening after a restart of Windows.

I am not sure which version immediately preceded 2.6. I had certainly already downloaded a 2.? version.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tim De Baets
post Jul 13 2013, 19:03
Post #203


Author of WMPCDText


Group: Developer
Posts: 402
Joined: 13-August 07
Member No.: 46161



Then what exactly does happen when you try to edit the lyrics of the first song?

Are you saying that you don't see the message on songs without lyrics? Can you add lyrics to these songs?

What's the file type (or types) of the affected songs?

It seems that I can't reproduce this on my own Windows 7 system, so as far as I can tell, the songs are really open in another application. Can you check if you can edit the lyrics outside of WMP, such as in Explorer or Mp3tag? And can you also check if you see the same issues when booting Windows in Clean Boot mode? Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ginjaninja
post Sep 27 2013, 21:11
Post #204





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 21-August 11
Member No.: 93175



is it possible to increase eg in registry...the amount of tracks for which disk set numbers are still presented (ie above 500 tracks).
I systematically cleaned all my tags with musicbrainz picard, using discnumber tags and am hitting the limit more often than not in various views.

thank you for great plugin.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tim De Baets
post Sep 27 2013, 21:58
Post #205


Author of WMPCDText


Group: Developer
Posts: 402
Joined: 13-August 07
Member No.: 46161



Yes, you can change the limit by editing the IncludeSetMaxItemCount registry value in HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\BM-productions\WMP Plus and restarting WMP. But note that the performance of browsing the library may suffer if the limit is too high.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ginjaninja
post Sep 28 2013, 17:28
Post #206





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 21-August 11
Member No.: 93175



QUOTE (Tim De Baets @ Sep 27 2013, 20:58) *
Yes, you can change the limit by editing the IncludeSetMaxItemCount registry value in HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\BM-productions\WMP Plus and restarting WMP. But note that the performance of browsing the library may suffer if the limit is too high.


thank you.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Unicoder123
post Dec 19 2013, 13:58
Post #207





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 19-December 13
Member No.: 113405



It would be really nice if WMPPlus would support unicode file paths (at least i think that's the problem):
When editing files with Tag Editor Plus, "The request is invalid in the current state" pops up if the file path is not contained in the standard character set, e.g. if it's in cyrillic.
As Windows supports those paths, I would find it consequent for the plugin to support it as well.
This shouldn't be to hard to implement (maybe even only a compiler switch?) and make things a whole lot easier for people with other alphabets.
The error shows up if a tag is unicode and the file is not within a unicode path, but if you hit "apply" and then "OK" it is applied anyways - when pression only "OK" it usually isn't.

Otherwise I love your plugin, thanks a lot for it!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tim De Baets
post Dec 19 2013, 16:55
Post #208


Author of WMPCDText


Group: Developer
Posts: 402
Joined: 13-August 07
Member No.: 46161



WMP Plus should already support Unicode file paths. Are you using the latest version, 2.6? On which version of WMP/Windows?

It's more likely that these issues are caused by the tags contained within the files. What's the file type (or types) of these files?

Would it be possible to upload one of the affected files, so I can take a look? You can use Dropbox or a file sharing website like SkyDrive/RapidShare, and send me the download link via PM. Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Unicoder123
post Dec 19 2013, 18:48
Post #209





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 19-December 13
Member No.: 113405



I came to that conclusion, as in the interface unicode strings are often displayed as question marks (eg. in Settings->Party Shuffle in the list of playlists, as well as in the error messages) and adding images works, if they are moved to another, non-unicode path.

Screenshot of the Messages / Folder: Dropbox link
If you want, I can upload a audio file, too, but as it happens with every unicode named file I don't see much point in doing so.
W7x64, WMP12, WMPP! 2.6

Thanks for your fast reply!

This post has been edited by Unicoder123: Dec 19 2013, 19:03
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tim De Baets
post Dec 19 2013, 21:24
Post #210


Author of WMPCDText


Group: Developer
Posts: 402
Joined: 13-August 07
Member No.: 46161



Indeed, the Party Shuffle settings as well as the error messages don't properly support Unicode paths yet. Thanks for reporting.

What exactly do you mean when you say that adding images works?

Please do upload an audio file. I'm still suspecting that the errors are related to the tags, because using Tag Editor Plus on a Unicode-named file works fine on my Windows 7 system.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Unicoder123
post Dec 19 2013, 22:03
Post #211





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 19-December 13
Member No.: 113405



When adding images, unicode paths aren't supported (when moving the selected image to a non-unicode path there is no problem).
Second bug when adding images: after an error like the one created by a unicode path, the OFD won't show up again.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tim De Baets
post Dec 20 2013, 00:10
Post #212


Author of WMPCDText


Group: Developer
Posts: 402
Joined: 13-August 07
Member No.: 46161



Oh, you're talking about album art. Thanks again for reporting - I'll look into fixing those bugs for one of the next releases of WMP Plus.

I suggest that we further troubleshoot the "request is invalid" error via PM.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
berban
post Nov 28 2014, 09:06
Post #213





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 9-February 11
Member No.: 88026



Hello Mr. De Baets,

Excellent piece of software. Unfortunately, some recent Windows update seems to have messed up the context menu functionality.
  • Whenever I right-click a track either in the list pane or the library pane, the “Tag Editor Plus”, “File” submenu, or “Find in library” items no longer appear in the context menu.
  • Also, every time a track is right-clicked, a new file explorer window opens to that track, as if I had clicked “Open File Location.”




The issue is present when Windows Media Player Plus! is enabled, and absent when Windows Media Player Plus! is disabled. I tried resetting WMP settings and reinstalling both WMP and Windows Media Player Plus!, but the issue persisted. Disabling all the context menu features of Windows Media Player Plus did not fix the issue either.

I have windows 8.1 and in the November patch Tuesday there was this update http://support.microsoft.com/kb/3000850 which seems to be almost like a service pack for windows 8.1. I am not sure if this is the source of the issue but seeing as I haven’t changed anything else since then that is my only guess.

Thanks!!!

This post has been edited by berban: Nov 28 2014, 09:07
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tim De Baets
post Nov 28 2014, 21:12
Post #214


Author of WMPCDText


Group: Developer
Posts: 402
Joined: 13-August 07
Member No.: 46161



Thanks for the report - KB3000850 is indeed the most likely culprit. I'll look into this as soon as I find some time.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tim De Baets
post Dec 11 2014, 22:15
Post #215


Author of WMPCDText


Group: Developer
Posts: 402
Joined: 13-August 07
Member No.: 46161



Announcement: Windows Media Player Plus! 2.7 is now available for download. This update fixes broken plug-in functionality on Windows 8.1 after installation of the November 2014 Windows update rollup (KB3000850). Additionally, a possible Windows Media Player crash has been fixed. Updating is highly recommended.

See the Version History page for a detailed list of what has been fixed.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
berban
post Dec 13 2014, 02:47
Post #216





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 9-February 11
Member No.: 88026



Wow that was quick. Thanks, you're the man!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BertR
post Dec 17 2014, 18:48
Post #217





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 5-December 14
Member No.: 117999



QUOTE (Tim De Baets @ Nov 28 2014, 15:12) *
Thanks for the report - KB3000850 is indeed the most likely culprit. I'll look into this as soon as I find some time.


Hi Tim:

I saw your announcement that ver 2.7 was released, but the download page shows ver 2.6 only. I'm having the same problem as described by berban on Nov. 28. How can I access ver 2.7?

thanks

Bert
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BertR
post Dec 17 2014, 18:51
Post #218





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 5-December 14
Member No.: 117999



QUOTE (Tim De Baets @ Nov 28 2014, 15:12) *
Thanks for the report - KB3000850 is indeed the most likely culprit. I'll look into this as soon as I find some time.


Nevermind, I got ver 2.7, thanks

Bert
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

9 Pages V  « < 7 8 9
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th December 2014 - 11:19