IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

16 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foobar2000 DeskBand Controls, Windows deskband (taskbar toolbar) for controlling foobar2000
eldarien
post Jan 27 2010, 22:46
Post #1





Group: Developer
Posts: 102
Joined: 27-January 10
From: Ukraine
Member No.: 77603



Hi everybody!
This is foobar2000 Deskband Controls plugin. You can see what it does from screenshots below.

Current version is 1.1.2. Bugreports and suggestions are very welcome.

Changelog:
October 8 2014
* Version 1.1.2
- Fix for taskbar not appearing in auto-hide mode when cursor is placed over deskband controls

October 2 2014
* Version 1.1.1
- Fix crush for some album art data

April 10 2014
* Version 1.1
- Default button colorization color set to transparent (a bug when at first start buttons were black)
- Fix a crush when using alpha channel in floating window background color. Use Opacity setting instead.
- Fix text not drawing in WindowsXP
+ Album Art Preserve aspect ratio option
+ Added link to hydrogenaudio forum topic in foobar plugin about window
+ Hide trackbar borders option
+ Trackbars background color support





Settings window screenshots:
http://img109.imageshack.us/img109/968/exxl.png
http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/6131/vesd.png
http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/5352/es5n.png
http://img689.imageshack.us/img689/5272/ud0x.png
http://img202.imageshack.us/img202/40/4rbd.png
http://img22.imageshack.us/img22/8287/svjt.png

Supported operating systems are Windows XP, Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8 and 8.1.

Please read readme.txt for install instructions.

Download: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/374593/...ControlsNET.zip

Oh, and if you think that your setup is awesome - feel free to save it as profile and share with us! (Profiles are saved in %AppData%\DeskbandControls\Profiles folder)

This post has been edited by eldarien: Oct 8 2014, 19:28
Reason for edit: adding mirrored link as per post #210
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post Jan 28 2010, 00:08
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1338
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



Can't seem to get it to work in Windows 7 x64.

Tried in the SysWOW64 folder too, no toolbar.


--------------------
Windows 8.1u1 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.3
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Helgi
post Jan 28 2010, 00:41
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 9-January 10
Member No.: 76870



Thank you.
I don't think it needs a seek bar but I think it would be nice if it could also show the length of the track.

@Andreasvb do you have foo_winamp_spam? http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=61516
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post Jan 28 2010, 01:00
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1338
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



@Helgi
No, what would that have anything do to with it? It doesn't appear under Toolbars.

I do have foo_vis_shpeck, which is the same thing. wink.gif

It needs to be recompiled for us x64 users I think.


--------------------
Windows 8.1u1 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.3
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Keesface
post Jan 28 2010, 01:18
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 96
Joined: 23-November 09
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 75220



I like it. Couple of improvements (if possible):

- Close automatically when closing foobar (quite essential)
- Seekbar
- Show/hide foobar button
- Volume controls
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Helgi
post Jan 28 2010, 02:07
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 9-January 10
Member No.: 76870



QUOTE (Andreasvb @ Jan 28 2010, 00:00) *
@Helgi
No, what would that have anything do to with it?



QUOTE (eldarien @ Jan 27 2010, 21:46) *
Dependencies: foo_winamp_spam is required. Also, it works only on Windows 7 (and Vista, I suppose), but I am planning to make it work on XP too.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
odyssey
post Jan 28 2010, 02:20
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2296
Joined: 18-May 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 6695



I would love to use such thing like this - Problem is I use another PC to serve music from foobar2000.

Any chance such app would work over IP?


--------------------
Can't wait for a HD-AAC encoder :P
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post Jan 28 2010, 02:20
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1338
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



It would surprise me if it would be required for it to even show up.
What that component does is it creates a fake Winamp 1x window that other programs can gather the now playing-info from.

And as I wrote, foo_vis_shpeck works the same, so you don't need that specific one.

TS can verify it if it's required or not.

The problem here is that the control needs to be registered as 32 bit, and it doesn't seem to like the "trick" to use the regsvr32 in the SysWOW64 folder.


--------------------
Windows 8.1u1 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.3
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RavenSoft
post Jan 28 2010, 03:04
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 22-December 05
Member No.: 26563



running x64 here with foo_vis_shpeck and foo_winamp_spam, no toolbar but plugin was registered successfully
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eldarien
post Jan 28 2010, 07:37
Post #10





Group: Developer
Posts: 102
Joined: 27-January 10
From: Ukraine
Member No.: 77603



QUOTE (Andreasvb @ Jan 28 2010, 02:00) *
It needs to be recompiled for us x64 users I think.

Yes, you are right. I will try to make x64 version.


QUOTE (odyssey @ Jan 28 2010, 03:20) *
I would love to use such thing like this - Problem is I use another PC to serve music from foobar2000.
Any chance such app would work over IP?

In current implementation - no. But this is interesting idea, I'll think about it.

QUOTE (Keesface @ Jan 28 2010, 02:18) *
- Close automatically when closing foobar (quite essential)

You mean hide toolbar when user closes player? But than you will have to enable it again manually.
I think this must be an option.


This post has been edited by eldarien: Jan 28 2010, 07:42
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pickaxe
post Jan 28 2010, 09:53
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 9-January 10
Member No.: 76876



Just a request for the next version: can you also make a side-by-side version (buttons on the left, track info on the right) for people who use small icons for the taskbar? That would be great!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
garbanzo.bean
post Jan 28 2010, 12:20
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 264
Joined: 25-September 08
Member No.: 58627



very cool. working great for me in x86.

i have no idea what is possible with something like this, but a few features that would be nice (some already mentioned):

scrolling text
open/close with foobar
button to show foobar
[paused] notification
cover art biggrin.gif

also might be nice also to have a buttons-only version.

looking forward to watching this develop!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Squeller
post Jan 28 2010, 15:37
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 2351
Joined: 28-August 02
Member No.: 3218



Thanks. Can I limit it's width? A user defined tagz string would be nice.

This post has been edited by Squeller: Jan 28 2010, 15:52
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eldarien
post Jan 28 2010, 16:23
Post #14





Group: Developer
Posts: 102
Joined: 27-January 10
From: Ukraine
Member No.: 77603



QUOTE (Pickaxe @ Jan 28 2010, 10:53) *
can you also make a side-by-side version (buttons on the left, track info on the right) for people who use small icons for the taskbar?

Yes


QUOTE (garbanzo.bean @ Jan 28 2010, 13:20) *
scrolling text
open/close with foobar
button to show foobar
[paused] notification
cover art biggrin.gif
also might be nice also to have a buttons-only version.

Technically all this is possible, but for some features (like cover art) there must be separate part as a foobar plugin. Maybe I will be able to remove foo_winamp_spam from dependencies in this case...


QUOTE (Squeller @ Jan 28 2010, 16:37) *
Thanks. Can I limit it's width? A user defined tagz string would be nice.

Minimum width is hardcoded to 200px. It will be configurable in next versions.
What do you mean by "tagz"? Is this foobar title formatting tags, like %artist%?
Anyway, you can chage string format in foo_winamp_spam settings.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cerAmik
post Jan 28 2010, 17:18
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 14-December 04
Member No.: 18680



Your component looks promising.

I support all the Keesface requests and the pause notification.

QUOTE (eldarien @ Jan 27 2010, 22:37) *
QUOTE (Keesface @ Jan 28 2010, 02:18) *
- Close automatically when closing foobar (quite essential)

You mean hide toolbar when user closes player? But than you will have to enable it again manually.
I think this must be an option.

I think it's possible to hide the controls of the toolbar without closing it, like windows media player toolbar, it would be the more convenient.


Other requests:
- Any possibilities to choose which control is showed would be welcome.
- Removing the winamp_spam dependencies would be welcome too. From what I've understand, it's no more really maintained... A dependencies-less component would be the better but otherwise I think it's better to rely on foo_vis_check

This post has been edited by cerAmik: Jan 28 2010, 17:18
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RavenSoft
post Feb 2 2010, 03:58
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 22-December 05
Member No.: 26563



any updates to this plug-in? hope you haven't given up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eldarien
post Feb 2 2010, 08:11
Post #17





Group: Developer
Posts: 102
Joined: 27-January 10
From: Ukraine
Member No.: 77603



QUOTE (RavenSoft @ Feb 2 2010, 04:58) *
any updates to this plug-in? hope you haven't given up!

Of course not! I am working on it and soon there will be a new version with many improvements. I just don't want to spend ALL my free time in Visual Studio wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pickaxe
post Feb 2 2010, 19:59
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 9-January 10
Member No.: 76876



If you don't mind, can you also make a version that fits a minimum-sized vertical Windows 7 taskbar? I'm not sure how it's going to look - two lines of buttons plus another line or two for song info should be pretty ugly. But really - play/pause (preferably combined), rewind, fast forward is enough for me and most people and it fits in one line.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DonnieBrasco
post Feb 3 2010, 13:19
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 3-February 10
Member No.: 77815



Hi, I`m new in this forum wink.gif

I have two simple questions:

1) how can I display only the buttons? I don't want test, title, artist or play status, [stopped], etc.
2) how can I display only buttons and play status? [play], [stopped], [suspended], etc

I hope it's possible!

Thanks
Donnie
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eldarien
post Feb 3 2010, 13:43
Post #20





Group: Developer
Posts: 102
Joined: 27-January 10
From: Ukraine
Member No.: 77603



QUOTE (Pickaxe @ Feb 2 2010, 20:59) *
If you don't mind, can you also make a version that fits a minimum-sized vertical Windows 7 taskbar? I'm not sure how it's going to look - two lines of buttons plus another line or two for song info should be pretty ugly. But really - play/pause (preferably combined), rewind, fast forward is enough for me and most people and it fits in one line.


ok, accepted.

QUOTE (DonnieBrasco @ Feb 3 2010, 14:19) *
1) how can I display only the buttons? I don't want test, title, artist or play status, [stopped], etc.
2) how can I display only buttons and play status? [play], [stopped], [suspended], etc

It's not possible in this version, but will be possible in next one.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DonnieBrasco
post Feb 3 2010, 14:21
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 3-February 10
Member No.: 77815



Great! I'll wait the new version!
Thanks wink.gif

PS. For the new version remind the possibilities to:

- don't display the duration of the song (I tried, but I think that now is not possible)
- put the buttons strictly near the notification icons (as near as possible to the clock, now is not possible, the buttons stay a little bit far from the notification icons)

Does it work without Winamp installed too? I haven't installed Winamp and it seems to work correctly.

Sorry if I wrote bad, I'm italian...

This post has been edited by DonnieBrasco: Feb 3 2010, 14:31
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eldarien
post Feb 10 2010, 22:35
Post #22





Group: Developer
Posts: 102
Joined: 27-January 10
From: Ukraine
Member No.: 77603



New build is available. Download it here.
Changelog:
- works on windows xp;
- does not need foo_winamp_spam any more;
- combined play/pause button;
- seekbar;
- "[stopped]" and "[paused]" notifications and track length info;
- any part of interface can be showed or hidden and moved to any X/Y position (so it can be placed in vertical taskbar);

Please uninstall previous version before installing this one. More details in readme.txt file.

Known restrictions:
- does not work on 64 bit systems yet.

--
P.S. Can I edit my first post here?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Keesface
post Feb 10 2010, 23:51
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 96
Joined: 23-November 09
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 75220



Nice, thanks. I managed to install it in one go and it works fine, but would it be possible to put this in an installer instead of having to do it manually? I guess that would improve usability.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cerAmik
post Feb 11 2010, 03:01
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 14-December 04
Member No.: 18680



Great! Keep up the good work.

With an autohide when foobar is not loaded (only show one button to launch foobar) I would definitively use it.

I have experienced two explorer crash when I have removed it from the taskbar to test different ini settings (win7). If I could help you with some dump files or test, just ask...

And some, less important/cosmetic suggestions:
- Replace the ini file by a foobar preference section. (At least make the ini file readable in the directory of Foobar2000DeskbandControls.dll for portable install)
- Autoscroll text
- Title formatting support
- Customizable icons

Note: your readme doesn't say that regsvr32 need a command prompt runned as administrator

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TomBarlow
post Feb 11 2010, 09:47
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 585
Joined: 30-July 07
Member No.: 45750



I have found that explorer crashes if you change the .ini file then remove the toolbar from the taskbar. You have to remove it first then change the .ini. This is on XP.

Another thing is, it doesn't seem to load the .ini file from foobar's configuration folder, it has to be %appdata%/foobar2000/configuration, whereas my config is stored in Program Files/foobar2000/configuration. (I'm not on portable mode.)

Something I would really like is a stop after current indicator, would that be possible?

This post has been edited by TomBarlow: Feb 11 2010, 09:49
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

16 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2014 - 14:58