IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Play gapless, [meaning to skip silent gaps between tracks]
haitoo
post Jan 20 2010, 21:17
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 20-January 10
Member No.: 77348



Hi, my problem is that foobar don't play my albums gapless. I have ripped it with EAC in a single file and cue sheet seems to be ok.
This is an example cue of a ripped CD.

CODE
REM GENRE "Latin Rock"
REM DATE 1998
REM DISCID B20CA20D
REM COMMENT "ExactAudioCopy v0.99pb4"
PERFORMER "Jarabe de palo"
TITLE "Depende"
FILE "Jarabe de palo - Depende.wav" WAVE
TRACK 01 AUDIO
TITLE "Depende"
PERFORMER "Jarabe de palo"
INDEX 01 00:00:00
TRACK 02 AUDIO
TITLE "Pura sangre"
PERFORMER "Jarabe de palo"
INDEX 00 04:22:24
INDEX 01 04:25:12

...

The first song appears in foobar with 4:25, it is correct? I always listen this 2-3 seconds of silence.
It occurs also in flac, and with others CD's.

I don't know what I have to do or if I misunderstood something or I've ripped it wrong.


Thanks.


PD: I'm sorry, I don't speak English very well
PD2: I've upgraded recently to v1.0

This post has been edited by haitoo: Jan 20 2010, 21:18
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
A_Day_Without_Me
post Jan 20 2010, 21:40
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 89
Joined: 21-August 09
Member No.: 72509



Are you sure it is a gapless album?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zarggg
post Jan 21 2010, 00:43
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 569
Joined: 18-January 04
From: bethlehem.pa.us
Member No.: 11318



Did EAC detect gaps when you ripped it? If so, then it is not a gapless album.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
haitoo
post Jan 21 2010, 01:52
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 20-January 10
Member No.: 77348



I don't know about "gapless album". I did "Detect gaps" with EAC and there are tracks with gaps and tracks without.

But it is not possible to play ignoring the gaps? I thought that foobar reads cue sheet and only plays tracks without playing the gaps. Foobar only ignore gaps if album have no gaps?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yirkha
post Jan 21 2010, 01:57
Post #5





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 2359
Joined: 30-November 07
Member No.: 49158



"Gapless" in the usual terms means that if you cut a song in the middle into two files and play them back, there is no unnecessary gap between the tracks due to technical reasons (encoder, decoder, player, soundcard, whatever).
It doesn't mean that the player guesses that part of the input song is a gap and ignores it during playback.


--------------------
Full-quoting makes you scroll past the same junk over and over.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
haitoo
post Jan 21 2010, 02:46
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 20-January 10
Member No.: 77348



I thought that gap is the difference between INDEX 00 and 01, and foobar will ignore these seconds.

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yirkha
post Jan 21 2010, 03:09
Post #7





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 2359
Joined: 30-November 07
Member No.: 49158



http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gapless

For the other thing you want to do, try the built-in Skip Silence DSP.


--------------------
Full-quoting makes you scroll past the same junk over and over.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
haitoo
post Jan 21 2010, 03:15
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 20-January 10
Member No.: 77348



Oh! Perfect!

Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
alchemistrpm
post Apr 17 2012, 03:05
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 17-April 12
Member No.: 98902



Hello everyone, thanks for reading my noob post. This forum seems to be well-populated with knowledgeable peoples...

So, I'm having issues getting foobar2000 to play audio files gaplessly. For example, on Wolf Parade's Expo 86, "Oh You, Old Thing" is meant to transition seamlessly into "Yulia," and when I have the "gapless album" box checked in iTunes it works perfectly. How can I get foobar to do likewise? Unfortunately, I've tried the "skip silence" DSP and it didn't fix the problem. I refuse to go back to the inferior playback quality of iTunes; please help!

Thanks in advance for any ideas!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Apr 17 2012, 15:18
Post #10





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (alchemistrpm @ Apr 17 2012, 03:05) *
I refuse to go back to the inferior playback quality of iTunes; please help!

foobar2000 does not provide superior sound quality to other players and does not claim to do so. Please see the second-to-last question of the foobar2000 FAQ; as well as #8 of the forumís terms of service, to which you agreed upon registering and according to which you cannot make these kind of claims without providing evidence (in cases where any could possibly exist, which this is not).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th December 2014 - 07:42