IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

7 Pages V  « < 4 5 6 7 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Nero AAC Codec Version 1.5.1.0 released
rogeriol
post May 4 2010, 20:08
Post #126





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 4-March 10
Member No.: 78694



QUOTE (menno @ May 4 2010, 11:30) *
QUOTE (rogeriol @ May 4 2010, 05:52) *
I meant that HEv1 presents lots of artifacts (squeaks) in about 30-50% of music encoded with it, in the 48-64k range. This seems only to appear when played with Nokia phones.


This sounds like there is some problem with the decoder on that phone. Can you try a couple of different players to see if it really doesn't happen with other decoders? I suggest Winamp, iTunes (if you have it, or don't mind installing it), foobar2000.

Menno



Yes, I'll try other decoders, though I remember playing the HEv1 files with Media Player Classic in XP and not hearing the artifacts. Will confirm during the weekend.

I had a N95 8GB, my girlfriend has a regular N95, and now I own a N85, all of them struggle the same way with HEv1 CBR or ABR, with Nero AAC 1.3.3.0 or 1.5.1.X
The squeaks are quite noticeable and frequent, more like corruption.


Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rogeriol
post May 6 2010, 04:05
Post #127





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 4-March 10
Member No.: 78694



QUOTE (menno @ May 4 2010, 12:30) *
This sounds like there is some problem with the decoder on that phone. Can you try a couple of different players to see if it really doesn't happen with other decoders? I suggest Winamp, iTunes (if you have it, or don't mind installing it), foobar2000.

Menno


I have tested this today. Under windows there are no artifacts. I have played the sample in my N85 and digitized the output, so it could be shown here.

As I said this has happened in 3 different Nokia phones, so I think this is a widespread "caracteristic" smile.gif

Sample 48k CBR

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2E7AH
post May 6 2010, 06:46
Post #128





Group: Validating
Posts: 2424
Joined: 21-May 08
Member No.: 53675



I don't have any problems with nero (or any other aac encoder) on nokia. did you try -hev2 switch?

and how did you made that awful recording, btw? from the speaker?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
elmar3rd
post May 6 2010, 09:37
Post #129





Group: Members
Posts: 144
Joined: 5-May 02
Member No.: 1974



I'm transcoding all my Music (Rock, Metal) to AAC (Nero 1.5.1.x, Q 0.25 ~64 kb/s) for my Phone (Nokia 6303 Classic). Great quality and size, no annoying artifacs.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rogeriol
post May 6 2010, 15:59
Post #130





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 4-March 10
Member No.: 78694



QUOTE (2E7AH @ May 6 2010, 02:46) *
I don't have any problems with nero (or any other aac encoder) on nokia. did you try -hev2 switch?

and how did you made that awful recording, btw? from the speaker?


Yes, -hev2 fixes it in my Nokias. The point is that for 48-64k range, v1 gives better results (sans artifact). No I havent abx it wink.gif

No, no speaker. It was hooked directly to my desktop onboard sound input, levels adjusted by ear and captured with win sound recorder... No big worries with quality, but you get to the point.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
b66pak
post May 6 2010, 17:56
Post #131





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 2-February 10
Member No.: 77800



@menno do you plan to add support for aac (mpeg4 adts) output to stdout?
_
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2E7AH
post May 7 2010, 09:02
Post #132





Group: Validating
Posts: 2424
Joined: 21-May 08
Member No.: 53675



you can try http://teknoraver.net/software/mp4tools/#windows in the meantime
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yuna
post Jun 4 2010, 22:32
Post #133





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 8-December 09
From: Quebec, Canada
Member No.: 75742



Hi,

For your infos, I see that the Nero AAC encoder is now v. 1.5.4 for Windows and Linux. It corrected some bugs (See changelog below). The decoder stay to the same version at 1.5.1. If you download it, the file is still NeroAACCodec-1.5.1.zip but the encoder is indeed v.1.5.4.

QUOTE
Changelog

2010-02-18 - Version 1.5.4.0

- neroAacEnc:
- Fixed very rare error

2009-12-29 - Version 1.5.3.0

- neroAacEnc:
- Prevent crash on systems without SSE2

2009-12-17 - Version 1.5.1.0

- neroAacEnc:
- Improved encoding of sample rates higher than 48kHz
- Solved compatibility issues with some hardware devices
- Write iTunes compatible gapless data
- Enabled preserving of very quiet high frequencies at high bitrates
- Write the encoder settings to metadata
- Executable size reduction

- neroAacDec:
- Improved error handling
- Speed up

- neroAacTag:
- Support 3GPP tags
- Support Sony Memory Stick tags
- Improved cover art support
- Improved support for files with multiple tags in different formats (ND,iTunes,3GPP,Sony Memory Stick)
- Writes iTunes tags by default, added switch to enable ND tags




--------------------
foobar2000 v.1.3
FLAC -8 is the best!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
telekomsrbija
post Jun 10 2010, 23:17
Post #134





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 10-June 10
Member No.: 81384



IS AAC+ Best Lossy Codec or maybe OGG is better ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zarggg
post Jun 11 2010, 07:41
Post #135





Group: Members
Posts: 562
Joined: 18-January 04
From: bethlehem.pa.us
Member No.: 11318



Neither. Both are perfectly viable codecs.

(Also, this question is off-topic for this thread.)

This post has been edited by Zarggg: Jun 11 2010, 07:42
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jun 11 2010, 10:20
Post #136





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Also, AAC+ (a subset of AAC as a whole) is intended specifically for low-bitrate use and relies on 'making up' the audio at higher frequencies (dodgy wording; all lossy codecs must reconstruct audio, but especially so when using SBR, correct?). Vorbis, on the other hand, is designed for use at a wide range of bitrates.

There are various lossy codecs, and the "best" one is the one that your preferred software and hardwares supports, and that can be transparent to you at your preferred bitrate/filesize. There's no point asking other people; they don't have your situation or ears. Please have a read around the wiki and previous topics.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Larson
post Jul 30 2010, 09:47
Post #137





Group: Members
Posts: 131
Joined: 27-March 09
Member No.: 68422



Does anyone have an Alpine car deck? I have an Alpine CDE 112Ri and supports MP3/WMA/AAC from usb together with iPod connection. I have no problem at all playing Apple AACs file,even true vbr, but it doesn't play Nero ones. There is silence but the car deck reads them as you see on display the running time. Some songs work others not, other times instead they work. Shouldn't AACs be all the same? I mean Nero makes compatible AACs now with .m4a extension and Apple tag system.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bad Monkey
post Jul 30 2010, 15:16
Post #138





Group: Members
Posts: 90
Joined: 22-August 07
Member No.: 46407



QUOTE (Larson @ Jul 30 2010, 20:47) *
Does anyone have an Alpine car deck? I have an Alpine CDE 112Ri and supports MP3/WMA/AAC from usb together with iPod connection. I have no problem at all playing Apple AACs file,even true vbr, but it doesn't play Nero ones. There is silence but the car deck reads them as you see on display the running time. Some songs work others not, other times instead they work. Shouldn't AACs be all the same? I mean Nero makes compatible AACs now with .m4a extension and Apple tag system.

I have the opposite problem on my Pioneer, Nero creates files which play without problem, having tested probably a few 100, but on a random selection (maybe 1 in 5) the tags are not read properly by the head-unit (show up fine on everything else). AACs from the same source via Apple software work 100%.

Conclusion: 1) head-units by Pioneer and Alpine and probably all the rest are utter crap designed by retarded monkeys, and 2) Nero AAC still isn't creating AACs that are quite what they should be.

Suggest you do what I have settled on and use qtaacenc, works brilliantly and isn't slow.

This post has been edited by Bad Monkey: Jul 30 2010, 15:19
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Larson
post Jul 30 2010, 17:16
Post #139





Group: Members
Posts: 131
Joined: 27-March 09
Member No.: 68422



QUOTE (Bad Monkey @ Jul 30 2010, 16:16) *
QUOTE (Larson @ Jul 30 2010, 20:47) *
Does anyone have an Alpine car deck? I have an Alpine CDE 112Ri and supports MP3/WMA/AAC from usb together with iPod connection. I have no problem at all playing Apple AACs file,even true vbr, but it doesn't play Nero ones. There is silence but the car deck reads them as you see on display the running time. Some songs work others not, other times instead they work. Shouldn't AACs be all the same? I mean Nero makes compatible AACs now with .m4a extension and Apple tag system.

I have the opposite problem on my Pioneer, Nero creates files which play without problem, having tested probably a few 100, but on a random selection (maybe 1 in 5) the tags are not read properly by the head-unit (show up fine on everything else). AACs from the same source via Apple software work 100%.

Conclusion: 1) head-units by Pioneer and Alpine and probably all the rest are utter crap designed by retarded monkeys, and 2) Nero AAC still isn't creating AACs that are quite what they should be.

Suggest you do what I have settled on and use qtaacenc, works brilliantly and isn't slow.


thank you for your answer, i imagined it had something to do with these producers. They could do so much more instead of this crap (not to mention how many problems I encounter, Power IC turns off randomly, Error-01 with iPod sometimes), it shouldn't take long to add support via usb for wav (some head units do), flac at least and ntfs support. For conversion thanks, already know about qtaacenc and use that on Windows; i also have a MacBook Pro and use XLD there. So can't Nero team do anything for this right?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Alexxander
post Jul 30 2010, 17:23
Post #140





Group: Members
Posts: 463
Joined: 15-November 04
Member No.: 18143



I haven't encountered any problem with tags or listening on my Kenwood BT8044 through USB. I use Nero AAC and Lame and conversion is done by foobar2000 (no Apple software on my PC's).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
joaomaradao
post Aug 1 2010, 18:14
Post #141





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 14-May 10
Member No.: 80620



I'm having some trouble converting a lot of files to aac using foobar2000. I just updated neroaacenc.exe and when I started converting all my music files (to send to my iPod) and I noticed that after a bit, one of my cpu cores was "converting" the songs at an incredible fast speed. In the end, as expected, I got an error report for almost every single music file that it tried to convert. I also tried to convert all the files to mp3, but I didn't find any problem like this, so I believe the problem lies in the encoder.
After some more tries I noticed that there was one specific music file that was triggering this. If I try to convert only that file, I don't get any error at all. If I choose to convert some musics before that one and some after, I get those errors:

Song that triggers the problem:
CODE
Source: "C:\Users\Joao\Music\Dekaron\00-bgm-arcana.mp3"
  An error occurred while writing to file (The encoder has terminated prematurely with code 1 (0x00000001); please re-check parameters) : "C:\Users\Joao\Musicas Convertidas\-  - Arcana_ripped.m4a"
  Additional information:
  Encoder stream format: 44100Hz / 2ch / 32bps
  Command line: "C:\Users\Joao\encoders\neroAacEnc.exe" -q 0.50 -ignorelength -if - -of "temp-6D7D03B8F5F76B6B2257DA4DCC7CCC70.m4a"
  Working folder: C:\Users\Joao\Musicas Convertidas\


One of the songs after that one:
CODE
Conversion failed: The encoder has terminated prematurely with code 1 (0x00000001); please re-check parameters
Source: "C:\Users\Joao\Music\S4 League\Come On.mp3"
  An error occurred while writing to file (Unsupported format or corrupted file) : "C:\Users\Joao\Musicas Convertidas\-  - Arcana_ripped.m4a"
  Additional information:
  Encoder stream format: 44100Hz / 2ch / 32bps
  Command line: "C:\Users\Joao\encoders\neroAacEnc.exe" -q 0.50 -ignorelength -if - -of "temp-6D7D03B8F5F76B6B2257DA4DCC7CCC70.m4a"
  Working folder: C:\Users\Joao\Musicas Convertidas\


I've tried to remove that song from the converting list, but it seems that there are some other songs triggering this problem. dry.gif

This post has been edited by joaomaradao: Aug 1 2010, 18:15
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Larson
post Aug 14 2010, 10:24
Post #142





Group: Members
Posts: 131
Joined: 27-March 09
Member No.: 68422



I investigated a little bit more about my problem with Nero AAC and Alpine Car Deck and i got wrong about a few things. It never played Nero AAC files actually, or better yet it plays them (no unsupported message) but there's only silence with any setting i try to choose. But there are some songs, at least i found one of my collection which plays normally and i don't get what the problem might be since it uses the same bits of other encodes (q 1.00) but works fine. AAC support is assured but I don't trust Alpine when they say that. Anyway Nero Team could you please investigate on the problem for the next release? Don't tell me to use qtaacenc or stuff like that because i like the semplicity and speed (but it is also trasparent to my ears after ABX) of Nero instead of Apple's encoder. Please, i hope it to be fixed if it is somewhat related to Nero AAC files.

This post has been edited by Larson: Aug 14 2010, 10:26
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bad Monkey
post Aug 14 2010, 11:32
Post #143





Group: Members
Posts: 90
Joined: 22-August 07
Member No.: 46407



QUOTE (Larson @ Aug 14 2010, 21:24) *
Don't tell me to use qtaacenc or stuff like that because i like the semplicity and speed (but it is also trasparent to my ears after ABX) of Nero instead of Apple's encoder.

What do you have to substantiate your implication that the QT encoder is not transparent when the Nero one is?

Why do you consider Nero a) simpler or b) faster? I don't see that it's simpler, other than the requirement to have QT installed for qtaacenc, and it's not substantially faster.*
* On a Q6600 using all 4 cores via Foobar I see an approx 5:6 ratio in speed in Nero's favor - a difference for sure but not much of a factor in the decision to use either.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Larson
post Aug 14 2010, 12:26
Post #144





Group: Members
Posts: 131
Joined: 27-March 09
Member No.: 68422



QUOTE (Bad Monkey @ Aug 14 2010, 12:32) *
QUOTE (Larson @ Aug 14 2010, 21:24) *
Don't tell me to use qtaacenc or stuff like that because i like the semplicity and speed (but it is also trasparent to my ears after ABX) of Nero instead of Apple's encoder.

What do you have to substantiate your implication that the QT encoder is not transparent when the Nero one is?

Why do you consider Nero a) simpler or b) faster? I don't see that it's simpler, other than the requirement to have QT installed for qtaacenc, and it's not substantially faster.*
* On a Q6600 using all 4 cores via Foobar I see an approx 5:6 ratio in speed in Nero's favor - a difference for sure but not much of a factor in the decision to use either.


i haven't said that one is better than the other, I only said that to me, after my tests i find it better for my needs on Windows. It's simpler because i don't need to have installed anything to use it except the command line encoder lol and it's faster because on my machine it takes less to encode compared to any QT AAC encoding (QT 23-25x Nero 33-35x, it's not as fast as lame yet but that's another story). Anyway i'm not here to discuss about the one compared to the other, not to mention that they are both of very high quality, we all know that =) then it's up to anyone to use whatever they want. I only asked Nero team to investigate on the issue if it's related to Nero AAC somehow since some songs work while others not.

This post has been edited by Larson: Aug 14 2010, 12:32
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IgorC
post Aug 15 2010, 12:52
Post #145





Group: Members
Posts: 1578
Joined: 3-January 05
From: ARG/RUS
Member No.: 18803



QUOTE (Larson @ Aug 14 2010, 08:26) *
and it's faster because on my machine it takes less to encode compared to any QT AAC encoding (QT 23-25x Nero 33-35x, it's not as fast as lame....

Oh, yes Apple AAC encoder is as fast as LAME. qtaacenc has slower speed because has --high option at default settings (higher quality, lower speed). iTunes has no this option.

This post has been edited by IgorC: Aug 15 2010, 12:59
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Larson
post Aug 15 2010, 13:54
Post #146





Group: Members
Posts: 131
Joined: 27-March 09
Member No.: 68422



QUOTE (IgorC @ Aug 15 2010, 13:52) *
QUOTE (Larson @ Aug 14 2010, 08:26) *
and it's faster because on my machine it takes less to encode compared to any QT AAC encoding (QT 23-25x Nero 33-35x, it's not as fast as lame....

Oh, yes Apple AAC encoder is as fast as LAME. qtaacenc has slower speed because has --high option at default settings (higher quality, lower speed). iTunes has no this option.


true but iTunes Plus preset in Itunes uses quicktime high or highest too as far as I know

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=70405

anyway let's talk about Nero AAC here smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
/mnt
post Sep 6 2010, 23:24
Post #147





Group: Members
Posts: 697
Joined: 22-April 06
Member No.: 29877



I found another example where Nero AAC produces regression artifacts when moving from -q 0.50:

-q 0.50
CODE
foo_abx 1.3.4 report
foobar2000 v1.1
2010/09/06 22:51:32

File A: C:\Rips\Kraftwerk - Techno Pop\01. Boing Boom Tschak.flac
File B: C:\Temp\Boing Boom Tschak q 0.50.m4a

22:51:32 : Test started.
22:51:50 : 01/01 50.0%
22:51:55 : 02/02 25.0%
22:52:00 : 03/03 12.5%
22:52:06 : 04/04 6.3%
22:52:11 : 05/05 3.1%
22:52:15 : 06/06 1.6%
22:52:21 : 07/07 0.8%
22:52:26 : 08/08 0.4%
22:52:31 : 09/09 0.2%
22:52:36 : 10/10 0.1%
22:52:44 : 11/11 0.0%
22:52:48 : 12/12 0.0%
22:52:59 : Test finished.

----------
Total: 12/12 (0.0%)

Horrid warbling and smearling like artifact at 1:22, just like on the Linchpin sample.


-q 0.60

CODE
foo_abx 1.3.4 report
foobar2000 v1.1
2010/09/06 22:55:21

File A: C:\Rips\Kraftwerk - Techno Pop\01. Boing Boom Tschak.flac
File B: C:\Temp\Boing Boom Tschak q 0.60.m4a

22:55:21 : Test started.
22:55:34 : 01/01 50.0%
22:55:42 : 02/02 25.0%
22:55:48 : 03/03 12.5%
22:55:52 : 04/04 6.3%
22:55:57 : 05/05 3.1%
22:56:05 : 06/06 1.6%
22:56:11 : 07/07 0.8%
22:56:16 : 08/08 0.4%
22:56:31 : 09/09 0.2%
22:56:41 : 10/10 0.1%
22:56:46 : 11/11 0.0%
22:56:52 : 12/12 0.0%
22:56:54 : Test finished.

----------
Total: 12/12 (0.0%)

The smearing artifact at 1:22 is gone, but at 1:10 - 1:11 an pre-echo artifact appears more obvious.

-q 0.50 vs -q 0.60
CODE
foo_abx 1.3.4 report
foobar2000 v1.1
2010/09/06 22:57:20

File A: C:\Temp\Boing Boom Tschak q 0.50.m4a
File B: C:\Temp\Boing Boom Tschak q 0.60.m4a

22:57:20 : Test started.
22:57:50 : 01/01 50.0%
22:57:56 : 02/02 25.0%
22:58:00 : 03/03 12.5%
22:58:07 : 04/04 6.3%
22:58:14 : 05/05 3.1%
22:58:19 : 06/06 1.6%
22:58:26 : 07/07 0.8%
22:58:32 : 08/08 0.4%
22:58:39 : 09/09 0.2%
22:58:44 : 10/10 0.1%
22:58:50 : 11/11 0.0%
22:59:00 : 12/12 0.0%
22:59:16 : Test finished.

----------
Total: 12/12 (0.0%)

I have compared both encodes between 1:09 - 1:11. I find the -q 0.50 encode sounds less annoying at 1:10, but the smearing at 1:22 sounds sounds pretty bad though.

Also it's ABXable at -q 0.80:
CODE
foo_abx 1.3.4 report
foobar2000 v1.1
2010/09/06 23:01:42

File A: C:\Rips\Kraftwerk - Techno Pop\01. Boing Boom Tschak.flac
File B: C:\Temp\Boing Boom Tschak q 0.80.m4a

23:01:42 : Test started.
23:01:57 : 01/01 50.0%
23:02:02 : 02/02 25.0%
23:02:06 : 03/03 12.5%
23:02:27 : 04/04 6.3%
23:02:34 : 05/05 3.1%
23:02:39 : 06/06 1.6%
23:02:46 : 07/07 0.8%
23:02:53 : 08/08 0.4%
23:03:00 : 09/09 0.2%
23:03:08 : 10/10 0.1%
23:03:13 : 11/11 0.0%
23:03:38 : 12/12 0.0%
23:03:40 : Test finished.

----------
Total: 12/12 (0.0%)


--------------------
"I never thought I'd see this much candy in one mission!"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pgm86
post Sep 7 2010, 03:28
Post #148





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 3-March 10
Member No.: 78677



i hope nero's future update would solve these problems. how does nero aac 1.3.3.0 compare with the newest nero aac in terms of these artifacts? thanks

This post has been edited by greynol: Sep 7 2010, 18:58
Reason for edit: Removed unnecessary full-quotation of the previous post. Please be more selective about your quoting in the future.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
/mnt
post Sep 13 2010, 04:42
Post #149





Group: Members
Posts: 697
Joined: 22-April 06
Member No.: 29877



I've uploaded the sample here.

This post has been edited by /mnt: Sep 13 2010, 04:42


--------------------
"I never thought I'd see this much candy in one mission!"
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pgm86
post Nov 9 2010, 05:34
Post #150





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 3-March 10
Member No.: 78677



its been a while now. is there by any chance that there will a new release of nero aac this year or probably by january next year? thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

7 Pages V  « < 4 5 6 7 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st November 2014 - 03:43