IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
MP3 CBR or VBR, i'm at a loss of which to choose
bubanee
post Oct 24 2009, 10:51
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 24-October 09
Member No.: 74273



Gidday i do a lot of ripping from CDs using EAC v.99 prebeta5 i've just started out using VBR and gettin complaints by others

when EAC did wizard search it found.. Lame.exe.. when i rip it shows 3.98.2 32bits

in the command line box shows this>> %l-V 5%l%h-V 0%h --vbr-new %s %d <<

now i know this question has been asked a million times before.. what is better V0 or CBR Stereo not dual or joint..

if thats better [the CBR] what is the best command line to use for EAC for CBR320 if not is that command line i'm currently using anygood or could be better..

I'm just looking for the best option available.. thankyou if you can help
cheers smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sumguy21
post Oct 24 2009, 11:08
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 25-May 09
Member No.: 70105



-V0 VBR is what you want.

Here's a handy guide: EAC and LAME
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
twostar
post Oct 24 2009, 11:16
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 487
Joined: 5-August 02
From: Manila
Member No.: 2939



Read this too: recommended settings.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rokkaz
post Oct 24 2009, 11:27
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 7-August 07
Member No.: 45974



Your command line is fine (assuming you're using the radio buttons accordingly). You don't need "--vbr-new" anymore as 3.98 uses it by default, but it makes absolutely no difference if it is in your command line.

Who and why are others complaining about VBR?

Most users here (myself included) will recommend VBR over CBR. You can read the pages on the HA wiki and Wikipedia for "Constant Bitrate" and "Variable Bitrate" for some good info.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
[JAZ]
post Oct 24 2009, 11:28
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1772
Joined: 24-June 02
From: Catalunya(Spain)
Member No.: 2383



QUOTE (bubanee @ Oct 24 2009, 11:51) *
Gidday i do a lot of ripping from CDs using EAC v.99 prebeta5 i've just started out using VBR and gettin complaints by others


You know that these boards do not condone piracy, don't you? CBR 320... Simple stereo... getting complain by others.... You know what you sound like.

Else, if you are here to get knowledge about encoding (mp3 in this case), the other previous replies are all that you need to know.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bubanee
post Oct 24 2009, 11:52
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 24-October 09
Member No.: 74273



thankyou everybody..

oh when i say complaints from others its not piracy.. in no way or form did i mention the like even though it came across that way. sorry smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
deranger
post Oct 31 2009, 02:07
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 5-October 01
Member No.: 221



VBR is in most cases a better choice over CBR, since it offers you a better quality\space ratio - you get a quality close to 320 kbps CBR and save a lot of disk space at the same time.

However VBR MP3 files may have some compatibility problems with some software and hardware, such as some media players, DJ CD players and etc (usually these are older products or products manufactured by cheap or "no name" vendors). So first check your VBR files on all the programs\devices you and your friends use. If you have no problems - go with the VBR. If you have problems - well, you may contact the manufacturer of the program\device, maybe a software update is required.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
odyssey
post Oct 31 2009, 12:04
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 2296
Joined: 18-May 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 6695



QUOTE (bubanee @ Oct 24 2009, 11:51) *
Stereo not dual or joint..

If you search these boards you will find that this claim is false as well. You really DO want joint-stereo - Not anything else. It's false rumors more than 10 years old from back when probably a certain encoder didn't have a proper implementation of joint-stereo. LAME encoder have been optimized really well even over past years and is probably the best encoder implementing VBR. Rumors that VBR are bad are probably from conservative people that are stuck on an old lame or fhg (maybe worse) encoder. You can safely teach them that they should use the latest stable lame to make good encodings. Also don't try to tweak it's settings, as the default settings are optimized for less artifacts at any bitrate. Just use the -v 0-5 switch.

You could consider ripping to flac so you will always have the source to quickly create a new mp3-encode from (when a new lame comes out or whatever).


--------------------
Can't wait for a HD-AAC encoder :P
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bubanee
post Nov 21 2009, 10:23
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 24-October 09
Member No.: 74273



thanks everyone cheers.. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
d_headshot
post Dec 4 2009, 04:41
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 195
Joined: 28-September 08
Member No.: 58729



QUOTE (bubanee @ Oct 24 2009, 03:51) *
Gidday i do a lot of ripping from CDs using EAC v.99 prebeta5 i've just started out using VBR and gettin complaints by others


Probably because the people complaining are using old hardware that has poor VBR support.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd August 2014 - 02:57