IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
FLAC software
darin
post Mar 13 2003, 20:47
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 204
Joined: 26-January 03
From: Texas
Member No.: 4729



I am about to compress my wave files to FLAC. Which software is best for doing this? I have tried FLAC Frontend and it seems pretty good. But before I commit to it I would like to make sure there isn't something else that might be better.

-Darin
:alien:


--------------------
Cowon Iaudio X5 30 gig. It rocks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jan S.
post Mar 13 2003, 21:50
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 2550
Joined: 26-September 01
From: Denmark
Member No.: 21



My love has fallen on frontah as a frontend for FLAC.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
darin
post Mar 13 2003, 22:14
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 204
Joined: 26-January 03
From: Texas
Member No.: 4729



Hows the Frontah v.0.0.0.3 *** UNSTABLE BETA ***? Is that one good to use or would you recommend a different version?

-Darin

:alien:


--------------------
Cowon Iaudio X5 30 gig. It rocks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
yourtallness
post Mar 13 2003, 22:20
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 488
Joined: 8-October 02
From: Vrilissia, Athens
Member No.: 3503



U could use Speek's multi frontend.


--------------------
Wanna buy a monkey?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
krmathis
post Mar 13 2003, 22:21
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 742
Joined: 27-May 02
From: Oslo, Norway
Member No.: 2133



I prefer FlacDrop.
Easy to use, and have all the features I need. Just drag and drop biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DonP
post Mar 13 2003, 22:43
Post #6





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 1471
Joined: 11-February 03
From: Vermont
Member No.: 4955



I haven't found it for linux yet. In windows I use dbpoweramp.
Select your files, right click and choose "convert" and pick
your format (wave, vorbis, flac, mp3, ape, ...)
The ripping and record tools can save straight to flac.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
darin
post Mar 14 2003, 00:27
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 204
Joined: 26-January 03
From: Texas
Member No.: 4729



Is one actually better than the other or are they all the same for encoding quality and utilizeing FLAC's features?

This post has been edited by darin: Mar 14 2003, 00:27


--------------------
Cowon Iaudio X5 30 gig. It rocks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DaveSimmons
post Mar 14 2003, 00:36
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 7-January 03
Member No.: 4458



If you haven't ripped yet, it's easy to have Exact Audio Copy do the FLAC-ing for you as a user-defined type. The only drawback is if storing ReplayGain info it's track-by-track not based on the CD as a whole.

Do frontah or flacdrop do tagging and album replaygain?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
darin
post Mar 14 2003, 00:46
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 204
Joined: 26-January 03
From: Texas
Member No.: 4729



I am using FLAC Front End and there is a box to check for Replaygain. Do I have to check it if I plan on using Replaygain later? The reason that I don't want to check it is because I read where it's best to use the Replaygain as a sperate job, not while encodeing. I can't figure out what exactly it means to check that box since replaygain isn't configured in FLAC Front End.

-Darin
:alien:

This post has been edited by darin: Mar 14 2003, 04:26


--------------------
Cowon Iaudio X5 30 gig. It rocks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mmortal03
post Mar 14 2003, 06:51
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 601
Joined: 19-July 02
From: USA
Member No.: 2667



QUOTE (DaveSimmons @ Mar 13 2003 - 05:36 PM)
If you haven't ripped yet, it's easy to have Exact Audio Copy do the FLAC-ing for you as a user-defined type.  The only drawback is if storing ReplayGain info it's track-by-track not based on the CD as a whole.

Do frontah or flacdrop do tagging and album replaygain?

how does one replay-gain or re-replay-gain his FLAC files? And doesn't album-gain or track-gain depend on the program playing the FLAC files and not FLAC's replay-gain process itself, or is there really a different setting and there is different gain info saved depending on the replay-gain options one chooses in FLAC?


--------------------
WARNING: Changing of advanced parameters might degrade sound quality. Modify them only if you are expirienced in audio compression!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Amadablam
post Mar 14 2003, 07:10
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 108
Joined: 6-September 02
Member No.: 3307



From my limited experience working with FLAC's replay gain, it appears that to properly add replay-gain (both album and track gains) to a set of files (say all the files in a directory) you would do a
CODE
metaflac --add-replay-gain *.flac
after all your files are encoded. To get the album gain calculated correctly, metaflac needs to know it's dealing with more than one file. When I tried doing an --add-replay-gain with flac at the initial rip and encoding time, it only considered one song at a time, so my track gain was the same as my album gain for each song (which is generally not what you want).

I'm not sure how this works with various frontends...I tried a few early on, but eventually decided that it would all just be a lot easier if I stuck with running commands directly (and since I use Linux primarily the command line is usually my only choice). If you need a way to remove the replay gain information, the best way I've figured out so far is to remove each one like any other comment. Try
CODE
metaflac --remove-vc-field=REPLAYGAIN_TRACK_PEAK --remove-vc-field=REPLAYGAIN_TRACK_GAIN --remove-vc-field=REPLAYGAIN_ALBUM_PEAK --remove-vc-field=REPLAYGAIN_ALBUM_GAIN *.flac
You could also export the comments to a file, edit the file, then import the comments back into the file, but you'd have to do that for every song.

Maybe Josh will implement a "--remove-replay-gain" in a future version of FLAC...seems like a logical thing to do...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jan S.
post Mar 14 2003, 08:56
Post #12





Group: Admin
Posts: 2550
Joined: 26-September 01
From: Denmark
Member No.: 21



QUOTE (darin @ Mar 13 2003 - 10:14 PM)
Hows the Frontah v.0.0.0.3 *** UNSTABLE BETA ***? Is that one good to use or would you recommend a different version?

                                                                    -Darin

:alien:

Dunno why the author hasn't removed that. Perhaps because its relatively new. But I haven't had any problem with it...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
madah
post Mar 14 2003, 09:42
Post #13





Group: Developer
Posts: 202
Joined: 13-February 02
From: Sweden
Member No.: 1318



QUOTE (Jan S. @ Mar 14 2003 - 09:56 AM)
QUOTE (darin @ Mar 13 2003 - 10:14 PM)
Hows the Frontah v.0.0.0.3 *** UNSTABLE BETA ***? Is that one good to use or would you recommend a different version?

                                                                  -Darin

:alien:

Dunno why the author hasn't removed that. Perhaps because its relatively new. But I haven't had any problem with it...

Oh I know, I will release a new version soon and call it v.0.9. wink.gif It will have some new icons (thanks to SacRat!) and some bugfixes. At the moment I'm very busy finishing other projects in school, but the new version shouldn't take more than 1-2 weeks!

Frontah v.0.0.0.3 *** UNSTABLE BETA *** should be safe to use though, as there hasn't been any major bugs reported (yet)!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
darin
post Mar 15 2003, 03:27
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 204
Joined: 26-January 03
From: Texas
Member No.: 4729



Man...I don't know...maybe it's just in my head....but(and don't get me wrong, the flac file sounds good) I think the wave file might have a tad bit better calarity and crisper highs. But...maybe it's just in my head because I know the flac is a compressed file. Hey also, when my waves are compressed they are only 10 MB smaller. Shouldn't the size be better than that?

-Darin

:alien:

This post has been edited by darin: Mar 15 2003, 04:30


--------------------
Cowon Iaudio X5 30 gig. It rocks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Amadablam
post Mar 15 2003, 04:46
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 108
Joined: 6-September 02
Member No.: 3307



QUOTE (darin @ Mar 14 2003 - 09:27 PM)
Man...I don't know...maybe it's just in my head....but(and don't get me wrong, the flac file sounds good) I think the wave file might have a tad bit better calarity and crisper highs.  But...maybe it's just in my head because I know the flac is a compressed file.

Yep, it's all in your head. FLAC is lossless, so you're guaranteed that it's exactly the same as the original wave file. But don't feel bad...paranoia about one's own hearing is nothing new around here. smile.gif

QUOTE
Hey also, when my waves are compressed they are only 10 MB smaller. Shouldn't the size be better than that?

Probably not. Some lossless formats are a little better than others, but most compress music to 50% to 75% the size of the original wave. "Complicated" music compresses less, "simple" music compresses more. If you're wav file was around 40 MB, then a flac only 10 MB smaller would be reasonable for many kinds of music. Sure, it's a lot larger than what would be produced by any of the lossy formats, but that's the price you pay for perfection.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
macdaddy
post Mar 18 2003, 15:49
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 248
Joined: 29-September 01
Member No.: 38



http://mikewren.com/flac/

I think it is basically what Case did...

Mike has written a how-to (the link is in unreadable blue below the red installer link)

This post has been edited by macdaddy: Mar 18 2003, 15:53
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2014 - 02:16