IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

10 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_queuecontents - View and edit queue
zygzak
post Jul 30 2009, 17:28
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 9-January 08
Member No.: 50320



Kerpondile, there a lot of users who use your plugin or used before foo_pqview and are satisfied with queue in a playlist. I can say for myself that i dont want any panel or additional window (!?), nor any bashing against "winamp users".
Queue in playlist, as a concept, works really good. (only lacks saving of queue, but this seems a Foobar Way problem, which simply idea of saving it, in playlist or not, treats like a Greater Evil).
Thank you for your component, in present state.

This post has been edited by zygzak: Jul 30 2009, 17:29
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
odyssey
post Aug 14 2009, 17:52
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 2296
Joined: 18-May 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 6695



Kerpondile, I hope you have not abandoned this component. I disagree that it's entire functionality can be replaced by other components.

I however, think that maybe a separate window, like the one used for Playlist Search/Media Library Search to display and allow editing of queue would be more in place.

Personally I don't think it should have a panel, but that's just me smile.gif I like using the space for something more useful, as i'm just rarely using the queue.


--------------------
Can't wait for a HD-AAC encoder :P
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mixcherry
post Aug 14 2009, 18:27
Post #28





Group: Developer
Posts: 255
Joined: 9-July 04
From: Poland / Warsaw
Member No.: 15201



I like the idea. No messing with playlists, just plain window with queue contents. It could have option of auto-focus/show on Add-to-queue action. And I believe that when Default UI Elements API becomes public, it will not be to difficult to make panel version.

This post has been edited by mixcherry: Aug 14 2009, 18:29


--------------------
http://foobar2000.pl/ :: unofficial polish forum
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AndyL
post Aug 14 2009, 20:00
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 31
Joined: 6-June 04
Member No.: 14516



I've been waiting for something like this for a long time, many thanks for this plugin Kerpondile!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kerpondile
post Aug 20 2009, 17:56
Post #30





Group: Developer
Posts: 147
Joined: 26-January 04
Member No.: 11525



QUOTE (odyssey @ Aug 14 2009, 19:52) *
Kerpondile, I hope you have not abandoned this component. I disagree that it's entire functionality can be replaced by other components.

I however, think that maybe a separate window, like the one used for Playlist Search/Media Library Search to display and allow editing of queue would be more in place.

Personally I don't think it should have a panel, but that's just me smile.gif I like using the space for something more useful, as i'm just rarely using the queue.



QUOTE (mixcherry @ Aug 14 2009, 20:27) *
I like the idea. No messing with playlists, just plain window with queue contents. It could have option of auto-focus/show on Add-to-queue action. And I believe that when Default UI Elements API becomes public, it will not be to difficult to make panel version.


Hi, I haven't abandoded the project but I think I will not develop a version with a separate window. Separate window requires some GUI coding which, I think, is quite nasty in c++. I have quite limited spare time on this project and would be just too much work.

I will update this component for newer SDK as they are released. If some day the panel support is added for standard ui I will look at the situation again.

And when it comes to new features, I will not create features that fight against the original function of the queue (saving queue between foobar sessions etc.). However, I might add features that are more subtle but still as useful. Someone suggested creating a separate component for "party playlists" and that was quite interesting. I might still create something like that some day if I find the time.

Thank you for all the comments and replies, I really appreciate them! Keep me posted if you find this component useful or if you have some other comments.

-kerpondile
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
haazetzet
post Aug 20 2009, 19:34
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 8-March 09
Member No.: 67754



hey this is awesome. i just wanted to start a search thread with the funtions of this plugin. exactly what i wanted smile.gif thank you very much
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Stonefred
post Aug 25 2009, 17:29
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 23-August 09
Member No.: 72574



QUOTE (zygzak @ Jul 30 2009, 17:28) *
[...] I can say for myself that i dont want any panel or additional window (!?), nor any bashing against "winamp users". [...]


with columns ui and panel stack splitter one doesn't need foo_queuecontents to work as a panel. for example i just added a new ng playlist in PPS wich only shows the new queue playlist, this component creates. right now i'm trying to implement it a simple wsh panel, but i'm not sure if that's possible.

the only thing i'd wish is the ability to save queues over restarts of foobar. everything else the posters above me mentioned would be nice to have but for my part not really nescessary.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post Aug 25 2009, 17:39
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 1740
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



QUOTE (kerpondile @ Aug 20 2009, 18:56) *
And when it comes to new features, I will not create features that fight against the original function of the queue (saving queue between foobar sessions etc.).


QUOTE (Stonefred @ Aug 25 2009, 18:29) *
the only thing i'd wish is the ability to save queues over restarts of foobar. everything else the posters above me mentioned would be nice to have but for my part not really nescessary.


Didn't you read the components authors posting? wink.gif


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Stonefred
post Aug 25 2009, 17:48
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 23-August 09
Member No.: 72574



i did! but his statement
QUOTE
Someone suggested creating a separate component for "party playlists" and that was quite interesting. I might still create something like that some day if I find the time.
was a bit suggestive to interpret ...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post Aug 25 2009, 17:51
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 1740
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



Yep, but then it wouldn't be the queue! tongue.gif
Stonefred, please try to see that foobars playlist is not the same like the queue - so don't confuse the terms.


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post Aug 25 2009, 18:19
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 1740
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



A quick idea for a socalled party playlist:

1. It is a locked playlist
2. You can send tracks to it by context menu (means: hotkey or button is also possible)
3. Every played track is removed after being played
4. You can limit the maximum size of it (let's say: 40 Tracks)
5. You can set minimum size of it (let's say: 4 Tracks)
6. If minimum size is reached because no tracks was manually added then tracks are added automatically
7. These automatically added tracks are based on a query.
8. You can specify how many tracks should be added automatically (see point 4 and 5: no more than 40-4=36 tracks)
9. No more options



--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
odyssey
post Aug 25 2009, 19:01
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 2296
Joined: 18-May 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 6695



That sounds very much like the behavior of AlbumPlayer.

It would be nice with such feature in foobar2000 (but doesn't this belong to it's own thread?)

However an obvious problem with this is that anyone can still just go frenzy on it wink.gif A way to avoid this could be to time trigger when a new track may be queued, or make any queued track overwrite the last one until the last queue-entry is xx seconds/minutes old.

Also how would you prevent anyone from hooking it and just create another playlist?


--------------------
Can't wait for a HD-AAC encoder :P
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post Aug 25 2009, 19:53
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 1740
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



(I am not sure what you mean exactly - please, don't write too much slang): "hooking", "frenzy"

QUOTE (odyssey @ Aug 25 2009, 20:01) *
However an obvious problem with this is that anyone can still just go frenzy on it wink.gif A way to avoid this could be to time trigger when a new track may be queued, or make any queued track overwrite the last one until the last queue-entry is xx seconds/minutes old.


As the party playlist would be a locked one you could force a playing track to be finished before the next one is starting. On the other side i would like to see a component without a ton of options. Edit: I think a limitation by number of tracks is really enough.


QUOTE (odyssey @ Aug 25 2009, 20:01) *
Also how would you prevent anyone from hooking it and just create another playlist?


Well, the best would be not to serve alcoholic drinks to the guests and to place a big text display uielement that warns in big letters the guest from doing so. One senseful option, that could be added to my list above could be: "Force playback of party playlist". Means: When a track from another playlist is finished then continue playback in party playlist. That would replicate a little bit queues functionality as the party playlist would automatically start after being filled. Furthermore the guests are allowed to start another track in another playlist and after this track the playback comes back to party playlist. I think there is nothing more you can do aside from being the dj the whole time at your own party.

This post has been edited by q-stankovic: Aug 25 2009, 19:59


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kerpondile
post Jan 25 2010, 20:48
Post #39





Group: Developer
Posts: 147
Joined: 26-January 04
Member No.: 11525



QUOTE (kerpondile @ Jul 27 2009, 13:51) *
foo_queuecontents is an foobar2000 extension component mainly developed by me. It started as a modification of foo_locktest by foosion.


Just informing everyone here that I'm still alive!

As the new SDK is now out, with full UI-element support, I am thinking of reimplementing the component as a UI component. This will solve some of the issues some people were having and it allows more flexible use of the component.

-kerpondile
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
s33m33
post Jan 25 2010, 21:17
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 246
Joined: 4-January 07
Member No.: 39305



@kerpondile

Please keep component as a playlist too.
It's quite handy in it's current form as well.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
stripe
post Jan 26 2010, 03:44
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 141
Joined: 26-January 03
Member No.: 4740



Good to hear! Looking forward to new developments... I'd love to see it as a UI component.

(but the best thing, IMO, would be to combine it with foo_history, so that you could see the last x items played as well)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bubi jackson
post Jan 26 2010, 05:22
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 298
Joined: 14-July 08
From: Berlin
Member No.: 55783



QUOTE (s33m33 @ Jan 25 2010, 21:17) *
@kerpondile

Please keep component as a playlist too.
It's quite handy in it's current form as well.


+1

It's simple and easy to handle this way.

This post has been edited by bubi jackson: Jan 26 2010, 05:22


--------------------
http://www.last.fm/user/BubiJackson
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
freetochoose
post Jan 26 2010, 12:40
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 99
Joined: 25-August 08
Member No.: 57492



I would like to try your component. But somehow I cannot connect to its homepage or download page. I am not sure if this site is blocked in China.
Is it possible for you to put the dll somewhere I can download? Perhaps post a ed2000 link or bit torrent? Thanks.

ftc
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kerpondile
post Jan 26 2010, 18:06
Post #44





Group: Developer
Posts: 147
Joined: 26-January 04
Member No.: 11525



I wonder if this works for you:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2498950/foo_queuecontents.zip


QUOTE (bubi jackson @ Jan 26 2010, 07:22) *
QUOTE (s33m33 @ Jan 25 2010, 21:17) *
@kerpondile

Please keep component as a playlist too.
It's quite handy in it's current form as well.


+1

It's simple and easy to handle this way.


OK, I will keep the playlist functionality also smile.gif.

I will have lots to research conserning the UI elements since such low level UI programming is new to me. But I guess the task is doable since the component is quite small.

-kerpondile

This post has been edited by shakey_snake: Aug 18 2010, 00:17
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
electricprophet
post Jan 26 2010, 18:12
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 11-October 07
Member No.: 47748



an UI component would be awesome! keep up the good work!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
freetochoose
post Jan 27 2010, 03:47
Post #46





Group: Members
Posts: 99
Joined: 25-August 08
Member No.: 57492



I wonder if this works for you:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2498950/foo_queuecontents.zip

This works great. Thanks a lot.

ftc
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
krzyszcz
post Feb 24 2010, 20:43
Post #47





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 23-February 10
Member No.: 78453



Thx for working on the plugin smile.gif

But in my opinion, some more work is still needed to make it functional...
Unless I'm doing something wrong, this "Queue playlist" is not really the playback queue. It only contains songs, that I add by choosing from context menu "Add to playback queue". But when I double-click e.g. the second song of particular album, playback is started and foobar plays this song and next the 3rd song of this album and then 4th, etc. During this playback, Queue playlist provided by your plugin remains blank.

The essence of queue is that it is a list of songs that will be played next, it is not a playlist, that I create using context menu option.

And - as it was mentioned in the thread - Columns UI panel functionality would be awesome.
Regards

This post has been edited by krzyszcz: Feb 24 2010, 20:49
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2E7AH
post Feb 24 2010, 20:49
Post #48





Group: Validating
Posts: 2424
Joined: 21-May 08
Member No.: 53675



You can use ELPlaylist as a panel: Bind it to your queue playlist and deactivate "follow active playlist"
You can also follow NowPlaying playlist, and the only drawback seems that it isn't easy customizable, but as a queue panel it can be great
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fbuser
post Feb 24 2010, 21:04
Post #49





Group: Developer
Posts: 682
Joined: 26-September 07
Member No.: 47369



QUOTE (krzyszcz @ Feb 24 2010, 20:43) *
But when I double-click e.g. the second song of particular album, playback is started and foobar plays this song and next the 3rd song of this album and then 4th, etc. During this playback, Queue playlist provided by your plugin remains blank.
Assuming you doube-click on a track of a playlist, the behaviour is absolutely correct. By double-clicking on a playlist the queue is flushed. You can see in that playlist, what will be played next.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
krzyszcz
post Feb 24 2010, 21:07
Post #50





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 23-February 10
Member No.: 78453



QUOTE (2E7AH @ Feb 24 2010, 20:49) *
You can use ELPlaylist as a panel: Bind it to your queue playlist and deactivate "follow active playlist"
You can also follow NowPlaying playlist, and the only drawback seems that it isn't easy customizable, but as a queue panel it can be great


Seems really cool, but it's still missing something: when I choose "add to playback queue" from the context menu, ElPlaylist remains the same. It cannot be modified by drag&drop too... It only shows e.g. contents of album that I chose to be played.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

10 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd September 2014 - 12:03