IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

AutoComplete/autofill on multiple-value fields, A consistency issue?
hal9001
post Mar 7 2009, 02:40
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 143
Joined: 17-January 06
Member No.: 27172



One of my favourite new features in Fobar is the Autocomplete/autofill. It's one of the best ways for maintaining consistency in artist/track/album names and such, which later enables a better management/discovery of duplicate tracks, cover versions and the such.
Thing is it qould only work for the 1st value on a multi-value field. Once a ';' character is introduced, rather starting a new autocomplete 'session', it's just disabled.
Is there anything I'm missing?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 11)
novembre
post Mar 7 2009, 10:59
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 132
Joined: 6-December 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 63998



You aren't missing anything, multi-value autocomplete doesn't work. I don't see it in the feature proposal either. It would be very useful indeed.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
McMusic
post Mar 7 2009, 13:49
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 10-February 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 51187



I just came acroos the same problem today. And I just wanted to raise a feature request and then I read this thread.

It would be great, if the auto-completion could be adjusted to also work with multi-value fields. Especially für the genre tag, multi-value is important for me. I often Tag my Musik like: Jazz; Contemporary Jazz; Minimal (so I get a better profile of the music).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ojdo
post Mar 7 2009, 15:05
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 894
Joined: 18-June 06
From: Germany
Member No.: 31980



This bothers me also; just in case the realisation takes long or will not happen due to limitations of the GUI objects I have found the following "work-around": Using the Quick Tag Panel. It needs columns_ui to be present, but not necessarily used as the panel runs in an own window otherwise.

It support "auto-filling" too as it can scan your library for all possible values of a tag an then display them as a list like shown here:


This works also for bigger lists (still to be reduced...):



This post has been edited by ojdo: Mar 7 2009, 15:05


--------------------
http://freemusi.cc/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
McMusic
post Mar 7 2009, 19:54
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 10-February 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 51187



Thanks for the tip, ojdo smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Hakubo
post Mar 7 2009, 20:30
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 260
Joined: 20-April 06
Member No.: 29815



I'd like to see this implemented, too.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ojdo
post Dec 17 2009, 16:25
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 894
Joined: 18-June 06
From: Germany
Member No.: 31980



I just wanted to create a thread requesting this feature when I remembered that it already existed. Is there a chance to see autocomplete also work for multi-value fields (=making re-appear the autocomplete combo box after having entered ";")?



--------------------
http://freemusi.cc/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gurubhai
post Jan 28 2010, 11:49
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 14-June 09
Member No.: 70668



I would like this feature too.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BrassDude
post May 28 2011, 03:12
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 1-February 11
Member No.: 87835



That would be a really great feature! Any plans to implement autocomplete when having multiple values?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anomalous
post May 31 2011, 11:25
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 105
Joined: 22-December 07
Member No.: 49766



I'd also like to see this implemented. It may not be possible to show a list of possibilities only for the current entry in the field, but completing the whole string should be.
That may not have completely made sense...

May not be possible without messed up spacing:
CODE
Rock; Alt...
      Alternative Rock
      Alternative Metal

Hopefully possible:
CODE
Rock; Alt...
Rock; Alternative Rock
Rock; Alternative Metal
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BrassDude
post Apr 21 2012, 08:16
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 1-February 11
Member No.: 87835



Any plans to implement this in an upcoming version of foobar2000? This would be tremendously helpful for tagging :-).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dubwai
post Jun 1 2012, 15:21
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 23-January 11
Member No.: 87576



Join for request! It's very important because it so boring to add styles/genres full typing, and them added to all releases.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2014 - 15:55