IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Windows7 shell integration addon
bseos
post Feb 18 2009, 10:10
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 18-February 09
Member No.: 67124



w7shell 0.2.5.1 (foo_w7shell.dll)
v. 0.2.5.1







To find a download link, copy n paste paste this into Google's search box (including the quotes): "w7shell 0.2.5.1 (foo_w7shell.dll)"


This is not my addon, all due credit goes to the original creator.

This post has been edited by bseos: Feb 18 2009, 10:40
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Beaver
post Feb 18 2009, 10:13
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 5-July 07
Member No.: 45021



Looks awesome! If you have a cover for the song, does it appear instead of the black square with that note? smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bseos
post Feb 18 2009, 10:17
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 18-February 09
Member No.: 67124



QUOTE (Beaver @ Feb 18 2009, 10:13) *
Looks awesome! If you have a cover for the song, does it appear instead of the black square with that note? smile.gif


yes, if the song playing has got an album cover it will be displayed smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Beaver
post Feb 18 2009, 10:23
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 5-July 07
Member No.: 45021



Thank you! smile.gif I'm trying out now smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pieceofsummer
post Feb 19 2009, 02:21
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 19-February 09
Member No.: 67159



Moderators don't like such plugins (as violating SDK, though this plugin doesn't use any dirty subclassing, just legal callbacks) here, so I decided not to publish it.

Please note that current public version (0.2.5.1) has issues with OS backward compatibility, so don't even mind to include it into any custom packs.
Also note that Win7 build 7032 already has some changes in DWM (compared to 7000), so behavior in newer builds may differ from expected.

This post has been edited by pieceofsummer: Feb 19 2009, 03:29
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yirkha
post Feb 19 2009, 16:30
Post #6





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 2359
Joined: 30-November 07
Member No.: 49158



QUOTE (pieceofsummer @ Feb 19 2009, 02:21) *
Moderators don't like such plugins (as violating SDK, though this plugin doesn't use any dirty subclassing, just legal callbacks) here, so I decided not to publish it.
"Such plugins" is a bit misleading. Window procedure hooks are evil, message_filter is OK. (If it wasn't, this topic would be long gone.)
A problem can rather arise for example because the callback doesn't work in modal message loops, or when this functionality gets added to the core or UI(s).


--------------------
Full-quoting makes you scroll past the same junk over and over.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pieceofsummer
post Feb 19 2009, 16:53
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 19-February 09
Member No.: 67159



QUOTE (Yirkha @ Feb 19 2009, 18:30) *
Window procedure hooks are evil, message_filter is OK.

How do you check this when approving or denying plugins (assuming closed sources)? Just curious.
Any special tool to ensure window proc address was not changed since startup?

P.S. w7shell uses message_filter, of cource smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yirkha
post Feb 19 2009, 17:38
Post #8





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 2359
Joined: 30-November 07
Member No.: 49158



Well, seeing if window procedure has changed during runtime is the easy way, however I for one don't want to run random components just to do things like that. Knowing "this can't be done without messing with the main window" is a cue, then seeing imports like SetWindowLong(GWL_WNDPROC) can be good enough proof. I've also heard there are some people with too much time on their hands and leet skills in passive analysis of malicious code, so don't worry, no dirty secrets will be left unexposed.


--------------------
Full-quoting makes you scroll past the same junk over and over.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Scidd0w
post May 18 2009, 14:46
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 161
Joined: 22-December 02
Member No.: 4204



Thank you for this component. Now my favourite music player integrates very nicely in Windows7 RC!

It works really well and I can only think of one feature request:
Would it be possible to to inegrate the progressbar in the taskbar icon? (The same way basically as internet explorer downloads or imgburn progress is shown on the taskbar icon. Via a greenish progressmeter in the iconoverlay)
This would, in my opinion, fit the integration even more! smile.gif

<update>
I found an answer on the devlopers homepage to the exact same question.
QUOTE
...it’s possible (and very easy), but I won’t do it. For playback it would be just useless annoying animation in taskbar.
It’d be useful for converter, I wanted to do this, but Peter said there’s no any converter callbacks...


This post has been edited by Scidd0w: May 18 2009, 14:51
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fredskis
post May 19 2009, 03:11
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 19-May 09
Member No.: 69941



Has anyone noticed that installing the Last.fm plugin causes the album art and seek bar to disappear from the thumbnail preview?
Perhaps it was just coincidence on my end...
Can anyone shed light on this issue?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fredskis
post May 20 2009, 14:12
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 19-May 09
Member No.: 69941



Wtf? It randomly came back after messing with hot-key settings.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
garbanzo.bean
post May 21 2009, 12:26
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 267
Joined: 25-September 08
Member No.: 58627



this is fantastic. working flawlessly on build 7100. it even replaces the window thumbnail in alt-tab with the current album's cover art biggrin.gif

many thanks to the poster and to the developer for this useful plugin!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Olaf
post May 21 2009, 12:32
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 4-October 06
Member No.: 35944



QUOTE (garbanzo.bean @ May 21 2009, 13:26) *
it even replaces the window thumbnail in alt-tab with the current album's cover art biggrin.gif

...but it removes completely foobar from the win-tab, which I use a lot more. :/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
royalknight
post May 22 2009, 05:42
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 5-December 08
Member No.: 63906



Wow,
this component is really fantistic. smile.gif
I love it a lot!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
neothe0ne
post May 29 2009, 23:30
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 296
Joined: 25-September 05
Member No.: 24684



nvm can't reproduce anymore..

This post has been edited by neothe0ne: May 30 2009, 00:13
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2E7AH
post Sep 2 2009, 23:18
Post #16





Group: Validating
Posts: 2424
Joined: 21-May 08
Member No.: 53675



foo_w7shell 0.2.8.0 is out
  • Options to enable Filp3D and/or Aero Peek back (a bit buggy thing, but people wanted it)
  • Some minor changes
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
acedriver
post Sep 5 2009, 08:03
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 291
Joined: 29-May 04
Member No.: 14390



0.2.8.1:
  • Taskbar progress indicator
  • Some changes on Settings page



--------------------
http://www.last.fm/user/acedriver
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SpaceAgeHero
post Sep 5 2009, 10:21
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 120
Joined: 23-August 08
From: Berlin
Member No.: 57417



QUOTE (acedriver @ Sep 5 2009, 01:03) *
0.2.8.1:
  • Taskbar progress indicator


Yeah, this is cool. Thanks! biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Smitty2k1
post Sep 7 2009, 23:27
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 14-June 05
Member No.: 22720



FANTASTIC.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Scidd0w
post Sep 11 2009, 13:22
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 161
Joined: 22-December 02
Member No.: 4204



Personally I would find a taskbar progress indicator for foobar progress tasks, like replay gaining, converting, etc, a better option. But if I understood it correct it is not possible with the current SDK.
If you look at wmp for example. It also doesnt show progress indicator for track progress, I believe it was not intended for this purpose. Good thing its possible to disable it. wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Squeller
post Sep 15 2009, 05:31
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 2351
Joined: 28-August 02
Member No.: 3218



I agree with scidd0w here about the progress indicator. Nice plugin! But finally I'm not sure if I really need the Windows 7 taskbar goodies, they turn out to be nice, but not too useful. Basically, all your workflow is still the same as it started with Windows 95.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
odyssey
post Sep 15 2009, 13:28
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 2296
Joined: 18-May 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 6695



Nice component. I have a few requests to make it a great component wink.gif

- User-definable playlist that should show in jumplist
- Custom icons for each playlist
- Custom commands (instead of hardcoded Play+Preferences) incl. custom icon support
- Customizable peek-buttons incl icons
- User-definable path for covers
- Customizable taskbar-icon states.
- Customizable foobar taskbar-icon (if possible)
- Ability to export all those customizable settings smile.gif

Bugs:
- Pressing "Preferences" doesn't automatically focus foobar

This post has been edited by odyssey: Sep 15 2009, 13:53


--------------------
Can't wait for a HD-AAC encoder :P
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dee!
post Nov 1 2009, 23:29
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 17-February 08
Member No.: 51381



I can't get this to work properly at all. I get some buttons, but that's all. How do I get it to display artwork? Most of my albums have a folder.jpg image for the cover but nothing shows up.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Smitty2k1
post Dec 13 2009, 23:48
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 14-June 05
Member No.: 22720



This has been updated to version 2.8.1 (NOT MY WORK)

The newest version can be downloaded from the foobar2000 Russian forums

Link for those of you who can't use Google

http://www.foobar2000.ru/forum/index.php?topic=1694.0
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cablespider
post Dec 14 2009, 00:29
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 19-January 08
From: Occupied Chicago
Member No.: 50620



http://wintense.com/plugins/foo_w7shell
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2014 - 14:45