IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

7 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Autosave & Autobackup (foo_jesus), Free salvation for your configuration, playlists and soul.
Yirkha
post Mar 21 2009, 23:53
Post #26





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 2359
Joined: 30-November 07
Member No.: 49158



Yes. Redownload, I've updated the files linked from the first post with 0.9.5+ compatible version. Nothing for 0.8.3 is coming though, sorry!


--------------------
Full-quoting makes you scroll past the same junk over and over.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Narushima
post Apr 1 2009, 19:14
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 1-April 09
Member No.: 68565



QUOTE (Yirkha @ Jan 8 2009, 22:51) *
The save operation itself does the same as (hidden) command "File > Save Configuration"

Is there a way to make that hidden command appear ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yirkha
post Apr 1 2009, 19:17
Post #28





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 2359
Joined: 30-November 07
Member No.: 49158



No.

Edited: Since fb2k 1.0 (currently in beta) it's possible to hold shift while clicking the main menu to show it.

This post has been edited by Yirkha: Nov 23 2009, 00:48


--------------------
Full-quoting makes you scroll past the same junk over and over.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Narushima
post Apr 2 2009, 00:39
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 1-April 09
Member No.: 68565



Too bad then. Well thanks for the answer and the plugin !
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
saivert
post Apr 5 2009, 20:06
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 167
Joined: 13-June 06
Member No.: 31801



Thank you so much for this component. I hate to lose settings and statistical data if my PC crashes. foobar2000 itself runs stable but you can't say the same about Vista 64 or bad hardware glitches etc.

I think I'm pushing my hardware too much. Currently running Dual Monitor setup on a weak graphics card like 8800GTS also running latest drivers.
Yet just 10 mins ago I had a looping sound crash and everything froze. Don't know what caused it cos I didn't receive a BSOD so I could see the bug check code.


--------------------
http://foobar2000.saivert.com - foobar2000 component repository
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ardax
post Apr 7 2009, 19:00
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 3-December 01
Member No.: 578



QUOTE (Yirkha @ Jan 9 2009, 13:40) *
Maybe start using Windows Vista… cool.gif
ETA: mikusr reminded me that "Previous versions" is available only in Business, Enterprise and Ultimate SKU's.

And for those using Home Basic or Premium, there's ShadowExplorer.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pano
post Jun 12 2009, 19:39
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 9-March 06
Member No.: 28362



Hi there. Great component, dumb question: Where are the files stored, and how do I retrieve them when in trouble?

Thanks, pano
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post Jun 12 2009, 19:55
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 2354
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



There is nothing to retrieve.
It is not making a series of backups.
Depending on how you have set up Foobar the files are in your Foobar directory/subdirectories or your user profile directory.

terry
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
boombaard
post Jun 28 2009, 16:55
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 338
Joined: 7-February 05
From: Local Cluster
Member No.: 19647



The most troubling foobar crashes also delete/overwrite the settings file, though.. Might I request that it makes a backup to a \backup folder along with the regular saves? (of at least the cfg file, and perhaps, though less essentially, also of the playback stats)?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chris Norman
post Jun 28 2009, 18:17
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 139
Joined: 3-June 05
From: Cluj-Napoca
Member No.: 22498



I also had quite a lot of problems with data loss and I appreciate this plugin. On XP I run additionally a backup software SyncBack over the foobar folder every day. It's capable of versioning and very light-weight. With this setup hopefully I'll never loose anything again... lalala.gif


--------------------
http://www.vonpell.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
phool
post Jun 30 2009, 07:21
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 10-April 08
Member No.: 52685



Ok, so I was wondering how exactly this component works? Where is the autosaved info actually saved? Yesterday I was working wit the GIMP Portable which froze on me and gave me a lovely white screen. Foobar was running in the background and I couldn't close it properly and was forced to do a manual reboot. Anyhoo on restart I started up Foobar again and I got an error dialog indicating that my foobar config file couldn't be opened and basically all my settings and playback info was reset sad.gif

I have this plugin installed but can't locate the autosaved info anywhere. Or am I completely on the wrong track as to how this plugin works?

Edit: It appears from the posts above that I have no hope in recovering that lost information sad.gif Dang. I guess then a second (third? fourth?) for feature request for the backup of foobar.cfg; database.dat and playbackstatistics.dat is in order...

This post has been edited by phool: Jun 30 2009, 07:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Jun 30 2009, 17:54
Post #37





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4484
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



QUOTE (phool @ Jun 30 2009, 07:21) *
Ok, so I was wondering how exactly this component works?

QUOTE (Yirkha @ Jan 8 2009, 22:51) *
This component allows periodic automatic saving of configuration and other data in foobar2000. The save operation itself does the same as (hidden) command "File > Save Configuration", that means it saves configuration (foobar2000.cfg), Media library database (database.*), playlists and any additional data managed by other components (for example theme.fth or PlaybackStatistics.dat).

This means the component does not save a separate copy of all the configuration files, it just makes foobar2000 write the current content to disk.


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yirkha
post Oct 5 2009, 11:22
Post #38





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 2359
Joined: 30-November 07
Member No.: 49158



Hi all, version v4 with backup features is now available. See the updated first post for details.


--------------------
Full-quoting makes you scroll past the same junk over and over.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
phool
post Oct 5 2009, 11:45
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 10-April 08
Member No.: 52685



Now with autobackup! Our prayers have been answered! Will definitely give this bad boy a whirl when I get home biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
vintagejakker
post Oct 5 2009, 21:29
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 28-September 09
Member No.: 73555



Excelent time and worry saver many thanks! smile.gif

This post has been edited by vintagejakker: Oct 5 2009, 21:30
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jack Schmaltz
post Oct 21 2009, 11:28
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 216
Joined: 7-November 08
From: H:N:L, UK
Member No.: 61899



just want to say a quick thank you for this plug in.

iv had it installed for some time now but iv never had to actually put it into practice until today when i booted up foobar & found all my playback stats had been wiped, but foo jesus had saved the day with a backup made last night.

thank you biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Jack Schmaltz: Oct 21 2009, 11:28


--------------------
http://www.discogs.com/user/jackschmaltz
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
juglesh
post Nov 20 2009, 16:42
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 157
Joined: 10-January 02
From: www.RadioKDUG.com
Member No.: 978



Ok, this is great thanks! and just to know that that hidden file>save cfg is there and i can bind a shortcut key to is great too.

While on a sailing/scuba adventure in Australia last summer, at night the crew would tie off to a mooring buoy with the regular line, and the 'jesus line'. Why? cuz if the main line broke overnight, you'd say "Jesus, i'm glad we tied that other line, also". get it?...foo_jesus


--------------------
juglesh B>{)}
www.RadioKDUG.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yirkha
post Nov 20 2009, 22:52
Post #43





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 2359
Joined: 30-November 07
Member No.: 49158



Thanks for positive feedback smile.gif

See the updated first post for details about just released new version v6. Not a required update, just a some minor maintenance stuff.

QUOTE (juglesh @ Nov 20 2009, 16:42) *
and just to know that that hidden file>save cfg is there and i can bind a shortcut key to is great too.
With the fb2k v1.0 (beta), released a few hours ago, you can access this and other hidden commands by Shift+clicking on the menu, great for commands you don't need very often.


--------------------
Full-quoting makes you scroll past the same junk over and over.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
randal1013
post Nov 23 2009, 00:06
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 306
Joined: 1-March 06
Member No.: 28189



my computer just crashed (my fault) with foobar open. when i opened foobar again it said the config was damaged and everything was lost. but then i remembered i have foo_jesus watching my back and i was able to completely restore my foobar from the backup files.

i just wanted to say thanks for making this component. you just saved me from a heart attack.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GeSomeone
post Nov 25 2009, 13:33
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 922
Joined: 22-October 01
From: the Netherlands
Member No.: 335



QUOTE (Yirkha @ Oct 5 2009, 12:22) *
version >v4 with backup features is now available

How about using compression while building the zip file, those files compress typically to about 25% of the original size?


--------------------
In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yirkha
post Nov 25 2009, 13:51
Post #46





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 2359
Joined: 30-November 07
Member No.: 49158



Are you running of disk space?
Well ther reasons were rather I didn't want to pull whole zlib in and that the backup process should be as lightweight resource-wise as possible.


--------------------
Full-quoting makes you scroll past the same junk over and over.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mrinferno
post Nov 25 2009, 15:37
Post #47





Group: Members
Posts: 135
Joined: 19-June 07
Member No.: 44533



definitely agree with the light weight approach.
no real need to compress the zips in my opinion either.

on a semi-related note, have you considered adding an option to the config to allow specifying a different path for the destination of the zip files?
if it would add too much complexity not really a big deal at all, just curious if you had already considered it.

it would be nice to play the backup zips in an alternate location on another physical disk.
however, if it's not easily implemented i can always script move/copy of the zip's using robocopy.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yirkha
post Nov 25 2009, 15:50
Post #48





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 2359
Joined: 30-November 07
Member No.: 49158



Well, I might use the simplest LZW compression to make them a bit smaller, shouldn't take much CPU, the disk access is a bigger bottle neck and all this is done in a low-priority background thread anyway.

Yes, I'm considering a configurable path for the backups. They could also go to a subdirectory "autobackup" by default, for example, which would create less mess in the profile folder itself if you want to retain longer history.


--------------------
Full-quoting makes you scroll past the same junk over and over.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GeSomeone
post Nov 25 2009, 16:37
Post #49





Group: Members
Posts: 922
Joined: 22-October 01
From: the Netherlands
Member No.: 335



thanks for considering
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mrinferno
post Nov 25 2009, 16:38
Post #50





Group: Members
Posts: 135
Joined: 19-June 07
Member No.: 44533



very cool on both accounts then.

i imagine the larger the DB's you have the more useful the compression would be.
i have an 19MB database.dat and a 7MB playbackstatistics.dat, so normal zip deflate mode drops my zips from 36MB down to 6MB ;-)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

7 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd December 2014 - 06:39