IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Yet another portable mode / file types page thread, Split from: foobar2000 0.9.6.1 beta 2
haste
post Dec 23 2008, 02:57
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 21-November 06
Member No.: 37837



where the heck did the File Types option go from the Preferences dialog??
now i can't set my audio files to queue at the end of my Testing playlist... guess it's back to the 0.9.5.5 for me!
why the hell do people fix something that ain't broken???
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post Dec 23 2008, 03:00
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1337
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



Don't install in Portable mode. This has been answered several times.


--------------------
Windows 8.1u1 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.3
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
alvaro84
post Dec 23 2008, 09:23
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 33830



QUOTE (Andreasvb @ Dec 23 2008, 04:00) *
Don't install in Portable mode. This has been answered several times.


Hm, interesting. I haven't noticed this so far, but yeah, the file types menu has disappeared. Is there any way to make a portable foobar make its associations? I always use it in portable mode even though foobar is the main music player on my system - I like to keep everything independent from the core system which can be backed up and restored this way (and I can use the very same foobar from my pendrive at different locations). Previous versions could make the file type associations even when they had configs in their own folder and it's good that way - but it's troublesome to restore in case of some rogue application grabbing them.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Canar
post Dec 23 2008, 09:46
Post #4





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3361
Joined: 26-July 02
From: princegeorge.ca
Member No.: 2796



QUOTE (alvaro84 @ Dec 23 2008, 00:23) *
Is there any way to make a portable foobar make its associations? I always use it in portable mode even though foobar is the main music player on my system - I like to keep everything independent from the core system which can be backed up and restored this way (and I can use the very same foobar from my pendrive at different locations). Previous versions could make the file type associations even when they had configs in their own folder and it's good that way - but it's troublesome to restore in case of some rogue application grabbing them.
If you want this behaviour, standard mode still behaves this way. Portable mode is different.


--------------------
You cannot ABX the rustling of jimmies.
No mouse? No problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shakey_snake
post Dec 23 2008, 13:38
Post #5





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 4322
Joined: 1-November 06
From: Cincinnati
Member No.: 37036



QUOTE (alvaro84 @ Dec 23 2008, 03:23) *
Previous versions could make the file type associations even when they had configs in their own folder and it's good that way - but it's troublesome to restore in case of some rogue application grabbing them.
The location of the configuration files is a separate issue from "Portable Mode", although both changes were made to better accommodate Windows Vista.

Either way, these changes aren't new and were made in 0.9.6 and discussion of them doesn't belong in this 0.9.6.1 beta thread.

This post has been edited by shakey_snake: Dec 23 2008, 13:58


--------------------
elevatorladylevitateme
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
haste
post Dec 24 2008, 01:58
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 21-November 06
Member No.: 37837



i think this discussion should belong here because it's something that's missing and would be nice to fix this in the future... curiously enough is that in the 0.955 portable version the file association works and is present there... and i'm dual booting vista and xp.. works like a charm in both.. is it so hard not to fix something that ain't broken?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Canar
post Dec 24 2008, 02:18
Post #7





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3361
Joined: 26-July 02
From: princegeorge.ca
Member No.: 2796



There is no 0.9.5.x portable mode. That feature was introduced in 0.9.6.


--------------------
You cannot ABX the rustling of jimmies.
No mouse? No problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post Dec 24 2008, 02:24
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 2352
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



Haste

You are confusing the option to place config files in the foobar directory with truly being a non invasive portable installation.

This has been discussed and explained in any number of other threads. There is nothing broken that needs to be fixed.

terry
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
alvaro84
post Dec 24 2008, 12:01
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 33830



QUOTE (Canar @ Dec 23 2008, 10:46) *
If you want this behaviour, standard mode still behaves this way. Portable mode is different.


So if I install fb2k in standard mode I'll still get the option to place the config files in the foobar2000 folder? That's great, thanks!
Then all I have to do to a new system is to install in standard mode, let it set all the file associations then re-install it in portable mode to the same location (and finish customization manually or by copying a foobar2000.cfg file, etc), right? Then I'll have the benefits of the portable mode (won't mess with other systems when, well, transported) and it'll get its file types on the 'master' system.

This post has been edited by alvaro84: Dec 24 2008, 12:06
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shakey_snake
post Dec 24 2008, 16:05
Post #10





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 4322
Joined: 1-November 06
From: Cincinnati
Member No.: 37036



QUOTE (alvaro84 @ Dec 24 2008, 06:01) *
QUOTE (Canar @ Dec 23 2008, 10:46) *
If you want this behaviour, standard mode still behaves this way. Portable mode is different.


So if I install fb2k in standard mode I'll still get the option to place the config files in the foobar2000 folder? That's great, thanks!
Installing in either mode, you're able to change the location of the configuration files in the preferences. This option was moved from the installer to the preferences because too many Vista users did not understand that they cannot locate the configuration files in the install folder and still run foobar2000 at Vista's default User-level security credentials.

QUOTE (alvaro84 @ Dec 24 2008, 06:01) *
Then all I have to do to a new system is to install in standard mode, let it set all the file associations then re-install it in portable mode to the same location (and finish customization manually or by copying a foobar2000.cfg file, etc), right?
I'm sure you're being facetious, but no, that's not required at all.

QUOTE (alvaro84 @ Dec 24 2008, 06:01) *
Then I'll have the benefits of the portable mode (won't mess with other systems when, well, transported) and it'll get its file types on the 'master' system.
The primary benefit of portable mode is that it doesn't write any registry keys. Associating filetypes to foobar2000 requires registering. So no, by doing the steps you've listed above, you are subverting the primary point of portable mode.

Perhaps the name "portable mode" is too easily identifiable for people as "location of configuration files". But as I and tpijag have already said above, that's not what it means at all.

This post has been edited by shakey_snake: Dec 24 2008, 16:18


--------------------
elevatorladylevitateme
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
alvaro84
post Dec 25 2008, 17:35
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 9-August 06
Member No.: 33830



Thank you, everything seems clear for me now!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dee!
post Jun 18 2009, 00:49
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 17-February 08
Member No.: 51381



Sorry for digging up an old thread but I solved the file association issue by deleting the "portable_mode_enabled" file in the installation folder. Fired up FB2K and found the option to associate files became available again. I use my FB2K the same way as alvaro84 does, where most of the applications on my system are based on portable versions located on a separate drive. Makes reinstalling Windows (especially one stripped and prepared with nLite) a breeze.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shakey_snake
post Jun 18 2009, 01:01
Post #13





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 4322
Joined: 1-November 06
From: Cincinnati
Member No.: 37036



By doing that you still leaving out icons and the shell extension.

So while that might "work" in XP in current (0.9.6.8) versions, it's still not a supported configuration.
Your much better re-running the installer.


--------------------
elevatorladylevitateme
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dee!
post Jul 31 2009, 00:39
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 17-February 08
Member No.: 51381



The only problem I see is with icons now -- in with previous FB2K versions I had the full icon set. Shell extensions for Enqueue etc. are still available on my machine. What I have now is the default black & white FB2K icon for all audio formats.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Frank Bicking
post Jul 31 2009, 01:21
Post #15





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1832
Joined: 24-July 02
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 2776



Icons are not installed in portable mode.

And why should they? As already explained in this topic, it does not support file associations.
Run the installer again and choose the standard mode.

You can still switch to storing configuration files in the program folder, which has also been mentioned before.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
byeee
post Jan 17 2011, 08:48
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 20-March 10
Member No.: 79169



QUOTE (Frank Bicking @ Jul 31 2009, 01:21) *
Icons are not installed in portable mode.

And why should they? As already explained in this topic, it does not support file associations.
Run the installer again and choose the standard mode.

You can still switch to storing configuration files in the program folder, which has also been mentioned before.


I'm sorry, but doesn't fix the fact that it is broken behaviour.

Show me one other program that will not even let you open a file via the 'browse' menu.
I just tried it with Photoshop, Inkscape, Blender and Irfanview, all copied on a USB stick from another computer.

Guess what??? It worked!!!

And I can bet they did not put extra effort into making opening a file possible.

1. I don't care about the icons.
2. I also don't care to remember which program stores its configuration files where. That's why I install on a different drive, to get rid of the bloat, and use a compact/portable install whenever possible.
3. I don't like fishing for saved settings through AppData.
4. Run the installer again, so that it makes a jumble of new setting files in AppData until I can find the option to change it. Then move over all my plugins and hope nothing broke in the process. Gee, thanks.

PS. Does the search here work?

QUOTE (shakey_snake)
The primary benefit of portable mode is that it doesn't write any registry keys. Associating filetypes to foobar2000 requires registering. So no, by doing the steps you've listed above, you are subverting the primary point of portable mode.


AWESOME! Then be nice and don't block Windows from writing the registry keys if it so wants to.

My primary point of portable mode is the following: I put the files on a USB, take it with me and wherever I go it saves my settings and will let me open files TOO! And if someone likes the program, they can just copy it and VOILA!

(PS. If you can't open files with it, then it's hardly any use, is it??)

Please do impress me with which one of these is not supposed to be the point of portable mode.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post Jan 17 2011, 09:54
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 1337
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



There's no problem open files in Portable mode.
But it won't associate them so you can double click the files OOTB.
You can still choose which program you want to with Open with.

Portable mode works as it should.

How did you get Photoshop to work portable?


--------------------
Windows 8.1u1 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.3
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Jan 17 2011, 17:52
Post #18





Group: Developer
Posts: 3382
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



QUOTE (byeee)
And if someone likes the program, they can just copy it and VOILA!


By the way, fb2k license doesn't allow this:

QUOTE
Only unmodified installers can be redistributed; redistribution of foobar2000 binaries in any other form is not permitted.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
byeee
post Jan 18 2011, 20:49
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 20-March 10
Member No.: 79169



QUOTE (Andreasvb @ Jan 17 2011, 09:54) *
There's no problem open files in Portable mode.
But it won't associate them so you can double click the files OOTB.
You can still choose which program you want to with Open with.

Portable mode works as it should.

How did you get Photoshop to work portable?


I use the Windows 'browse for program' dialog box, click on foobar's exe and it doesn't recognize it as a program (neither on vista or on 7)

I'm fine with associating them manually, but it won't let even let me open files manually...?

Say I have a dual boot and I want to keep the same settings on both systems, would you not recommend installing in portable mode?

There's something blocking windows from using the program...? I don't know, but I'm not the developer here.

It's a CS2 that I moved over from a vista installation on an old laptop... it just works.

QUOTE (lvqcl @ Jan 17 2011, 17:52) *
QUOTE (byeee)
And if someone likes the program, they can just copy it and VOILA!


By the way, fb2k license doesn't allow this:

QUOTE
Only unmodified installers can be redistributed; redistribution of foobar2000 binaries in any other form is not permitted.



Got that, no more spreading the word for me then.

And before I forget... where is this amazing option of storing configuration files in a different spot? I can find it on 1.0, but it eludes me on 1.1.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Jan 18 2011, 21:15
Post #20





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2221
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



QUOTE (byeee @ Jan 18 2011, 21:49) *
I use the Windows 'browse for program' dialog box, click on foobar's exe and it doesn't recognize it as a program


This happens if same exe name is used from different locations, the executable path gets automatically registered by Windows and it no longer accepts a new path. You can fix it in regedit by deleting key HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Applications\foobar2000.exe.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
byeee
post Jan 21 2011, 14:34
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 20-March 10
Member No.: 79169



QUOTE (Case @ Jan 18 2011, 21:15) *
QUOTE (byeee @ Jan 18 2011, 21:49) *
I use the Windows 'browse for program' dialog box, click on foobar's exe and it doesn't recognize it as a program


This happens if same exe name is used from different locations, the executable path gets automatically registered by Windows and it no longer accepts a new path. You can fix it in regedit by deleting key HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Applications\foobar2000.exe.


I hardly think that is the case. The W7 installation is pretty new, and it's the first time I use foobar on it. And let's see... nope, no foobar found in the registry.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
frogworth
post Jan 23 2011, 04:49
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 169
Joined: 30-December 09
Member No.: 76511



QUOTE (byeee @ Jan 19 2011, 05:49) *
And before I forget... where is this amazing option of storing configuration files in a different spot? I can find it on 1.0, but it eludes me on 1.1.


I believe this has been removed since. It's a real pain, and I'm just glad I installed foobar long ago enough that I have it setup with the configuration files in the same folder as the executables, so I can be "portable" without installing in "Portable" mode. If a mod can confirm it's been removed, I'm a vote (as I have been in other threads) for adding it back.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th September 2014 - 19:39