IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Can't apply sort to Autoplaylist properties [0.9.6], "Sort operations not available in this context"
neothe0ne
post Dec 13 2008, 23:09
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 295
Joined: 25-September 05
Member No.: 24684



I'm trying to make an autoplaylist of rated songs sorted by path. However, I get "Sort operations not available in this context".

%rating% IS 5 AND SORT BY %path_sort%

I also tried after/before in place of and, and path with and without %'s.

Can foobar sort autoplaylists, and if so, what am I doing wrong?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Frank Bicking
post Dec 13 2008, 23:14
Post #2





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1832
Joined: 24-July 02
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 2776



%rating% IS 5 SORT BY %path_sort%

(removed the "AND")
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
neothe0ne
post Dec 14 2008, 03:16
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 295
Joined: 25-September 05
Member No.: 24684



QUOTE (Frank Bicking @ Dec 13 2008, 17:14) *
%rating% IS 5 SORT BY %path_sort%

(removed the "AND")


I forgot to say, I tried without a conjunction. That doesn't work either.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post Dec 14 2008, 03:48
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2352
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



Are you using most recent Foobar?
Something similar such as:

%set% IS 1 SORT BY %venue%
or
%set% IS 1 SORT BY %path_sort%

works for me.

terry

I assume you are building playlist via Library > Search

This post has been edited by tpijag: Dec 14 2008, 03:50
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
neothe0ne
post Dec 14 2008, 04:09
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 295
Joined: 25-September 05
Member No.: 24684



QUOTE (tpijag @ Dec 13 2008, 21:48) *
Are you using most recent Foobar?
Something similar such as:

%set% IS 1 SORT BY %venue%
or
%set% IS 1 SORT BY %path_sort%

works for me.

terry

I assume you are building playlist via Library > Search


I'm running 0.9.6 Final. However, I've been building my playlists with Library/Albumlist, but foo_albumlist is an official component installed with foobar. I just tried Search and the query works, but the SORT BY command is useless since there's a sort BOX.

Albumlist on left, Search on right

So, I guess the new question is: why doesn't Albumlist query syntax match with Search syntax?

This post has been edited by neothe0ne: Dec 14 2008, 04:14
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shakey_snake
post Dec 14 2008, 04:48
Post #6





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 4322
Joined: 1-November 06
From: Cincinnati
Member No.: 37036



Your query pattern made with the "Search" does match the Filter Pattern Made with "Album List".

An "Album List"-generated autoplaylist forces-sort based on the branches' sort pattern. A "Search"-generated autoplaylist doesn't have any kind of structure, so a declared sort pattern is necessary.

This post has been edited by shakey_snake: Dec 14 2008, 04:49


--------------------
elevatorladylevitateme
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post Dec 14 2008, 04:56
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2352
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



Finally!!

Though I do not use them....it always bothered me that I never quite had a handle on this sticky little issue.

Two lucid typed lines of text and I be a smarter man.

thanks for insight

terry

This post has been edited by tpijag: Dec 14 2008, 04:57
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
neothe0ne
post Dec 14 2008, 04:59
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 295
Joined: 25-September 05
Member No.: 24684



QUOTE (shakey_snake @ Dec 13 2008, 22:48) *
Your query pattern made with the "Search" does match the Filter Pattern Made with "Album List".

An "Album List"-generated autoplaylist forces-sort based on the branches' sort pattern. A "Search"-generated autoplaylist doesn't have any kind of structure, so a declared sort pattern is necessary.


I mean syntax behavior then.

Anyway, I'm not sure you understood my point. An autoplaylist generated with Albumlist can use any syntax except "SORT BY", which throws a popup that says "sort operations not available in this context". If you view the playlist in foobar, you can select all the songs and you CAN sort the playlist. My question is, why are Albumlist-based autoplaylists blocked from carrying out a function automatically that the user can do manually?

I suppose I should reword my question a bit:
Why are there 2 completely different kinds of autoplaylists included with a blank foobar installation which don't accept the same syntax?

This post has been edited by neothe0ne: Dec 14 2008, 05:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shakey_snake
post Dec 14 2008, 05:29
Post #9





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 4322
Joined: 1-November 06
From: Cincinnati
Member No.: 37036



QUOTE (neothe0ne @ Dec 13 2008, 22:59) *
QUOTE (shakey_snake @ Dec 13 2008, 22:48) *

Your query pattern made with the "Search" does match the Filter Pattern Made with "Album List".

An "Album List"-generated autoplaylist forces-sort based on the branches' sort pattern. A "Search"-generated autoplaylist doesn't have any kind of structure, so a declared sort pattern is necessary.


I mean syntax behavior then.

Anyway, I'm not sure you understood my point. An autoplaylist generated with Albumlist can use any syntax except "SORT BY", which throws a popup that says "sort operations not available in this context". If you view the playlist in foobar, you can select all the songs and you CAN sort the playlist.
Yes, manual sorting is always available if a playlist isn't force-sorted.

QUOTE (neothe0ne @ Dec 13 2008, 22:59) *
My question is, why are Albumlist-based autoplaylists blocked from carrying out a function automatically that the user can do manually?

Look at the names of the boxes.
The Album List-generated playlist's box is called "Filter Pattern" because it functions similar to the Filter Box at the bottom of the Album List.
The "Filter Pattern" box is necessary for an Autoplaylist because you need it when you create an Autoplaylist from a node that has the Filter applied onto it.

The Filter box does not accept "SORT BY" because the results of the Album List are automatically sorted by the Album List's view. Therefore, the "Filter Pattern" box doesn't allow "SORT BY", either.

This post has been edited by shakey_snake: Dec 14 2008, 06:10


--------------------
elevatorladylevitateme
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st October 2014 - 00:21