IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
MusicBee - a Music Manager
shakey_snake
post Dec 22 2008, 01:12
Post #26





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 4322
Joined: 1-November 06
From: Cincinnati
Member No.: 37036



awesome update!


--------------------
elevatorladylevitateme
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
stevenmmm
post Dec 22 2008, 21:08
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 6-December 08
Member No.: 64023



QUOTE (zipr @ Dec 21 2008, 20:19) *
I got an error when I tried to run it after install:
Unable to start MusicBee - An attempt was made to load a program with an incorrect format. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007000B)

Using 64 bit vista.

the current version only supports 32 bit vista. It will probably be like this for some time - before i can look at adding 64 bit for MusicBee, the BASS sound library that is used needs to have 64bit supported, but I know they are working on it. I'll make it clear on the downloads page.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
seVen
post Dec 22 2008, 22:47
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 28-January 03
Member No.: 4760



Hi Steve,
Just want you know that with a non english XP the program doesn't start and give me an exception error at the splash screen, anyway, i have used a fixed exe that you posted on your forum for a non english Vista user and work so i think is better if you fix the full installation archive.

Another error, in the preferences/player if i click the topdown menu for select the player i get an error.


A request, for MP3 tags handling the possibility to select also only ID3v2.x without v1, thanks. biggrin.gif

EDIT: Added error and request.

This post has been edited by seVen: Dec 22 2008, 23:31
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
stevenmmm
post Dec 23 2008, 21:35
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 6-December 08
Member No.: 64023



QUOTE (seVen @ Dec 22 2008, 21:47) *
Hi Steve,
Just want you know that with a non english XP the program doesn't start and give me an exception error at the splash screen, anyway, i have used a fixed exe that you posted on your forum for a non english Vista user and work so i think is better if you fix the full installation archive.

Another error, in the preferences/player if i click the topdown menu for select the player i get an error.


A request, for MP3 tags handling the possibility to select also only ID3v2.x without v1, thanks. biggrin.gif

EDIT: Added error and request.

i've updated the full install now with the non-english OS fix, the GUI bug you reported and as the id3v1 request was trivial to implement i have also included that. The new link for the .exe only is http://www.mediafire.com/?znzdig4gjm4
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Brent
post Dec 25 2008, 19:17
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 143
Joined: 27-August 07
Member No.: 46544



QUOTE (stevenmmm @ Dec 8 2008, 18:29) *
Brent: no plans to open source this for now - if you strongly believe in that sort of thing, SongBird is a good open source app - its where i got some of the ideas for the web integration from. I hadn't heard of MusikCube/wxMusik before so its not based on that.

Strange, because the graphical similarities are uncanny. I mean, that settings screenshot looks exactly like the one in wxMusik. I know, because I worked on that program (it's open source, so it possible you just snagged it, or MusikBox's).

Anyone else here tried those other two programs I mentioned?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
HotshotGG
post Dec 25 2008, 19:41
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 1593
Joined: 24-March 02
From: Revere, MA
Member No.: 1607



QUOTE
Strange, because the graphical similarities are uncanny. I mean, that settings screenshot looks exactly like the one in wxMusik. I know, because I worked on that program (it's open source, so it possible you just snagged it, or MusikBox's).

Anyone else here tried those other two programs I mentioned?


That's what prompted me to the ask question "will this be open-source?" on the first page. I actually had WxMusik in mind. I don't know what features this music manager has when compared to WxMusik, but it would be interesting to do a comparison. Hopefully the similarities stop only with the GUI. It could just be a strange coincidence to, therefore I won't jump to any conclusions. blink.gif

This post has been edited by HotshotGG: Dec 25 2008, 19:49


--------------------
College student/IT Assistant
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
stevenmmm
post Dec 25 2008, 20:16
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 6-December 08
Member No.: 64023



QUOTE (Brent @ Dec 25 2008, 18:17) *
QUOTE (stevenmmm @ Dec 8 2008, 18:29) *

Brent: no plans to open source this for now - if you strongly believe in that sort of thing, SongBird is a good open source app - its where i got some of the ideas for the web integration from. I hadn't heard of MusikCube/wxMusik before so its not based on that.

Strange, because the graphical similarities are uncanny. I mean, that settings screenshot looks exactly like the one in wxMusik. I know, because I worked on that program (it's open source, so it possible you just snagged it, or MusikBox's).

Anyone else here tried those other two programs I mentioned?


i am sorry brent but you are just wrong - MusicBee is not copied from wxMusik or MusikBox in any way whatsoever. As i said i hadn't even heard of or seen those apps before.
I honestly don't know why you think it is copied (for a start both of those systems are written in C++ from what i can see, whereas MusicBee is VB.NET)
I've just downloaded both and I only see a few GUI aspects that are vaguely similar, no more so than certain aspects similar with other music playing applications i've seen and i my opinion not even close overall.

You are referring to the apps on http://musik.berlios.de and http://www.musikcube.com/ ?

hotshotGG: what GUI screens do you think are the same? - you surely cant be referring to the ones from the websites i listed above. Perhaps you or brent would post a couple of side-by-side screenshots that you think are the same?
I am quite baffled by this

This post has been edited by stevenmmm: Dec 25 2008, 21:08
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Brent
post Dec 26 2008, 23:42
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 143
Joined: 27-August 07
Member No.: 46544



The similarities are basically everywhere: the graphical layout seems very similar, and the offered options (almost?) identical. The fact you claim you havnt ever heard of these programs (you link them correctly) makes it even more interesting... I wonder if others (HotshotGG) share this opinion. Because the other apps are actually opensource, a fork (I'm not accusing you) is possible, in which case offering the source is mandatory.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fbuser
post Dec 27 2008, 00:33
Post #34





Group: Developer
Posts: 675
Joined: 26-September 07
Member No.: 47369



Even if there are similarities between the apps, it is simply impossible, that MusicBee is a fork of wxMusic/MusicCube. As stevenmmm stated MusicBee is written in VB.Net, whereas the other apps are written in C++. You can't exchange the code between those programming languages. If you don't believe stevenmmm look at this post. It is an error message from a .NET application. So please, stop the speculations.

This post has been edited by fbuser: Dec 27 2008, 00:33
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Big_Berny
post Dec 27 2008, 01:48
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 9-February 03
Member No.: 4921



Stevenmmm and fbuser are right. If it's not the same language it's not the same code base.

It would be a shame if new developers got prevented from making their own tools by such speculations.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
stevenmmm
post Dec 27 2008, 11:05
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 6-December 08
Member No.: 64023



QUOTE (Brent @ Dec 26 2008, 22:42) *
The similarities are basically everywhere: the graphical layout seems very similar, and the offered options (almost?) identical. The fact you claim you havnt ever heard of these programs (you link them correctly) makes it even more interesting... I wonder if others (HotshotGG) share this opinion. Because the other apps are actually opensource, a fork (I'm not accusing you) is possible, in which case offering the source is mandatory.


brent: it took me 10 seconds on google by typing in those application names to find the links to the websites.
i have to say i am upset you are smearing something i have put quite a bit of effort into and feel proud of whats been achieved. I do not agree that the apps are largely similar and after playing with those apps find the assertsion quite ridiculous - the only common GUI elements i see are ones you would find in other media players out there (left navigation bar with library and playlists, track browser panel, search box, player controls, artwork, notification tray etc).
Since you won't post side-by-side images, i will so people can make up there own minds
http://www.getmusicbee.com/images/wxMusikScreenshot.jpg
http://www.getmusicbee.com/images/MusicBeeScreenshot.jpg

But I expect we will have to agree to disagree about this
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
seVen
post Dec 27 2008, 15:12
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 28-January 03
Member No.: 4760



QUOTE (stevenmmm @ Dec 23 2008, 12:35) *
i've updated the full install now with the non-english OS fix, the GUI bug you reported and as the id3v1 request was trivial to implement i have also included that. The new link for the .exe only is http://www.mediafire.com/?znzdig4gjm4


Thanx for the update Steve cool.gif
Now some other things... first and most important, i can't play AAC files. I got always a warning that the file i'm trying to play is not a valid audio file, tried with both nero encoded and iTunes plus (not protected) files.
Second, great that you support also files with embedded cue (i use single FLAC file for albums) but with them the "artist" field is blank, or better, i see the artist in the field "album artist" which can be correct but i think is better to see it (also or only) in the artist field. Works ok with files where both "album artist" and "artist" tags are filled, ie. compilations with multiple artists.
Last, in preferences/file converters, even if i can edit one of the available would be useful to have also almost a "custom" one so i can use also others encoders, wavpack, tak, etc.

This post has been edited by seVen: Dec 27 2008, 15:14
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
stevenmmm
post Dec 27 2008, 16:32
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 6-December 08
Member No.: 64023



QUOTE (seVen @ Dec 27 2008, 14:12) *
Thanx for the update Steve cool.gif
Now some other things... first and most important, i can't play AAC files. I got always a warning that the file i'm trying to play is not a valid audio file, tried with both nero encoded and iTunes plus (not protected) files.
Second, great that you support also files with embedded cue (i use single FLAC file for albums) but with them the "artist" field is blank, or better, i see the artist in the field "album artist" which can be correct but i think is better to see it (also or only) in the artist field. Works ok with files where both "album artist" and "artist" tags are filled, ie. compilations with multiple artists.
Last, in preferences/file converters, even if i can edit one of the available would be useful to have also almost a "custom" one so i can use also others encoders, wavpack, tak, etc.

hi,
re: aac files, there is no AAC decoder distributed with MB - however the error message was supposed to say that! I know other freeware apps do play AAC, but my understanding is patent fees would apply if i included an AAC decoder with MB. However there is a decoder available you can get yourself called BASS_AAC.dll which you probably already have on your machine if you have used other music players. Otherwise see http://www.getmusicbee.com/help/codec/ if you need help downloading it to the MB Program folder.

After saying all that it just so happens i have been working on including tagging and playback of DRM protected itunes files using Quicktime for playback, which means normal AAC files can also be played.
The downside with Quicktime is it's a resource hog, and i cant integrate the equaliser or crossfading leading out of the AAC file.
I think its ready for release so i will probably make it available tomorrow night

re: cuesheets, can you send me a copy of the cuesheet for the first 2 cases (no artist showing or only album artist showing)? - its possible there is a bug with the cuesheet parsing, although i suspect with the second case the track performer is not there, so thats a simple fix.

re: file converters, i was going to include WavPack with MB but was having problems with it cutting off the last block of data in the converted file which I wasnt able to get to the bottom of. I'll have another look at it at a later date, and also take up your suggestion about a custom converter

This post has been edited by stevenmmm: Dec 27 2008, 16:33
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
seVen
post Dec 28 2008, 00:33
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 28-January 03
Member No.: 4760



QUOTE (stevenmmm @ Dec 27 2008, 07:32) *
hi,
re: aac files, there is no AAC decoder distributed with MB - however the error message was supposed to say that! I know other freeware apps do play AAC, but my understanding is patent fees would apply if i included an AAC decoder with MB. However there is a decoder available you can get yourself called BASS_AAC.dll which you probably already have on your machine if you have used other music players. Otherwise see http://www.getmusicbee.com/help/codec/ if you need help downloading it to the MB Program folder.


Hi Steve,
Ooops, i thinked that only the encoder could not be distributed so I haven't noted the miss of the decoder too, sorry. Solved tongue.gif

QUOTE
After saying all that it just so happens i have been working on including tagging and playback of DRM protected itunes files using Quicktime for playback, which means normal AAC files can also be played.
The downside with Quicktime is it's a resource hog, and i cant integrate the equaliser or crossfading leading out of the AAC file.
I think its ready for release so i will probably make it available tomorrow night


I hope is selectable because i think is better stay away from QT...

QUOTE
re: cuesheets, can you send me a copy of the cuesheet for the first 2 cases (no artist showing or only album artist showing)? - its possible there is a bug with the cuesheet parsing, although i suspect with the second case the track performer is not there, so thats a simple fix.


With the cuesheet below for example and the artist tag filled in the FLAC file. I see the artist only in the album artist field. Another thing (and this with all the embedded cue files), if i open the edit window in tags and then move forward/backward between tracks all the fields become blank a part album, album artist, year and genre, also, totaltracks and totaldiscs tags are not recognized.

CODE
REM GENRE Electronic
REM DATE 2008
PERFORMER "Klaus Schulze Feat. Lisa Gerrard"
TITLE "Rheingold - Live At The Loreley"
REM REPLAYGAIN_ALBUM_GAIN -3.57 dB
REM REPLAYGAIN_ALBUM_PEAK 0.957123
FILE "CDImage.wav" WAVE
  TRACK 01 AUDIO
    TITLE "Alberich"
    REM REPLAYGAIN_TRACK_GAIN -3.54 dB
    REM REPLAYGAIN_TRACK_PEAK 0.957123
    INDEX 01 00:00:00
  TRACK 02 AUDIO
    TITLE "Loreley"
    REM REPLAYGAIN_TRACK_GAIN -3.59 dB
    REM REPLAYGAIN_TRACK_PEAK 0.947357
    INDEX 01 24:35:00


QUOTE
re: file converters, i was going to include WavPack with MB but was having problems with it cutting off the last block of data in the converted file which I wasnt able to get to the bottom of. I'll have another look at it at a later date, and also take up your suggestion about a custom converter


Thanks and keep up the good work! cool.gif

This post has been edited by seVen: Dec 28 2008, 00:37
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
stevenmmm
post Dec 28 2008, 20:42
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 6-December 08
Member No.: 64023



I've made a new release that includes the following:
- Playback and tag editing of fairplay DRM protected files (playback is via Quicktime)
- Quicktime can also be optionally used for playback of AAC/ MPEG files (set in the Prefences/ Player screen), but keep in mind it is not integrated with the MusicBee Equaliser
- Fix to the reported cuesheet handling bugs (note you currently cannot assign ratings to individual tracks in the cuesheet)
- Fix to mini-player where is couldnt be moved to a new location on the screen

The full install is on http://www.getmusicbee.com/ or if you have installed at least once, copy all the files from http://www.mediafire.com/?amn2nzmmjty to the MusicBee program folder
As always, any constructive feedback is welcome even if you just have a play with it

This post has been edited by stevenmmm: Dec 28 2008, 20:45
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
seVen
post Dec 28 2008, 21:15
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 28-January 03
Member No.: 4760



Thanks for the new release, now cuesheet handling works well but... "totaldiscs" tag is again not recognized.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
stevenmmm
post Dec 29 2008, 13:21
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 6-December 08
Member No.: 64023



QUOTE (seVen @ Dec 28 2008, 20:15) *
Thanks for the new release, now cuesheet handling works well but... "totaldiscs" tag is again not recognized.

currently 'DISCCOUNT' is used - i will also include 'TOTALDISCS'
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IndieRockSteve
post Dec 29 2008, 16:21
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 29-September 04
Member No.: 17382



great work on a nice music manager, I just wish you had not chosen to throw another Win32 based music manager into the mix and instead worked in a format that could be easily ported to linux and OSX (like using QT instead) where there are really no great music managers available (iTunes and Amarok are obviously good, but neither do nearly as well on music tagging as what can be had in Windows right now).

That said, I'll play around with this at work where I have a Win32 machine (and actually do a lot of music listening anyway...).

edit: So it just finished loading my library here at work, and the track listing area fails to "refresh" and show anything, it just shows whatever the last window I had open has in that area. Same for the Now Playing area.

This post has been edited by IndieRockSteve: Dec 29 2008, 17:37


--------------------
IndieRockSteve
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
stevenmmm
post Dec 29 2008, 17:56
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 6-December 08
Member No.: 64023



QUOTE (IndieRockSteve @ Dec 29 2008, 15:21) *
edit: So it just finished loading my library here at work, and the track listing area fails to "refresh" and show anything, it just shows whatever the last window I had open has in that area. Same for the Now Playing area.

your the 2nd person to report something along this type of behaviour now - what i will do is completely remove a windows redrawing optimisation that i have a suspicion could be causing this. I'll post a link later tonight (UK time).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
stevenmmm
post Dec 29 2008, 21:38
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 6-December 08
Member No.: 64023



QUOTE (IndieRockSteve @ Dec 29 2008, 15:21) *
edit: So it just finished loading my library here at work, and the track listing area fails to "refresh" and show anything, it just shows whatever the last window I had open has in that area. Same for the Now Playing area.

hi, please try this patch by copying the files to the MusicBee program folder: http://www.mediafire.com/?njzjkkntzog http://www.mediafire.com/?dtdwqmdnmyo
If it doesnt work, would you be able to send me the error log (View/ Error Log menu) as that might give me some other clues

This is not intended for general release, other's can continue to use the version released previously

This post has been edited by stevenmmm: Dec 30 2008, 20:04
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
csabo2
post Jul 11 2009, 15:40
Post #46





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 11-July 09
Member No.: 71389



I love the program, thanks smile.gif


side note: anyone know what happened to wxMusik? seems to be dead. download links all removed.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eahm
post Jun 20 2012, 00:30
Post #47





Group: Members
Posts: 1035
Joined: 11-February 12
Member No.: 97076



MusicBee and qaac (remember to install AppleApplicationSupport.msi if you don't have iTunes or/and QuickTime already installed) ("file archiving" quality is ALAC):



This post has been edited by eahm: Jun 20 2012, 01:20


--------------------
/lwAsIimz
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eahm
post Jun 20 2012, 02:06
Post #48





Group: Members
Posts: 1035
Joined: 11-February 12
Member No.: 97076



Since --silence files are bit identical, let's short the code and use this one, please remove the previous post.

MusicBee and qaac (remember to install AppleApplicationSupport.msi if you don't have iTunes or/and QuickTime already installed) ("file archiving" quality is ALAC):



This post has been edited by eahm: Jun 20 2012, 02:37


--------------------
/lwAsIimz
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th July 2014 - 17:37