IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
AdPlug, An input plugin for various AdLib sound formats. Emulates the OPL chip
Vagabond
post Mar 1 2011, 16:18
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 8-January 11
From: Griswold, IA
Member No.: 87162



Thanks for the responses, everyone! I utilized the tools that romor pointed out, and did indeed successfully extract the music. I then played it with SSPlayer, a player designed for System Shock. However, deus-ex is right in that the timing and instrumentation was off. A more grunt-work approach may be necessary (recording with DOSBox manually). It would be great to access the music directly instead of doing methods like this.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Mar 1 2011, 20:41
Post #27





Group: Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



The timing for the XMI files in foo_midi should be spot on now, the only problem would be that they're designed for Adlib playback with custom instrument sets.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Vagabond
post Mar 1 2011, 21:31
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 8-January 11
From: Griswold, IA
Member No.: 87162



QUOTE (kode54 @ Mar 1 2011, 13:41) *
The timing for the XMI files in foo_midi should be spot on now, the only problem would be that they're designed for Adlib playback with custom instrument sets.


Ah, you're right; the timing is just fine. It is just the awkwardness of hearing banjos and telephone rings in placement of eerie synth!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kheops
post Sep 2 2011, 21:16
Post #29





Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 8-April 02
Member No.: 1724



hi all

i'm using foo_midi 1.141
some xmi files i have make foobar crashes (for the game "lands of lore" for the older ones here smile.gif)
the same files play pretty fine in winamp but using winamp isn't an option

i'm wondering if i could upload one file and give a link here (just 10kb) for kode54 to have a look

is this ok ?

take care
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Sep 10 2011, 04:27
Post #30





Group: Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Upload at will.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kheops
post Sep 14 2011, 12:12
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 8-April 02
Member No.: 1724



files are here kode54
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=90789
thx for your time
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Sep 17 2011, 04:16
Post #32





Group: Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



AdPlug does not handle those files, and foo_midi does not crash on them. I have fixed it so that it will read them now, though.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kheops
post Sep 24 2011, 20:39
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 8-April 02
Member No.: 1724



thanks for the fix, it seems "my" xmi are broken, i wasn't aware of that of course

take care
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Sep 25 2011, 15:21
Post #34





Group: Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Not explicitly yours, but maybe the game's. The issue with several of these files seems to be that one of the main nested chunks lists a static number as its size instead of the actual size, and that the EVNT chunk for the main MIDI stream seems to be missing the zero byte after the FF/2F end of track meta event, even though it's included in the length field for that chunk. It's the latter problem which caused the actual parsing errors.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kcowolf
post Feb 3 2012, 08:52
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 3-February 12
Member No.: 96904



If I have this foo_input_adplug.dll and foo_midi.dll (both latest versions), can I do anything to force the AdPlug component to handle .lds files instead of the MIDI component?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 3 2012, 12:55
Post #36





Group: Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Rename them to .ldsa.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kcowolf
post Feb 4 2012, 03:37
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 3-February 12
Member No.: 96904



Works great! Thanks for the quick reply.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 4 2012, 05:05
Post #38





Group: Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



The same trick goes for .mid(a), .s3m(a), and .msc(a). Although, some day, I'll probably incorporate a passable (possibly tandem) AdLib emulation based MIDI driver into foo_midi, just for kicks. It will also support multiple loadable instrument banks, such as the widely used Fat Man set, featured in such games as Hocus Pocus, and included in the MSOPL driver. Or the Duke Nukem 3D patch kit. Or the Doom engine games, which had layered 2 operator instruments, and also had slight variations between different game franchises. I could probably adapt the MIDI driver from AdPlug to work with all of those, and also work under my own MIDI player loop.

My MIDI component utilizes MIDI parsers which turn various formats into basic multi-track MIDI sequence data in an internal format, with functions to turn that data either into a timestamped event stream, or a Standard MIDI File. All of the current player drivers, except for the disabled DXi player, use the event stream data. I just need a MIDI driver which is capable of accepting raw MIDI events, and rendering sample data between sets of events to simulate time passing. The only special case is the VSTi driver, which I moved out to its own process because some VST plug-ins are so crashtastic.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nahkranoth
post Feb 4 2012, 09:36
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 66
Joined: 12-March 08
Member No.: 51973



QUOTE (kode54 @ Feb 4 2012, 07:05) *
The same trick goes for .mid(a), .s3m(a), and .msc(a). Although, some day, I'll probably incorporate a passable (possibly tandem) AdLib emulation based MIDI driver into foo_midi, just for kicks. It will also support multiple loadable instrument banks, such as the widely used Fat Man set, featured in such games as Hocus Pocus, and included in the MSOPL driver.


So one can listen to adlib version of Ultima Underworld's *.xmi and they will sound exactly like in the game? blink.gif


I knew that this day will come! laugh.gif

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
newbie!(*)
post Feb 4 2012, 15:39
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 28-January 12
Member No.: 96767



Thank you so much for this plugin!

I've always wanted to listen to music from the Xargon trilogy.

I realized that by renaming the music files (examples: SONG_1.XR3) to .cmf, this is possible.

The music is "exactly" what you hear in the game.

Great job! emot-toot.gif biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cosmos816
post Feb 25 2012, 00:18
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 8-July 02
Member No.: 2520



Any chance to play Westwood ADL files? The latest plugin version does not seem to support the extension while vanilla adplug/adplay do.

Perhaps it is simply disabled due to some known problems with format support in the library atm? Dune II files are a no-go in particular, which is a great disappointment.

P.S. Great plugin, thanks a lot!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 25 2012, 18:04
Post #42





Group: Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Westwood ADL is disabled for that exact reason. I don't want to enable it until all supported files play without crashing.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
C_Gear
post Sep 23 2012, 14:59
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 23-September 12
Member No.: 103352



Excuse me, we are the authors of the RIX decoder part of AdPlug. Recently we have modified our code. A bug was fixed to make our rix simulation more close to its original sound. Would you please update your codebase with upstream cvs and give us a test build?
Thank you very much!

This post has been edited by C_Gear: Sep 23 2012, 15:01
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Sep 24 2012, 13:53
Post #44





Group: Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Done.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
C_Gear
post Feb 7 2013, 05:02
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 23-September 12
Member No.: 103352



QUOTE (kode54 @ Sep 24 2012, 20:53) *
Done.

Thank you very much! The rix simulation is closer to its original sound since V1.41. rolleyes.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TheAlmightyGuru
post Sep 16 2013, 23:03
Post #46





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 16-September 13
From: Michigan, USA
Member No.: 110127



Love the AdPlug plugin for foobar2000, I've noticed that it seems to have a more accurate overall sound than the Winamp build. Thanks for making it available.

One thing that would be nice to see on the input configuration is the ability to loop a song X number of times and have a fade out of X seconds. I love converting old game music into FLAC for my MP3 player, but it's not easy to do when my only options are play once or play indefinitely.

A lot of chiptune player designers have added the play X loops and fade out options, (DUMB Module Decoder, Game Emu Player, Highly Experimental, etc.), so a lot of people appreciate when they're added.

Keep up the great work!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Sep 17 2013, 12:16
Post #47





Group: Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



The current design of AdPlug doesn't really afford me the loop start offset or loop length. It only reports when a track has looped once, and doesn't report where it has looped to.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TheAlmightyGuru
post Sep 17 2013, 15:48
Post #48





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 16-September 13
From: Michigan, USA
Member No.: 110127



QUOTE (kode54 @ Sep 17 2013, 06:16) *
The current design of AdPlug doesn't really afford me the loop start offset or loop length. It only reports when a track has looped once, and doesn't report where it has looped to.


Okay, thanks for looking into it. And keep up the amazing work, you're a coding machine!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wormbo
post Mar 28 2014, 19:51
Post #49





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 20-March 14
Member No.: 115086



Replay gain support would be nice. Would it be possible to add that?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TheAlmightyGuru
post Jun 2 2014, 19:14
Post #50





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 16-September 13
From: Michigan, USA
Member No.: 110127



I was recently listening to the Tyrian soundtrack (Loudness format, *.lds) and found that the music sounded pretty bad, so I played it in the old Winamp AdPlug, and it sounded accurate. After trial and error of disabling plugins, I found that the problem was with the MIDI plugin taking precedence and playing the music inaccurately. I came here and found your work-around, changed the file extensions to *.ldsa, and everything now sounds spot-on again. But this made me think, why do you even bother with having LDS format supported in the MIDI plugin when AdPlug plays the sound properly?

Anyway, thank you so much for porting this plugin and being an all-around awesome coder!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd September 2014 - 19:34