IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
What do the dbpoweramp rip status "inaccurate" statments mea
geepondy
post Sep 4 2008, 02:44
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 1-September 08
Member No.: 57789



I have been ripping cds from dbpoweramp this evening and I get to "The Eagles Greatest Hits" and under the rip status, it says all ten tracks are "inaccurate". What exactly does this mean? I just listened to one of the ripped tracks and it sounds fine.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Sep 4 2008, 03:03
Post #2





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



It just means that AccurateRip couldn't verify them. So long as dBpa said they're secure and you haven't done anything to the settings to compromise security, then you should be ok.


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ameliajune
post Sep 5 2008, 01:57
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 23-August 08
From: Los Angeles, CA
Member No.: 57402



QUOTE (geepondy @ Sep 3 2008, 18:44) *
I have been ripping cds from dbpoweramp this evening and I get to "The Eagles Greatest Hits" and under the rip status, it says all ten tracks are "inaccurate". What exactly does this mean? I just listened to one of the ripped tracks and it sounds fine.


I am perplexed on this myself, because I often get the insecure readings from dbpa (meaning there was something wrong) and they sound fine to me as well. Maybe my hearing is worse than I thought? huh.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spoon
post Sep 5 2008, 13:51
Post #4


dBpowerAMP developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2741
Joined: 24-March 02
Member No.: 1615



Often errors are silenced out by the CD drive, there will be periods of silence, more errors = more silence where it becomes obvious. Many people think a rip is ok unless they hear loud pops.


--------------------
Spoon http://www.dbpoweramp.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bhoar
post Sep 5 2008, 14:33
Post #5





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 612
Joined: 31-May 06
Member No.: 31326



Just to reiterate what greynol said, if all tracks are listed as inaccurate, you may also have a different pressing that can't be validated against accuraterip.

-brendan


--------------------
Hacking CD Robots & Autoloaders: http://hyperdiscs.pbwiki.com/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
geepondy
post Sep 6 2008, 00:54
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 1-September 08
Member No.: 57789



I come across another entire cd that says it's inaccurate. I assume if it was insecure, it would tell you this as well? Also what does the number in parenthesis mean after that rip whether it is accurate or inaccurate?

This post has been edited by geepondy: Sep 6 2008, 00:58
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Sep 6 2008, 04:17
Post #7





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



>I assume if it was insecure, it would tell you this as well?

Yes.

>what does the number in parenthesis mean after that rip whether it is accurate or inaccurate?

How many matches for the CRC (or one of the CRCs) it pulls up for your disc's id in the database. Because you have a different pressing, the number is meaningless.

This post has been edited by greynol: Sep 6 2008, 04:17


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2014 - 18:18