IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

22 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 7 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_lastfm_radio
_oao
post Sep 30 2008, 23:15
Post #101





Group: Members
Posts: 156
Joined: 29-May 08
Member No.: 53899



Just a small feature request about the Album art support:

Is it possible to add an option to show the Artist Image if the Album Art is not found?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jeremija
post Oct 2 2008, 17:59
Post #102





Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 27-September 08
From: Zagreb
Member No.: 58696



thank you very much for this plugin!

i have a problem:
whenever i play a track, it normally starts playing and after a few seconds (depending on the buffer size set in Playback-Output) the playback pauses and plays and pauses and plays and so on for a few seconds...afterwards the playback continues normally. the problem disappears if i press the pause button and wait for a few seconds and press pause again to continue playing, but appears again on the next track.

from my experience with mp3 streaming, i think that this is a buffer problem.
i think that this plugin should have a buffer slider like there is for http streams (components -> networking).
i know that these are actually http streams, but i don't think that foobar recognises it because the "protocol" listed in playlist is FOO_LASTFM_RADIO:// (not sure but from that i guess that the plugin handles the streaming,not foobar itself)

correct me if i'm wrong, please...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nausea
post Oct 3 2008, 13:00
Post #103





Group: Developer
Posts: 142
Joined: 4-March 03
Member No.: 5322



The FOO_LASTFM_RADIO:// nonsense exists purely so that the component can act as a middleman and fill in the tags, album art, etc. It gets converted back to http://*.mp3 internally, and passed onto foobar2000 for streaming/playing.

There should be a new version with some of the requests soon. (Silent playlist updates, and skip over expired files and invalid tickets being the main ones.)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jeremija
post Oct 3 2008, 15:54
Post #104





Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 27-September 08
From: Zagreb
Member No.: 58696



QUOTE (nausea @ Oct 3 2008, 14:00) *
The FOO_LASTFM_RADIO:// nonsense exists purely so that the component can act as a middleman and fill in the tags, album art, etc. It gets converted back to http://*.mp3 internally, and passed onto foobar2000 for streaming/playing.

There should be a new version with some of the requests soon. (Silent playlist updates, and skip over expired files and invalid tickets being the main ones.)


that makes sense, but i still don't understand why do i have these pauses at the beginning of almost every track, especially if i generate a new station...
tried changing the http buffer but still the same results...

the odd thing to me is that when i double click on the lastfm radio playlist item, the playback starts instantly, so i don't think that the http buffer size set to 1500kb is respected...

this doesn't happen with other streams like shoutcast radio, nor with the official client (flash player or lastfm.exe), lastfmproxy+player or when i manually enter the stream url following this guide...

edit: the same thing happens all the time on 4th to 6th second, and happens whether the http buffer is set to 16kb or 1500kb :/

This post has been edited by jeremija: Oct 3 2008, 15:57
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
callisto
post Oct 3 2008, 16:25
Post #105





Group: Members
Posts: 362
Joined: 2-September 06
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 34723



I had this stutter-problem sometimes, too... but not regularly, so I thought it was my crappy w-lan connection.


--------------------
fb2k on OSX: flac q8 > rockboxed Sansa e280v1: Vorbis q5.0
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
wojtek
post Oct 4 2008, 10:30
Post #106





Group: Members
Posts: 267
Joined: 21-August 04
Member No.: 16417



feature request: adding playlist contents to active playlist / making active(selected) playlist a last.fm playlist instead of creating new one.


--------------------
http://foobar2000.pl/ :: unofficial polish forum
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nausea
post Oct 4 2008, 12:18
Post #107





Group: Developer
Posts: 142
Joined: 4-March 03
Member No.: 5322



Version 0.4.1 released.

The track auth code needed to ban tracks can now be accessed with the title formatting command $info(lastfm:trackauth), so if the author of foo_audioscrobbler decides to implement love/ban functionality (which is part of the scrobbling api), then that's available for use.

jeremija: I don't think there is anything the component does which would cause the stuttering, but I'll keep an eye out.

lwiczek: I'll think about it. I've tried to avoid overwriting existing playlists (except if they are unfortunately named, I guess), as I can see that it would be an annoyance. I think of the playlists as individual stations you can "tune" to, and like that you can keep your favourites stored for easy access.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jeremija
post Oct 4 2008, 12:22
Post #108





Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 27-September 08
From: Zagreb
Member No.: 58696



QUOTE (nausea @ Oct 4 2008, 13:18) *
jeremija: I don't think there is anything the component does which would cause the stuttering, but I'll keep an eye out.


thanks, i'm gonna check it out on another pc with and without the current foobar configuration and post the results here sometimes soon...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sounds Blast
post Oct 4 2008, 16:18
Post #109





Group: Members
Posts: 311
Joined: 30-May 08
Member No.: 53920



thanks for the update. working fine here
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MusX
post Oct 4 2008, 16:23
Post #110





Group: Members
Posts: 135
Joined: 7-September 06
Member No.: 34900



thx for new version
If I understand right new changelog, the lastfm:// links should be clickable on the site?
It didn't work, no application connected to that protocol, firefox and foobar restart didn't help

This post has been edited by MusX: Oct 4 2008, 16:28


--------------------
my last.fm profile:
http://www.last.fm/user/MusX
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jeremija
post Oct 4 2008, 16:45
Post #111





Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 27-September 08
From: Zagreb
Member No.: 58696



QUOTE (jeremija @ Oct 4 2008, 13:22) *
QUOTE (nausea @ Oct 4 2008, 13:18) *

jeremija: I don't think there is anything the component does which would cause the stuttering, but I'll keep an eye out.


thanks, i'm gonna check it out on another pc with and without the current foobar configuration and post the results here sometimes soon...


i just copied my foobar folder along with the cfg file to another computer and the same thing was happening...
but after i pressed the Reset All button...
i guess i'll have to start customizing my foobar all over again wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nausea
post Oct 4 2008, 17:12
Post #112





Group: Developer
Posts: 142
Joined: 4-March 03
Member No.: 5322



QUOTE (jeremija @ Oct 4 2008, 15:45) *
but after i pressed the Reset All button...
If you work out what it was, please let me know...

MusX: no, that's not a feature of the current version. A logical thing to put on the TODO list though...

This post has been edited by nausea: Oct 4 2008, 17:13
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jeremija
post Oct 4 2008, 17:16
Post #113





Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 27-September 08
From: Zagreb
Member No.: 58696



QUOTE (nausea @ Oct 4 2008, 18:12) *
QUOTE (jeremija @ Oct 4 2008, 15:45) *
but after i pressed the Reset All button...
If you work out what it was, please let me know...

MusX: no, that's not a feature of the current version. A logical thing to put on the TODO list though...


i have absolutely no idea, i have just nuked my fb profile and created a new one and i think i have pretty mutch set it up to how it was before...
and NO PAUSES!!!! smile.gif smile.gif

ofcourse i'll let you know if it starts happening again and i figure out what is it!
cheers!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
wojtek
post Oct 4 2008, 17:32
Post #114





Group: Members
Posts: 267
Joined: 21-August 04
Member No.: 16417



QUOTE (nausea @ Oct 4 2008, 13:18) *
lwiczek: I'll think about it. I've tried to avoid overwriting existing playlists (except if they are unfortunately named, I guess), as I can see that it would be an annoyance. I think of the playlists as individual stations you can "tune" to, and like that you can keep your favourites stored for easy access.

I understand playlist—favourite statnion concept, but after a while of using this (great) plugin list of playlists get quite large and harder to control. And while normal playlist also take part in it, you can easily browse/edit those playlist while playing other files (which is useful) and with playlist-stantions it makes (in my v.humble opinion) no sense to keep many of them at the same time. On the other hand, in window "Open a custom station" there could be little tick to select named "Add to favourites" and list of those favourites as a submenu could be placed at the bottom of current menu. (but this is just a concept which would go nicely with single last.fm-playlist with different content)

PS. Thanks for "silent updates" smile.gif

EDIT: Popups still appears.

This post has been edited by lwiczek: Oct 4 2008, 21:04


--------------------
http://foobar2000.pl/ :: unofficial polish forum
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MusX
post Oct 4 2008, 20:12
Post #115





Group: Members
Posts: 135
Joined: 7-September 06
Member No.: 34900



any chance for such thing below Recently Listened Tracks:
Listening now using Last.fm Player - Tuned to username's Library
or Tuned to similar artists to artist_name
?


--------------------
my last.fm profile:
http://www.last.fm/user/MusX
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TomBarlow
post Oct 4 2008, 22:59
Post #116





Group: Members
Posts: 585
Joined: 30-July 07
Member No.: 45750



QUOTE (MusX @ Oct 4 2008, 20:12) *
any chance for such thing below Recently Listened Tracks:
Listening now using Last.fm Player - Tuned to username's Library
or Tuned to similar artists to artist_name
?


I think this is to do with last.fm itself- I seem to remember this component used to make my last.fm profile say "listening to neighbourhood radio" or whatever, but since last.fm changed to this new system where they say what media player you're using, it doesn't do it. I think we have to hope last.fm will change things so us foobar users get that little message, then maybe info about radio stations will follow.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tjordan90
post Oct 5 2008, 03:35
Post #117





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 21-July 07
Member No.: 45519



First things first: Thank you for this excellent component. It is extremely useful and efficient. It is one of those components you could easily spend hours playing around with. I love it.

So, perhaps this post goes beyond the scope of this component's design, but I was curious as to the following:

Is there a way to use Last.fm playlists, but instead of streaming the audio files from last.fm, the component would query the media library for the tracks and play locally stored files instead?

For example, if I want to create a playlist of music tagged as "chillout" on last.fm, I can open a custom station with the tag "chillout." As the component is currently situated, that station is streamed from last.fm at the 128kbps rate. What I am trying to accomplish is have those playlists first rely on locally stored files (advantages: higher bitrate, offline availability). So continuing the example, since one of the files in the last.fm chillout playlist is "Portishead - Glory Box," it would simply play that file from my computer, not from last.fm.

There was a component called Scrobble Charts (thread), in which a user could retrieve last.fm feeds and dynamically create a playlist based on an artist's top tracks or similar artist's top tracks. Unfortunately, as far as I know, the component was never developed beyond using artist information, i.e. to the point where you could use last.fm tags, recommended stations, or neighbour stations, etc.

I would love to be able to use the organization and raw power of last.fm, but integrate it with my own media library. Is this possible?

This post has been edited by tjordan90: Oct 5 2008, 03:45
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Superunknown
post Oct 5 2008, 09:00
Post #118





Group: Members
Posts: 118
Joined: 4-March 05
Member No.: 20344



QUOTE (lwiczek @ Oct 4 2008, 17:32) *
I understand playlist—favourite statnion concept, but after a while of using this (great) plugin list of playlists get quite large and harder to control.

I second that !! The plug-in would be perfect if you could bring an option to make it work in a unique "Last.fm" playlist (eg. if I open a new station, it will be brought to the same playlist as the previous one opened).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MusX
post Oct 5 2008, 11:36
Post #119





Group: Members
Posts: 135
Joined: 7-September 06
Member No.: 34900



QUOTE (Superunknown @ Oct 5 2008, 10:00) *
QUOTE (lwiczek @ Oct 4 2008, 17:32) *

I understand playlist—favourite statnion concept, but after a while of using this (great) plugin list of playlists get quite large and harder to control.

I second that !! The plug-in would be perfect if you could bring an option to make it work in a unique "Last.fm" playlist (eg. if I open a new station, it will be brought to the same playlist as the previous one opened).

yep, good idea. Could be at least as an option.


--------------------
my last.fm profile:
http://www.last.fm/user/MusX
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TomBarlow
post Oct 5 2008, 12:28
Post #120





Group: Members
Posts: 585
Joined: 30-July 07
Member No.: 45750



What it needs is for someone to develop a collapsible playlist switcher as discussed here, which would do sort of what you want but would mean I wouldn't have to go to the menu to get new l.fm radio stations...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MusX
post Oct 5 2008, 17:40
Post #121





Group: Members
Posts: 135
Joined: 7-September 06
Member No.: 34900



Just realized there could be lots of works. If you go listen some radio in-page, for example:
http://www.last.fm/listen/user/MusX/recommended
you can:
- love
- ban
- tag
- share (a bit useless for me)
- see artist description
- see similar artist
- see events by this artist near you
- see shoutbox
- write posts in shoutbox

Really would like all those features in that plugin, there is huge work to be done. I'm able to coding (very very basic :/) in C, C++, C#, VB, php, js, xml. Is there any way to help you to do all this features?

This post has been edited by MusX: Oct 5 2008, 17:42


--------------------
my last.fm profile:
http://www.last.fm/user/MusX
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
acmodeu
post Oct 5 2008, 21:13
Post #122





Group: Members
Posts: 84
Joined: 28-September 07
From: Petrozavodsk
Member No.: 47418



What an awesome component! Everything seems to work quite fine for me. I have only one question - where does it cache downloaded cover images if it caches them at all?

This post has been edited by acmodeu: Oct 5 2008, 21:13
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lctm
post Oct 5 2008, 21:22
Post #123





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 26-September 08
Member No.: 58680



QUOTE (ycz22 @ Sep 21 2008, 15:01) *
thanks for the update!


Thanks a lot for this plugin! that makes foobar the all in one music player, for me =)

It even works with the lyrics stuff. The last.fm client doesn't have that =Ž
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
halabund
post Oct 5 2008, 21:43
Post #124





Group: Members
Posts: 202
Joined: 17-February 07
Member No.: 40705



QUOTE (MusX @ Oct 5 2008, 18:40) *
<snip>

Really would like all those features in that plugin, there is huge work to be done. I'm able to coding (very very basic :/) in C, C++, C#, VB, php, js, xml. Is there any way to help you to do all this features?

Version 0.4.1 does provide the info needed for doing this in separate components (see this post). All the info you need to write such a component is here, and in the fb2k SDK.

Actually I think that it is a good thing that foo_lastfm_radio is focused on doing one thing right, and leaving the rest for other components.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nausea
post Oct 5 2008, 22:12
Post #125





Group: Developer
Posts: 142
Joined: 4-March 03
Member No.: 5322



QUOTE (acmodeu @ Oct 5 2008, 20:13) *
I have only one question - where does it cache downloaded cover images if it caches them at all?
It doesn't, they are retrieved each time the file is selected. I'm considering caching the images, but only to memory as a small optimisation for the case where the user switches between tracks a lot. Not a priority though.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

22 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th July 2014 - 12:50