IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
New component: Text Tools, Replacement for "copy names" functionality.
Peter
post May 19 2008, 00:06
Post #1


foobar2000 developer


Group: Admin
Posts: 3314
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 84



Download: http://foobar2000.org/components
Recommended for people who use the "copy names" command a lot. The Text Tools component lets you create multiple context menu commands copying information about the selected tracks using different title-formatting patterns. Additionally, the "advanced" dialog lets you produce a report with grouping and group headers/footers, for eg. exporting a list of your albums with full track lists.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Canar
post May 19 2008, 00:19
Post #2





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3373
Joined: 26-July 02
From: To:
Member No.: 2796



Excellent! Just what I've been hoping for! I love this component.

This post has been edited by Canar: May 19 2008, 00:19


--------------------
You cannot ABX the rustling of jimmies.
No mouse? No problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bb10
post May 19 2008, 00:24
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 169
Joined: 8-November 06
Member No.: 37341



Awesome! Thanks smile.gif

Question: Is it possible to use this to get the total time of the selected tracks? Can't find a titleformatting function to do this.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foo_peter
post May 19 2008, 01:04
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 25-September 06
Member No.: 35595



I follow that....
but why twice the same one text Tools is already available?
and why never for exactly this function was created the t %Total_length%

in the basis I do not understand it there it through to select in the status bar is already available

vllcht it can still be facilitated that my greatest wish would be
see text tools pic

sorry for my bad englisch



This post has been edited by foo_peter: May 19 2008, 01:08
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
saivert
post May 19 2008, 01:13
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 167
Joined: 13-June 06
Member No.: 31801



foo_utils already provides a good Text tools Copy names functionality.

QUOTE (foo_utils about)
Provides various general purpose commands:
- Edit inactive playlists
- Sort by multiple fields
- Protect playlists against editing
- Cycle through playback orders
- Format text from track information and copy to clipboard or save to file
- Open foobar2000 profile and component directories in Explorer


Some of these features don't work anymore, so I guess that's why we now get a new text tools component.

Group header/footer item explanation
Group footer pattern is not the same as foo_utils's footer text, so a %total_length% title formatting item would be pointless here. Instead think of it as a footer to a block of text for each item.

Take this example where the field of the Text Tools Advanced dialog is filled in like this:

Track pattern: [%tracknumber%. ][%artist% - ]%title%
Group header pattern (checked): %list_index%: %path%
Group footer pattern (checked): Length: %length%$crlf()

This will yield the following result:
QUOTE
01: E:\music\diverse\video game music\chrono_cross.rar|Chrono Cross 115 Viper Manor.psf
Yasunori Mitsuda - 115 Viper Manor
Length: 3:04

02: E:\music\diverse\video game music\chrono_cross.rar|Chrono Cross 116 Victory - Spring's Gift.psf
Yasunori Mitsuda - 116 Victory - Spring's Gift
Length: 1:05

03: E:\music\diverse\video game music\chrono_cross.rar|Chrono Cross 117 Lost Child of Time.psf
Yasunori Mitsuda - 117 Lost Child of Time
Length: 3:33


This post has been edited by saivert: May 19 2008, 01:29


--------------------
http://foobar2000.saivert.com - foobar2000 component repository
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post May 19 2008, 07:47
Post #6





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4489
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



The name and functionality clash with the text tools function from foo_utils is unfortunate and probably confusing; I have talked about this with Peter before he released foo_texttools. Since foo_texttools has support for presets and grouping, which foo_utils does not have, I am going to remove my text tools implementation from foo_utils in a future version. As far as I know, the remaining functionality that is only present in foo_utils - saving the formatted text directly using a menu command, larger scripts (or at least larger edit boxes) - is usually used to generate entire (HTML) documents. I plan to support that use case with a new component.


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foo_peter
post May 19 2008, 10:11
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 25-September 06
Member No.: 35595



Hello foosion
Thanks for these words that lets me hope for years
and something would be advantage especially of several layouts
to manage

For that I make a request<A[request|application]> in the hope loves push



Thanks for all the effort<A[effort|trouble]> up to now and weiterso

sorry for my bad englisch
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dubpistol
post May 19 2008, 12:34
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 176
Joined: 15-October 02
From: Camelot
Member No.: 3550



This is awesome. Thank you Peter
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NullString
post May 19 2008, 13:27
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 137
Joined: 23-May 06
From: Chile!
Member No.: 31067



Thank you!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zmur
post May 20 2008, 20:45
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 119
Joined: 2-February 06
Member No.: 27497



thanks smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MuseFan
post May 21 2008, 01:11
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 3-December 05
Member No.: 26179



Cool!

Thanks Peter! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Olaf
post Jun 24 2008, 10:58
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 4-October 06
Member No.: 35944



I think I found a bug : if you assign a keyboard shortcut to a copy command, and then change the pattern of this command, the keyboard shortcut is broken (it says "Action Not Found (*lots of number and letters*)").

I have also a request : is it possible to have a multi-line editing field for the patterns ? I have some -very- long copy commands and it's not easy to modify them with one single line.

Anyway, thanks for this great component. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
odyssey
post Jun 24 2008, 17:07
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 2296
Joined: 18-May 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 6695



It would be great if it was able to save the results directly as a textfile just like foo_utils smile.gif


--------------------
Can't wait for a HD-AAC encoder :P
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
maxtail
post Jun 25 2008, 02:04
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 12-November 06
Member No.: 37469



Using previous version foo_utils with Copy Name function, I can do it by two steps only: Utils -> Copy Name.
Now using the new Text Tools component, I have to do it by three steps: Utils -> Text Tools -> Copy.
Is it possible to make it more simple? Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DocBeard
post Jun 26 2008, 04:28
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 337
Joined: 28-October 06
Member No.: 36898



You can edit the context menu so that Text Tools is available from the root, in Preferences.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Fandango
post Aug 4 2008, 23:31
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 1549
Joined: 13-August 03
Member No.: 8353



QUOTE (foosion @ May 19 2008, 08:47) *
I am going to remove my text tools implementation from foo_utils in a future version.

Any updates on that? smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
langoustator
post Jan 6 2009, 16:42
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 10-November 02
Member No.: 3742



Thanks for this useful plugin!
Small request: in the advanced window, would it be possible to remember the state of the Skip duplicate/repeating lines checkbox?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yirkha
post Jan 17 2009, 16:11
Post #18





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 2359
Joined: 30-November 07
Member No.: 49158



QUOTE (Olaf @ Jun 24 2008, 10:58) *
I think I found a bug : if you assign a keyboard shortcut to a copy command, and then change the pattern of this command, the keyboard shortcut is broken (it says "Action Not Found (*lots of number and letters*)").
A new version is up, with a fix for this misbehaviour.


--------------------
Full-quoting makes you scroll past the same junk over and over.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Takaji
post Jan 17 2009, 19:25
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 255
Joined: 17-June 05
Member No.: 22787



Thanks! I was looking for something like this.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Olaf
post Jan 17 2009, 21:12
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 4-October 06
Member No.: 35944



Thanks for the fix. biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Hommit
post Jan 31 2009, 14:17
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 16-January 09
Member No.: 65638



Thanks for much useful plugin.

However, i have this annoying trouble: in Advanced window, the footer code don't save if i close foobar.
I have to store footer code in header area, which somewhat limiting my options...

also, it is posible to make template with all 3 fileds, so we don't have to go to advanced window all the time and copy by simply clicking menu option?

This post has been edited by Hommit: Jan 31 2009, 14:18
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LePeR
post Jan 12 2010, 07:18
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 25-October 08
Member No.: 61015



Is it possible to be able to add brackets to my outputs? having no such luck unfortunately
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bimbel
post Jan 12 2010, 07:42
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 29-November 06
From: Germany
Member No.: 38183



You need to escape brackets in title-formatting eg:

CODE
'('%artist%')'


--------------------
https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTMyNTMzNTk
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
LePeR
post Jan 12 2010, 07:43
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 25-October 08
Member No.: 61015



Ohh nice tyvm smile.gif

Moderation: Removed unnecessary full quote of the preceding post.

This post has been edited by Yirkha: Jan 12 2010, 14:36
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
garbanzo.bean
post Jan 12 2010, 08:16
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 267
Joined: 25-September 08
Member No.: 58627



wow, very useful!

i too would like to see the ability to save advanced queries.

here is a code to output simple album listings. it's amazingly fast, even when processing 1000+ albums biggrin.gif

CODE
Track Pattern:
%track% %title% ['['%track artist%']']

Group header pattern:
Artist: $if2(%album artist%,%artist%)$crlf()Album: %album%$crlf()Year: %date%$crlf()Quality: $ifequal($strcmp(%codec_profile%,CBR),1,%bitrate% ,)%codec_profile%$crlf()

Group footer pattern:
$crlf()


Result:

Artist: Blue Foundation
Album: Blue Foundation
Year: 2001
Quality: VBR V0

01 Wiseguy
02 Grand
03 Witch of Trouble
04 Crushed
05 Jabber
06 Hollywood
07 Burgeon
08 Black S
09 Mazda
10 Hide
11 Cutting Me Up
12 J.Hurt
13 Evo


Artist: Blue Foundation
Album: Sweep Of Days
Year: 2004
Quality: 320 CBR

01 History
02 As I Moved On
03 End Of The Day (Silence)
04 Ricochet
05 02.17 Am
06 Embers
07 Bonfires
08 The Yellow Man
09 Shine
10 Save This Town
11 Sweep
12 My Day
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th December 2014 - 01:32