IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
lossyWAV 1.0.0 released., Added noise WAV bit reduction method.
memomai
post May 31 2008, 19:13
Post #51





Group: Members
Posts: 264
Joined: 13-February 05
From: Germany, Kempten
Member No.: 19808



I'd like to integrate lossyWAV into foobar2000. But I always receive an error at the end (Obejct not found). Could you please add an output option that we can set output file names in the codec? I can't let foobar ignore that %d is missing in my encoding paramters sad.gif

This post has been edited by memomai: May 31 2008, 19:14


--------------------
FB2K,APE&LAME
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
halb27
post May 31 2008, 23:04
Post #52





Group: Members
Posts: 2469
Joined: 9-October 05
From: Dormagen, Germany
Member No.: 25015



QUOTE (memomai @ May 31 2008, 20:13) *
I'd like to integrate lossyWAV into foobar2000. But I always receive an error at the end (Obejct not found). Could you please add an output option that we can set output file names in the codec? I can't let foobar ignore that %d is missing in my encoding paramters sad.gif

Doesn't it work the way shown in the wiki?


--------------------
lame3100m -V1 --insane-factor 0.75
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pure_BY
post Jun 29 2015, 13:03
Post #53





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 22-October 06
Member No.: 36671



Hello there everyone, I want to convert some lossyWAV files to lossyFLAC (to be able to edit metadata, etc.)

The Wiki article says i should use the following command line options with FLAC encoder:

CODE
-5 -b 512 --keep-foreign-metadata


My question is: why is [-5] compression quality deliberately used in this example? Should I obey this compression quality? I'm always encoding my FLAC files with [-8] compression setting, is it uncompatible with lossyWAV ?

All clarification is very welcome. Thanks.

This post has been edited by Pure_BY: Jun 29 2015, 13:03
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2Bdecided
post Jun 29 2015, 14:06
Post #54


ReplayGain developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 5641
Joined: 5-November 01
From: Yorkshire, UK
Member No.: 409



You can use whichever compression setting/level you want.
The -b 512 is important to match the blocksize, so minimising bitrate.
The --keep-foreign-metadata keeps an extra field in the wavefile which marks it as lossyWAV processed, which can be useful but isn't needed.

Cheers,
David.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
[JAZ]
post Jun 29 2015, 19:16
Post #55





Group: Members
Posts: 1835
Joined: 24-June 02
From: Catalunya(Spain)
Member No.: 2383



The -5 quality level is recommended, but not mandatory.

Due to the usage of the -b 512 switch (which in turn, is needed for what 2bdecided said), the quality levels higher than 5 are not able to reduce the size as much as if they used the default setting, but they still use more CPU.

All in all, it's up to you to try and decide if it is worth using -8 or not.

This post has been edited by [JAZ]: Jun 29 2015, 19:16
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th July 2015 - 01:15