IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
16bit to 24 bit VST
Glenda
post Apr 13 2008, 06:52
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 27-November 07
Member No.: 49067



I need a VST I can use before Ozone 3 that will convert 16bit to 24bit so I have more headroom. Anyone know of one?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AndyH-ha
post Apr 13 2008, 10:31
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2223
Joined: 31-August 05
Member No.: 24222



Converting from 16 bit to 24 bit may be useful in some ways, but it does not increase headroom. A sample originally at 0dB will still be at 0dB, the same for every other sample at any level. The extra bits all go to the very low level signals, which will not exist in the original 16 bit data. Converting to 24 bit does reduce the size of quantization errors.

Using a floating point format is better than 24 bit integer. This will increase headroom. With floating point files you will be able to go above 200dB without losing anything, as long as you normalize to 0dB or less before leaving the floating point format.

Bit depth and file format conversion is available in many programs, especially audio editors. I donít know about any VST plugins.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Glenda
post Apr 13 2008, 10:39
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 27-November 07
Member No.: 49067



QUOTE (AndyH-ha @ Apr 13 2008, 05:31) *
Converting from 16 bit to 24 bit may be useful in some ways, but it does not increase headroom. A sample originally at 0dB will still be at 0dB, the same for every other sample at any level. The extra bits all go to the very low level signals, which will not exist in the original 16 bit data. Converting to 24 bit does reduce the size of quantization errors.



But after you convert to 24 bit, then you can lower the preamp volume in Ozone and not sacrifice resolution ( I have a 24 bit DAC.) This would add headroom without losing dynamics correct?

This post has been edited by Glenda: Apr 13 2008, 10:40
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AndyH-ha
post Apr 13 2008, 20:44
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2223
Joined: 31-August 05
Member No.: 24222



Yes. Floating point would still be better, quality wise, but using 24 bit in this way will work. I've done nothing with Ozone, but something I once read lead me to believe it works with 32 bit and 64 bit floating point files??? There doesn't seem to be any practical excuse for 64 bit files.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th November 2014 - 13:25