Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
Will cwb_hooks break?
shakey_snake
post Apr 3 2008, 20:49
Post #1

Group: FB2K Moderator
Member No.: 37036

I just noticed this thread, but not being a dev I didn't want to respond to it directly.

But, besides the question in the title, will other components break?

--------------------
elevatorladylevitateme
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zao
post Apr 3 2008, 21:11
Post #2

Group: Members (Donating)
Member No.: 9001

I know one of mine will, but it was not publicly released anyway so only a few people will be unhappy.

--------------------
Zao shang yong zao nong zao rang zao ren zao.
To, early in the morning, use a chisel to build a bathtub makes impatient people hot-tempered.
+Quote Post
foosion
post Apr 3 2008, 21:23
Post #3

Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Member No.: 5153

The functions and fields provided by components like foo_cwb_hooks, foo_etc, foo_func and similar will indeed no longer work in title formatting scripts, unless the component that evaluates the title formatting script adds support for the metadb_display_hook API. Besides the official components this will include components that are no longer maintained like foo_ui_panels.

Clarification: This will happen when support for the metadb_display_hook API is removed in the core, which so far won't be in 0.9.5.2 yet.

This post has been edited by foosion: Apr 3 2008, 21:33

--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
+Quote Post
odyssey
post Apr 3 2008, 21:52
Post #4

Group: Members
Member No.: 6695

Boy, what a surprise...

With the appearent urge for customizability, I can't help but wonder why no developer (or even a decent user) has come up with a proposal for a display component that will satisfy the foobar devs.

--------------------
Can't wait for a HD-AAC encoder :P
+Quote Post
Canar
post Apr 4 2008, 01:12
Post #5

Group: Super Moderator
Member No.: 2796