IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
FLAC 1.1.0 released
jcoalson
post Jan 26 2003, 09:05
Post #1


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



I have uploaded the sources for FLAC 1.1.0, along with binaries for win32, RH7, and solaris-sparc to SourceForge (here). Thanks to everyone for the contributions and bug hunting.

You all have probably already seen the feature list in the FLAC 1.0.5 beta threads here and here. You may have noticed that the minor version has bumped up; this is because of the bug where older decoders will not be able to read FLAC files that have cue sheets in them. See the homepage for the details.

http://flac.sourceforge.net/

Thanks again,
Josh
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
john33
post Jan 26 2003, 11:04
Post #2


xcLame and OggDropXPd Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 3760
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Bracknell, UK
Member No.: 111



Complete set of ICL6 compiled Win32 binaries is available at my 'Others' page at Mirror 1 (link at bottom of main page).


--------------------
John
----------------------------------------------------------------
My compiles and utilities are at http://www.rarewares.org/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
starkebn
post Jan 26 2003, 13:23
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 24-November 02
Member No.: 3865



Hooray!

Now I just need to figure out how to get EAC to albumgain my rips...

I love flac!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ermannob
post Jan 26 2003, 14:17
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 4-March 02
From: venice!
Member No.: 1441



it seems that at sourceforge nothing is downloadable. mad.gif

anybody knows when it will be available?


-erm
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
guruboolez
post Jan 26 2003, 14:21
Post #5





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 3474
Joined: 7-November 01
From: Strasbourg (France)
Member No.: 420



QUOTE (ermannob @ Jan 26 2003 - 02:17 PM)
it seems that at sourceforge nothing is downloadable.  mad.gif

anybody knows when it will be available?


-erm

Mirror1 of John33. However, there is at least one mirror on Sourceforge that works (the second, or the third).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JLP
post Jan 26 2003, 14:22
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 23-November 02
From: Bohinjska Bistrica
Member No.: 3858



Downloaded just fine here.

Are there any special logo/banner/button images available to use them to link to FLAC homepage.


--------------------
Live long and prosper!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
imi
post Jan 26 2003, 14:29
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 24-October 02
Member No.: 3615



Hello

I just downloaded the new version of flac and wanted to try out oggFLAC. For some reason, I am unable to make oggFLAC files play, what going on. Can someone please help me out here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fairway
post Jan 26 2003, 14:39
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 4-July 02
Member No.: 2477



OggFlac is NOT supported by the plugins at the moment as fas as I know.

I hoped that encoding with a cuesheet to a single file and loading it in winamp will let it split to several tracks according the cuesheet, but it doesn't seem to work too.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tonderai
post Jan 26 2003, 14:41
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 89
Joined: 5-April 02
Member No.: 1692



QUOTE
For some reason, I am unable to make oggFLAC files play, what going on


Are you using foobar? I'm sure that can play ogg flacs.

I wonder if somebody could give me some help with metaflac - to replaygain my existing flacs: i've used --add-replay-gain successfully on one file. how can i use it on multiple files without typing in every single filename?

I have tried
CODE
metaflac --add-replay-gain c:\*.flac
but this returns an error. Or i am just being dumb? I don't use the command line much wink.gif


--------------------
protect your digital rights ... www.againsttcpa.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kaiwei
post Jan 26 2003, 16:04
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 21-March 02
Member No.: 1583



what's the difference between john's & josh's version for the win32 binaries?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CiTay
post Jan 26 2003, 16:31
Post #11


Administrator


Group: Admin
Posts: 2378
Joined: 22-September 01
Member No.: 3



To john33: Winamp 2.x complains that it can't find libmmd.dll when using your in_flac.dll. Adding the ICL6/ICL7 dll's won't help. jcoalson's standard compile works though. Also, what exactly are the test_XXX files for?

P.S.: Great work, Josh. FLAC has become my favorite lossless codec. ReplayGain works nicely.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
john33
post Jan 26 2003, 16:43
Post #12


xcLame and OggDropXPd Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 3760
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Bracknell, UK
Member No.: 111



QUOTE (CiTay @ Jan 26 2003 - 03:31 PM)
To john33: Winamp 2.x complains that it can't find libmmd.dll when using your in_flac.dll. Adding the ICL6/ICL7 dll's won't help. jcoalson's standard compile works though.

Where did you place the 'libmmd.dll'? In the path? 'Cos it works fine here.
QUOTE (CiTay @ Jan 26 2003 - 03:31 PM)
Also, what exactly are the test_XXX files for?

They're part of the standard compile. Probably needs an answer from Josh, really.


--------------------
John
----------------------------------------------------------------
My compiles and utilities are at http://www.rarewares.org/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
justinj88
post Jan 26 2003, 16:49
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 9-August 02
Member No.: 2999



You can grab the libmmd.dll file from the main page of mirror 1.

Put it in the winamp folder (not the plugins folder).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post Jan 26 2003, 17:03
Post #14


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4881
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



The XMMS FLAC plugin has 6dB Hard Limiting enabled by default, but for a lossless format this is probably not a good idea (see also the 6dB Hard Limiter thread of last week).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
CiTay
post Jan 26 2003, 17:08
Post #15


Administrator


Group: Admin
Posts: 2378
Joined: 22-September 01
Member No.: 3



QUOTE (justinj88 @ Jan 26 2003 - 04:49 PM)
Put it in the winamp folder (not the plugins folder).

Indeed it works now. Thanks guys.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Slo Mo Snail
post Jan 26 2003, 17:42
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 111
Joined: 2-July 02
From: Germany
Member No.: 2450



QUOTE (Garf @ Jan 26 2003 - 06:03 PM)
The XMMS FLAC plugin has 6dB Hard Limiting enabled by default, but for a lossless format this is probably not a good idea (see also the 6dB Hard Limiter thread of last week).

Which 6dB Hard Limiter thread of last week? The search function doesn't find anything sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Garf
post Jan 26 2003, 18:01
Post #17


Server Admin


Group: Admin
Posts: 4881
Joined: 24-September 01
Member No.: 13



http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....f=24&t=5797&hl=
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Annuka
post Jan 27 2003, 00:26
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 333
Joined: 2-February 02
Member No.: 1233



There is something wrong with the WA2 plugin.

%artist% displays the last performer or the last composer.

The artist is indended for a player with limited display capabilities - i.e. one line only.

I often have several performers but only one artist. Thus the plugin displays wrong information.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcoalson
post Jan 27 2003, 01:21
Post #19


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



QUOTE (CiTay @ Jan 26 2003 - 10:31 AM)
Also, what exactly are the test_XXX files for?

Those are the unit testers; they're called by the test scripts.

QUOTE (Garf @ Jan 26 2003 - 11:03 AM)
The XMMS FLAC plugin has 6dB Hard Limiting enabled by default, but for a lossless format this is probably not a good idea (see also the 6dB Hard Limiter thread of last week).

Good point, I'll fix that.

QUOTE (JLP @ Jan 26 2003 - 08:22 AM)
Are there any special logo/banner/button images available to use them to link to FLAC homepage.

Nope, not yet.

QUOTE (imi @ Jan 26 2003 - 08:29 AM)
I just downloaded the new version of flac and wanted to try out oggFLAC.  For some reason, I am unable to make oggFLAC files play, what going on.  Can someone please help me out here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ogg FLAC support for the plugins will be in the next release. But for just encoding CD audio, there is no advantage to Ogg FLAC over native FLAC.

QUOTE (fairway @ Jan 26 2003 - 08:39 AM)
I hoped that encoding with a cuesheet to a single file and loading it in winamp will let it split to several tracks according the cuesheet, but it doesn't seem to work too.


I don't know how to do that but it is high priority in the TODO list. I imagine X-fixer will be able to pull it off quickly in the winamp2 plugin.

QUOTE (Annuka @ Jan 26 2003 - 06:26 PM)
There is something wrong with the WA2 plugin.

%artist% displays the last performer or the last composer.

The artist is indended for a player with limited display capabilities - i.e. one line only.

I often have several performers but only one artist. Thus the plugin displays wrong information.

You're using vorbis comments right? I thought ARTIST was just a synonym for composer and there could be multiple ARTIST tags too. But you're right, currently the logic prefers PERFORMER to ARTIST; maybe we need an option for that.

Josh
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
X-Fixer
post Jan 27 2003, 06:19
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 167
Joined: 18-December 02
From: hell if I know
Member No.: 4129



I've almost rewritten vorbiscomment handling in winamp2 plug-in. now it works with UTF-8, allows using all fields, concatenates fields with same name etc. I hope I'll upload it today.

about cuesheets - I do not know an easy way to make several files from one automatically. but I can make ability to add them manually with the syntax like this:

cue://track:filename
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
X-Fixer
post Jan 27 2003, 12:04
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 167
Joined: 18-December 02
From: hell if I know
Member No.: 4129



ok, here it goes:
http://x-fixer.narod.ru/tmp/in_flac.zip

it was not extensively tested (especially on win9x). don't forget to send a bug report wink.gif
though, most likely I'll rewrite everything again, to make use of existing VorbisComment APIs blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Annuka
post Jan 28 2003, 01:22
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 333
Joined: 2-February 02
Member No.: 1233



QUOTE (X-Fixer @ Jan 27 2003 - 01:04 PM)
ok, here it goes:
http://x-fixer.narod.ru/tmp/in_flac.zip

it was not extensively tested (especially on win9x). don't forget to send a bug report wink.gif
though, most likely I'll rewrite everything again, to make use of existing VorbisComment APIs  blink.gif

Thanks - it seems to have fixed the bug.

Note that Misk is spelled Misc correctly.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Annuka
post Jan 28 2003, 02:11
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 333
Joined: 2-February 02
Member No.: 1233



There is something wrong with the RH7 binaries. Same error was present in 1.0.4:

When using --import-vc-from and --export-vc-to, metaflac replaces all international chars with #s.
Tested on a standard Red Hat 7.3 and 8.0 system.

When I compiled it myself, the problem went away.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcoalson
post Jan 28 2003, 02:53
Post #24


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



QUOTE (Annuka @ Jan 27 2003 - 08:11 PM)
There is something wrong with the RH7 binaries. Same error was present in 1.0.4:

When using --import-vc-from and --export-vc-to, metaflac replaces all international chars with #s.
Tested on a standard Red Hat 7.3 and 8.0 system.

When I compiled it myself, the problem went away.

Yeah, it's getting harder and harder for me to get everything right; I'm on the verge of dropping RH and Solaris binary releases and leaving it up to the RPM maintainers.

Josh
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spoon
post Jan 28 2003, 22:51
Post #25


dBpowerAMP developer


Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2741
Joined: 24-March 02
Member No.: 1615



...better late than never, updated FLAC for dBpowerAMP:

Using new Flac 1.1.0 this beta is expected to last no more than 2 weeks, let me know if you are using it (on dBpowerAMP Forum >> Beta):

http://www.dbpoweramp.com/beta/dBpowerAMP-...-codec-flac.exe

381KB


--------------------
Spoon http://www.dbpoweramp.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd July 2014 - 11:10