IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

32 Pages V  « < 28 29 30 31 32 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
foo_vis_shpeck, Winamp visualisation plugins wrapper
DoctorO
post Feb 3 2013, 12:45
Post #726





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 11-April 11
Member No.: 89722



I was referring specifically to the vis_milk2.dll file. I'm not bothered what other presets, etc people want to bundle with it (as seems to be the main part of your package - i assume you've gotten permission from the preset authors to re-distribute their presets as needed), just an official solution so that if people are going to re-use Milkdrop in other players that at least it's not going to need people breaking out resource editors to add a manifest, etc. That still leaves you to do whatever you do with your package, but not necessarily having to re-distribute the vis_milk2.dll (which i'm not sure on the position held with doing that as part of an unsanctioned package).

Or maybe i just won't bother and will leave it like as-is so whenever it is altered whoever has to keep hacking the dll's resources... was just trying to simplify things *shrugs*

-daz
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
viktor
post Feb 3 2013, 14:53
Post #727





Group: Members
Posts: 297
Joined: 17-November 06
Member No.: 37682



Just to make it clear, this package was not made by me. I just downloaded it. It was linked here in a previous post, I just added that same link to my howto smile.gif

This post has been edited by viktor: Feb 3 2013, 14:54
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foomark
post Feb 16 2013, 18:05
Post #728





Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 12-July 11
Member No.: 92213



Hi everyone,I know that this may have already been asked but i can't find the solution of my problem, also searching through the forum...
I use Shpeck and MilkDrop2 works fine, no problem at all.
Yesterday i tried to use also the Nullsoft Tiny Fullscreen for the first time, searching in the forum i found it here, in the second post:
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....9&hl=shpeck
Downloaded, copied it in the winamp\plugins folder, but if i try to load it all i got is this error:


In the pic you can see also the content of my winamp\plugins folder...
Could anyone tell me where's the problem? unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
leszczyna
post Mar 2 2013, 08:57
Post #729





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 2-March 13
Member No.: 106974



QUOTE (viktor @ Feb 2 2013, 19:23) *
I've made a step-by-step tutorial for newcomers, including the fix for shader errors mentioned above:

MilkDrop in foobar2000 on Windows 8


Hallo.
So I did step by step how its describe on this blog. To extract MilkDrop instalation file downloded from Winamp page I use Universal Extractor.
In it, I pointed direction for extractet file to C:\Users\x\AppData\Roaming\foobar2000. And its extract but didnt create Winamp folder. The folder name is "". Even if I rename this folder to Winamp, Foo_vis_shpeck still dont see winamp directory. So I go further. I create empty text
file named winamp.exe. Still nothing. I create folder Plugins and in it winamp.exe and extractet MilkDrop. Nothing. In each setep I type specific
dirtection for winamp directory. NOTHING! Please help me because Im trying turn on this for over 5 years, yes 5 years. Before I have Vaio laptop with Vista Busines. Now its Dell with Windows 8. Every time when I try to turn it on, it so frustraiting that I leave for next few months, and again, and again... mad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mobyduck
post Mar 2 2013, 09:25
Post #730





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 24-April 03
From: Italy
Member No.: 6159



QUOTE (leszczyna @ Mar 2 2013, 00:57) *
...MilkDrop instalation file downloded from Winamp page...
What page are you referring to? In the link you quoted I see no mention of pages from Winamp site... unsure.gif

Alessandro
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
leszczyna
post Mar 2 2013, 12:05
Post #731





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 2-March 13
Member No.: 106974



QUOTE (mobyduck @ Mar 2 2013, 09:25) *
QUOTE (leszczyna @ Mar 2 2013, 00:57) *
...MilkDrop instalation file downloded from Winamp page...
What page are you referring to? In the link you quoted I see no mention of pages from Winamp site... unsure.gif

Alessandro

http://www.winamp.com/visualizations/

Yesterday I try to download MilkDrop package from link that viktor posted, but there was no page, so I downloaded from www.winamp.com.
Today I try again and its working!!!
THX viktor and Alessandro.

This post has been edited by leszczyna: Mar 2 2013, 12:54
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mobyduck
post Mar 2 2013, 12:39
Post #732





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 24-April 03
From: Italy
Member No.: 6159



So you did not follow step by step how its describe on this blog: have you tried downloading from the links provided in that post?

Alessandro
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
leszczyna
post Mar 2 2013, 13:14
Post #733





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 2-March 13
Member No.: 106974



QUOTE (mobyduck @ Mar 2 2013, 12:39) *
So you did not follow step by step how its describe on this blog: have you tried downloading from the links provided in that post?

Alessandro

Yes it is my fault. Sorry.
Where I can find more visualization?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
slyman
post Mar 12 2013, 00:00
Post #734





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 29-March 11
Member No.: 89385



so the link in the OP to the fix for 1.04 leads right back to the OP for me. is there something wrong? how do i get v1.04 working? it pretty much just crashes foobar for me at this point

i sort of cheated on installing it when installing milkdrop by making a winamp install directory and renaming a blank txt file to winamp.exe. does that matter? it says winamp isn't required for this to work

This post has been edited by slyman: Mar 12 2013, 00:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post May 2 2013, 22:34
Post #735





Group: Members
Posts: 1337
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



When playing Opus files it doesn't seem to send the info to e.g. Trillian, via its fake Winamp v1.x class.
As soon as I play an MP3 it works.

It does display correct when looking with WinLister, regardless codec being used.

Any idea what it could be?


--------------------
Windows 8.1u1 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.3
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foomark
post Jun 8 2013, 07:36
Post #736





Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 12-July 11
Member No.: 92213



Reading this post here: http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....howtopic=101247 came to my mind that i found a way to solve the DirectX problem on windows 8 without installing all the package, at least in my case.
I had the classic "Directx 9 or later is required" issue in running milkdrop on w8, so i tested which dlls of the package were necessary to make it work.
I ended up that just putting the 2 dlls in the zip attached (see end of message) in the main foobar2000 folder is enough to have Milkdrop working.
Of course that's just my case, i'm not an expert or so, maybe it won't help anyone but... just sharing my experience about it.
https://mega.co.nz/#!h4JTRTLR!KvJYd...OI-vLTmhGGr7mU0
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
frankpc
post Jun 8 2013, 16:02
Post #737





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 16-May 13
From: Kansas, USA
Member No.: 108167



QUOTE (foomark @ Jun 8 2013, 01:36) *
I ended up that just putting the 2 dlls in the zip attached (see end of message) in the main foobar2000 folder is enough to have Milkdrop working.


Thank you foomark. I've downloaded the zip and will try this. Is the guide that Viktor authored available anywhere? Any help I can find, I will use.

thanks again.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ache
post Jul 24 2013, 14:35
Post #738





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 24-July 13
Member No.: 109253



vis_milk2.dll v2, 25, 3, 0 (show as v2.25c) from just released Winamp 5.65 can be fixed by adding Manifest (they use now newer msvcr90.dll version v9.00.30729.6161, so Manifest version should be changed accordingly) and visualizer works normally, but its options can't be configured inside foobar - foobar crashes immediately on Configure... Can it be fixed somehow?
P.S. Of course, I try Manifest with old v9.0.21022.8 first - the same effect.
Win7 SP1 x64

This post has been edited by Ache: Jul 24 2013, 14:38
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
PhrostByte
post Sep 4 2013, 08:48
Post #739





Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 19-December 02
From: Baltimore, MD
Member No.: 4148



QUOTE (Ache @ Jul 24 2013, 08:35) *
vis_milk2.dll v2, 25, 3, 0 (show as v2.25c) from just released Winamp 5.65 can be fixed by adding Manifest (they use now newer msvcr90.dll version v9.00.30729.6161, so Manifest version should be changed accordingly) and visualizer works normally, but its options can't be configured inside foobar - foobar crashes immediately on Configure... Can it be fixed somehow?
P.S. Of course, I try Manifest with old v9.0.21022.8 first - the same effect.
Win7 SP1 x64


What do you mean by adding Manifest? What is Manifest? I'm trying to run the latest MilkDrop (2.25c) in the latest shpeck (0.3.7) in the latest foobar (1.2.9) in the latest Windows (8.1) and I'm getting a runtime error. Is there a simple fix?



also just a small comment.. the MilkDrop source code is available on the website, is there anyone here that has the skills to turn it into a native foobar plugin?

This post has been edited by PhrostByte: Sep 4 2013, 09:36
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DoctorO
post Sep 5 2013, 12:18
Post #740





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 11-April 11
Member No.: 89722



the manifest is something that needs to be added into the resources of the Milkdrop plug-in dll so it can tell the OS what supporting dlls it may need to access (in this case it's relating to the msvcr90.dll).

i had said in a post earlier in the page i was going to add the manifest natively, however after further testing, it caused problems when running Milkdrop under Winamp in a number of scenarios and so was dropped (otherwise it would have allowed for direct sharing of things between the players - which i'm not too keen on but was getting tired of seeing hacked up versions of the Milkdrop plug-in dll floating around).

as for it crashing, it's most likely due to the Winamp specific code which is in the plug-in to do things (as that's all we've coded against what with that being the native solution). as the source code is available, there's nothing stopping someone working out the issue and patching the plug-in as needed (but it then just leads to further fragmentation of the plug-in).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ache
post Sep 13 2013, 12:40
Post #741





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 24-July 13
Member No.: 109253



QUOTE (DoctorO @ Sep 5 2013, 15:18) *
i had said in a post earlier in the page i was going to add the manifest natively, however after further testing, it caused problems when running Milkdrop under Winamp in a number of scenarios and so was dropped (otherwise it would have allowed for direct sharing of things between the players - which i'm not too keen on but was getting tired of seeing hacked up versions of the Milkdrop plug-in dll floating around).

Running Milkdrop under Winamp is almost never needed for people who use foobar.
Just for reference: last Winamp version which dll works with Manifest hack is 5.63.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gypsy_acid_punk
post Dec 3 2013, 02:28
Post #742





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 21-August 12
Member No.: 102550




QUOTE
also just a small comment.. the MilkDrop source code is available on the website, is there anyone here that has the skills to turn it into a native foobar plugin?


I don't have them, but I feel like I need to look into this. Is it even possible? I think a native foobar component would be great.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
viktor
post Dec 7 2013, 15:39
Post #743





Group: Members
Posts: 297
Joined: 17-November 06
Member No.: 37682



QUOTE (frankpc @ Jun 8 2013, 17:02) *
QUOTE (foomark @ Jun 8 2013, 01:36) *
I ended up that just putting the 2 dlls in the zip attached (see end of message) in the main foobar2000 folder is enough to have Milkdrop working.


Thank you foomark. I've downloaded the zip and will try this. Is the guide that Viktor authored available anywhere? Any help I can find, I will use.

thanks again.


Guys, sorry, I migrated from Blogger to Tumblr so the link was changed. Here's the new, correct one:

MilkDrop in foobar2000 on Windows 8

Anyway, just to confirm that it still works, I'm still using that tutorial and the same MilkDrop package on my new Windows 8.1 install with foobar2000 1.3 beta 6 with the latest AMD drivers without any troubles. MilkDrop used to crash foobar2000 in late summer when 8.1 was new and (I guess) the AMD drivers were even worse, but with current AMD drivers it never crashes on me.

This post has been edited by viktor: Dec 7 2013, 15:53
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
viktor
post Dec 7 2013, 17:20
Post #744





Group: Members
Posts: 297
Joined: 17-November 06
Member No.: 37682



P.S.: I've also managed to update MilkDrop to the last (literally) version, i.e. Winamp 5.666/MilkDrop 2.25c. I've updated the MilkDrop link in the article to the new version.

P.P.S.: I hate edit timeouts.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
amida
post Dec 28 2013, 17:34
Post #745





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 28-December 13
Member No.: 113614



I recently installed Foobar but I can't seem to get milkdrop to show up in my available plugins.

1. In my preferences, under visualizations, I have Shpeck installed.
2. Created Winamp folder and dummy text file in Foobar folder.
3. Copied plugins from Winamp folder to Foobar-Winamp folder. Currently, 5 folders (avs, DSP_SPS, freeform, Gracenote, and Milkdrop2) and various DLL files were moved.
4. Refresh the list but only Advance Visualization Studio v2.82 shows.

I'm running Windows 7. Can anybody point out what's missing?

Thanks in advance!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tedsmith
post Dec 29 2013, 03:51
Post #746





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 29-January 13
Member No.: 106279



QUOTE (amida @ Dec 28 2013, 08:34) *
I recently installed Foobar but I can't seem to get milkdrop to show up in my available plugins.

1. In my preferences, under visualizations, I have Shpeck installed.
2. Created Winamp folder and dummy text file in Foobar folder.
3. Copied plugins from Winamp folder to Foobar-Winamp folder. Currently, 5 folders (avs, DSP_SPS, freeform, Gracenote, and Milkdrop2) and various DLL files were moved.
4. Refresh the list but only Advance Visualization Studio v2.82 shows.

I'm running Windows 7. Can anybody point out what's missing?

Thanks in advance!

Do you have winamp.exe (or a zero byte file named winamp.exe) in your installation folder? Also my Winamp stuff in in a folder named "Plugins", not "Winamp" (if I read you correctly.)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
amida
post Dec 29 2013, 04:13
Post #747





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 28-December 13
Member No.: 113614



QUOTE (tedsmith @ Dec 28 2013, 21:51) *
QUOTE (amida @ Dec 28 2013, 08:34) *
I recently installed Foobar but I can't seem to get milkdrop to show up in my available plugins.

1. In my preferences, under visualizations, I have Shpeck installed.
2. Created Winamp folder and dummy text file in Foobar folder.
3. Copied plugins from Winamp folder to Foobar-Winamp folder. Currently, 5 folders (avs, DSP_SPS, freeform, Gracenote, and Milkdrop2) and various DLL files were moved.
4. Refresh the list but only Advance Visualization Studio v2.82 shows.

I'm running Windows 7. Can anybody point out what's missing?

Thanks in advance!

Do you have winamp.exe (or a zero byte file named winamp.exe) in your installation folder? Also my Winamp stuff in in a folder named "Plugins", not "Winamp" (if I read you correctly.)


I have a zero byte file named winamp.exe. My folder structure is Programs (x86) -> Foobar -> Winamp -> Plugins. Is there suppose to be a difference between the actual exe file and the zero byte one?

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tedsmith
post Dec 29 2013, 04:18
Post #748





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 29-January 13
Member No.: 106279



QUOTE (amida @ Dec 28 2013, 19:13) *
I have a zero byte file named winamp.exe. My folder structure is Programs (x86) -> Foobar -> Winamp -> Plugins. Is there suppose to be a difference between the actual exe file and the zero byte one?

Hmm, tho I probably should have put things down another level in folder named Winamp, I misread the original instructions. Now I see that I could have used a Winamp folder and set the proper location in the Shpeck foobar2000 options. Anyway, do you have the zero length in the Winamp folder? If so I'm out of suggestions.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
amida
post Dec 29 2013, 04:21
Post #749





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 28-December 13
Member No.: 113614



QUOTE (tedsmith @ Dec 28 2013, 22:18) *
QUOTE (amida @ Dec 28 2013, 19:13) *
I have a zero byte file named winamp.exe. My folder structure is Programs (x86) -> Foobar -> Winamp -> Plugins. Is there suppose to be a difference between the actual exe file and the zero byte one?

Hmm, tho I probably should have put things down another level in folder named Winamp, I misread the original instructions. Now I see that I could have used a Winamp folder and set the proper location in the Shpeck foobar2000 options. Anyway, do you have the zero length in the Winamp folder? If so I'm out of suggestions.


What do you mean by the zero length in the Winamp folder?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tedsmith
post Dec 29 2013, 04:38
Post #750





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 29-January 13
Member No.: 106279



QUOTE (amida @ Dec 28 2013, 19:21) *
QUOTE (tedsmith @ Dec 28 2013, 22:18) *
QUOTE (amida @ Dec 28 2013, 19:13) *
I have a zero byte file named winamp.exe. My folder structure is Programs (x86) -> Foobar -> Winamp -> Plugins. Is there suppose to be a difference between the actual exe file and the zero byte one?

Hmm, tho I probably should have put things down another level in folder named Winamp, I misread the original instructions. Now I see that I could have used a Winamp folder and set the proper location in the Shpeck foobar2000 options. Anyway, do you have the zero length in the Winamp folder? If so I'm out of suggestions.


What do you mean by the zero length in the Winamp folder?

Sorry, I meant "zero length file". You need a winamp.exe file in the winamp folder. Any file will do, it doesn't need to be the real winamp. Since I had my winamp stuff in my main foobar2000 installation folder I have my zero byte winamp.exe file there. Anyway I'm probably confusing things more than I'm helping so I'll go away smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

32 Pages V  « < 28 29 30 31 32 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd August 2014 - 09:22