IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

why does pulling down volume slider not avoid clipping?, I thought entire processing was done in 32-bit
gasmann
post Oct 28 2007, 12:22
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 112
Joined: 18-August 05
Member No.: 23986



Hi!

I've found a (for me) unexpected behaviour in foobar2000 concerning the volume slider at the right bottom of the interface. If I take an mp3 that wasn't clipping, add +12dB constant gain to it via mp3gain and then play it in foobar (it doesn't have ReplayGain information, of course! If it would, clipping would be avoided as expected), it of course clips as hell. BUT, when I pull down volume to -15dB or so it is _STILL_ clipping!

Does that mean that this slider works on 16-bit or so?? That's absolutely not what I expected. I expected it to work the same way as ReplayGain, just "manually".

I would have never found out if I didn't do this. Before I often used this slider to attenuate radio stations in the hope it would eliminate clipping, but now that I know about THAT I am just shocked ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif

Using foobar2000 v.0.9.4.5 on Windows XP SP2. I hope this behaviour can be changed because it's potentially ruining sound quality.


--------------------
flac 1.2.1 -8 (archive) | aoTuVb5.7 -q 4 (pc, s1mp3)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
Alex B
post Oct 28 2007, 13:11
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1303
Joined: 14-September 05
From: Helsinki, Finland
Member No.: 24472



An interesting finding. I can reproduce the behavior.

I have not had any real problems with how the volume control works now, but as a test I tried the same with my old installation of foobar 0.8.3 special. Its Volume Control dsp can prevent my "+12 dB" mp3 test file from clipping just fine.

The same difference can be seen with the equalizer. I adjusted all equalizer sliders to the maximum, +20 dB value and respectively reduced volume by 20 dB. Clipping was prevented in 0.8.3, but not in 0.9.4.5 or 0.9.5. beta 1.


QUOTE (Garf @ Oct 28 2007, 14:51) *
The volume slider controls the volume of the operating system, not foobar2000, and indeed operates on already-clipped data.

No, it does not. At least not on my three different PCs. The volume sliders in the Windows or sound card specific mixer panels do not move and the other programs' volume level is not affected by the volume adjustments made with foobar2000's volume slider.

Edit: typo

This post has been edited by Alex B: Oct 28 2007, 13:36


--------------------
http://listening-tests.freetzi.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gasmann
post Oct 28 2007, 14:01
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 112
Joined: 18-August 05
Member No.: 23986



QUOTE (Alex B @ Oct 28 2007, 13:11) *
QUOTE (Garf @ Oct 28 2007, 14:51) *
The volume slider controls the volume of the operating system, not foobar2000, and indeed operates on already-clipped data.

No, it does not. At least not on my three different PCs. The volume sliders in the Windows or sound card specific mixer panels do not move and the other programs' volume level is not affected by the volume adjustments made with foobar2000's volume slider.


I can confirm this too, for the same reasons mentioned. You must be wrong about this, Garf. Volume adjustment is definitely done inside foobar2000 as it doesn't affect other apps.


--------------------
flac 1.2.1 -8 (archive) | aoTuVb5.7 -q 4 (pc, s1mp3)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th November 2014 - 18:32