IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Burning Audio CDs Using foobar2000 v0.9.5, A crappy alternative to Burrrn! or Nero
Canar
post Oct 21 2007, 07:26
Post #1





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3352
Joined: 26-July 02
From: princegeorge.ca
Member No.: 2796



I've put together a couple batch files that will let people burn audio CDs directly from foobar2000. They're not perfect, and will restrict burning to one drive right now, but the technique has a bit less overhead than switching to Burrrn or Nero. It's still slower than using foo_burninate, as you need to decode before you can burn. Anyhow, here we go.

Step 0: Download this archive.
Step 1: Extract cdrdao.exe and cygwin1.dll to somewhere in your %PATH%, like c:\windows\system32
Step 2: Extract the two .cmd files to somewhere memorable.
Step 3: Install the foo_run component. See the thread here for details.
Step 4: Go to Preferences > Tools > Run services.
Step 5: In the "Label" text box, enter a name. For example: "Burn Audio CD"
Step 6: Click the "..." button next to the "Path:" label and browse to where you extracted the .cmd files. Select cdrdaoburn.cmd. Click "Open".
Step 7. After the file path to cdrdaoburn.cmd, add the following text:
CODE
"%_path%.cue" "%path%" "$replace(%path%,%filename_ext%,)" $cut(%path%,2)

The contents of the text box should look something like:
CODE
D:\Programs\cdrdaoburn.cmd "%_path%.cue" "%path%" "$replace(%path%,%filename_ext%,)" $cut(%path%,2)

Step 8: Click the "Add" button.
Step 9: Run install.cmd, which will guide you through the configuration of cdrdaoburn.cmd.

Usage:
1. Select the files you wish to burn to a CD in the order you wish them to appear.
2. Right-click > Convert > Convert to Album Images with Cuesheets or Chapters.
3. Use "WAV" Encoding Preset. Select the processing you want done. Click "OK".
4. Save the file somewhere. It doesn't matter much; it will be deleted after burning.
5. Wait for the conversion.
6. Right-click on the only entry in the "Converter Output" window > Run > Burn Audio CD.
7. Follow onscreen directions.
8. CD burnt!

Feel free to improve upon this technique. It's an ugly kluge right now and I know it. However, some of you might find it interesting. Here's hoping... Enjoy. I do.

This post has been edited by Canar: Dec 8 2007, 05:43


--------------------
You cannot ABX the rustling of jimmies.
No mouse? No problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Canar
post Nov 7 2007, 16:41
Post #2





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3352
Joined: 26-July 02
From: princegeorge.ca
Member No.: 2796



Bump? (This originally got posted in the initial 0.9.5 rush, might have gotten missed. (Or maybe everyone else is scared.))


--------------------
You cannot ABX the rustling of jimmies.
No mouse? No problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Spirit_of_the_oc...
post Nov 7 2007, 17:09
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 583
Joined: 12-September 06
Member No.: 35092



Sorry I am using Infrarecorder or CD Burner XP pro.
I generate a palylist with all files to burn in foobar and then I use the drag and drop thing.
The only thing I miss is that you can't create folders this way. So you have to do it manually. sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ArtMustHurt
post Dec 7 2007, 22:57
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 8-October 04
Member No.: 17570



will check this out...thanks for your work smile.gif
it would be awesome if foobar came with an option to install a burn audio cd option when installing foobar

edit, looks like the first link takes me to a page that says Sorry, no posts matched your criteria.

This post has been edited by ArtMustHurt: Dec 7 2007, 22:59
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Canar
post Dec 8 2007, 05:44
Post #5





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3352
Joined: 26-July 02
From: princegeorge.ca
Member No.: 2796



Ack. I put it in the wrong folder after some recent changes. First link should work now. Sorry about that!


--------------------
You cannot ABX the rustling of jimmies.
No mouse? No problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ArtMustHurt
post Dec 8 2007, 18:10
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 8-October 04
Member No.: 17570



thanks alot smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
herefornow
post Dec 8 2007, 20:03
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 96
Joined: 19-July 03
Member No.: 7866



Hi Canar, thanks for coming up with this. Many have suggested this but none implemented it. First try and getting an error.

'CDRDAO' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

Any thoughts on what i have done wrong? Using WinXP, added all files to system32 folder. The default was my device id.

cheers,
herefornow


--------------------
cast out...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Canar
post Dec 10 2007, 01:08
Post #8





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3352
Joined: 26-July 02
From: princegeorge.ca
Member No.: 2796



Strange. The only case I can see that happening in is if system32 isn't part of your path. You can check it here:

Control Panel -> System -> Advanced -> Environment Variables... -> System Variables -> Path

If you're still encountering the problem, post again.

This post has been edited by Canar: Dec 10 2007, 01:09


--------------------
You cannot ABX the rustling of jimmies.
No mouse? No problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smok3
post Dec 10 2007, 12:03
Post #9


A/V Moderator


Group: Moderator
Posts: 1728
Joined: 30-April 02
From: Slovenia
Member No.: 1922



would this be expandable to 'burn data DVD'?

This post has been edited by smok3: Dec 10 2007, 12:04


--------------------
PANIC: CPU 1: Cache Error (unrecoverable - dcache data) Eframe = 0x90000000208cf3b8
NOTICE - cpu 0 didn't dump TLB, may be hung
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
herefornow
post Dec 10 2007, 12:54
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 96
Joined: 19-July 03
Member No.: 7866



Canar, would you post your cdrdaoburn.cmd or an example for me to work with? Currently i am able to burn partially to a cd but errors out on me(buffer underun). I would like to slow the write speed down. tia

cheers,
herefornow

This post has been edited by herefornow: Dec 10 2007, 13:14


--------------------
cast out...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Canar
post Mar 24 2008, 19:17
Post #11





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3352
Joined: 26-July 02
From: princegeorge.ca
Member No.: 2796



QUOTE (smok3 @ Dec 10 2007, 03:03) *
would this be expandable to 'burn data DVD'?


No.

QUOTE (herefornow @ Dec 10 2007, 03:54) *
Canar, would you post your cdrdaoburn.cmd or an example for me to work with? Currently i am able to burn partially to a cd but errors out on me(buffer underun). I would like to slow the write speed down. tia

cheers,
herefornow


It's included in burn.zip.


--------------------
You cannot ABX the rustling of jimmies.
No mouse? No problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
midrid
post Dec 16 2008, 11:06
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 16-December 08
Member No.: 64562



Hi Canar,
Kudos for your great idea. How can I reduce speed of by burner? I tried to follow your instructions but default is max speed of 48x!

Thank you!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RevMarzikins
post Jun 8 2009, 14:26
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 3-December 04
Member No.: 18480



QUOTE
2. Right-click > Convert > Convert to Album Images with Cuesheets or Chapters.


Okay, I'm using v0.9.6.7 here and I don't get such an option. Indeed, there's no arrow by 'Convert' and it takes me to a seperate settings window which seems to show no signs of an option to convert to an album image. Why did all the options have to be shuffled round lately? >.<


Anyone willing to point me to the right direction please? Thank you!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Canar
post Jun 8 2009, 15:57
Post #14





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3352
Joined: 26-July 02
From: princegeorge.ca
Member No.: 2796



This technique only works well with 0.9.5.x. I still use a similar technique. I use the converter dialog to "Generate multi-track files", output a WAV (which produces a CUE in multi-track mode), and then burn that with ImgBurn. I've heard rumours that a new, improved foo_burninate that gets rid of the Nero dependency is in the works though. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Canar: Jun 8 2009, 15:58


--------------------
You cannot ABX the rustling of jimmies.
No mouse? No problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
RevMarzikins
post Aug 29 2009, 18:34
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 60
Joined: 3-December 04
Member No.: 18480



Sure enough, a new foo_burninate is about, but offers painfully little besides the burning function. No burning speed selection, for one thing. I don't like to write any CDs at the max setting, thanks.

Unless this gets rectified soon, I may have to stick with the method you described, Canar. I suppose with this method I don't even need to do any of the above (install foo_run, set up CDRDAO, use batch script etc)?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th August 2014 - 22:53