IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

17 Pages V  « < 7 8 9 10 11 > »   
Closed TopicStart new topic
foobar2000 0.9.5 beta 9
picmixer
post Oct 29 2007, 23:38
Post #201





Group: Members
Posts: 1428
Joined: 10-April 03
Member No.: 5916



QUOTE (richard123 @ Oct 30 2007, 00:05) *
If I click on a group header, all of the songs in the group are highlighted. If I then hit the page up key, it takes me to the top of the playlist instead of up one page. Is this a bug? 0.9.5 b1 and b2, default UI


Thanks for reporting. The issue is beeing looked into at the moment.

Edit: Fixed for upcoming beta 3.

This post has been edited by picmixer: Oct 29 2007, 23:44
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
schroeder
post Oct 30 2007, 05:46
Post #202





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 11-April 06
Member No.: 29406



Hi,

Adding/enqueueing files in foobar 0.9.5 beta 2 causes a crash. This is reproducable with multiple different mp3s and flac files. For some reason I have one mp3 that works and enqueues and adds fine...

[...]

EDIT: Never mind! Updating the foo_ui_albumart component fixed the problem. I should have read the thread first. wink.gif

This post has been edited by schroeder: Oct 30 2007, 05:50
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
z-x
post Oct 30 2007, 08:03
Post #203





Group: Members
Posts: 85
Joined: 15-February 07
Member No.: 40652



I've browsed the topic here, but didn't find answer (or I just didn't saw it). I can't show console, cause when I'm doing that it just pop-up the window, but with a message 'Could not initialize console: Service not found' instead of standard console communicates.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
picmixer
post Oct 30 2007, 13:30
Post #204





Group: Members
Posts: 1428
Joined: 10-April 03
Member No.: 5916



Looks to me like you removed the new foo_ui_std.dll or are running with the old one.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Borisz
post Oct 30 2007, 20:06
Post #205





Group: Members
Posts: 381
Joined: 27-September 03
Member No.: 9041



Hm. I can't seem to find two things after upgrading:
- The playlist cut/copy paste options. The changelog says they are integrated to the core now; however, I can't seem to find them. When searching for strings under the keyboard shortcuts option, "Cut" and "Copy" only come up for layout options.
- Copy Info between files. This was a handy method of copy tags from a tagged album to one that was yet untagged. It's a part of the masstagger, and I don't see a simple to use function in the new file operation dialogs.

I've updated foo_utils as well.


--------------------
http://evilboris.sonic-cult.net/346/
Sega Saturn, Shiro!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shakey_snake
post Oct 30 2007, 20:10
Post #206





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 4322
Joined: 1-November 06
From: Cincinnati
Member No.: 37036



QUOTE (Borisz @ Oct 30 2007, 15:06) *
Hm. I can't seem to find two things after upgrading:
- The playlist cut/copy paste options. The changelog says they are integrated to the core now; however, I can't seem to find them. When searching for strings under the keyboard shortcuts option, "Cut" and "Copy" only come up for layout options.
Ctrl+X and Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V
They are also in the Playlist's context menu.

QUOTE (Borisz @ Oct 30 2007, 15:06) *
- Copy Info between files. This was a handy method of copy tags from a tagged album to one that was yet untagged. It's a part of the masstagger, and I don't see a simple to use function in the new file operation dialogs.
The Properties dialog has been better at this than mass tagger for a long time.

This post has been edited by shakey_snake: Oct 30 2007, 20:15


--------------------
elevatorladylevitateme
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ei4ia
post Oct 30 2007, 20:24
Post #207





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 4-November 06
Member No.: 37158



0.9.5.(b.2) - brilliant! Thanks to all developers!
Now just half an hour configuration instead of days... rolleyes.gif

Wishes smile.gif It would be good to see in final release option "Stop after queue" and ability to assign keyb. shortcuts for DSP Manager presets. And maybe one crazy visual option: "Load random color scheme at foobar startup" wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Borisz
post Oct 30 2007, 21:07
Post #208





Group: Members
Posts: 381
Joined: 27-September 03
Member No.: 9041



QUOTE (shakey_snake @ Oct 30 2007, 21:10) *
Ctrl+X and Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V
They are also in the Playlist's context menu.




When I filter the list for the keywords "cut" or "paste", I can only find options related to the layout. Theres a "copy" option, which describes itself as "Copies selected tracks to Windows Clipboard", but I can't find neither Cut nor Paste.

QUOTE (Borisz @ Oct 30 2007, 15:06) *
The Properties dialog has been better at this than mass tagger for a long time.

Is there a way to do it that doesn't involve opening multiple properties boxes? The masstagger one was compact, fast, and effective, and all it required was highlighting files next to each other, in order.

Edit: Another minor thing. I see it is now possible to set the number of work threads for the converter. Very handy option, since in dual core machines, you can now force 1 threads, which improves speeds when working with files on removable media (such converting files form a DVD).
However, forcing 1 work thread is a regression when I'm converting files from my HD, which can handle multiple simultaneous reads.
Would it be possible to set up the Converter so it uses 1 thread when converting from cd/dvd/drive number "x", and 2 threads on my hard drives/drive number "y, z"?

This post has been edited by Borisz: Oct 30 2007, 21:16


--------------------
http://evilboris.sonic-cult.net/346/
Sega Saturn, Shiro!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TuNk77
post Oct 30 2007, 21:13
Post #209





Group: Members
Posts: 139
Joined: 1-December 06
From: Norway
Member No.: 38241



One thing i would like to see in a future version of foobar is the possibility to rightclick in the album list and select "delete from library" or something similar.

Edit: Sorry, i did not mean spam the forum. i understand that my question is not related to the beta testing wink.gif
And thanks for pointing me in the right direction Frank smile.gif

This post has been edited by TuNk77: Oct 30 2007, 23:46
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Frank Bicking
post Oct 30 2007, 21:26
Post #210





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1833
Joined: 24-July 02
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 2776



QUOTE (Borisz @ Oct 30 2007, 21:07) *
When I filter the list for the keywords "cut" or "paste", I can only find options related to the layout. (...) I can't find neither Cut nor Paste.

Cut/Copy/Paste commands cannot be assigned to custom keyboard shortcuts.

They only work in certain elements and are hardcoded to Ctrl+X/C/V (i.e. the Windows standard shortcuts).

QUOTE
Is there a way to do it that doesn't involve opening multiple properties boxes?

No, but the solution is still fast enough, and you get a proper preview of how the tags are going to look like.

Select the source files, open Properties, select all fields (Ctrl+A), copy (Ctrl+C), then open Properties for the target files, and paste fields (Ctrl+Shift+V).

QUOTE (TuNk77 @ Oct 30 2007, 21:13) *
One thing i would like to see in a future version of foobar is the possibility to rightclick in the album list and select "delete from library" or something similar.

How is that related to 0.9.5 beta testing? Please do not spam this thread with random proposals.

And actually, it's already possible. Just add the "Remove File(s) from Library" command at Preferences, Display, Context Menu. Note that these files are going to be readded as soon as you rescan the library or add them to a playlist. If you want to physically delete the files, use File Operations, Delete Files. This requires the File Operations component which has to be selected manually during setup.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Borisz
post Oct 30 2007, 21:46
Post #211





Group: Members
Posts: 381
Joined: 27-September 03
Member No.: 9041



QUOTE (Frank Bicking @ Oct 30 2007, 22:26) *
Cut/Copy/Paste commands cannot be assigned to custom keyboard shortcuts.

They only work in certain elements and are hardcoded to Ctrl+X/C/V (i.e. the Windows standard shortcuts).

Does that include selected tracks in the playlist, because it doesnt seem function that way. It was something I used very, very frequently.

QUOTE
No, but the solution is still fast enough, and you get a proper preview of how the tags are going to look like.

Select the source files, open Properties, select all fields (Ctrl+A), copy (Ctrl+C), then open Properties for the target files, and paste fields (Ctrl+Shift+V).

I know its possible to do it, but as I pointed out, opening multiple properties boxes is much slower.
Anyway, I still use the masstagger so its a moot point.


--------------------
http://evilboris.sonic-cult.net/346/
Sega Saturn, Shiro!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Frank Bicking
post Oct 30 2007, 21:50
Post #212





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1833
Joined: 24-July 02
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 2776



QUOTE (Borisz @ Oct 30 2007, 21:46) *
Does that include selected tracks in the playlist, because it doesnt seem function that way.

Yes, it does. You should also see the commands in the context menu. If that is not the case, then you don't use the Default User Interface.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Borisz
post Oct 30 2007, 22:53
Post #213





Group: Members
Posts: 381
Joined: 27-September 03
Member No.: 9041



QUOTE (Frank Bicking @ Oct 30 2007, 22:50) *
QUOTE (Borisz @ Oct 30 2007, 21:46) *
Does that include selected tracks in the playlist, because it doesnt seem function that way.

Yes, it does. You should also see the commands in the context menu. If that is not the case, then you don't use the Default User Interface.

That seems to be the case, as I use Columns UI. Any idea how can I reimplement it? It's one of my most often used shortcuts...

edit: nevermind, it seems to be a foo_utils issue. I downgraded it to the last 20070125 version, and the commands are back.

edit2: Some problems I noticed in the default uis custom playlist views. It is used for the search dialog (Which I custom mapped to ctrl+f under columns ui). The problem is that it does not override keyboard shortcuts like it used to do (and as every other panel does). So for example, if I have the Spacebar mapped to play/pause for quicker controls, I cannot type search strings with a space in them. It will instead pause the song as I attempt to do so. I realize that Foobar even warns me to not add common keys as shortcuts, but other then this new search window, I've experienced absolutely no issues.

This also makes it impossible to copy/paste phrases from notepad for example, as ctrl+v is mapped to playlist paste. Both of these issues exist using the default ui as well as columns.

And while I'm talking about the new search panel... It is not configurable under columns ui, the config page drops to the blank "another user interface is active" page.
Furthermore, quotes have no effect. Searching for "Dust and" will hit everything that has both the words "Dust" and "And" in them, instead of just dropping back the track that has the exact phrase "Dust and". I seem to recall this working fine in older versions, making it a regression.

This post has been edited by Borisz: Oct 30 2007, 23:49


--------------------
http://evilboris.sonic-cult.net/346/
Sega Saturn, Shiro!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
anonnamiss
post Oct 31 2007, 03:34
Post #214





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 9-October 07
Member No.: 47699



edit: problem fixed

This post has been edited by anonnamiss: Nov 1 2007, 03:39
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chairman85
post Oct 31 2007, 05:28
Post #215





Group: Members
Posts: 72
Joined: 13-March 03
Member No.: 5461



It'd be nice to see the option to disable multiline tabs in favor of left/right buttons.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
viktor
post Oct 31 2007, 10:55
Post #216





Group: Members
Posts: 302
Joined: 17-November 06
Member No.: 37682



oh hell, i'm really longing for a linux port rolleyes.gif

i tested it on xp, but the annoying thing remains: when i upgrade foobar (eg. uninstall prev version and install the new one) my preferences are lost (the config files are removed from application data), so i had to set it up every time a new version comes out. WHY?

This post has been edited by viktor: Oct 31 2007, 11:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
thuan
post Oct 31 2007, 11:32
Post #217





Group: Members
Posts: 964
Joined: 10-June 06
Member No.: 31716



Just install over, no need for uninstalling first and you can keep your configuration.

This post has been edited by thuan: Oct 31 2007, 11:33
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
viktor
post Oct 31 2007, 11:39
Post #218





Group: Members
Posts: 302
Joined: 17-November 06
Member No.: 37682



QUOTE (thuan @ Oct 31 2007, 11:32) *
Just install over, no need for uninstalling first and you can keep your configuration.

hell yeah, should be obvious to me, but it just doesnt always work this way. the installer may notify me that it will be a clean upgrade not some copy-over stuff
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chaser
post Oct 31 2007, 14:44
Post #219





Group: Members
Posts: 404
Joined: 30-August 04
From: Germany, Bavaria
Member No.: 16641



The new file-edit dialog is really great. Filecopy/move-dialog is also a great improvment. I first though: "Oh my - a lot of work to get it working the way I used to do it with masstagger" - but hey: brilliant!

I have little suggestion for the dialog: Could we get a drop down-history for the upper field too?



It moreover would be nice, if the size would be saved. The dialog is too little.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
thuan
post Oct 31 2007, 14:44
Post #220





Group: Members
Posts: 964
Joined: 10-June 06
Member No.: 31716



Common practice is to backup both your settings and foobar folder before upgrading.
Or do it manually using 7zip, open the installer and overwrite appropriate files.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mr. Pacman
post Oct 31 2007, 14:44
Post #221





Group: Members
Posts: 159
Joined: 30-March 07
Member No.: 42045



Foobar 0.9.5b2 is great, but there are some basic things that are missing IMO. It would be awesome if we could have the features of "album list panel" inside album list. I'm talking about basic features like the album view playlist with "auto send to playlist", that shows immediately the contents of the folders that are focused inside the album list.

Also, album art viewer doesn't show the contents of the focused items inside album list. It only shows the cover of specific focused tracks and not entire albums too, as it should be. Except the above two missing features, i found that when i am in "Layout Editing Mode", i can't delete a UI Element but only cut, copy or paste it. It would be veeery useful if you add the option to delete UI Elements when anyone wants. I'm sure that i'm not the only one who needs these features, because they are very basic and important,so please if you can, consider adding them.

Except the above basic things i think that it would be very good if we could change the playback buttons with our "button kits". This could improve a little the UI. Also, inside the playlist, when we group by artist date and album, it could much more readable if artist and album/date were in different lines, because when album or artist names are long, its easier for the eye to recognise quicker the album title or the artist name (because they are in different places and not the one after the other). I believe that this saves time, and make playlist more organised.

Thank you very much for this great program!I'm going to miss UI Panels a lot, but i believe in easy and flexible design of the new Foobar.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
herefornow
post Oct 31 2007, 22:49
Post #222





Group: Members
Posts: 96
Joined: 19-July 03
Member No.: 7866



Hi, was wondering if tagging features; manage scripts, and auto tracknumbers, are gone? Am I over looking these? Thanks.

herefornow


--------------------
cast out...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Frank Bicking
post Oct 31 2007, 22:57
Post #223





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1833
Joined: 24-July 02
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 2776



Tagging features can be found in the Properties dialog (right-click on a selection, Properties), including automatically setting track numbers and total tracks (right-click, Auto Track Number), filling values from the file names, formatting fields by means of titleformatting, capitalizing values, and so on; all in the context menus of said dialog. There also is a new Quick Tagger component to set predefined values from the context menu or with keyboard shortcuts.

The Masstagger is no longer developed. It has been removed from the setup and is available at the "Optional components" site as a deprecated component.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sPeziFisH
post Oct 31 2007, 23:54
Post #224





Group: Members
Posts: 380
Joined: 9-October 02
Member No.: 3506



Is it possible to process files per 'Automatically Fill Values'-pattern directly by context-menu or at least keyboard-shortcut, comparable with the masstagger-scripts ?
The 'Automatically Fill Values'-panel is nice and has some nice options, but sometimes you want to go the direct way, without click, click, click, click. At least 2 clicks and to much selection on the way IMHO.

QUOTE
The improved Properties Dialog now integrates tagging-features which previously were part of the Masstagger.
Deprecated components: ..Masstagger..
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
herefornow
post Nov 1 2007, 11:34
Post #225





Group: Members
Posts: 96
Joined: 19-July 03
Member No.: 7866



Thanks Frank, appreciate the help. Really searched before I asked, looked right past it! This version is working fine for me.

cheers,
herefornow


--------------------
cast out...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

17 Pages V  « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » 
Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th December 2014 - 07:14