IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

LAME mp3 encode wav by right clicking file?
dnewhous
post Oct 14 2007, 08:23
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 62
Joined: 3-February 05
Member No.: 19550



Is there any software that will encode a wav filet to an mp3 by right clicking on the file in Windows Explorer? Preferably using the LAME encoder.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 19)
softska
post Oct 14 2007, 11:48
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 19-April 03
Member No.: 6064



http://www.dbpoweramp.com/dmc.htm
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
trev
post Oct 14 2007, 14:55
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 64
Joined: 14-August 07
Member No.: 46197



any FREE program that will do it?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smok3
post Oct 14 2007, 16:00
Post #4


A/V Moderator


Group: Moderator
Posts: 1747
Joined: 30-April 02
From: Slovenia
Member No.: 1922



http://www.google.com/search?q=add%20thing...ht-click%20menu


--------------------
PANIC: CPU 1: Cache Error (unrecoverable - dcache data) Eframe = 0x90000000208cf3b8
NOTICE - cpu 0 didn't dump TLB, may be hung
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
j7n
post Oct 14 2007, 18:19
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 813
Joined: 26-April 04
Member No.: 13720



Add your LAME command line to the Windows registry.

(1) Find: HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.wav and locate the (Default) value. Let's assume it is $SomeKey$.

(2) Now go to: HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\$SomeKey$\shell\

Create a new subkey called whatever you like (here "LAME-test"). Select the new subkey and under (Default) enter the text that will appear in your right-click menu ("• My LAME Command"). Now create a key called "command" one level deeper.

(3) There under another (Default) value enter the actual LAME command.
For example, lame.exe -V 2 -h "%L"

No additional tools are necessary, except LAME.exe command line encoder. Place the program somewhere in your %path%, or specify the full path in the command above.

Screenshots:
http://j7n.sytes.net/www/ha-rclick1.png
http://j7n.sytes.net/www/ha-rclick2.png
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
trev
post Oct 15 2007, 02:27
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 64
Joined: 14-August 07
Member No.: 46197



thanks for the registry hack advice. i'm not too experienced with registry editing, i tried it, didn't seem to work.

if you could have a look at these screen shots and give me a few extra hints i'd be grateful smile.gif

http://stashbox.org/43968/trev%27s%20reg%20lame.JPG

thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
softska
post Oct 15 2007, 06:10
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 19-April 03
Member No.: 6064



QUOTE (trev @ Oct 14 2007, 08:55) *
any FREE program that will do it?


dbpoweramp is free if you configure it to use lame.exe with the cli plugin (vs. using bundled trial lame encoder).
http://www.dbpoweramp.com/codec-central-cli.htm

Though j7n's solution seems just about as simple to do, whatever works biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Oct 15 2007, 09:07
Post #8





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10345
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



I'm still looking for some kind of generic hook that allows multiple files to be passed to a batch file.


--------------------
Breath is found in plots and DR figures.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
j7n
post Oct 15 2007, 09:16
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 813
Joined: 26-April 04
Member No.: 13720



QUOTE
i tried it, didn't seem to work.
if you could have a look at these screen shots and give me a few extra hints i'd be grateful


You created all keys under ".wav". They were supposed to go in

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\soundrec

on your system. Of course you will be able to encode files only one by one with this method.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zoom
post Oct 15 2007, 18:02
Post #10





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 263
Joined: 23-February 04
From: United States
Member No.: 12219



When I want to set up an encoder I don't like to muck around in the registry either. This is the method I use (although much less elegant, it is easier to change imo)
  • Open the folder where your encoder resides
  • Open the run dialog from the start menu (Win+r)
  • Type "sendto" in the run dialog
  • Create a shortcut from your encoder into the sendto folder
  • Edit the properties to add the command line of your choice to the shortcut
This adds a link to your encoder under the sendto menu. Like I said not as elegant a solution, but if you know little about the registry you can't really mess anything up this way. I use this method to compress png files, test new lame versions, test different encoders and other things of that nature. If you need something where you need to change the settings quite a bit, editing the shortcut is not an ideal solution.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
j7n
post Oct 15 2007, 18:33
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 813
Joined: 26-April 04
Member No.: 13720



What about encoders that expect input files not as the last parameters? Such as, -if "%L" -of "%L.ext" scheme. NAACENC complains if "-of" is not specified. Btw, I could not make new items appear in Send To. This method is of little use if it requires logoff or reboot.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Oct 15 2007, 18:46
Post #12





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10345
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



You just create a batch file for the encoder, it's really no big deal.

What I don't like about the solution is that your batch file will always appear in the send to menu regardless of the type of object(s) selected. Unlike j7n's solution, however, it spawns only one instance for multiple items. This is why it would be nice if someone could create a hook (because I prefer j7n's solution as it is context-dependent), otherwise dBpowerAMP is probably your best bet.

Edited for clarity.

This post has been edited by greynol: Oct 15 2007, 21:35


--------------------
Breath is found in plots and DR figures.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
j7n
post Oct 15 2007, 20:48
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 813
Joined: 26-April 04
Member No.: 13720



You're saying that it would not spawn an encoder instance for every file "sent to"? (I can't check as the batch file would not appear under Send To for me.)

This post has been edited by j7n: Oct 15 2007, 20:49
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Oct 15 2007, 21:29
Post #14





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10345
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



QUOTE (j7n @ Oct 15 2007, 12:48) *
You're saying that it would not spawn an encoder instance for every file "sent to"?
That's correct and I just verified that it works as advertised. My previous response was reworded to better reflect this.

I don't use this exact method personally; I drag and drop onto a shortcut instead (which is essentially the same thing).

This post has been edited by greynol: Oct 15 2007, 21:43


--------------------
Breath is found in plots and DR figures.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zoom
post Oct 17 2007, 21:29
Post #15





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 263
Joined: 23-February 04
From: United States
Member No.: 12219



QUOTE (j7n @ Oct 15 2007, 13:33) *
What about encoders that expect input files not as the last parameters? Such as, -if "%L" -of "%L.ext" scheme. NAACENC complains if "-of" is not specified. Btw, I could not make new items appear in Send To. This method is of little use if it requires logoff or reboot.

Ah, my mistake I really only use this with PNG compression, FLAC encoding and decoding and LAME encoding. I hadn't really tried much else in the way of encoders. I'm not sure why you wouldn't be able to add something to send to, I'm able to read/write anything in send to and have done so on multiple computers.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
j7n
post Oct 17 2007, 21:48
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 813
Joined: 26-April 04
Member No.: 13720



Previously, I found that it is handy to set the Send To and Start menu to the same directory. Then every program you can launch from Start can also be used to open arbitrary file extensions. Works best if the start menu is tidy and organized.

However under WinXP I couln't make them use one dir. XP likes to police the user about what is right and what is wrong. After a few days of attempting to do it I gave up.

I probably could add shortcuts to the Send To. But I didn't succeed on the first attempt and thought it's not worth the effort to try harder. Do you need to restart Explorer, or Log Off for the newly added items to appear?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Oct 17 2007, 23:24
Post #17





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10345
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



QUOTE (j7n @ Oct 17 2007, 13:48) *
Do you need to restart Explorer, or Log Off for the newly added items to appear?

No, it's immediate.


--------------------
Breath is found in plots and DR figures.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hybridfan
post Oct 18 2007, 21:21
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 160
Joined: 11-July 03
From: UK
Member No.: 7707



QUOTE (dnewhous @ Oct 14 2007, 08:23) *
Is there any software that will encode a wav filet to an mp3 by right clicking on the file in Windows Explorer? Preferably using the LAME encoder.


Shell extensions allow you to encode/decode/resample/retag/change volume directly from Windows Explorer

http://www.iolfree.ie/~mp3workshop/

I used to use this quite a bit seemed good software, it is quite old so not sure how stable it is on Vista.


--------------------
:Foobar 2000:
:MPC --standard:
:iRiver H320 Rockboxed:
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nannaloori
post Jan 3 2013, 10:42
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 1-January 13
Member No.: 105527



QUOTE (j7n @ Oct 14 2007, 19:19) *
Add your LAME command line to the Windows registry.

(1) Find: HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.wav and locate the (Default) value. Let's assume it is $SomeKey$.

(2) Now go to: HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\$SomeKey$\shell\

Create a new subkey called whatever you like (here "LAME-test"). Select the new subkey and under (Default) enter the text that will appear in your right-click menu ("• My LAME Command"). Now create a key called "command" one level deeper.

(3) There under another (Default) value enter the actual LAME command.
For example, lame.exe -V 2 -h "%L"

Tried this, didn't get it to work - nothing appeared in the context menu. (Did manage to succeed with the advice on creating a context menu for encoding of whole folder here

Using windows 7. My $SomeKey$ was WMP11.AssocFile.WAV. Located that, went to the shell subkey, created "encode v0 mp3", inside which created "command", and changed the default value to "C:\Program Files (x86)\lame\lame.exe" -V0 "%L" - to no avail.

What to do?

This post has been edited by nannaloori: Jan 3 2013, 10:44
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JJZolx
post Jan 3 2013, 12:42
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 417
Joined: 26-November 04
Member No.: 18345



QUOTE (nannaloori @ Jan 3 2013, 03:42) *
Tried this, didn't get it to work - nothing appeared in the context menu.


A very easy way to do this without having to directly edit the registry is with Nirsoft's File Types Manager. Find the .wav entry, then right-click in the lower window and create a new action.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th December 2014 - 14:50