IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
FLAC 1.2.0 decodes to read-only .wavs?, why is the read-only bit being set?
Jebus
post Aug 20 2007, 14:57
Post #1





Group: Developer
Posts: 1294
Joined: 17-March 03
From: Calgary, AB
Member No.: 5541



I tracked a bug in Omni Encoder down to the fact that flac (probably just 1.2.0, maybe others) seems to be decoding to .wav files that have the read-only flag set on them. For now i'm just unsetting the bit after decoding, but why does it do this? It doesn't appear that FLAC saves encoded files with the read-only bit; it just decodes that way. Weird.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nick.C
post Aug 20 2007, 15:01
Post #2


lossyWAV Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1791
Joined: 11-April 07
From: Wherever here is
Member No.: 42400



Are the source .flac files read-only, by any chance?


--------------------
lossyWAV -q X -a 4 --feedback 4| FLAC -8 ~= 320kbps
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jebus
post Aug 20 2007, 15:50
Post #3





Group: Developer
Posts: 1294
Joined: 17-March 03
From: Calgary, AB
Member No.: 5541



QUOTE (Nick.C @ Aug 20 2007, 06:01) *
Are the source .flac files read-only, by any chance?


heh, honestly - it might have been. Why this didn't occur to me I don't know, but it would explain why i had to use someone else's FLAC file to reproduce it
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Delerious
post Aug 20 2007, 16:43
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 22-May 03
Member No.: 6746



QUOTE (Jebus @ Aug 20 2007, 06:50) *
QUOTE (Nick.C @ Aug 20 2007, 06:01) *

Are the source .flac files read-only, by any chance?


heh, honestly - it might have been. Why this didn't occur to me I don't know, but it would explain why i had to use someone else's FLAC file to reproduce it


I haven't noticed it here either - unless I decode from CD/DVD.

J
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcoalson
post Aug 20 2007, 17:56
Post #5


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



flac clones the permissions from the source file to the destination file, so probably the input was read-only.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
trev
post Aug 21 2007, 18:13
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 64
Joined: 14-August 07
Member No.: 46197



QUOTE (jcoalson @ Aug 21 2007, 02:56) *
flac clones the permissions from the source file to the destination file, so probably the input was read-only.

can we get a switch to over-ride this, that would make all decoded wav's write allowed, regardless of the input file?

when transcoding from flacs sourced on optical media it gets annoying as the wavs aren't automatically deleted, and when i don't realise straight away it can cause low disk space problems.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcoalson
post Aug 21 2007, 20:37
Post #7


FLAC Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1526
Joined: 27-February 02
Member No.: 1408



ok, I'll probably add a switch for this. metaflac already has a similar one.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
trev
post Aug 22 2007, 14:49
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 64
Joined: 14-August 07
Member No.: 46197



QUOTE (jcoalson @ Aug 22 2007, 05:37) *
ok, I'll probably add a switch for this. metaflac already has a similar one.

that would be great! thanks smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th September 2014 - 17:53