IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

20 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Closed TopicStart new topic
Chronflow, Closed, thread is a mess. Please start a new one.
metal_termite
post Jun 16 2007, 16:44
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 538
Joined: 10-July 04
Member No.: 15248



I was watching the new Finder portion of the Apple WWDC 2007, and saw how they incorporated cover flow into the finder.

So I thought, hey maybe it would be cool if foobar2000 had its own cover flow component for browsing albums. What do you guys think? Feasible? Overkill? Good?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bowen_tk
post Jun 16 2007, 16:49
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 168
Joined: 1-November 06
Member No.: 37040



QUOTE (metal_termite @ Jun 16 2007, 09:44) *
I was watching the new Finder portion of the Apple WWDC 2007, and saw how they incorporated cover flow into the finder.

So I thought, hey maybe it would be cool if foobar2000 had its own cover flow component for browsing albums. What do you guys think? Feasible? Overkill? Good?

I look after too . It is so good but itunes suxx on itunes we can't choose that the cover was a jpg file named cover.jpg
So it will be a great idea to make cover flow for foobar
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Hakubo
post Jun 16 2007, 17:43
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 260
Joined: 20-April 06
Member No.: 29815



I think it'd be great.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jahpal
post Jun 16 2007, 17:53
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 233
Joined: 9-May 06
From: Orlando,Florida
Member No.: 30580



thats brilliant nice perfect , go for it...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AlexVallat
post Jun 16 2007, 18:02
Post #5





Group: Developer
Posts: 1063
Joined: 31-July 06
Member No.: 33465



Not that I intend to do this component myself, but these links might be of interest:
The ElementFlow custom control
Harmony
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mr pi
post Aug 29 2007, 10:54
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 24-November 01
From: small village
Member No.: 532



any update?

the pi
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
orbtwin
post Aug 29 2007, 11:45
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 105
Joined: 6-August 06
Member No.: 33734



there are another minimalistic, simple and alpha alternative named COVERPLAY

link
in action youtube

the author says "there won't be any more development soon. Sorry."
But if someone can continue the work (with permission of course), perhaps will be possible to implement in fb2k .

dry.gif

In my opinion trying to get work HARMONY it means you are running iTunes and Vista and NET 3.0. Too many monsters for me crying.gif


--------------------
more or less, minus is best
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
odyssey
post Aug 29 2007, 12:08
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 2296
Joined: 18-May 03
From: Denmark
Member No.: 6695



QUOTE (orbtwin @ Aug 29 2007, 12:45) *
In my opinion trying to get work HARMONY it means you are running iTunes and Vista and NET 3.0. Too many monsters for me crying.gif

Still using DOS 6.2? biggrin.gif


--------------------
Can't wait for a HD-AAC encoder :P
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Aug 29 2007, 12:16
Post #9





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4421
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



QUOTE (orbtwin @ Aug 29 2007, 12:45) *
In my opinion trying to get work HARMONY it means you are running iTunes and Vista and NET 3.0. Too many monsters for me crying.gif

You don't need Vista. The thing is that Vista already ships with .NET 3.0, so you only need to install that if you are not running Vista.

QUOTE (odyssey @ Aug 29 2007, 13:08) *
Still using DOS 6.2? biggrin.gif

This provocation is completely unnecessary.


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bowen_tk
post Aug 29 2007, 12:28
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 168
Joined: 1-November 06
Member No.: 37040



QUOTE (orbtwin @ Aug 29 2007, 04:45) *
there are another minimalistic, simple and alpha alternative named COVERPLAY

link
in action youtube

the author says "there won't be any more development soon. Sorry."
But if someone can continue the work (with permission of course), perhaps will be possible to implement in fb2k .

dry.gif

In my opinion trying to get work HARMONY it means you are running iTunes and Vista and NET 3.0. Too many monsters for me crying.gif


It doesn't work for me when i open it it closes

But it seems to be a good things.
I am agree with you about The Monsters which are Vista and Itunes
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
orbtwin
post Aug 29 2007, 12:44
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 105
Joined: 6-August 06
Member No.: 33734



i already knew that isn't necessary install Vista to work Harmony, only NET 3.0. You need otherwise to install iTunes with some library imported in it to work "(Using the library file generated by Apple's iTunes)"
but it's impossible and a suicide (in my opinion) work, enjoy and manage more than 30gb with iTunes as fb2k does.

but it's obvious that fb2k will improve visual with this kind of tricks


sorry my english


--------------------
more or less, minus is best
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chronial
post Sep 2 2007, 14:27
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 384
Joined: 2-May 05
Member No.: 21825



Well, just found this Thread and I have good news.
I'm just writing such a plugin. It's not yet implemented into foobar, but that's next.
Here's a little demonstration video (7mb)
http://chron.visiondesigns.de/misc/ChronFlow.avi

This post has been edited by Chronial: Sep 2 2007, 14:58
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bowen_tk
post Sep 2 2007, 14:55
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 168
Joined: 1-November 06
Member No.: 37040



Good news but the link doesn't seems to work sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chronial
post Sep 2 2007, 14:58
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 384
Joined: 2-May 05
Member No.: 21825



sry, corrected
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
strogoff_ger
post Sep 2 2007, 15:21
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 25-November 04
Member No.: 18338



Absolutely awesome!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kanak
post Sep 2 2007, 16:08
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 1190
Joined: 12-January 06
From: Cambridge, MA
Member No.: 27052



QUOTE (Chronial @ Sep 2 2007, 09:27) *
Well, just found this Thread and I have good news.
I'm just writing such a plugin. It's not yet implemented into foobar, but that's next.
Here's a little demonstration video (7mb)
http://chron.visiondesigns.de/misc/ChronFlow.avi


Looks brilliant! What's the resource use like (at present)?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
henn1ng
post Sep 2 2007, 16:38
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 29-June 06
Member No.: 32374



ooooh baby ! wink.gif


--------------------
- creative x-fi extreme music
- sennheiser 650hd
- F U B A R++
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kiteroa
post Sep 2 2007, 17:13
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 255
Joined: 17-January 07
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 39740



Looks great - I'm sure there'll be lots of early adopters!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Spirit_of_the_oc...
post Sep 2 2007, 21:01
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 583
Joined: 12-September 06
Member No.: 35092



This really looks impressive blink.gif
But one question what will be shown if no cover is availbale? I haven't yet covers for all albums.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bachi-Bouzouk
post Sep 2 2007, 21:17
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 591
Joined: 3-May 05
From: Dijon, France
Member No.: 21852



If it works without a too heavy footprint, it's great !!


--------------------
Foobar 0.9.X manual - http://eolindel.free.fr/foobar0.9/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
joen
post Sep 2 2007, 23:09
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 93
Joined: 14-June 07
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 44368



QUOTE (Chronial @ Sep 2 2007, 15:27) *
Well, just found this Thread and I have good news.
I'm just writing such a plugin. It's not yet implemented into foobar, but that's next.
Here's a little demonstration video (7mb)
http://chron.visiondesigns.de/misc/ChronFlow.avi


shock1.gif wub.gif

Wow...looking forward to that one!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chronial
post Sep 3 2007, 01:12
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 384
Joined: 2-May 05
Member No.: 21825



It's great you ask for performance - since I've tuned that quite a lot and I feared noone would notice smile.gif.

For cpu-usage: while there is no movement, it's exactly 0. The image is only rendered if there is something changed. This changes once you start moving, of course - but I'm using OpenGl, so with hardware-acceleration it' still all right.

For memory footprint: You need to have quite some covers in memory, to be able to render this rapid movement. The covers are loaded into buffer by a separate thread -- if the movement is faster than the buffer allows, you see something like at 0:40 in the video. So the buffer size is one factor -- I'm buffering 200 covers in the video (what is quite an overkill). The other one is the cover size. I have a lot highres covers, but the size is limited to 512*512 px in the video's setup. With this setup, the memory footprint peaks at 150mb. But with reasonable settings, say 100 Covers, max-size 256*256 the footprint peak goes down to 17MB.

QUOTE
But one question what will be shown if no cover is availbale? I haven't yet covers for all albums.

Either these Albums are not shown, or a "no-cover" image is displayed.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bachi-Bouzouk
post Sep 3 2007, 01:22
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 591
Joined: 3-May 05
From: Dijon, France
Member No.: 21852



Well it sounds nice !!

The next step is to see it integrated to foobar and see how it behaves to add albums etc..

Good luck for the end of the development of this promising plugin. It will be quite useful as you remember some albums thanks to their album art and forget their names.


--------------------
Foobar 0.9.X manual - http://eolindel.free.fr/foobar0.9/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
joen
post Sep 3 2007, 08:10
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 93
Joined: 14-June 07
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 44368



My album covers are usually pretty high res too. Would it be possible to let the app make an index of more compressed versions of the covers on first use or something? I believe iTunes does it in a similar way. If you know what I mean.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bowen_tk
post Sep 3 2007, 09:02
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 168
Joined: 1-November 06
Member No.: 37040



I have a question,
The source of picture are only tag or can we choose where he must search ?
It's a really beautiful work, I wait for the foobar integrated version
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

20 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th August 2014 - 17:06