IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
MAC MP3 Tagger / Ripper, Please help me!
redelamore
post Jun 1 2007, 22:22
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 1-September 05
Member No.: 24236



OK, since switching to MAC I need replaces for my favorite PCs apps... I've tried a few but nothing has fit my needs...

1) I need a MAC ripping program comparable to EAC (with multiple passes if possible). Any ideas anyone?

2) I really need a MP3 ID3 tag editor. I've tried a few and none of them work as good as my old TAG&RENAME PC software. I want it to be able to add multiple file Album artwork. To connect to CDDB (or some other various service) to get track names / listings. Any ideas out there?!?


PLEASE help me!!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Maurits
post Jun 1 2007, 23:01
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 388
Joined: 30-September 05
From: London, Europe
Member No.: 24805



QUOTE (redelamore @ Jun 1 2007, 22:22) *
OK, since switching to MAC I need replaces for my favorite PCs apps... I've tried a few but nothing has fit my needs...

1) I need a MAC ripping program comparable to EAC (with multiple passes if possible). Any ideas anyone?

Max
QUOTE
2) I really need a MP3 ID3 tag editor. I've tried a few and none of them work as good as my old TAG&RENAME PC software. I want it to be able to add multiple file Album artwork. To connect to CDDB (or some other various service) to get track names / listings. Any ideas out there?!?

MediaRage
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
redelamore
post Jun 2 2007, 00:30
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 1-September 05
Member No.: 24236



QUOTE (Maurits @ Jun 1 2007, 17:01) *
QUOTE (redelamore @ Jun 1 2007, 22:22) *

OK, since switching to MAC I need replaces for my favorite PCs apps... I've tried a few but nothing has fit my needs...

1) I need a MAC ripping program comparable to EAC (with multiple passes if possible). Any ideas anyone?

Max
QUOTE
2) I really need a MP3 ID3 tag editor. I've tried a few and none of them work as good as my old TAG&RENAME PC software. I want it to be able to add multiple file Album artwork. To connect to CDDB (or some other various service) to get track names / listings. Any ideas out there?!?

MediaRage


Max... thanks! looks great...

I'm using media rage now, and I don't really like it... the workflow for searching for track info, adding artwork & renaming the tracks is horrible.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fst
post Oct 16 2007, 09:32
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 9-October 06
Member No.: 36119



Media Rage doesn't seem very convenient: it supposes you know the artist's name or what album it is. Is there a way to get tags from freedb automatically, like foorbar or Tag&Rename do? Thank you!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
neomoe
post Oct 16 2007, 22:36
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 302
Joined: 18-June 03
From: Europe/Germ./MA
Member No.: 7255



(dar)wine + foobar. not the best solution but everything works.. tagging, RG, transcoding.. there is nothing comparable to foobar or mp3tag on os x.


okay.. and since I havn't posted this in any forum for the last 5 hours, here are the links:

darwine-project
latest intel binary for tiger
foobar2000 ^^

nota bene: darwine requires X11 which can be found on the Mac OS X software dvd shipped with your mac.



have a look here to see a screenshot

This post has been edited by neomoe: Oct 28 2007, 14:53


--------------------
[url="http://www.ergosum-apple.de"]www.ergosum-apple.de[/url]
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Florian
post Oct 17 2007, 09:11
Post #6


Mp3tag developer


Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 854
Joined: 5-May 03
From: Dresden, Germany
Member No.: 6411



Some users reported that Mp3tag works fine on a Mac using the latest version of CrossOver.


--------------------
Mp3tag - universal multi-format tag editor
http://www.mp3tag.de/en/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fst
post Oct 17 2007, 09:16
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 9-October 06
Member No.: 36119



neomoe: Thanks, that helps. Fonts look better in CrossOver though (screenshot, 126 kB), but darwine is free.

This post has been edited by fst: Oct 17 2007, 09:35
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
neomoe
post Oct 17 2007, 09:44
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 302
Joined: 18-June 03
From: Europe/Germ./MA
Member No.: 7255



QUOTE (Florian @ Oct 17 2007, 00:11) *
Some users reported that Mp3tag works fine on a Mac using the latest version of CrossOver.


true. even with darwine.

QUOTE (fst @ Oct 17 2007, 00:16) *
neomoe: Thanks, that helps. Fonts look better in CrossOver though (screenshot, 126 kB), but darwine is free.


yeah it is! nice peace of software!
and the thing regarding the fonts... it is not hell of a difference, is it?
I am completely satisfied with how foobar looks running with darwine.

This post has been edited by neomoe: Oct 17 2007, 09:46


--------------------
[url="http://www.ergosum-apple.de"]www.ergosum-apple.de[/url]
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zev-
post Nov 8 2007, 14:55
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 8-November 07
Member No.: 48577



Just found Darwine myself - Though I had to search as the download you linked to doesn't work - It seems the guy changed the filename a bit. If you go to http://thisismyinter.net/?p=21 directly, you can still download though.

Also, http://thisismyinter.net/?p=27 (Again, linking directly just incase something changes..) fixes fonts fairly well. Stuff looks/works much much better.. though foobar looks out of place in OS X sad.gif

And thanks for mentioning Max! Was exactly what i was looking for when searching (Getting foobar running as well is a nice bonus from the search!)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fb_
post Nov 30 2007, 12:59
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 26-August 05
Member No.: 24126



Is anyone using the latest foobar betas with Crossover? I'm getting errors on loading sad.gif


Ta
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
krmathis
post Nov 30 2007, 21:17
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 742
Joined: 27-May 02
From: Oslo, Norway
Member No.: 2133



QUOTE (fb_ @ Nov 30 2007, 12:59) *
Is anyone using the latest foobar betas with Crossover? I'm getting errors on loading sad.gif

Thanks for sharing...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fb_
post Dec 2 2007, 02:10
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 26-August 05
Member No.: 24126



To be more specific, I get
"Initialization failure: No User Interface modules installed"



0.9.4.2 works in Crossover, and 0.9.5b5 works in darwine....
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
norz
post Jan 1 2008, 14:29
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 12-April 06
From: Paris, France
Member No.: 29463



QUOTE (fb_ @ Dec 2 2007, 03:10) *
To be more specific, I get
"Initialization failure: No User Interface modules installed"

0.9.4.2 works in Crossover, and 0.9.5b5 works in darwine....

Same with foobar 0.9.5 final... sad.gif
Didn't find anything on google, except a debug log on ReactOs wiki.

Edit: extracting files from installer with 7zip (via Crossover) doesn't work either: some directories are incorrectly named and foobar2000.exe isn't extracted.

This post has been edited by norz: Jan 1 2008, 14:43
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
norz
post Jan 3 2008, 00:29
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 12-April 06
From: Paris, France
Member No.: 29463



Apparently the foo_ui_std.dll doesn't load: I took an install of foobar I did on Windows XP and ran it on Mac OS via Crossover, and I got a message saying something like 'foo_ui_std.dll has been removed, do you want to keep its settings?'.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fb_
post Jan 3 2008, 21:24
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 26-August 05
Member No.: 24126



I get the same...

Perhaps there's a dll depedancy that crossover doesn't provide?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Oedipax
post Jan 6 2008, 11:09
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 29-July 03
Member No.: 8063



I think the new requirement in 0.9.5 for WinXP and above is what's breaking CrossOver support on the Mac.

Anyone know if it still works under Darwine? It might be worth it to get that set up... otherwise it's VMWare or Parallels, which is fine, except I hate loading them up just to play some music. Honestly I would switch to iTunes except it really chokes on a big database.

Edit: Just tried Darwine 0.9.52 and Foobar 0.9.5 and it gave me the XP required error. Is there a way to get it running?

This post has been edited by Oedipax: Jan 6 2008, 11:18
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kwanbis
post Apr 13 2008, 01:47
Post #17





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2362
Joined: 28-June 02
From: Argentina
Member No.: 2425



did anyone was able to make it run under darwine or crossover?


--------------------
MAREO: http://www.webearce.com.ar
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
neomoe
post Apr 15 2009, 11:49
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 302
Joined: 18-June 03
From: Europe/Germ./MA
Member No.: 7255



Yes. I was able to run the latest version of foobar2000 (0.9.6.4) with Darwine under Tiger. Grab the latest Darwine from here (1.1.19 for Tiger), delete the .wine directory in your home directory (wine will create a new one when executing any exe) and install. Runs flawlessly.


--------------------
[url="http://www.ergosum-apple.de"]www.ergosum-apple.de[/url]
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wolfgang McPhers...
post Jun 22 2009, 21:04
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 4-February 09
From: An Igloo eh?
Member No.: 66588



sorry to wake an old thread, but I'm AMAZED that no one has mention XLD as a ripping program / tagger

It uses the latest CD paranoia engine, as well as freedb and music brainz for tagging. supports multicore processing, embedded cue sheets, apple lossless wavpack flac mp3 ogg flac and a few others. supports ripping to single flac images. very simple easy to use interface with a very mac like layout. good batch transcoding.

tmkk.hp.infoseek.co.jp/xld/index_e.html

also, foobar2000 works a1 on the lastest crossover games, aside from one thing, getting cd's to play through it. but if you're ripping them all anyways, thats not a problem at all. also, crossover games 8 is due to come out sometime soon. (rumoured to support dx10 smile.gif i can get milkrop 1 to work via the shpeck plugin in foobar as well.

also using foobar2000 through crossover, it is possible to associate (audio) files with the launcher program for foobar2000 that crossover creates, as well as associating custom icons (via Editing the Plist) for all of the different file types. (ie i click on a .flac, and foobar2000 opens up.)

note that for this to work, foobar must be associated with these filetypes within it's bottle.

i very highly recommend using this solution to foobar on a mac. it offers nearly complete integration which cannot be achieved any other way
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2014 - 13:00