IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

20 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Running Foobar in Linux, Alien Cats crossbreeding with Penguins
bubbleguuum
post Jun 25 2007, 15:10
Post #51





Group: Developer
Posts: 1110
Joined: 13-November 05
Member No.: 25748



QUOTE (Spirit_of_the_ocean @ Jun 25 2007, 15:41) *
Under 0.9.39 and Foobar 0.9 I found some strange behaviours of the sound sad.gif


Like what ? If it is sound distortion, on my sound card I had to use the resampler @ 48000Hz for the sound not to be garbled / strange.

Just tried 0.39 and using JACK as the audio driver I can move window like mad and have 0 skips! yay!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Spirit_of_the_oc...
post Jun 26 2007, 22:02
Post #52





Group: Members
Posts: 583
Joined: 12-September 06
Member No.: 35092



Resample @48000HZ? What exactly does this mean?

What is JACK? Does it work with every soundcard?

This post has been edited by Spirit_of_the_ocean: Jun 26 2007, 22:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nbv4
post Jun 26 2007, 23:37
Post #53





Group: Members
Posts: 186
Joined: 27-June 03
Member No.: 7420



QUOTE (bubbleguuum @ Jun 25 2007, 06:10) *
QUOTE (Spirit_of_the_ocean @ Jun 25 2007, 15:41) *

Under 0.9.39 and Foobar 0.9 I found some strange behaviours of the sound sad.gif


Like what ? If it is sound distortion, on my sound card I had to use the resampler @ 48000Hz for the sound not to be garbled / strange.

Just tried 0.39 and using JACK as the audio driver I can move window like mad and have 0 skips! yay!

is there any special trick to get jack to work with foobar? I have jack running, but when I open foobar, under the output section of the preferences, all I see is Null Output.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bubbleguuum
post Jun 27 2007, 16:04
Post #54





Group: Developer
Posts: 1110
Joined: 13-November 05
Member No.: 25748



QUOTE (nbv4 @ Jun 27 2007, 00:37) *
is there any special trick to get jack to work with foobar? I have jack running, but when I open foobar, under the output section of the preferences, all I see is Null Output.


You must select it as the wine audio driver using winecfg. Then it should appear in foobar sound conf, provided jackd is operational.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nbv4
post Jun 27 2007, 21:09
Post #55





Group: Members
Posts: 186
Joined: 27-June 03
Member No.: 7420



QUOTE (bubbleguuum @ Jun 27 2007, 07:04) *
QUOTE (nbv4 @ Jun 27 2007, 00:37) *

is there any special trick to get jack to work with foobar? I have jack running, but when I open foobar, under the output section of the preferences, all I see is Null Output.


You must select it as the wine audio driver using winecfg. Then it should appear in foobar sound conf, provided jackd is operational.

hmm in winecfg I see no option so select jack. I know jack is running, because I'm able to get my MIDI keyboard connected to a few synth programs with jack, and they work fine...

Is jack support something that has to be specially compiled into wine or something? Maybe my wine (from the ubuntu repo's) doesn't have wine support...

edit:

this was taken while jack was up and running

This post has been edited by nbv4: Jun 27 2007, 21:14
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Spirit_of_the_oc...
post Jun 28 2007, 00:29
Post #56





Group: Members
Posts: 583
Joined: 12-September 06
Member No.: 35092



I installed jack started jack. Then I started foobar2000.I tsrated Jack audio server and the winecfg then I could choose JACK. smile.gif
Is there the possibility to run run jack when starting foobar automatically?

I am running Feity fawn.

But although the soudn seems to be okay now the visualisatiion stutters blink.gif

Also the playbacktime isn't konstantly updating. Someonelse got this?

This post has been edited by Spirit_of_the_ocean: Jun 28 2007, 00:37
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Spirit_of_the_oc...
post Jun 29 2007, 23:57
Post #57





Group: Members
Posts: 583
Joined: 12-September 06
Member No.: 35092



A new version of wine has appeared today

Changelog says:

QUOTE
# A few more sound fixes.


I am interessted if this is recognizeable when using foobar. I will test this weekend smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Betse
post Jul 3 2007, 13:35
Post #58





Group: Members
Posts: 71
Joined: 4-January 05
From: Netherlands
Member No.: 18834



I'm just trying out Ubuntu and i would like to have foobar play my files. I followed the guide in the first post, but i get an error when trying to start foobar from the menu:
Failed to execute child process "/usr/bin/foobar2000" (Permission denied)
Offcourse i see there is something wrong with the permissions, but how do i solve this?

Also when i try to start foobar from a terminal with: wine -l ja_JP foobar2000.exe
i get the error: wine: could not load L"c:\\windows\\system32\\-l.exe": Module not found

I would really appreciate the help getting my way with wine and ubuntu


--------------------
Inter Deum et Diabolum semper Musica est", Tanzwut
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Spirit_of_the_oc...
post Jul 3 2007, 21:40
Post #59





Group: Members
Posts: 583
Joined: 12-September 06
Member No.: 35092



QUOTE (Betse @ Jul 3 2007, 12:35) *
wine -l ja_JP foobar2000.exe

I thing this is wrong. Let the bold text away.

go to your directory /home/user(or what your name is)/.foobar2000

Choose the foobar2000.exe rightclick and then open with wine.
This should run foobar.

I had some problems too with creating a shell script.

This post has been edited by Spirit_of_the_ocean: Jul 3 2007, 21:41
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tgoose
post Jul 4 2007, 13:20
Post #60





Group: Members
Posts: 407
Joined: 12-April 05
Member No.: 21399



Just a thought, but if/when JACK gets completely ported to Windows, would it be possible to add a patch so it would be possible run the Windows version through WINE, connect foobar2000 to that via a plugin, and then connect the Windows JACK to a native one? Sounds like a lot of work, but shouldn't that eliminate any dropout/other audio issues?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bubbleguuum
post Jul 4 2007, 19:28
Post #61





Group: Developer
Posts: 1110
Joined: 13-November 05
Member No.: 25748



QUOTE (tgoose @ Jul 4 2007, 14:20) *
Just a thought, but if/when JACK gets completely ported to Windows, would it be possible to add a patch so it would be possible run the Windows version through WINE, connect foobar2000 to that via a plugin, and then connect the Windows JACK to a native one? Sounds like a lot of work, but shouldn't that eliminate any dropout/other audio issues?



The audio dropout problem has been fixed with wine 0.9.39 at least for me and a few other people.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Spirit_of_the_oc...
post Jul 4 2007, 21:26
Post #62





Group: Members
Posts: 583
Joined: 12-September 06
Member No.: 35092



For me wine 0.9.40 and Jack work perfectly smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MC Escher
post Jul 16 2007, 13:48
Post #63





Group: Members
Posts: 151
Joined: 12-May 04
Member No.: 14050



Does anyone else notice a big regression with the latest 0.9.41? After upgrading this weekend all the stuttering seems to be back. sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Spirit_of_the_oc...
post Jul 16 2007, 23:36
Post #64





Group: Members
Posts: 583
Joined: 12-September 06
Member No.: 35092



I get messages that jack isn't found. This is really a pitty. I was very complicated to downgrade. sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bojan
post Jul 16 2007, 23:52
Post #65





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 29-January 03
Member No.: 4789



foobar2000 works very well for me with the ALSA driver in wine 0.41. In fact it works so well I'm thinking about using it not just for tagging but for playback as well.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MC Escher
post Jul 17 2007, 00:00
Post #66





Group: Members
Posts: 151
Joined: 12-May 04
Member No.: 14050



QUOTE (Spirit_of_the_ocean @ Jul 16 2007, 14:36) *
I get messages that jack isn't found. This is really a pitty. I was very complicated to downgrade. sad.gif

I'd rather not downgrade either. I'm more inclined to leave my Linux partition alone for the next two weeks and only use Windows. Perhaps I'll figure out where and how to report regressions to the Wine team though.
Btw I didn't use Jack.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hybridfan
post Jul 17 2007, 11:11
Post #67





Group: Members
Posts: 160
Joined: 11-July 03
From: UK
Member No.: 7707



Very interesting, shame I got rid of Kubuntu, would be nice to give it a try.


--------------------
:Foobar 2000:
:MPC --standard:
:iRiver H320 Rockboxed:
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yotsuya
post Jul 18 2007, 04:54
Post #68





Group: Members
Posts: 1535
Joined: 8-May 06
Member No.: 30546



Well I finally resolved a problem with my account and I updated the first page a bit, cleaning up the part about the basic shell script as most people are not using CJK support and I myself am having problems getting it to work under 64bit. I also updated the script to support running as the default application for an audio file.

I have been noticing the sound becoming more and more stable over the past few builds of wine and currently (0.9.41) the skipping is all but gone, only appearing under heavy system load.

I am unable to get JACK to appear in my winecfg, would anyone be so kind as to link a tutorial somewhere on how to get this up and running?

I played around with Crossover Office for Linux but it didnt seem to make much of a difference to foobar than running it under normal wine. I also keep a copy of my foobar running in VMware on a fullscreen session tacked to the back of one of my Compiz Fusion cubes. If you are continuing to experience problems these are some alternative approaches you may wish to explore to enjoy foobar under Linux.



This post has been edited by Yotsuya: Jul 18 2007, 09:15


--------------------
http://www.ubuntu.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Spirit_of_the_oc...
post Jul 18 2007, 23:23
Post #69





Group: Members
Posts: 583
Joined: 12-September 06
Member No.: 35092



QUOTE (Yotsuya @ Jul 18 2007, 03:54) *
I am unable to get JACK to appear in my winecfg, would anyone be so kind as to link a tutorial somewhere on how to get this up and running?

In the latest version jack has problesm but in Version 0.9.40 you just have to install jack then open wincfg and then it should be available as audio driver. It should be simple.

This post has been edited by Spirit_of_the_ocean: Jul 18 2007, 23:23
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nbv4
post Jul 19 2007, 02:56
Post #70





Group: Members
Posts: 186
Joined: 27-June 03
Member No.: 7420



QUOTE (Spirit_of_the_ocean @ Jul 18 2007, 15:23) *
QUOTE (Yotsuya @ Jul 18 2007, 03:54) *

I am unable to get JACK to appear in my winecfg, would anyone be so kind as to link a tutorial somewhere on how to get this up and running?

In the latest version jack has problesm but in Version 0.9.40 you just have to install jack then open wincfg and then it should be available as audio driver. It should be simple.

Nope. I was using version .40 and had jack installed, but there was no jack option in the audio panel of winecfg. There is something else needed.

I'm thinking there is some kind of flag you have to add when you compile wine, and if you got it from a repo, most likley it wasn't compiled with that option...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bubbleguuum
post Jul 19 2007, 09:20
Post #71





Group: Developer
Posts: 1110
Joined: 13-November 05
Member No.: 25748



QUOTE (nbv4 @ Jul 19 2007, 03:56) *
I'm thinking there is some kind of flag you have to add when you compile wine, and if you got it from a repo, most likley it wasn't compiled with that option...


That's probably the problem. At least the latest packages for ubuntu from winhq repo are compiled with JACK support.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nbv4
post Jul 19 2007, 20:19
Post #72





Group: Members
Posts: 186
Joined: 27-June 03
Member No.: 7420



QUOTE (bubbleguuum @ Jul 19 2007, 01:20) *
QUOTE (nbv4 @ Jul 19 2007, 03:56) *

I'm thinking there is some kind of flag you have to add when you compile wine, and if you got it from a repo, most likley it wasn't compiled with that option...


That's probably the problem. At least the latest packages for ubuntu from winhq repo are compiled with JACK support.

huh?

I'm using 0.9.41 straight from the ubuntu repo, and I see no jack option. And it's not like I don;t have jack installed; its installed and working fine with other applications.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MC Escher
post Jul 19 2007, 23:20
Post #73





Group: Members
Posts: 151
Joined: 12-May 04
Member No.: 14050



Same here. Ubuntu .deb from the budgetdedicated repository (promoted by winehq), but no Jack in Wine.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
plukin
post Jul 19 2007, 23:34
Post #74





Group: Members
Posts: 90
Joined: 30-May 07
From: Munich,Bavaria
Member No.: 43873



My feisty install of wine works well with foobar, i don't configure anything...
just install the latest deb!?
at first a had no audio output, since i delete my .cfg (wich i simply copied to my home dir) all works well.

This post has been edited by plukin: Jul 19 2007, 23:35
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nbv4
post Jul 20 2007, 05:37
Post #75





Group: Members
Posts: 186
Joined: 27-June 03
Member No.: 7420



QUOTE (plukin @ Jul 19 2007, 15:34) *
My feisty install of wine works well with foobar, i don't configure anything...
just install the latest deb!?
at first a had no audio output, since i delete my .cfg (wich i simply copied to my home dir) all works well.

we're talking about jack support, which is different than just "works well with foobar"

This post has been edited by nbv4: Jul 20 2007, 05:41
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

20 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st September 2014 - 14:14