IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

20 Pages V  « < 16 17 18 19 20 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Running Foobar in Linux, Alien Cats crossbreeding with Penguins
southisup
post Dec 21 2011, 05:12
Post #426





Group: Members
Posts: 251
Joined: 28-October 05
Member No.: 25414



QUOTE (kode54 @ Dec 21 2011, 01:49) *
...this post
QUOTE (klonuo @ Dec 5 2011, 10:58) *

Here is quick and dirty tip:
1. winecfg > libraries > comctl32 - native
2. foobar2000, then change advanced settings
3. winecfg > libraries > comctl32 - builtin

I don't know how I missed that, sorry, it was in response to the exact same problem I have. Unfortunately the fix didn't work for me. If I changed it after launching foobar the problem persisted, & if I changed it before then foobar wouldn't launch. I don't understand where the native library is supposed to come from, or be put. I do have a Windows licence, but it's not on this machine. I did add a copy of the native Windows comctl32.dll to the foobar directory, but then when I applied the native setting, Wine broke. I had to find & hand edit the registry before I could use Wine again.

Anyway, upgrading to latest stable Wine 1.2.3 didn't help, but moving to beta 1.3.34 fixed the field edit problem!

As a simpler & safe workaround, for anyone who doesn't want to use beta (development) software, they could ask here for someone to post the entire default contents of the appropriate field so they can edit, & re-enter the whole thing.

QUOTE (db1989 @ Dec 21 2011, 02:08) *
Images uploaded to IPB are linked dynamically via PHP, rather than by a static link to the physical file; these cannot be placed inline

Is that a recent change? I've done it before. Or is it that Preview Post doesn't inline, but it will appear when Add Reply is pressed?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Dec 21 2011, 09:48
Post #427





Group: Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I think that native fix also requires you to copy in a comctl32.dll from Windows XP.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
southisup
post Dec 22 2011, 00:05
Post #428





Group: Members
Posts: 251
Joined: 28-October 05
Member No.: 25414



I tried that, but either I used the wrong version (there's two - a re-distributable v5.8 for 9x, & a v6 for XP / 7 for which there doesn't seem to be a re-distributable), or I put it in the wrong place. Whichever I did wrong caused Wine to stop working. I put v5.8 in the same directory as the foobar executable.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yotsuya
post Dec 22 2011, 04:46
Post #429





Group: Members
Posts: 1535
Joined: 8-May 06
Member No.: 30546



QUOTE (klonuo @ Dec 11 2011, 15:18) *
CODE
[Desktop Entry]
Name=foobar2000
GenericName=Music Player
Comment=Plays music
Exec=wine "/*path-to*/foobar2000.exe"
Type=Application
Terminal=false
Icon=/*path-to*/foobar2000.png
Categories=AudioVideo;Wine
MimeType=inode/directory;application/x-cue;application/x-ogg;application/ogg;audio/x-vorbis+ogg;audio/x-scpls;audio/x-mp3;audio/x-mpeg;audio/mpeg;audio/x-mpegurl;audio/x-flac;audio/x-aiff;audio/x-ms-wma;audio/x-wav

X-Ayatana-Desktop-Shortcuts=Play-Pause;Stop;Previous;Next

[Play-Pause Shortcut Group]
Name=Play/Pause
Exec=wine "/*path-to*/foobar2000.exe" /playpause
TargetEnvironment=Unity

[Stop Shortcut Group]
Name=Stop
Exec=wine "/*path-to*/foobar2000.exe" /stop
TargetEnvironment=Unity

[Previous Shortcut Group]
Name=Previous
Exec=wine "/*path-to*/foobar2000.exe" /prev
TargetEnvironment=Unity

[Next Shortcut Group]
Name=Next
Exec=wine "/*path-to*/foobar2000.exe" /next
TargetEnvironment=Unity

Thank you for the launcher update. This works well giving us unity extensions, resolves some issues with wine icons, and eliminates the need for the /usr/bin/foobar2000 file. However I have run into a small issue. I can use a path such as:
wine "/home/username/.foobar2000/foobar2000.exe"
However paths like this do not work:
wine "~/.foobar2000/foobar2000.exe"

Is there a solution to sharing one .desktop package across multiple users so that each user can maintain their own foobar settings? I was hoping that ~ would translate in the .desktop file but it does not. Do we need to further integrate foobar as a shared program and maintain separate wine profiles for each user to make this happen and still get the benefits of unity integration?

Also, this bit seems to break compatibility with avant-window-navigator launcher:
QUOTE (klonuo @ Dec 11 2011, 15:18) *
Support for drag&drop of file(s) or folder(s) on launcher icon for defined mimetypes by changing Exec line to:

CODE
Exec=sh -c "echo -n %F | sed 's/ \//\x0z:\//g;s/^/z:/' | xargs -0 wine '/*path-to*/foobar2000.exe'"




This post has been edited by Yotsuya: Dec 22 2011, 04:53


--------------------
http://www.ubuntu.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
klonuo
post Dec 22 2011, 05:36
Post #430





Group: Members
Posts: 258
Joined: 29-April 10
Member No.: 80274



Yoshua, I'm not sure if I understand you
I use single user environment and my foobar2000.desktop file is in ~/.local/share/applications/

For multiple users sharing same .desktop file I'd try this:
- copy foobar2000.png in pixmaps folder so that it's available to all users and for icon simply set "foobar2000"
- put .desktop file in /usr/share/applications/ so that all users can access it
- for exec line use "\$HOME" ("$" is escaped with backslash) as substitute to "~"

also there seems to be a better way then sed now that I know about winepath (for your example):

CODE
Exec=sh -c "winepath -w0 %F | xargs -0 wine \$HOME/.foobar2000/foobar2000.exe"


QUOTE (Yotsuya @ Dec 22 2011, 05:46) *
Also, this bit seems to break compatibility with avant-window-navigator launcher

Can you elaborate on this?

This post has been edited by klonuo: Dec 22 2011, 05:37
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yotsuya
post Dec 23 2011, 01:09
Post #431





Group: Members
Posts: 1535
Joined: 8-May 06
Member No.: 30546



I was under the impression that the entire /usr/share/ branch was for sharing resources between users. So to add an exec line that directly points to a single user's path would be bad practice, other users would not have access to the target even though the .desktop package would be available to all users. I use the file /usr/share/applications/foobar2000.desktop and am trying to figure out a way to incorporate your additions using the setup outlined in the original post.

If I use this line, foobar launches properly (original post, uses /usr/bin/foobar2000 script)
however, AWN displays a second foobar icon while its running and Unity shows an annoying wine icon:
Exec=foobar2000

If I use this line, foobar launches properly.. only for the single user, but AWN and Unity handle the icons properly
I also like removing the dependency on the foobar2000 script:
Exec=wine "/home/username/.foobar2000/foobar2000.exe"

This line launches foobar, but again only for the single user. I dont get the ugly wine icon in unity, but it breaks AWN:
Exec=sh -c "echo -n %F | sed 's/ \//\x0z:\//g;s/^/z:/' | xargs -0 wine '/home/username/.foobar2000/foobar2000.exe'"

This line launches foobar, but then I'm back to the double icon in AWN and the ugly wine icon in unity:
Exec=sh -c "winepath -w0 %F | xargs -0 wine \$HOME/.foobar2000/foobar2000.exe"

If I use either of these lines, foobar does not launch:
Exec=wine "~/.foobar2000/foobar2000.exe"
Exec=wine ~/.foobar2000/foobar2000.exe
Exec=wine "\$HOME/.foobar2000/foobar2000.exe"
Exec=wine \$HOME/.foobar2000/foobar2000.exe


As for AWN "breaking" .. my launcher icons turn to a sad face like this:



CODE
** (awn-applet:15589): WARNING **: desktop-entry-impl-glib.vala:224: Error trying to retrieve 'Exec': Key file contains key 'Exec' which has value that cannot be interpreted.



Afterthoughts.... perhaps it would be better to either:

1) Keep foobar user-specific and move all the files into the user folder the way you seem to be running it
-or-
2) Move all of foobar out of the user folder and into a shared location. But then I'd need to figure out how to manage individual users' settings. One foobar upgrade would hit all users, etc.
... wine user profiles .. could probably install foobar on an nfs share, one upgrade would hit all machines on the lan .. hrmm... deserves investigation

This post has been edited by Yotsuya: Dec 23 2011, 01:46


--------------------
http://www.ubuntu.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
klonuo
post Dec 23 2011, 02:05
Post #432





Group: Members
Posts: 258
Joined: 29-April 10
Member No.: 80274



Sorry Yotsuya, but I really don't understand what are you after

QUOTE (Yotsuya @ Dec 23 2011, 02:09) *
I was under the impression that the entire /usr/share/ branch was for sharing resources between users. So to add an exec line that directly points to a single user's path would be bad practice, other users would not have access to the target even though the .desktop package would be available to all users. I use the file /usr/share/applications/foobar2000.desktop and am trying to figure out a way to incorporate your additions using the setup outlined in the original post.

Why did you wanted resolution for "~/.foobar2000/foobar2000.exe" (so that other users would have access from single .desktop file) while not all users share same path for foobar2000 (under their home profile)?


QUOTE (Yotsuya @ Dec 23 2011, 02:09) *
If I use either of these lines, foobar does not launch:
Exec=wine "\$HOME/.foobar2000/foobar2000.exe"
Exec=wine \$HOME/.foobar2000/foobar2000.exe

Works here as expected

For your AWN issues, I don't know... seems like you have problems with it, I don't use it but was curious what was your problem
On Unity everything is as expected. I expect the same with Gnome 3/Ghome Shell sidebar and KDE panel (or whatever is used there) as they all follow same .desktop specification

Have a look here for other mentioned problems: http://standards.freedesktop.org/desktop-e...test/index.html

Cheers

This post has been edited by klonuo: Dec 23 2011, 02:06
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yotsuya
post Dec 23 2011, 02:52
Post #433





Group: Members
Posts: 1535
Joined: 8-May 06
Member No.: 30546



For what it's worth, I moved the .desktop package to:
~/.local/share/applications/foobar2000.desktop

And the icon to:
~/.local/share/icons/foobar2000.png

Then modified the .desktop to this:
CODE
[Desktop Entry]
Name=foobar2000
GenericName=Music Player
Comment=Plays music
Exec=wine .foobar2000/foobar2000.exe
Type=Application
Terminal=false
Icon=foobar2000.png
Categories=AudioVideo;Wine
MimeType=inode/directory;application/x-cue;application/x-ogg;application/ogg;audio/x-vorbis+ogg;audio/x-scpls;audio/x-mp3;audio/x-mpeg;audio/mpeg;audio/x-mpegurl;audio/x-flac;audio/x-aiff;audio/x-ms-wma;audio/x-wav

X-Ayatana-Desktop-Shortcuts=Play-Pause;Stop;Previous;Next

[Play-Pause Shortcut Group]
Name=Play/Pause
Exec=wine ".foobar2000/foobar2000.exe" /playpause
TargetEnvironment=Unity

[Stop Shortcut Group]
Name=Stop
Exec=wine ".foobar2000/foobar2000.exe" /stop
TargetEnvironment=Unity

[Previous Shortcut Group]
Name=Previous
Exec=wine ".foobar2000/foobar2000.exe" /prev
TargetEnvironment=Unity

[Next Shortcut Group]
Name=Next
Exec=wine ".foobar2000/foobar2000.exe" /next
TargetEnvironment=Unity

And all is working well. I still couldn't get $HOME to work but this is all probably a cleaner setup for per-user foobar. Now if only I could edit the first post smile.gif

I'll have to explore alternative methods for sharing foobar across multiple users, this should be doable with wine user profiles and installing foobar in standard mode instead of portable.

This post has been edited by Yotsuya: Dec 23 2011, 02:52


--------------------
http://www.ubuntu.com
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
southisup
post Dec 30 2011, 08:26
Post #434





Group: Members
Posts: 251
Joined: 28-October 05
Member No.: 25414



How do I enable Hardware Acceleration Emulation in wine-1.3.35? Config has changed completely on the Audio tab. It used to look like this, whereas now it's like this.

Since moving to wine-1.3.35 I've been experiencing audio lock-ups, which in 1.2.2 & 1.2.3 I had fixed by setting Hardware Acceleration to Emulation. Is this still possible?

I know removing PulseAudio is suggested for this problem, but that doesn't seem to be simple, or even a guaranteed fix, so I'd rather avoid it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Dec 30 2011, 09:23
Post #435





Group: Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I thought the new sound system was modeled after Windows Vista and newer, so acceleration doesn't even matter now?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
southisup
post Dec 30 2011, 10:55
Post #436





Group: Members
Posts: 251
Joined: 28-October 05
Member No.: 25414



I suppose being as no one seems to have ever pinned down what the exact cause of the sound lock-ups are, what you're saying is quite possible.

Unfortunately that was a workaround which solved the problem for me, & it doesn't seem to be available any more. I've tried changing settings on the new Audio tab, & anything other than default kills sound altogether, along with freezing foobar.

I guess now that I've solved this problem I could copy & paste the defaults into a text file, uninstall the Wine beta, remove their repository from my sources, & reinstall the stable version, then set it up from my text file...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
southisup
post Jan 1 2012, 13:35
Post #437





Group: Members
Posts: 251
Joined: 28-October 05
Member No.: 25414



Under Wine 1.3.35, as well as continual audio lock-ups, foobar was crashing frequently during tag editing.

I saved the contents of Preferences>Advanced>Display>Properties dialog>Standard fields to a text file, in case I need to change it again, & reverted to Wine 1.2.3. I won't be able to report Wine bugs (they insist on you running the latest dev version) but foobar is working as I want it!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mobyduck
post Jan 3 2012, 11:49
Post #438





Group: Members
Posts: 574
Joined: 24-April 03
From: Italy
Member No.: 6159



Today I upgraded my Fedora15 to wine 1.3.35: as a result sound stopped working.

After a bit of tinkering, I discovered that in winecfg the only device available under Sound was (System default) and Test Sound did nothing (but running winecfg as root was giving me all the correct options). I even tried adding the user to the audio, pulse and pulse-access groups, but no joy.

After another bit of tinkering, it turned out that running regedit and changing

HKEY_CURRENT_USER/software/wine/drivers/Audio

from pulse to alsa (or removing the drivers key altogether, as it only contained that value in my case) seems to fix the issue.

Alessandro

This post has been edited by mobyduck: Jan 3 2012, 11:51
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ynn
post Jan 3 2012, 12:00
Post #439





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 11-April 09
From: France
Member No.: 68865



I'm running foobar2000 via wine 1.3.36 under Ubuntu 11.04.

My sound is managed by pulseaudio and everything works fine without having to configure anything.
foobar2000 sometimes crashes, but this is very rare.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
southisup
post Jan 6 2012, 01:28
Post #440





Group: Members
Posts: 251
Joined: 28-October 05
Member No.: 25414



QUOTE (mobyduck @ Jan 3 2012, 21:49) *
changing HKEY_CURRENT_USER/software/wine/drivers/Audio
from pulse to alsa (or removing the drivers key altogether, as it only contained that value in my case) seems to fix the issue.

Thanks for posting that. I hadn't looked into the registry.

My working foobar + Wine 1.2.3 has the "Audio" key set to "alsa" & HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Wine\DirectSound\HardwareAccelleration is "Emulation". Might well come in handy to know that in future.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
southisup
post Feb 14 2012, 09:13
Post #441





Group: Members
Posts: 251
Joined: 28-October 05
Member No.: 25414



CMYK colourspace JPEG causes crash?

This album art (for this album) causes an instant foobar crash for me. I de-interlaced it with imagemagick but it still crashed foobar, so I changed it to RGB instead & that was fine. I tried another CMYK JPEG & that also crashed foobar. foobar handles a greyscale JPEG fine.

I expect it's a Wine problem (CMYK JPEGs don't display properly in Exifer under Wine, although they don't crash it) but is anyone able to test in Windows?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Feb 14 2012, 16:28
Post #442





Group: Developer
Posts: 3384
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



Works here (jpg from Wikipedia). Windows 7, fb2k 1.1.11, CUI & DUI.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ouroboros
post Feb 14 2012, 18:38
Post #443





Group: Members
Posts: 291
Joined: 30-May 08
From: UK
Member No.: 53927



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Feb 14 2012, 15:28) *
Works here (jpg from Wikipedia). Windows 7, fb2k 1.1.11, CUI & DUI.
Maybe that's because you aren't using WINE? Just a thought.... smile.gif

This post has been edited by Ouroboros: Feb 14 2012, 18:38
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Feb 14 2012, 18:50
Post #444





Group: Members
Posts: 4469
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



well duh. he's simply responding to a request in the previous post. you should read it...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ouroboros
post Feb 14 2012, 21:43
Post #445





Group: Members
Posts: 291
Joined: 30-May 08
From: UK
Member No.: 53927



Oops. Sorry. Missed the last line...... smile.gif

This post has been edited by Ouroboros: Feb 14 2012, 22:31
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
southisup
post Feb 14 2012, 22:07
Post #446





Group: Members
Posts: 251
Joined: 28-October 05
Member No.: 25414



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Feb 15 2012, 02:28) *
Works here (jpg from Wikipedia). Windows 7, fb2k 1.1.11, CUI & DUI.

Thanks for checking. That makes it a Wine problem. The dev version of Wine was too unstable for me last time I tried it, so I can't check if it's been fixed, or report it if it hasn't, but it's not a big problem, & is easy to work around.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
southisup
post Feb 14 2012, 22:20
Post #447





Group: Members
Posts: 251
Joined: 28-October 05
Member No.: 25414



QUOTE (Ouroboros @ Feb 15 2012, 07:43) *
an answer about how everything runs fine under Windows 7 is a bit tangential.
Not really. It was what I needed to know. This thread is the only support for foobar+Wine users on HA - it's not officially supported. If the bug had been with foobar I would have reported it, but I don't have access to Windows just now. This was the only way I could identify the exact problem.

edit: oops, sorry, missed your latest reply! All cleared up now.

This post has been edited by southisup: Feb 14 2012, 22:23
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
southisup
post Feb 27 2012, 16:14
Post #448





Group: Members
Posts: 251
Joined: 28-October 05
Member No.: 25414



Could someone do me a favour please, & post the default contents of Preferences>Advanced>Standard sort patterns. I'd like to edit it, but due to a Wine bug1,2,3, I can't, without a copy to start with.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ruebe
post Feb 27 2012, 18:01
Post #449





Group: Members
Posts: 187
Joined: 18-September 10
Member No.: 83940



file path=%path_sort%;artist=%artist%|%date%;album=%album%|%discnumber%|%tracknumber%;track number=%discnumber%|%tracknumber%;title=%title%

btw: using wine 1.45rc5-1 i can't reproduce said bug
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
southisup
post Feb 28 2012, 12:53
Post #450





Group: Members
Posts: 251
Joined: 28-October 05
Member No.: 25414



Thanks for that!

QUOTE (ruebe @ Feb 28 2012, 04:01) *
btw: using wine 1.45rc5-1 i can't reproduce said bug
No, they fixed it, but foobar's too unstable for me with the last newer version I tried (see this post & the following three). I might give it a go again soon, seeing as the version number has moved on a bit, but a minor config edit problem is less bother to me than sound lock-ups & tag editing crashes!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

20 Pages V  « < 16 17 18 19 20 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd September 2014 - 19:53