IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
A video codec with the best compression, Which one is it?
MusicLover
post Apr 20 2007, 12:28
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 1-November 02
Member No.: 3669



I'm choosing a video codec for storing of my family videos (and sharing some of them in the Inernet as well) which format provides the best compression? I don't care about processor time and the quality should be avarage or just below (I have a cheap cam)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smok3
post Apr 20 2007, 20:19
Post #2


A/V Moderator


Group: Moderator
Posts: 1728
Joined: 30-April 02
From: Slovenia
Member No.: 1922



a. x246 (which is h.264 implementation) would be my recommendation for quality, it is possible to encode (mp4) in sort of quicktime compatible way, you will just need to tell ppl to install qt then, and add some server mime types for mp4 (video/quicktime qt mov mp4).

b. Another option is flash video, using vp6 video codec, quality is not on par with x264, but it should be supported better on the web (has better 'penetration'), there are free flash players which can be used for embeding on the page.

pretty cool solution for vp6 encoding:
http://sh0dan.blogspot.com/2006/09/command...v-encoding.html

This post has been edited by smok3: Apr 20 2007, 20:25


--------------------
PANIC: CPU 1: Cache Error (unrecoverable - dcache data) Eframe = 0x90000000208cf3b8
NOTICE - cpu 0 didn't dump TLB, may be hung
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MusicLover
post Apr 21 2007, 06:29
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 1-November 02
Member No.: 3669



smok3
Thanks a lot. What about file sizes in both cases?

What is the best x246 codec? Where can I find it and read how to encode with it?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mangix
post Apr 21 2007, 07:58
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 587
Joined: 26-February 06
Member No.: 28077



erm. x264 is an encoder. H.264(or AVC) is the standard. as for where you can find it, http://www.videolan.org/developers/x264.html
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smok3
post Apr 21 2007, 17:32
Post #5


A/V Moderator


Group: Moderator
Posts: 1728
Joined: 30-April 02
From: Slovenia
Member No.: 1922



MusicLover, file sizes are directly proportional to the selected bitrate (thought there is another quality based way of encoding with x264).

here you should find plenty of info (including latest windows builds):
http://forum.doom9.org/forumdisplay.php?f=77

command line overview (bit out of date):
http://somestuff.org/x264_qt/h264_in_quicktime7.html
(you can skip -hint mp4box command)

and some batch scripts iam using most of the time:
http://somestuff.org/bat/index.php?path=x264_ng_batch/

This post has been edited by smok3: Apr 21 2007, 17:40


--------------------
PANIC: CPU 1: Cache Error (unrecoverable - dcache data) Eframe = 0x90000000208cf3b8
NOTICE - cpu 0 didn't dump TLB, may be hung
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MusicLover
post Apr 21 2007, 20:13
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 1-November 02
Member No.: 3669



smok3

Thanks again! So, all the x264 encoders are about the same? Or are there some that are much better than the others?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smok3
post Apr 21 2007, 20:31
Post #7


A/V Moderator


Group: Moderator
Posts: 1728
Joined: 30-April 02
From: Slovenia
Member No.: 1922



x264 is only one (the implementation of h.264), h.264 is the standard (another encoder is ateme for example, build into nero recode...).


--------------------
PANIC: CPU 1: Cache Error (unrecoverable - dcache data) Eframe = 0x90000000208cf3b8
NOTICE - cpu 0 didn't dump TLB, may be hung
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MusicLover
post Apr 21 2007, 20:40
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 1-November 02
Member No.: 3669



which one of h.264 encoders is the best for low bitrates?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smok3
post Apr 21 2007, 20:55
Post #9


A/V Moderator


Group: Moderator
Posts: 1728
Joined: 30-April 02
From: Slovenia
Member No.: 1922



well, i cant speak generally, with my tests, and with my material ; x264 with medium encoding speed delivers decent or good results at 500 kbps - 512x384/25 fps. For very low bitrates i imagine that higher inloop filtering would be helpfull.

edit: generally speaking h.264 (and x264) is designed to scale well, i do use it for low-res web clips and also for HD.

This post has been edited by smok3: Apr 22 2007, 09:37


--------------------
PANIC: CPU 1: Cache Error (unrecoverable - dcache data) Eframe = 0x90000000208cf3b8
NOTICE - cpu 0 didn't dump TLB, may be hung
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mangix
post Apr 21 2007, 21:58
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 587
Joined: 26-February 06
Member No.: 28077



i'd personally say x264 even though there are a couple of other H.264 encoders. the ammount of commandline options that x264 has is just enormous.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smok3
post Apr 22 2007, 10:04
Post #11


A/V Moderator


Group: Moderator
Posts: 1728
Joined: 30-April 02
From: Slovenia
Member No.: 1922



you cant beat the price anyway.

edit: just playing around, here is a random clip from my disk encoded with 100 kbps (that would be super-low-bitrate), mute:

http://tmp.somestuff.org/random.mp4

well, hard to say it looks great, but one can still see whats going on i guess smile.gif

full log:
CODE
started ned 22.04.2007 / 11:04:51,50
ECHO is off.
x264 0.54.600
x264 --pass 1 --bitrate 100    --stats "F:\DIPLOMA\HD\prezentacijaHD_Diploma_spica.stats" --bframes 1 --subme 1 --analyse none --me dia --progress --no-psnr --filter "-2,-1"    --output NUL "F:\DIPLOMA\HD\templateWEB_prezentacijaHD_Diploma_spica.avs"
x264 --pass 2 --bitrate 100    --stats "F:\DIPLOMA\HD\prezentacijaHD_Diploma_spica.stats" --ref 5 --bframes 1 --subme 6 --b-rdo --analyse p8x8,b8x8,i4x4,p4x4 --progress --no-psnr --filter "-2,-1"    --output "F:\DIPLOMA\HD\prezentacijaHD_Diploma_spica.avi.mp4" "F:\DIPLOMA\HD\templateWEB_prezentacijaHD_Diploma_spica.avs"

MP4Box - GPAC version 0.4.1-DEV Jun 12 2006 compiled by Kurtnoise
GPAC Copyright: (c) Jean Le Feuvre 2000-2005
        (c) ENST 2005-200X

ended ned 22.04.2007 / 11:06:55,64

Some info about the 1st track in container, usually video:
Track # 1 Info - TrackID 1 - TimeScale 25 - Duration 00:00:19.000
Media Info: Language "Undetermined" - Type "vide" - Sub Type "avc1" - 475 samples
Handler name: GPAC ISO Video Handler
MPEG-4 Config
    Visual Stream - ObjectTypeIndication 0x21
    AVC/H264 Video - Visual Size 512 x 288 - Profile Main @ Level 5.1
    Decoding Buffer size 2838 - Average bitrate 95 kbps - Max Bitrate 228 kbps
    No stream dependencies for decoding
    StreamPriority 0

Computed info from media:
    Total size 233187 bytes - Total samples duration 19000 ms
    Average rate 95 kbps - Max Rate 228 kbps

Some info about the 2nd track in container, usually audio:
No track with ID 2 found


This post has been edited by smok3: Apr 22 2007, 10:36


--------------------
PANIC: CPU 1: Cache Error (unrecoverable - dcache data) Eframe = 0x90000000208cf3b8
NOTICE - cpu 0 didn't dump TLB, may be hung
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MusicLover
post Apr 22 2007, 11:44
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 1-November 02
Member No.: 3669



WOW! that's cool! now I only need to master comandline parameters of x264 smile.gif

PS maybe its possible to use some graphic interface? Megui?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smok3
post Apr 22 2007, 12:01
Post #13


A/V Moderator


Group: Moderator
Posts: 1728
Joined: 30-April 02
From: Slovenia
Member No.: 1922



yes, megui is one of them (comes with some nice command line presets).

This post has been edited by smok3: Apr 22 2007, 12:09


--------------------
PANIC: CPU 1: Cache Error (unrecoverable - dcache data) Eframe = 0x90000000208cf3b8
NOTICE - cpu 0 didn't dump TLB, may be hung
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MusicLover
post Apr 23 2007, 09:15
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 1-November 02
Member No.: 3669



I'm now using SUPER... Megui refused to work somehow... Nero recode didn't want to encode... So now I'm using SUPER - the results are very good.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smok3
post Apr 23 2007, 13:26
Post #15


A/V Moderator


Group: Moderator
Posts: 1728
Joined: 30-April 02
From: Slovenia
Member No.: 1922



QUOTE (MusicLover @ Apr 23 2007, 10:15) *
I'm now using SUPER... Megui refused to work somehow... Nero recode didn't want to encode... So now I'm using SUPER - the results are very good.

what license is that under? (i cant find any sources...)


--------------------
PANIC: CPU 1: Cache Error (unrecoverable - dcache data) Eframe = 0x90000000208cf3b8
NOTICE - cpu 0 didn't dump TLB, may be hung
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MusicLover
post Apr 23 2007, 18:50
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 1-November 02
Member No.: 3669



http://www.erightsoft.com/SUPER.html
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MusicLover
post Apr 24 2007, 10:12
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 1-November 02
Member No.: 3669



smok3
how do you find it?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MusicLover
post Apr 24 2007, 20:10
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 1-November 02
Member No.: 3669



I'm puzzled: I cannot encode Sony DV files in AVI container with StaxRip... It cannot read them... Which program should I use?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
penvzila
post Apr 25 2007, 03:20
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 157
Joined: 16-August 02
From: 地獄
Member No.: 3077



The h264 section of this guide is very good:

http://www.mplayerhq.hu/DOCS/HTML/en/

the man pages for mencoder have a lot of info as well. You have to try it for yourself to come up with a good combination of speed and what is acceptable quality to you. I've just finished a full 22 episode season of a show onto a single DVD-R, and I could never have dreamed of doing that with XVID and still have watchable files.

This post has been edited by penvzila: Apr 25 2007, 03:20


--------------------
地獄
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MusicLover
post Apr 25 2007, 06:58
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 1-November 02
Member No.: 3669



My problem is that none of the programs that encode h264 recoginzes DV files in avi container. However, Windows media player plays them ok.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MusicLover
post Apr 25 2007, 07:10
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 327
Joined: 1-November 02
Member No.: 3669



Done! Nero Recode regonizes it! I'm happy!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smok3
post Apr 25 2007, 08:08
Post #22


A/V Moderator


Group: Moderator
Posts: 1728
Joined: 30-April 02
From: Slovenia
Member No.: 1922



it is explained on the link i posted few posts up (it is actually a dv example), but Nero is pretty user friendly if you are a noob to video compression (and gives good results without a lot of thinkering).

This post has been edited by smok3: Apr 25 2007, 08:08


--------------------
PANIC: CPU 1: Cache Error (unrecoverable - dcache data) Eframe = 0x90000000208cf3b8
NOTICE - cpu 0 didn't dump TLB, may be hung
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th August 2014 - 22:19